BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 12/07/1993

Tri-Gas & Oil Co., Inc.

Find a Location

Fax: (410) 754-1015PO Box 465, FederalsburgMD 21632-0465 Send email to Tri-Gas & Oil Co., Inc.View Additional Web Addresses



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 12/07/1993

BBB has determined that Tri-Gas & Oil Co., Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Tri-Gas & Oil Co., Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Tri-Gas & Oil Co., Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
02/05/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My wife, ***** ***** called about our bill. She spoke to ***** ***** I presume. He left us a message to call about our account. Now we are in arrears $303.75.We paid $200.00 in December towards the bill. We were out of oil, so she called to pay the bill in full, but he would not agree to a truck to come out and supply us with oil. He called on Monday the 20th and our delivery date was on the 18th. Why he didn't call sooner is one question we have. He was rude and insensitive to my wife and to our need of oil, even after we were willing to rectify this situation. We have been with DMO oil/ Tri Gas for over 10 years and never had this issue before. Thank you.
Product_Or_Service: Heating oil
Account_Number: XXXXXXX account numb

Desired Settlement
I would like a written apology, and 6 months free oil.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** *******, Dir.Operat
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ********@trigas-oil.com
Mr. ****** ********** and Mrs. ***** *****,

Let me start by saying that we are sorry our service has not met your expectations. I can say personally that as a third generation owner of Tri Gas & Oil I expect nothing less than exceptional customer service. If Mr. ****** was not helpful and understanding of your situation than I sincerely appreciate why you are upset.

We do have the issue of the past due balance. We purchase our oil and propane products and typically are required to pay our supplier(s) in 7 days or less. When we extend 30 day terms to our customers and do not receive payment on time, it becomes concerning. This is why we send letters and/or make phone calls when a customers account becomes past due.

When our computer system generates tickets for our automatic delivery customers it will also put tickets on hold for customers with past due balances. Our credit department then attempts to contact these customers to request payment, or make payment arrangements if the customer cannot pay the balance in full.

Our computer system was projecting a next delivery date of 1/18 and a run-out date of 1/29 when Mr. ****** left a message on 1/20 asking that you call the office. Our notes from 1/21 at 8:36 AM state that Mrs. ***** called our office but that we could not resolve the matter because she wanted to pay $100 and receive a delivery the same day.

Again, I am sorry this has been so much trouble for the both of you. If you would like to call me and pay the balance on your account I will try to get the delivery completed the same day. Please feel free to contact me with any questions.

Best Regards
***** *******
XXX-XXX-XXXX
********@trigas-oil.com

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Well, Mr. ****** didn't include all of the facts. Yes my wife did offer to pay $100. He declined, then she said she would pay in full but Mr. ****** said there was no ticket. At no time did he attempt to rectify the situation. He never asked anyone to see if this could be solved. We noticed a Tri gas truck one street over in our neighborhood, as this transpired. Then, our neighbor was getting her oil delivery from another company, and he offered 100 gallons on the spot! No ticket! No problem! So, as I said before, we are responsible for our bill, but I don't think our bill will bankrupt Tri gas and oil. As the temperature dropped to single in the days following, we had to figure out a solution. We did. Tri gas and oil, did not. Thank you, ****** **********.

02/05/2014Billing / Collection Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Oils - Fuel, Pipe Line, Oil & Gas Wholesaler & Distributors, Heating Equipment, Natural Gas Companies, Water Heater - Tankless, Gas - Propane

Additional Information

top

If a business refers you to another company or uses sub-contractors, BBB recommends that you research that company including reviewing their BBB business review.

BBB file opened: 07/17/1991Business started: 04/01/1963
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Dept. of Labor, Licensing & Regulation (dllr)
500 N Calvert St Ste 401
Baltimore, MD 21202
(410) 230-6001
http://www.dllr.state.md.us/license/

Comptroller of Maryland
Goldstein Treasury PO Box 466
Annapolis, MD 21404-0466
(410) 260-7801
http://www.comp.state.md.us/

BBB records show a license number of 85143 for this company, issued by Dept. of Labor, Licensing & Regulation (dllr). Their web address is http://www.dllr.state.md.us/license/. The expiration date of this license is 01/26/2018. This license is in the name of Earl Frederick Slacum.

Type: Licensed Plumber

Check License Status: https://www.dllr.state.md.us/cgi-bin/ElectronicLicensing/OP search/OP search.cgi?calling app=PLM::PLM_qselect

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

BBB records show a license number of 10199 for this company, issued by Comptroller of Maryland. Their web address is http://www.comp.state.md.us/. This license is in the name of Tri Gas & Oil Co Inc.

Type: Gasoline Dealer

BBB records show a license number of 32116 for this company, issued by Comptroller of Maryland. Their web address is http://www.comp.state.md.us/. This license is the name of Tri Gas & Oil Co Inc.

Type: Special Fuel Seller

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: April 1963, MD

Business Management
Principal: Mr. Keith McMahan (President/CEO)
Contact Information
Ms. Doris Maser Mr. Nash McMahan (President)Ms. Tina Sonzogni (Director of Sales & Marketing)
Number of Employees

140

Business Category

Oils - Fuel, Pipe Line, Oil & Gas Wholesaler & Distributors, Heating Equipment, Natural Gas Companies, Water Heater - Tankless, Gas - Propane

Products & Services

This company offers wholesale and retail energy products including propane, conventional heating oil, kerosene, off- and on-road diesel, biodiesel and the company's soy-based AGRI-BLEND heating oil.

LocationsX

5 Locations

  • 2918 Old Route 50 

    Cambridge, MD 21613-4407(410) 228-8500
    Fax: (410) 228-0797

  • 3941 Federalsburg Hwy 

    Federalsburg, MD 21632-2620(410) 754-8184
    (800) 638-7802
    Fax: (410) 754-1025

  • PO Box 465 

    Federalsburg, MD 21632-0465Fax: (410) 754-1015

  • 13255 Augustine Herman Hwy 

    Galena, MD 21635(800) 253-9102
    (410) 648-5856
    Fax: (410) 648-6856

  • 216 Vfw Ave 

    Grasonville, MD 21638-1055(410) 827-3274
    (800) 787-6514
    Fax: (410) 827-8505

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Greater Maryland. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Tri-Gas & Oil Co., Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on December 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Oils - Fuel

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.