BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 11/01/1979

Catons Plumbing & Drain Service

Phone: (410) 296-7523Fax: (410) 247-6542

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Delivery Issues1
Problems with Product / Service7
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints9

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (9)
06/10/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Plumber way over charged me and stated that the warranty was for a year, paperwork said 90 days. Plumber was here for only 58 minutes not 1 hour 48
Plumbing repair on Friday May 27, 2016...Plumber was here 58 minutes and I was charged $550!! Reported to his boss and said he was here 1 hour 48 minutes. He initially said the warranty was for 1 year, when I read the paperwork after I was charged it said only 90 days. Called and spoke to Sharon at 4:20pm on Friday 27th she said that her boss **** ***** would call me tonight. **** ***** called at 5:24pm and said he needed to see the actual work ticket and would return my call Tuesday *** 31, 2016 to discuss charges. They said that his gps showed him being here 1 hour and 48 minutes, I said that is not true, the plumber was in and out the door in 58 minutes including charging my ****** ****. Mr. ***** said he was probably outside in the work truck eating lunch and talking for the other hour.

Plumber came in and I showed the leaking shut off valve underneath the first floor bath sink, he said they need to be replaced. We went to the master bath and I showed him the shut off valves underneath the sink, was not leaking at the time but did in the past but stopped after turning the ****. He turned the knobs and they started leaking and showed me his hand with water on his fingers, said those valves needed replacing also. Now I have two water leaks in separate baths. I said I needed the valve replaced in that faucet too and I had the moen part, I also wanted to have the water line to the toilet replaced with a braided hose. Now the bad news $550!! I have two water leaks on Friday afternoon preceding the 3 day Memorial Day weekend! In and out the door, writing up the paperwork and charging my ****** **** $550...I felt that I had no choice but to pay, being Friday afternoon on Memorial weekend. I felt that I was taken advantage of considering the circumstances. I called Catons plumbing office after he left to discuss the problem.

To date Mr. ***** has not returned my call to discuss these charges.

Desired Settlement
I want to be refunded at least $300. The work and warranty does not support the charges.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: Greg ********
Contact Phone: **********
Contact Email: ****************************
have contacted the customer and made the refund requested.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I want to thank **** ******** with Catons in his speedy response in bringing an amicable resolution to this complaint.

03/16/2016Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Service Technician charged bill exorbitantly and arbitrarily.
I requested the move of a gas line for a gas range by about 9inches and exposed kitchen plumbing lines cut and fixed. At the start of service the technician- ***** said the hourly rate was $180. At which point I authorized the service. During the service he left my residence to purchase a 3ft gas range tubing and was gone for about an hour. On his return he mentioned he had stopped to have lunch.

On conclusion of service he presented a bill of $783.75. I asked how he arrived at the figure and why he was billing for 3.5 hours when he worked for approximately 2hours and why he billed at a rate of $194/hr. I told him I was not paying for his lunch break, at this point he said there was a $155 trip fee for going to get parts at a ********** that is less than 10 miles from my residence but which he did not include, and so if I did not want to pay for the time he spent having lunch, he would include the $155 trip fee. In addition he did include a bogus 15% discount which he was going to take off if I did not pay the new rate of $194/hr. After arguing for 20 minutes he reduced the bill by $34 to a final bill of 749.75.

Distraught over why I was forced to pay a hefty bill for this service , I decided to check the price of the gas tubing sold at home depot. I found the price to be $32, but He charged $138.60, for the part he purchased, which besides the gas tubing includes a box of drywall nails that retail below $5 and the addition 9 inch pipe and elbow made of metal that was added.

I would appreciate if this company is investigated for charging its clients exorbitantly and arbitrarily.

Desired Settlement
I am seeking billing adjustment.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: Greg ******** - GM
Contact Phone: **********
Contact Email:*****************************
We have contacted the customer and have come to an agreement on on a billing adjustment. We appreciate the customer working with us to resolve the matter.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I was contacted by the GM of Catons plumbing and drains we reached an amicable agreement on settling my complains. The billing issue I raised was adjusted and a partial refund would be applied to my account.

Thank you BBB for the prompt attention you gave my case. I could not be more pleased with your efforts.


10/27/2014Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Services not completed. Employee left job unfinished.
I was told a one-day completion. Installation of sump pit and pump. Job was left unfinished, with rain forecast. Tried to resolve issue. Called **** ****** twice, had to leave messages. No call back. Don't seem to care.

Left big holes, lots of dirt and concrete inside the house. Dangerous situation for adults and two toddlers.

No one will be home tomorrow. We're left high and not dry.

Help!

Desired Settlement
Do the job as promised.

Business Response
Job did run long. Spoke with customer and arranged time to complete the job yesterday, 10/22. Spoke again with customer after job inside was completed and debris removed. Believe the customer is now satisfied with work, if not with our communication skills which we will continue to work on improving.

10/16/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We were charged for unnecessary permits ($660) and at a rate of $312.50 per hour for plumbing repairs.
On August 5, 2014 Mr. ***** **** estimator for Catons Plumbing & Drains came to our home to give an estimate for needed plumbing work. Mr. *** told me that we "...definitely had a leak at the outside water line and the leak is on your our side of the line" He told us the work required would necessitate obtaining permits from Baltimore City. The actual plumber who did the work found only two small leaks. One leak was in a 1st floor toilet. The other was a cold water faucet on the 2nd floor. We were charged $1,285 for 2 hours work ($625 labor and $660 for permits we did not need). I spoke with the city offices that issued the permits. The total cost to Catons was $263 for both permits. I sent them a letter stating that I felt a refund was due. I feel the labor cost ($312.50 per hour) is out of the normal range for plumbing work AND I feel that we should not bear the total cost for the permits because their estimator made the mistake.

Desired Settlement
I do not believe that other plumbers in the area would have charged us $312.50 per hour. Had I known that Catons was going to charge such a high hourly rate, I would have told the plumber not to do the work. Catons' estimator made the gross mistake about the work that needed to be done. He caused us to be charged for two permits (one of them was a "Right of Way" permit); however, no work was done that required permits. I feel that at least half of the $660 charged for permits should be returned to us. Actually, I think it all should be returned because they made the mistake but I think half the money is reasonable. I sent Catons a letter. They refused to acknowledge it or respond to it.

Business Response

Customer contacted Catons because the City had advised that he had a waterline leak. Catons esimator checked the line by cloing the house shut off valve and clocking the meter. This process indicated a leak and we provided the customer a contract to replace the waterline. On the scheduled date our crew with permits and equipment arrived to replace the line. As part of our normal process, the lead plumber re checked the line before starting to dig and the line. He found the valve to be faulty. Instead of replacing the line at a high cost he did the right thing advised the customer and replaced the valve and fixed the leaking toilets upstairs.

Catons initially charged for the cost of the crew and permits associted with the originally contracted work. In oreder to satisfy the customer, Catons will refund half of the amount as requested by the customer.

09/04/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We were charged $400 for effectively 40 minutes of work in our home, to move a gas line two inches.
I called to have a gas dryer installed. The plumber arrived 2 hours and 50 minutes after dispatch told me he would be there in 45 minutes. When he got to our home, he spent 40 minutes telling us he doesn't do a lot of gas, then told us we were looking at a considerable amount to run 10 feet of gas line. He then proceeded to do a job we added to our service request -moving a gas line 2 inches. We were charged 400 dollars for this, including multiple charges foe turning on and off gas mains, hot water heaters Nd then turning them back on. We were also changed a mysterious "diagnostic" charge. He then magically manages to finish the job five minutes into the next half hour, adding another $68 to our labor costs.

Desired Settlement
I would like a refund for one hour of work. The whole experience was ridiculous.

Business Response

We spoke with the customer and are refunding $160.00 as requested.

Page 1 of 2
11/18/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
IM VERY DISSATIFIED WITH CATON PLUMBING. WHEN I CALLED I WAS TOLD ONE PRICE WHEN SERVICE MAN CAME IT WAS A DIFFERENT PRICE FOR A SEWER CLEAN OUT.
I FEEL THAT THE SERVICE MAN THAT CAME DID NOT DO A COMPLETED JOB FOR $422.60 TO SNAKE THE TOILET WHICH MY HUSBAND TOOK OFF TO SAVE A LITTLE. ONLY TO BACK UP 1 WEEK LATER. I CALLED AND ASKED IF POSSIBLE COULD SOMEONE COME AND RE-SNAKE THE LINE AGAIN, THERE RESPONSE WAS FOR ANOTHER $385.00 THEY COULD.THEY TRIED TO TELL ME SOMETHING ABOUT THE TREE ROOTS,WELL ROOTS ARE NOT GOING TO GROW BACK THAT FAST.I FEEL I WAS ROBBED AND ITS NOT RIGHT OR PROFESSIONAL ON THERE BEHALF.

Desired Settlement
I FEEL IM INTITLED TO A REFUND BECAUSE THE MONEY WAS WITHDRAWN BUT I STILL HAVE A BACK-UP PROBLEM.

Business Response
Original technician found roots in line which indicates that the line is compromised. He opened line and informed the customer that the line should be replaced, and offered to have an estimator visit to discuss. Customer declined. Tech told them that (as stated on the work ticket) there is not a warranty on clearing a drain, particularly when it is obviously not intact.
When the tech was sent out a second time, he told the customer that there would be a charge as the original work does not carry any warranty against future obstructions, etc. He also again offered to have an estimator give them a price on replacing the line. When the customer objected to the charges, the tech offered a discount, but the customer requested that he leave. Subsequently, the Serice Manager and offered to return to clear the line one more time for a flat rate of $250. The customer declined.
Catons is still willing to quote a price for replacing the line, or to return and attempt to clear one more time for $250.
Should the customer wish to proceed with replacing the sewer line, Catons would consider offering some amount of discount to help off-set the money paid to open the line.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
WHEN I SPOKE TO THE TECH ON THE PHONE , HE NEVER MENTIONED ANOTHER FEE UNTIL HE GOT HERE. NOW THERE SEEMS TO BE A CHANGE IN THE PRICES. I WILL NEVER DO BUSINESS WITH CATON AGAIN.I WILL SEEK PROFESSIONAL PLUMBING HELP SOMEWHERE ELSE. THANKS BBB FOR TRYING TO HELP.

04/03/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I had a sewer line replaced and have been sewage back up into my proper. I called the city to unclog the problem to find out my sewer line had shifted
The problem was noticed on March 11, 2014 by the city ***** of public ***** found that the line had shifted and they could not get their camera down the sewer line properly to see what was causing the back up. I purchased the sewer line August 27, 2007, service ticket #XXXXXX. ***** *** is the name on the service ticket who is the estimator.It also has another number on the service ticket which is #XXXXXX. This was a loan that applied for through the city ***** ** ******** The sewer line cost me $5,475.00 replaced. It was paid through ***** ** ******* through a billable credit approval. I talk to the general manager Mr. **** ******** of Caton Plumbing and he told me he find it unlikely if I would have had a problem from their service it would have early on. So he tells me that he will send someone out from the company to a camera down there to see whats the problem. This was on February 24, 2014. I have had this problem calling the city to unclog the drain since these dates March 11, 2013, March 17, 2013, February 20, 2014 and February 21, 2014. So this why Mr ******** sent someone out to see whats going on. Mr. ******** called me on the February 26, 2014 to tell the findings, which is there was a lip in my line 1/2 in. he doesn't for see any future problems. I told him that the city has informed that if this problem was corrected I'm looking to have some major problems down the line. This is a very unsanitary situation here and apparently this sewer line was not installed properly and Caton Plumbing is not willing to responsibility for this. Their trying to blame the city for unclogging the line correctly, its just a lot blame shifting going on. This is a real problem because if the line has a lip in it that means part of the raw sewage is going into the meaning more problems. Mr ******** has told me that he would send me the dvd of the line when they put camera in the line and never did. I have called consumer protection, ***** ** ****** ****** Notified ******** ***** ** ********* and the ****** ***** and just to call different people and no results. Sewer lines just shift like after a few years, they break but don't shift. I really someone help with this matter. I did talk with The ***** ** ******* where i obtained the loan and they couldn't help the only they said that it should not have shifted only if was not put in properly.

Desired Settlement
I would like for my line to be repaired like it should have been in the beginning.

Business Response
Ms. *** *******,

I tried to reach you this afternoon and left a message on your phone.

I contacted the city through the 311 number and put in for a call for the city to look at your line again. They said they would contact me with results and I am sure they will notify you as well. They should be out within 24 hours.

I explained that we cameraed the line and saw a small lip at the connection but that we were able to pass into the city's line without much effort. We saw roots on the city side of the connection.

Once I receive a call from the city I will be in contact to discuss.


Best Regards,


**** ********
General Manager
Catons Plumbing, Heating & Drains

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The issue that I have with Catons Plumbing is that the city notice a lip in the line and said that eventually it going to cause more problems because its not connected to the line properly and it needs to be fixed properly. I have documentation stating the lip.

Final Business Response
Ms. *** *******,

I tried to reach you this afternoon and left a message on your phone.

I contacted the city through the 311 number and put in for a call for the city to look at your line again. They said they would contact me with results and I am sure they will notify you as well. They should be out within 24 hours.

I explained that we cameraed the line and saw a small lip at the connection but that we were able to pass into the city's line without much effort. We saw roots on the city side of the connection.

Once I receive a call from the city I will be in contact to discuss.


Best Regards,


**** ********
General Manager
Catons Plumbing, Heating & Drains

Industry Comparison| Chart

Plumbers, Air Duct Cleaning, Garbage Disposals - Household, Thermostats, Heating & Air Conditioning, Water Wells - Pumps Sales & Service, Water Heaters - Repairing, Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning, Heat Pumps, Carbon Monoxide Detecting, Sump Pump Contractors

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.