BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 11/03/2006

Today's Pet, Inc.

Phone: (410) 730-1893Fax: (410) 730-89858221 Gateway Overlook Ste A, ElkridgeMD 21075-6454 Send email to Today's Pet, Inc.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 11/03/2006

BBB has determined that Today's Pet, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Today's Pet, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
03/05/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Guarantee or Warranty Complaint Issue

Complaint: I purchased a puppy that was said to be healthy I took this puppy to my vet and found that the dog had a heart murmur, respiratory infection, giardia.
On jan 28, 2014 I purchased a male Yorkshire terrier collar number OXXXXXX from today's pet this dog was advertised as healthy and sold to me with health warranty's. As soon as I took the dog home the dog could not stop coughing he had watery eyes runny nose and very loose watery stool. I called my vet right away and made the next available appointment for jan 29,2014 at approximately 2:45. On Jan 29, 2014 my veterinarian found that the dog had a heart murmur, a respiratory infection, and giardia. The veterinarian prescribed two different medications to treat the dog. I then called today's pet store and received a disconnected message. So the next day jan 30, 2014 I tried to call again this time I spoke with an employee that worked in the dog department. I told her the issue I was having with the puppy being so sick. She told me she did not know how this happened that the dog was checked 3 different times by a veterinarian and that none of this was found. She put me on hold while she tried to find a manager. She came back and said that no one was available at the time but that someone would call me back. Three hours later I received a call back from one of the store managers. I then told him of the issues with the puppy and that I was very un happy that I was advertised a healthy puppy and then sold an un healthy dog. The manager told me that it was common for a dog that small to have a heart murmur. He also told me that I could file a claim for the vet bill. I then told him that I would like to get a full refund for the dog and my vet bill covered. under the warranty that was sold with this dog the vet bill was supposed to be covered for issues such as these a heart murmur is a defect. I returned to todays pet later that day at approximately 1:15 to get my refund. I was only refunded for the dog that I sadly had to return to the store and some of the food items I purchased for the puppy totaling $1937.56. I was never refunded the full price I paid for everything (including the warranty that was never honored.) Which was $2126.70. and I was never refunded for the vet bill $99.50. Bottom line I was sold an unhealthy pet. It broke my heart to have to give him back but I felt there was no other option. No one should have to pay that much for a unhealthy pet then get stuck with multiple vet bills.

Initial Business Response
We are sorry for the bad experience that you had purchasing a puppy from us. It is never our intention to send home any puppy now or in our over 26 years of services. Normally under any issue such as this the puppy, upon re-arrival at the store is sent directly to another vet for evaluation pertaining to any illness. Our vet at Liberty Animal Clinic checked the puppy out and found no heart murmur. This decision coincided with our two previous vet checks done before the time of sale. The puppy did have a slight upper respiratory which some vets confuse with irregular heart sounds and this was cleared up in 3 days after arrival back in the store. Upper respiratory infections are common in very small puppies, especially this time of year. They are brought about from advanced levels of stress. These puppies have been through a lot being removed from their mothers, being quarantined for 7 days and then being shipped half way across the country. ******* is also common in many puppies and can either be contracted through the mother or even from picking it up outside where another dog has defecated. It is easily treated with a worming medication, and should be done yearly when wormings are done.

Our warranty does indicate that under any circumstance a puppy would be returned, the $149 Premium Puppy package would be non-refundable. This is due to the fact that while you were in the store, the puppies registration was paid for in your name, the microchip was enrolled in your name, the amber alert service was started in your name, the purchase of one year of personal online training was purchased in your name, a 60 day trail puppy insurance was ordered in your name, and a subscription to AKC magazine was ordered in your name. All of these items were done and paid for by us while you were filling out the puppies paperwork.

Our warranty also points out that it is your obligation to have the puppy checked by a veterinarian within the two weeks after purchase. One was provided to you at No Charge or you could use one of your own choosing at your expense.

Under the circumstances we will agree to refund the $149 Premium Puppy Package. We are sorry that your decision to return the puppy was so abrupt and you didn't first ask for a second opinion as our warranty requests. You obviously already had your mind made up to return the puppy. You may be happy to know that the puppy found a new home several days after being return to us and is doing great.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Pet Shops, Pet Services, Pet Supplies & Foods - Retail

Additional Information

top

If a business refers you to another company or uses sub-contractors, BBB recommends that you research that company including reviewing their BBB business review.

BBB file opened: 11/07/1996Business started: 11/07/1996
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: November 1996, MD

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Joseph W. Wagner (President)
Number of Employees

11

Business Category

Pet Shops, Pet Services, Pet Supplies & Foods - Retail

Products & Services

This company offers various pets, pet supplies and services.

Hours of Operation
Mon: 10:00 AM to 09:00 PMTue: 10:00 AM to 09:00 PMWed: 10:00 AM to 09:00 PMThu: 10:00 AM to 09:00 PMFri: 10:00 AM to 09:00 PMSat: 10:00 AM to 09:00 PMSun: 11:00 AM to 07:00 PM

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Today's Pet, Inc.

8221 Gateway Overlook Ste A

Elkridge, MD 21075-6454

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 8221 Gateway Overlook Ste A 

    Elkridge, MD 21075-6454

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Greater Maryland, serving Western MD to the Eastern Shore. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Today's Pet, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on December 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Pet Shops

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.