BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Pohlman Plumbing and Drain Service

Find a Location

Phone: (410) 599-5140Fax: (410) 691-0038205 Transmission Ct, LinthicumMD 21090-2707 Send email to Pohlman Plumbing and Drain Service

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Pohlman Plumbing and Drain Service is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Pohlman Plumbing and Drain Service's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on Pohlman Plumbing and Drain Service

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)
08/11/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

**** ******* lied to us about costs and did not finish the work. We paid him $6,080 and the job is not done. It seems he was not capable of doing job
We hired Pohlman Plumbing to install sewerage on our property at **** ********* ******* ********* Md.XXXXX on 6/14/14. He charged us $3,300 for 3 backhoes and 3 trench boxes, and $2,780 for a high pressure truck to remove water. He quoted a price of $350 an hr.and he had to guarantee 8 hrs. He charged us $2,780. We called ********** and they quoted the price of $200 hr. and they like to have 4 hrs. He has over charged us and we want some of the money back.He left our yard in an undesireable condition. After we paid him,he filled the hole up and left. We don't have sewerage hookup and we are out $6,080.

Desired Settlement
We want the money back because he didn't complete the job and he lied to us about the costs. He broke our septic tank and came back to fix it and didn't fix it right and had to come back a second time and fix it. Our neighbor had to hook the wires up because **** ******* didn't know how to fix the wires. He destroyed flowers on the side of the house and our grass out front and on the side.The dirt on the side of the house is not level and rain water drains into the side of house. We feel he is responsible for repairing the problem and reimbursing us for some of the money. $3,300 for backhoes and trench boxes and $2,700 for pump truck. ********** told us cost of pump truck is $200 and they like 4 hrs.He told us it cost $350 hr. and he had to guarantee 8 hrs. He lied to us and we trusted him.

Business Response
To WHom It May Concern,

I completely understand Mrs ********* frustration, but am completely heart broken that she feels cheated and lied to.
First of all to say we dont know what we are doing is an insult considering we successfully completed over 20 sewer installs in her neighborhood alone.
Mrs ******** was quoted a price in the beginning of the project that was in line with everyone elses price in her development. as we started digging in her yard to install the sewer, at about 8ft deep we started hitting major ground water.Unbeknownst to us Mrs ******** is sitting on an underground stream as well as drainage from the whole neighborhood and shopping center at the top of the street.
Upto this point we had completed about 10 sewers in the development before Mrs ******** and had no problems what so ever.
The ground water became so bad it started to swallow up the entire trench and trench boxes. The job became entirely unsafe.
We had to bring in bigger equipment and bigger trench boxes to make the job safe to continue working.
Before bringing in any new equipment we went over the possibilities and extra cost with Mr. ********* letting him know that we have in 20 yrs never seen anything like the a=mount of water coming out of his ground, and there is a possibility that even after the extra cost the job may not be able to be done.
As for the pump truck, Mrs ******** called this ********** company who I have no idea where she got them at. We didnt even use strohecker. AT the point we got the pump truck (that Mr ******** approved)there was no time to shop around. we got the pump truck on emergency service. we had to pay premium cost for the truck to be there within an hour.
As far as Mrs ********* yard, it says specifically in our contract that we are not responsible for any landscaping, although we did bring a machine back in order to do our best in grading the property.Mrs ********* property was in bad shape to begin with.
We did go over a 2nd option with Mrs ******** in order to get the sewer completed avoiding all ground water, and offered a discount.
I went to Mrs ******** after the decision was made to abort the job due to danger, and we sat down at her kitchen table and discussed everything. She agreed that this was a fair transaction.
I did not charge her for 4 guys labor for 3 days or $800.00 in material. This was an agreement that she pleasantly accepted knowing we went over and got everything approved through her husband, with him knowing the possibility of not being able to complete due to danger.
After the job was aborted we found out that a multimillion dollar county contractor walked off the job due to unworkable ground water and inthe spot at Mrs ********* property it took them over a week to run 20 ft of pipe and cost thousands on thousands of dollars to deal with the ground water.
In conclusion, I am sorry that Mrs ******** feels this way about our company. I was completely honest with her and her husband the whole way through the job, even at her kitchen table when she agreed to pay for the backhoe and pump truck and understood everything. This was an unforeseeable phenomenon. Like I said in the beginning of this response, we completed over 20 sewers in this neighborhood with no problem.

09/26/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Pohlman Plumbing was called out to my house by ******************** on Sept. 6, 2013 to diagnose a problem with my hot water heater. The technician left me a work order stating the problem. The owner of Pohlman Plumbing ************** turned around and called the wrong diagnoses into the company which cause the warranty company to deny my claim. ****** stated that the hot watere heater was located in the basement and look to have been in a flood. The warranty company doesn't repair or replaced flood damaged appliances. This was untrue due to the fact that I do not have a basemnet my house, which is on a concrete slab. After the mix up ******************** contacted Pohlman Plumbing to get clarity on the diagnoses and they confirmed that the tech called in the wrong work order so after that the warranty company agreed to replace my hot water heater. The problem was resolved so I thought, then ************** turned around and called back to the warranty company on September 12, 2013 and tells them that the original diagnoses was correct, the hot water heater was infact in the basement, as a result of that the home warranty compnay denied the repairs once again. At this time my family and I have been without hot water for 11 days now and I am so fed up to the point I have went out and brought my own hot water heater and now having it installed today. I have to now fight for the warranty company to reimburse me for the cost of the hot water heater and labor. All of this could have been avoided if Pohlman Plumbing would have diagnosed the problem correctly.I als o called to compalin to the compnay about the problem and they were just really nasty, so I decided to just discontinue the call.
Product_Or_Service: ******** Hot water heater

Desired Settlement
I would like for Pohlman Plumbing to reimburse me whatever amount that the home warranty company will not cover as a result of me pruchasing the hot water heater myself.

Business Response
This complaint is incorrect. Mrs ***** is under the impression I told the insurance the water heater was in the basement. I did not. The insurance assumed the water heater was in the basement. I simply told her insurance that the burner assembly had water in it from somewhere. I spoke to her directly and she asked me where the water came from, i told her it could of came from a leak or the chimney.Her insurance denied the claim on the fact that the burner assembly took on water not the fact that they made a mistake saying it was in the basement.
There will be no refund due to the fact the diagnosis was correct. She should be calling and complaining about her home warranty denial not my diagnosis. I was ready to put in a new burner assembly but they did not cover it. I understand her frustration, but its with them not us.

****** *******

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
****** never came to my home someone else did and no he did not tell me anything about any water. I spoke with tge person who came to my home and he mentioned nothing like that I also have a voice mail from the technician as well and he have a totally different diagnosis. It is because of ******'s statement to home shield that I was denied and the inconcistency of his diagnonsis promted the insurance company to deny my claim, so Pulman plumbing is totally at fault. ****** was very disrespectful and so was his office manager and I will file a complaint with the plumbing board as well..

Final Business Response
There is nothing else I can say about this claim. We called in a diagnosis based on our professional opinion. This customers insurance company denied the claim based upon our professional opinion. If this customer had another diagnosis that differed from ours why did she go and buy a new water heater? Unfortunately we can not please every customer. I am sadened that this customer feels the way shye does considering we have been in business now for 6 years and have amazing grades on customer service as well as professionalism in the field. We have done work for thousands of customers and have had only 2 or 3 complaints, I think that speaks for itselfr. I understand her frustration, but again maybe she needs to talk to her insurance company who denied the claim. We were willing to do whatever the insurance approved. Again there will be no refund as we diagnosed the water heater properly in our profesional opinion. We will gladly waive her next service fee through the insurance service call. Thats the best we can do.

Thank You
****** *******

02/19/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Did not fix leak properly. Problem reoccurring. Third time it needs to be fixed. Very rude customer service.
The plumber has come to fix a a leak in our toilet which goes down into our basement ceiling. To date, this problem has not been resolved and we have to pay a $75 fee for each visit plus the repair to our ceiling. Furthermore, when we called to complain, the dispatcher was dismissive and very rude and told us to use another plumbing company. We feel that the company is just using us to get repeat business by not fixing the leak. This is unethical and unacceptable.

Desired Settlement
We want to be reimbursed the $75 for previous visits (as well as waiving the $75 fee for the next visit if our warranty company will not send a different plumber). Additionally, we want to be reimbursed for the repairs to our ceiling.

Business' Initial Response
To Whom It May Concern,

The above complaintant should be complaining against their home warranty company. We are just a 3rd party that is contracted through their insurance to provide service to their home. we can only repair what is failing at the time of our visit per their contract. The 1st visit on X-XX-XX we repaired the only problem at that time which was replacing tank to bowl bolts on the toilet as well as the flapper.The 2nd trip on XX-XX-XX we pulled and reset the toilet in order to replace a faulty wax seal. This repair was 23 days after 1st repair. Which means if it were leaking directly after our 1st trip they would of noticed it before 23 days. The 3rd trip was from the customer overflowing the toilet which is from usage not any repairs. The overflow went down into the ceiling below damaging sheetrock. Per the homeowners request we opened ceiling to make sure the leak was just from overflow and it was.This customer was also complaining about the $75 charge each time. This is the deductable owed that is set by their insurance not us. They owe this when any new work orders are generated through the insurance. There will be no refunds given or reimbursments for damaged ceiling due to overflow of toilet.


Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The issue we were having was that there was a leak from our bathroom to our basement which caused damage to our basement ceiling. The fixes that were employed (i.e repairing bad flapper, the bowl bolts, and bad wax seal did not resolve the reoccurring problem. Therefore, the fixes employed did not solve the problem we were complaining about.

When we asked that the $75 fee be waived (we got tired of paying $75 for each trip and the problem not being resolved) and that the company finally fix our problem the dispatch person was very rude and suggested we call another plumber. We did. So far so good and it looks like replacing the drain pipe did resolve our problem. The toilet flushes fine and we have not experienced any leaks.

Business' Final Response
Under no circumstances did any of the trips we were out warrant a replacement of a drain line. Replacing a drain line would not of fixed the first 2 issues. 1st issue was a bad flapper and tank to bowl bolts these items have nothing to do with a bad drain line. They were visibly leaking on the toilet and had to be repaired. The 2nd trip 23 DAYS LATER, was for a bad wax seal. Once again nothing to do with any type of drain problems. The 3rd trip was for an overflow. After opening the ceiling and examining the plumbing structure there was nothing indicating a bad drain line. If they paid $**** to another company to replace a drain they got cheated.No interior drain line would cause any of these issues. As far as the $75 that doesnt even pay for our gas to get to the job. in no way are we overly concerned about collecting 75 bucks. I feel bad that the customer has been ripped off for $**** but there is nothing else we can do. We are the #1 contractor and a 5 star company for this paticular insurance company. If they would of had a problem with the way things were diagnosed they would of contacted us months ago as you see this original diagnosis was in October. I have spoken to the insurance and they are pleased with our diagnosis process.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Plumbers, Plumbing Plan Services, Water Heaters - Repairing, Sewer Pipe, Sump Pump Contractors, Garbage Disposals - Household, Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning

Additional Information


If a business refers you to another company or uses sub-contractors, BBB recommends that you research that company including reviewing their BBB business review.

BBB file opened: 01/06/2009Business started: 11/01/2008
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Dept. of Labor, Licensing & Regulation (dllr)
500 N Calvert St Ste 401
Baltimore, MD 21202
(410) 230-6001

BBB records show a license number of 76367 for this company, issued by Dept. of Labor, Licensing & Regulation (dllr). Their web address is This license is in the name of Jacob Pohlman.

Type: Licensed Plumber

Check License Status: search/OP search.cgi?calling app=PLM::PLM_qselect

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

BBB records show a license number of 61371 for this company, issued by Dept. of Labor, Licensing & Regulation (dllr). Their web address is This license is in the name of Joshua A. Pohlman.

Type: Licensed Plumber

Check License Status: search/OP search.cgi?calling app=PLM::PLM_qselect

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietor

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John Pohlman (President)Ms. Cynthia Pohlman (Secretary)Mr. Jacob Pohlman (Plumber)Mr. Joshua Pohlman (Master Plumber)
Number of Employees


Business Category

Plumbers, Plumbing Plan Services, Water Heaters - Repairing, Sewer Pipe, Sump Pump Contractors, Garbage Disposals - Household, Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning

Products & Services

This company offers residential and commercial plumbing services.

Alternate Business Names
Pohlman Plumbing

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Pohlman Plumbing and Drain Service has received 5.00 out of 5 stars based on 1 Customer Review and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Pohlman Plumbing and Drain Service

205 Transmission Ct

Linthicum, MD 21090-2707

To | From


2 Locations

  • 205 Transmission Ct 

    Linthicum, MD 21090-2707Fax: (410) 684-2959

  • 405 Homewood Rd 

    Linthicum, MD 21090-2609(410) 599-5140
    Fax: (410) 691-0038

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Greater Maryland. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Pohlman Plumbing and Drain Service is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on December 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.


Industry Tips for Plumbers


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.