BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Music & Arts (Headquarters)

Find a Location

Phone: (800) 237-7760Fax: (301) 620-2567View Additional Phone Numbers4626 Wedgewood Blvd, FrederickMD 21703-7159http://www.musicarts.comView Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Music & Arts is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Find a Location

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Music & Arts' rating include:

  • 124 complaints filed against business
  • Failure to respond to 3 complaints filed against business.
  • Length of time business has taken to respond to complaint(s).

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

124 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 45 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues11
Billing / Collection Issues82
Delivery Issues2
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service28
Total Closed Complaints 124

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Music & Arts

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (124)
02/23/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I returned my son's instrument to his school as a representative from Music and Arts told me to do. Now I have to pay for their mistake!
In September 2015, I contacted the return department of Music and Arts to find out how to return a instrument. They promptly replied to my email with instructions to label the instrument with a return number and return to the schools music teacher. I did just that and in the beginning of November I received a bill. I tried to contact the same representative asking why I was being charged. I received no response. I then called and was transferred to the collection department who then transferred me to the customer service department who said that they would try and fix the issue because the return department never instructed me to call for a pick up of the instrument. Shortly after I received another bill and called again. No one was able to help me and gave me the number to the warehouse...no one answered. I then called back a couple weeks later and was transferred to customer service again. This time someone was actually helpful telling me that they would expedite my issue with high importance. A few days later I received a call from the headquarters in MD telling me that they would refund me partially. Then the very next day the same person called saying that she was incorrect and they could not refund because I didn't call soon enough. I contacted them as soon as I received the bill. How is that not soon enough?

Desired Settlement
I would just like to be refunded the $78 they charged me for the time that the instrument had been returned.

Business Response


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
No information was provided in response.

Final Business Response
Dear Ms. *****
I am writing to respond to Ms. ******* ***** complaint that Music & Arts did not refund her for the return of her instrument.

Ms. ***** account has been reviewed and was refunded $29.35 - this was communicated by Customer Service.

Should Ms. ***** have a any additional concerns please have her contact ******* directly, toll-free XXX-XXX-XXXX x1022 if she would like to discuss further.

Please do not hesitate to contact me if I might be of any further help in resolving this matter to the satisfaction of all concern.

Thanks
****** ** ****
Music & Arts

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I will accept the partial refund even though I am still not satisfied. This has been a run around since Spetember and I'll take what I can get.

01/12/2016Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I am being charged $1572.48 for a $215.1
9 debt.
I fell behind on the trumpet payments due to my hospitalization, for $215.19. I tried to call and email to make arrangements on the debt. Eventually I was directed to Transworld collection agency and I was told that my debt was now $1,572.48. I was billed an additional $50 for late fees, $50 for repo fee, $235 collection fee and $911.71 in unbilled debt. I was told by the collection agency that I must return the instrument and I would be responsible to pay the $215.19, $50,$50 and $235. I returned the instrument and then I was told that I was still responsible for the $1,572.48. This is ridiculous. I only fell behind by $200 and tried to get the account back to current status.

Desired Settlement
I am willing to pay the $215, $50, $50, and $235 because regardless of what my situation was I was still responsible. I did return the instrument in full working order, exactly how I received it.

Business Response
Dear Ms. *****
I am writing to respond to Ms. ******** *********
complaint that Music & Arts over charge her account.

Ms. ********* was given Transworld phone #XXX-XXX-XXXX by customer service to contact them and provide her return information.

We do not see where the instrument was ever return - once the return happens, Ms. ********* will need to contact Transworld and they will work on her balance to get her account resolved.

Please do not hesitate to contact me if I might be of any further help in resolving this matter to the satisfaction of all concern.

Thanks
****** ** ****
Music & Arts


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I returned the instrument to the Oxon Hill, MD location and received a receipt over a month ago. Transworld has said that Music and Arts have not updated the account. I am not sure what is going on but this is ridiculous.

Final Consumer Response

12/18/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Harassment & zero response to complaints I have made regarding debt. Settlement was made and no will will call me back.
To Whom it May Concern:

My daughters viola was rented from this company but then stolen from school in October 2014. There was no breaking and entering so the company would not accept the police report. The local office advised me when this happened to WAIT until the end of the school year to report theft, so I did. They advised they would NOT charge me rental on stolen instrument. The company collections started harassing me, calling me and even had multiple customer reps hang up on me, speak rudely to me, refuse to transfer ME TO MANAGER, and even tell me to get a new job to pay for stolen instrument. After months of back and forth we decided to finally do settlement of stolen property. I agreed to pay $30 month until debt was satisfied. HOWEVER, i am STILL getting calls, letters and now reports to my credit!! They even recently tried to withdraw money from my account without my permission! How is this legal, and how come I can get a call back or any answers? Horrible customer service and I am disgusted with this company.

I need a response immediately to resolve these issues.

Regards,
~***** ******~
860.284.8919

Desired Settlement
To Whom it May Concern:

My daughters viola was rented from this company but then stolen from school in October 2014. There was no breaking and entering so the company would not accept the police report. The local office advised me when this happened to WAIT until the end of the school year to report theft, so I did. They advised they would NOT charge me rental on stolen instrument. The company collections started harassing me, calling me and even had multiple customer reps hang up on me, speak rudely to me, refuse to transfer ME TO MANAGER, and even tell me to get a new job to pay for stolen instrument. After months of back and forth we decided to finally do settlement of stolen property. I agreed to pay $30 month until debt was satisfied. HOWEVER, i am STILL getting calls, letters and now reports to my credit!! They even recently tried to withdraw money from my account without my permission! How is this legal, and how come I can get a call back or any answers? Horrible customer service and I am disgusted with this company.

I need a response immediately to resolve these issues.

Regards,
~***** ******~
860.284.8919

Business Response
Dear Ms Long,
I am writing to respond to Ms ***** ******
complaint that Music & Arts will not work with her on stolen instrument.

Customer Service department has been trying to work with Ms ****** to get this issue resolved - she was offered a settlement however ever contacted us back.

Should Ms ****** have a any additional concerns please have her contact Jessica directly, toll-free XXX-XXX-XXXX x1022 if she would like to discuss further.

Please do not hesitate to contact me if I might be of any further help in resolving this matter to the satisfaction of all concern.

Thanks
Amanda Mc Turk
Music & Arts


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I have contacted this business at least 5 times after the settlement on the instrument. I have even made payments. Your stories do not add up nor do they match. You should be ashamed of yourself and your business for lying. Would you like me to forward the bank statement with the payments to your company? This is ludicrous. I am not arguing the settlement! I am arguing why I am making payments and yet your company still will not acknowledge this? Regards, ***** ******

Final Business Response
Dear Ms. Long,
I am writing to respond to Ms. ***** ******
complaint that she has made payments and we have not identified. Ms. ****** made a payment Oct 7th and Dec 10. This still left an outstanding balance. She can not contacted our Customer Service department who was willing to issue a settlement to get the account resolved.

Customer Service department has been trying to work with Ms. ****** to get this issue resolved - she was offered a settlement however ever contacted us back.

Should Ms. ****** have a any additional concerns please have her contact Jessica directly, toll-free XXX-XXX-XXXX x1022 if she would like to discuss further.

Please do not hesitate to contact me if I might be of any further help in resolving this matter to the satisfaction of all concern.

Thanks
****** Mc Turk
Music & Arts

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Someone finally contacted me and explained that although I had accepted the settlement amount, it was not recognizing in the system that I was to have automatic payments and that the total amount was not due... Just the mo thly payments. That's why I was receiving confusing messages and letters with random owed amounts. He was a very nice man who straightened everything out. I am still upset by the customer service I received but I am glad that I can hopefully put this behind me. Regards, ***** ******

12/08/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
received an invoice in August 2015 for a purchase I allegedly made in July 2012. I am being charged for 3 years of finance charges; NEVER INVOICED
Purchase Date: July 2012
NEVER EVER received an invoice!! The first invoice arrived August 2015 charging me 3 years of finance charges! I have contacted Music & Arts multiple times. I tried working with a supervisor. No one returns my calls. I have had a commercial account with them for over 20 years. The customer service is Horrible! They don't follow through with anything they say.

Desired Settlement
I paid the amount of the original purchase, but I will not pay the finance charges since I was NEVER invoiced. No one follows through with a return call which they promised.

Business Response
Dear Ms Long,
I am writing to respond to Ms ***** ******
complaint that Music & Arts did not provide a return phone call.

All fees were reverse and customer's account is currently $0..

Should Ms ****** have a any additional concerns please have her contact Danette directly, toll-free XXX-XXX-XXXX x1124 if she would like to discuss further.

Please do not hesitate to contact me if I might be of any further help in resolving this matter to the satisfaction of all concern.

Thanks
****** Mc Turk
Music & Arts



Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I am glad they reversed the charges, but I am stunned that it had to go to this level before doing so. Danette was the first person I spoke with who promised to call but did not follow through. Then I spoke with Robin, a supervisor, twice. Same thing promises, no follow-through. What a terrible way to run a company!

09/21/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Music & Arts failed to honor the Liability Damage Waiver purchased as part of a rental agreement for a student band instrument. The instrument was accidentally damaged and returned but company wants to charge an additional $285.00 for damages and they have continued to charge my credit card.
Product_Or_Service: Rental of Alto Sax
Account_Number: 4674071

Desired Settlement
I have requested a refund from my credit card company of the $151.14 charges already put through and want Music & Arts to discontinue monthly credit card charges.

Business Response
Dear Ms Long
I am responding to Georgie Colleen Zabor complaint that she was charge for additional repair work.

Georgie has been in communication with our customer service department - they are more than willing to expalin the LDW coverage and additonal cost outside the LDW.

Should Georgie Colleen Zabor have a any additional concerns please have her contact our customer service department at our toll-free 888-731-5396 x2315 if she would like to discuss further.

Please do not hesitate to contact me if I might be of any further help in resolving this matter to the satisfaction of all concern.

Thanks
Amanda Mc Turk
Music & Arts


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I will be calling them on the next business day ( Sept. 8) to find out what additional costs would not be covered by the LDW since no one from the company has ever called or written to me.

Final Business Response
Dear Ms Long,
I am writing to respond to Ms Georgie, Collen Zabor complaint that Music & Arts did not honor LDW.

Ms Zabor called in and did communicate her brother ran over the instrument with his car and brought it in for repair. Damage of this nature is not covered by our LDW however we do value Ms Zabor business and in good faith will credit her back for the 3 months.

A refund for $151.14 will be credited back to Ms Zabor for this instrument.

Should Ms Zabor have a any additional concerns please have her contact Jessica directly, toll-free 800-676-7760 x1022 if she would liket to discuss further.

Please do not hesitate to contact me if I might be of any further help in resolving this matter to the satisfaction of all concern.

Thanks
Amanda Mc Turk
Music & Arts


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

Page 1 of 3
06/14/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Music and Arts has lied, violated a signed contract, and stolen money.


Music and Arts was at our high school during the middle school band sign up sessions. During the session they advertised a rent-to-own offering where they did no credit checks, they did no lending or credits, it was purely a no-fees rent-to-own situation where you could return or exchange the instrument at any time.

I signed a contract and paid a deposit.

Last week I got a call saying I needed to make an additional $380 deposit; I tried to get information about (1) why an additional deposit was required (2) how to make that deposit, (3) how long I had to make a decision and (4) what I should do if I decided to cancel. Unfortunately, other than saying I would not get any explanation other than it was a credit check and that nothing would be provided in writing, she would not provide any information why they wouldn't even explain how to make the deposit baffled me; my assumption is they don't want my business.

So I ask for a supervisor and try to explain that 1) I found the first lady's attitude unacceptable and 2) I would like an explanation of how to proceed including how to make a deposit, how long I had, and what to do if I decided I wanted to cancel. I didn't even get two words out before she said she was five feet from the first lady and the lady treated me just fine. The supervisor said she could provide no further details about how to make the deposit and tried to get off the phone. I quickly pointed out how the Federal Fair Credit Reporting Act would require further notification and after some delay she promised a letter. I then re-asked if no further information could be provided about how to proceed; I tried appealing to her business since saying at this point what was I supposed to do tell my step-son he couldn't do band unless we went to a competitor and she said to put him on the phone. I called her bluff by turning on speaker phone and handing it to him; she of course refused to speak to him and she then denied ever saying that or that she had just lied to me. She refused to let me speak to anyone else; she also refused to provide the contact information for the local sales representative.

What I really don't get is they called me; what was the purpose of that phone call? Where they just trying to lose my business and generate ill-will? I wish I had a recording of the conversation so I could prove just how rude they were; I wouldn't tolerate that from another person let alone an employee for a business I was considering doing business with. The icing on the cake was really the unprofessionalism of saying she would tell my step-son.

Yesterday I received their copy of my contract back with a letter that stated I would need to mail it back with an additional $380 deposit if I wanted to do business with them.

I called a local branch and was able to get the phone number for the sales representative. He very quickly said I was correct about the credit checks, said he was unaware they would be ran, that corporate had changed the program with letting him know, and that he was advocating on our behalf trying to get the original agreement honored.

I always say a business will make mistakes, its how they handle those mistakes. *** earned my respect by immediately acknowledging the issue and apologizing. He then lost me as a customer because I tried explaining that for me to be willing to proceed I needed the corporate situation addressed; *** got very frustrated and started interrupting me etc. He kept saying he didn't understand why I was not happy with him if he was advocating on my behalf etc. At that point I tried explaining three times that I needed two things 1) the original agreement honored and 2) I needed the poor service by corporate addressed Unfortunately, the last 4/7 times he interrupted me two words in and evidently he didn't listen the first three times.

Desired Settlement
Resolution I am seeking:
1. Treat *** to some customer service training. At his heart, I believe *** is a great guy; I honestly think he loves music and really wants to empower families to share a low of music with the students. If I were in charge of your company, I would invest in some customer service training for him. Help him to understand he needs to listen (so he would understand I wanted two things) and to help him have better phone manners.
2. Reward ***** the store manager at your ************* OH store; he's the one he gave me ***'s contact information. While my interaction with him was brief, his manners and customer service skills were impeccable. Granted, this is only one anecdote, but it is a flawless one.
3. Start acting in an ethical, polite, customer-focused way or just go out of business. At a minimum you violated the law by saying you were running credit checks and then running them. You also violated the Federal Fair Credit Reporting act by taking adverse action against us and then trying to not provide any sort of notification as required. Its said when I have to saw you are worse than the cable company and there's a reason I don't have cable.

Business Response
I am writing to respond to Mr. ******* ****** complaint that Music & Arts provided false information regarding his contract.

Customer spoke to our customer service department who explained how our contract worked and that he did sign allowing us to do a credit check - base on his result a deposit was required. Mr. ****** did not want to continue with the contract therefore we refunded the deposit he paid.

Should Mr. ****** have any additional concerns please have her contact ******* directly, toll-free XXX-XXX-XXXX ***** if she would liket to discuss further.

Please do not hesitate to contact me if I might be of any further help in resolving this matter to the satisfaction of all concern.

Thanks
****** *******
Music & Arts

06/13/2016Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Attempting to charge me for an instrument even after I paid for the instrument in it's entirety.
I signed a rental agreement (rent to own) with Music & Arts (Cherry Tree center) on 9/5/2013 for a violin for my son. I paid off the contract on August 6, 2015 making each monthly payment without concern or lateness. After paying off the violin I needed to go back to Music & Art in October because my son dropped the violin and his music teacher couldn't repair it. I went back and requested that the instrument be repaired. The manager looked up the information on my account and said that it was no longer under contract thus I had no liability damage waiver to cover the cost of the repair. I accepted this response and was planning to take it back to my sons to see if his music teacher could provide quick fix.Before we left the manager asked if he could measure my son, to see if the he needed a violin with more length since our current one was 3/4. After measuring my son we learned that he did not need a violin with greater length so we proceeded to walk out and the manager asked us to wait. He grabbed another violin from behind the counter and handed it to us and said " I can't have your son walking around with that violin" take this violin and just come back to us when it's time for him to get a violin with a larger length". I gave him our old violin that we had recently paid off, thanked him and left. A few months later (Approx Nov of 2015), Music & Arts attempted to charge my credit card. I refuted the charge through my credit card company as I assumed it was a mistake since I had already paid off my rent to own contract. They attempted to bill me in Dec 2015 and *** 2016 so I called the company and inquired about the charge. The person I spoke with on the phone wasn't able to provide much information and asked could he have someone call me back. I never received a call from Music & Arts. On Friday May 13th my husband received a call from a male at Music and Arts asking that I contact them about a rental agreement. I went to the Music and Arts store (CherryTree Center) and explained the situation to an employee showing him my canceled credit card statement to prove that I paid all payments for the rent to own contract that I signed in 2013. The employee pulled up my account and was confused, he saw the original rent to own contract and reviewed my documentation to verify that I paid all payments. He said he wasn't sure how or why his manager put another contract in this system for me (take note is is an unsigned contract that I was able to verify with my own eyes). He said that his manager was out of town and that when he returned that he would let the manage know that I came by. I asked to talk with someone in corporate and he gave me a number to call. I called the corporate office and spoke to Sue and explained the situation. She says in her system I am under a contract that ends in 2017 and that I am responsible to pay $217.00 for rental since I received another violin in October. I stated that I did not sign a contract and would not spend another $600.00 for a rent to own contract for the exact same instrument (3/4 violin) and give back the old instrument that I just finished paying for. I shared that the manager gave us the instrument and told us to take it and use it until it was time to upgrade to a larger size and at which point we would get a credit for turning in the instrument that we paid off if we decided to going into a new rental agreement. I also asked for proof of a signed contract for the violin that the manager gave us October and asked to speak with someone with greater authority.She told me that I should go to the store and speak with the manager. I told her that I just left the store and that they were unable to help me and gave me her number. Finally she agreed that she would have someone call me. I have not received a call.

Desired Settlement
I would like for Music & Arts to provide me with documentation of a signed "rent to own" contract by me agreeing to pay for a violin rental between October 2015 and 2017. Just last week they attempted to charge my credit card, with three different amounts however, I have had any charges from this vendor to be denied by my credit card company. If they are unable to produce a signed contract then I am under no legal obligation to pay them anything especially since I already paid for our violin and the manager offered us this violin in lieu of the one we turned in.

Business Response
Dear Ms Long,
I am writing to respond to Ms. ***** ***************** complaint that Music & Arts continue to charge for instrument.

Customer is correct and spoke with our customer service department who reviewed the account. Her contract was also sent to her for review.

Should ***** ***************** have a any additional concerns please have her contact Kelly directly, toll-free XXX-XXX-XXXX x2315 if she would like to discuss further.

Please do not hesitate to contact me if I might be of any further help in resolving this matter to the satisfaction of all concern.

Thanks
****** *******
Music & Arts

05/23/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Charged $925 dollars on the rental of an item worth $300 at best
Rented a used and low-quality trumpet for my son, valued at less than $300. The monthly charges being $40 per month.
We did not know the item hadn't been returned, didn't realize we were being billed all along, brought it in and discovered we'd been charged $925!
When I contacted the company, they simply referred to the fine print in the contract, which basically does state that they have the right to continue to charge the rental *** in perpetuity.
I wrongly assumed they'd neglected to alert me as a courtesy, or that the rental would be topped out at some fixed cost, but no.

Desired Settlement
Think it fair that they charged me up to the value of this used trumpet, but that they refund at least a portion of the balance.

Business Response
Dear Ms. Long,
I am writing to respond to ***** ****
complaint that Music & Arts charging too much for instrument and would like a portion back.

Our customer service department reached out to Mr. **** to explain the contract - they have provided him with options as well for his instruments. Should Mr. **** have any questions he can contact our Customer Service Manager Kelly at XXX-XXX-XXXX ext.2315

Please do not hesitate to contact me if I might be of any further help in resolving this matter to the satisfaction of all concern.

Thanks
Amanda Mc Turk
Music & Arts

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Regret to say there was no reach-out that offered any options.

The customer service people simply repeated that I had signed the contract (several years ago) and that the contract states that they can charge me for as long as my child kept the instrument, even if went into thousands of dollars!

Would be happy to hear them with any offer.

Again, the instrument's value in a couple of hundred dollars.

Final Business Response
Dear Ms. Long,
I am writing to respond to ***** ****
complaint that Music & Arts charging too much for instrument and would like a portion back.

I would recommend that Mr. **** contact our customer service department to better help him understand our contract. Should Mr. **** have any questions he can contact our Customer Service Manager Kelly at XXX-XXX-XXXX ext.2315

Please do not hesitate to contact me if I might be of any further help in resolving this matter to the satisfaction of all concern.

Thanks
Amanda Mc Turk
Music & Arts

05/16/2016Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Unauthorized debits from my account
Last month I contacted Music and arts to setup a payment plan for a past due amount. I setup a $50 a month payment until balance was payed. Last month payment was fine, March 31th, 2016 payment was fine. April 1, 2016 the company charged my card to difference times once in the amount of $200 and another in the amount of $68. I contacted the company on Saturday April 2, 2016 and was told i had never made a payment arrangement and i had to call back to speak to a supervisor.This morning another charge was made in the amount of $34. Contacted Music and arts today and was told by the customer service rep that no supervisor was available and I was hung up on twice.Called back asked for the corp number and was giving the customer service number. Finally got to a supervisor ****** on the phone and she said there nothing there could do because my account was past due. I understand my account was past due, however this is why I setup a payment in the first place. This company has no right to take money from someones account without there permission. This was my rent money and I have no idea what I'm going to do now. Please help. Even if I couldn't get money money back, something needs to be done so this want happen to someone else

Desired Settlement
Looking for the unauthorized amounts to be refunded to my account so I can avoid homelessness and for my payment arrangement to be honored.

Business Response
Dear Ms. *****
I am writing to respond to Ms. ***** ******
complaint that Music & Arts withdrew money from her account for past due balance.

Customer is correct - she did not have an on going payment arrangement. Ms. ****** was past due with her account and base on the contract Music & Arts has the right to draft any past due balance to bring accounts current.

Should Ms ****** have a any additional concerns please have her contact ******* directly, toll-free XXX-XXX-XXXX ***** if she would like to discuss further.

Please do not hesitate to contact me if I might be of any further help in resolving this matter to the satisfaction of all concern.

Thanks
****** ** ****
Music & Arts


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The contact states that you can draft my card that on the contact. I not disputing the fact that I have a balance, that's why I setup the payment plan in the first place. I in good conscience wanted to pay off the balance that I owed. $50 a month is what I could afford right now and to be honest I really can't afford that but I know I needed to start trying to get this taking care of. I get paid once a month and this is why the payment plan was setup for the last day of each month.I know your company has gotting it's money and thats all you care about, however I just wanted to express how this has changed my life so maybe this want happen to someone else. I did get behide in my payment and thats my fault and all I wanted to do was make it right. I have been working two jobs for years trying to support my family. I'm a single mother of 3 girls doing the best I can to provide them with a life the deserve. I had to quit my second job because it had because to much and I wasn't there for my girls. And that decision has hurt me financially. And all I wanted to do was get back on track. Now $300 and something dollar was taking that was part of my rent money and grocery money. I never have extra money left over. Ever dime is accounted for. This has put me in a situation were I'm having to find a place to stay, which is hard because I have no money till the end of the month. I have one pack of meat and who know what's going to happen after that's gone. I haven't eaten in 2 days so I can stretch what I do have for my kids. I have fought so hard to provided a stable and safe environment for my kids being as though I'm a domestic violence Survivor now everything is just gone that fast. Not your fault you guys are just doing your jobs I guess. However please in the future if someone calls you and in good faith provides you with there card information and setup a payment plan because there trying to do the right thing please please honor that. Not everone out here in the world are bad people nor trying to get over. Some of use are just trying to make things right the best way we can with what we have. Best wishes to all of you.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I did set up a payment plan. And the last call I made to your company I spoke to ******* and she was very rude, like half of the reps I speak to there. As far as I'm concern there no need to go back in forth with you any longer. I did contact your company today to figure out why I still have a balance of $136.90. Just crazy. My payoff was about $200 and something dollars. You took a payment of $50 in February and a $50 payment in March as per my payment arrangement. Then in April You decide it was OK to take $200, $68, and $34 out of my account without my consent. Do the math, really on top of previous payments already made. I wish I would give you guys another $136.90 for a student violin that's what probably worth hundred dollars if that. You guys are a rip off. And I will never wish harm on anyone, so in spite of all that has happen in my life due to this situation, I will continue to pray for people like you all and wish you the best. Take care

Final Business Response
Dear Ms. *****
I am writing to respond to Ms. ***** ******
complaint that Music & Arts withdrew money from her account for past due balance.

Music & Arts do value Ms. ****** as a customer and we are willing to work with her on her future balance.

Should Ms. ****** have a any additional concerns please have her contact ******* directly, toll-free XXX-XXX-XXXX ***** if she would like to discuss further.

Please do not hesitate to contact me if I might be of any further help in resolving this matter to the satisfaction of all concern.

Thanks
****** ** ****
Music & Arts

05/10/2016Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Overcharged my account
Since September of 2013' I have had a rent to own agreement with music and arts and up until June of last year (XXXX) I had made my $47.61 payments on time every month as I had provided my credit card to them for reaccuring payments. I fell ill and missed worked thus my paychecks were almost non existent. My wallet had also been lost so I had to get all new IDs and credit cards. I called in February and set up a payment plan with a representative. I explained that I would be able to pay little by little but that I'd be able to make my usual payments again of $47.61 but if I was able to I'd pay more that same month. They accepted my first $50 payment in February then a payment of $135.84 in March. But for some reason this month (April) I was charged $5.00 and $326.45 thus cleaning out and overdrafting my bank account. I called and had the misfortune of speaking to WAYNE who refused to hear anything I had to say and just kept repeating you owe us money and when I asked for a supervisor he down right refused stating that I did not have a good enough reason. Then after many days of calling and leaving messages for a credit supervisor I finally had another misfortune of speaking to Jessica. She refused to help and kept stating I owed them and when I broke down and told her that by them doing this I was left with nothing and could not afford gas,groceries for my 4 girls etc. She then cold heartedly told me "If you can't afford to feed your kids you shouldn't be purchasing an instrument" then I informed her how I risked my life every day as an officer serving my community to keep her and her loved ones safe she replied "that has nothing to do with me". She then directed me to a director who, she inpormed me would tell me and treat me the same wasy as she did! So in so many words Jessica told me that they had the right to use my credit card information and could charge and take any amount they wanted to without as much as a notification. I see that as a dishonest misuse of trust and funds.

Desired Settlement
To be credited my money back minus my monthly payment of $47.61 ($278.84)ASAP. I will continue to do as I promised and had so far kept my word on paying more towards my past due amount. This is what the representative and I had agreed upon when he took my new credit card information. I just ask that they keep their word as I kept mine and to retrain their representative Wayne and Credit supervisor Jessica in proper phone etiquette and customer service. Based on other consumer reports I have not been the only one to have had issues with them either.

Business Response
Dear Ms Long,
I am writing to respond to Ms. ****** ********
complaint that Music & Arts withdrew money from her account for her past due balance.

Ms. ******** did not have any payment arrangements for her past due balance. Our contract states that if account becomes past due we do have the right to charge any past due balance. When our collector and Supervisor tried to work with Ms. ******** she cursed at them on the phone and would not try to work out any arrangements. We do value Ms. ******** business as a customer of Music & Arts and would be more than willing to work out an arrangement with her for future payments.


Should Ms. ******** have a any additional concerns please have her contact Jessica directly, toll-free XXX-XXX-XXXX x1022 if she would like to discuss further.

Please do not hesitate to contact me if I might be of any further help in resolving this matter to the satisfaction of all concern.

Thanks
****** Mc Turk
Music & Arts


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I at no time "Curse" at anyone. I did get upset when I was refused a supervisor and after three days of trying I finally got one she was even ruder than the representative. I've never been the one to be insulted but I've never been a person to lower myself by using profanity. I had already made payment arrangements and I was honoring my end of the arrangements when they out of no where decided to just take the full amount. They obviously do not honor agreements and to top it all off they will bold face lie about their customers claiming they were the rude ones! This response by the company is a joke, the representative denied me a supervisor and kept repeating himself stating I didn't need one. Then the supervisor told me if I couldn't afford to feed my kids (after they cleaned out my account) I had no business buying an instrument! I never cursed not once after they spoke to me this way. And them stating that I did so only shows just what type of people they truly are...

Final Business Response
Dear Ms Long,
I am writing to respond to Ms. ****** ********
complaint that Music & Arts withdrew money from her account for her past due balance.

Ms. ******** did not have any payment arrangements for her past due balance. Our contract states that if account becomes past due we do have the right to charge any past due balance. We do value Ms. ******** business as a customer of Music & Arts and would be more than willing to work out an arrangement with her for future payments.


Should Ms. ******** have a any additional concerns please have her contact Jessica directly, toll-free XXX-XXX-XXXX x1022 if she would like to discuss further.

Please do not hesitate to contact me if I might be of any further help in resolving this matter to the satisfaction of all concern.

Thanks
****** Mc Turk
Music & Arts

Page 1 of 22
06/07/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
This company is not supposed to be taking any more money out of my bank account and every time that I put money in there they're taking out money.they are overdrafting my account $35 each time I have asked them repeatedly to stop taking money out of my bank account. I want my money back plus my overdraft fees. They are taking out my bill money and my money to take my daughter back and forth to Philadelphia for a diabetic appointments . I was told that my bill would be $30 every 3 months so I was putting $60 in there every three months they were not taking the money out then all of a sudden when I want to turn the violas back into the company I have to drive 30 miles out of my way to return them altogether they are taking out almost $200 plus the $35 each time I've had to pay my bank back I will pay them out-of-pocket and I told them that and every time I talk to somebody they tell me that they cannot reimburse me my money I want my money back. I will pay them out-of-pocket and I told them that and every time I talk to somebody they tell me that they cannot reimburse me my money I want my money back
Product_Or_Service: 2 Violas
Account_Number: XXXXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement
I want back every dime that they took from me plus my overdraft fees

06/07/2016Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Illegally charged my card.
Starting August 2015 Music & Arts have been illegally charging my card. I do not have a account with them. I faxed a letter indicating that the account holder is not authorized on y account and to have my card removed from the account. In August they refunded me my money. Starting Feb. 2016 they begin charging my card again, I called and they refunded me money and reassured me that my card was removed. Well, comes March and its debited again. They apologized and took care of their mistake right away. well, now and behold it's April and they charged it again. $208.44 was charged to my card. I've called and called since Tuesday, April 26, 2016 when I discovered that they charged my card again. They just give me the run around, and hang up in my face. They also asked me when was the account holder going to pay their bill? Excuse me, that is not what you ask me. I'm have no relation to the account holder. I have left several messages for Kendra Shields and have not got one call back. This is very inconvenient for me and my family. Their customer service skills are horrible. I can't possibly see how they are in business.

Desired Settlement
I am seeking for them to REFUND ME MY MONEY for April 25, 2016 and to TAKE MY CARD OF OF THE ACCOUNT!!!

06/07/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The company took money from my bank account without authorization for the amount of 163.72 flute that is my ex's daughters.
On April 20th 2016 this company took 163.72 out of my bank account without any authorization. I spoke with them in June 2015 that I was no longer with my ex and to next charge my debit card for his property. This account is under his name and is not mine and I will not pay it. They took money again and this time said they would refund and it's the 29th and they still haven't refunded the amount discuss. I have had so many issues with this company and would never recommend.

Desired Settlement
I would like my money back the 163.72 if they were really nice I would appreciate the now 2 over withdrawal charges I have because of them which is 36 a piece but I know they are not nice so I won't hold my breath. I will never do business with this company ever again.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Musical Instruments - Dealers, Music Instruction - Instrumental, Musical Instruments - Repair, Musical Instruments - Rental

Additional Information

top

If a business refers you to another company or uses sub-contractors, BBB recommends that you research that company including reviewing their BBB business review.

BBB file opened: 01/05/2005Business started: 01/01/1952
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: January 2000, MD

Business Management
Customer Contact: Ms. Amanda McTurk-Brown (Manager, Accounts Receivables)
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Kenneth O'Brien (President/CEO)Ms. Jan Lushbaugh Ms. Amanda Mc Turk (Director of AR) Jessica Nalley (Supervisor)
Number of Employees

1200

Business Category

Musical Instruments - Dealers, Music Instruction - Instrumental, Musical Instruments - Repair, Musical Instruments - Rental

Products & Services

This company offers the rental & sales of band and orchestral instruments and music lessons.

Alternate Business Names
Music & Arts Center, Music & Arts, a Division of Guitar Center Stores, Inc.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Music & Arts has received 1.0 out of 5 stars based on 2 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of F.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Music & Arts

4626 Wedgewood Blvd

Frederick, MD 21703-7159

To | From

Find a LocationX
Or, display all locations
Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Greater Maryland. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Music & Arts is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 759-2221
  • (301) 620-4040
X

Additional Web Addresses

  • Musicarts.com
X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on December 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Musical Instruments - Dealers

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.