BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 09/28/2000

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 09/28/2000

BBB has determined that Moody Movers Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Moody Movers Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Moody Movers Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 3
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 3 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
12/12/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Disputed service
Saturday November 14, 2015
full service local move
Moody Movers charged my family $100 more than our written estimate. The explanation for the extra charges were based on having to pack and move the contents under the kitchen and bathroom sinks. These products were small and already in boxes and containers and could have easily been moved by my family. I would have packed and moved the items myself had I known that I would be charged extra for moving them. Also if I'm being charged for moving the bathroom and kitchen contents, then Moody Movers should have also packed the contents of the bathroom medicine cabinet. The bathroom medicine contents were not packed by the movers. The business explanation for the extra charges is not sufficient since they packed and moved the other contents of the bathroom and kitchen within the estimated charges.

Desired Settlement
I am entitled to a refund of the additional charges when the services accompanied with the extra charges were not performed.

Business Response
Moody Movers, Inc was contracted to provide packing and moving services based on the physical survey of Mr. ******* home prior to the move. Our company perfomed all services and additional services requested on the day of the move and there was no dispute when the bill was paid and our company was never contacted in reference to a refund of $100. We agreed to an hourly rate for our services, and the cost of boxes and packing materials, and this was presented to the customer prior to servicing Mr. ****** who was very relaxed and comfortable during the move. The additional services not estimated included packing personal items such as open oils and chemical, person hygeine products, cleaning supplies and drawers of creams, makeup, lotions and personal items that most customers move themselves, and had to be packed in a manner to prevent spillage and leaking. I find this compliant very shocking based on the fact that everything went smoothly on moving day and there were no complaints until now.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
There were no additional services requested on the day of the move to warrant any additional charges.

I questioned the additional charge of $85 at signing of the bill and was told that the charges were based on having to pack and move the items under the sink. He could have explained to me that there would be additional charges for moving the bathroom items during the packing time. I would have packed and moved those items myself to avoid the additional charges.



10/29/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Hired MMI to move me into my new home, in the process they damaged furniture and my front door. Refused to refund for any damage.
I hired MMI to move me from my apartment into my first home which I had purchased. The movers showed up roughly 45 min later than quoted. They left my TV at my old apartment, damage my white sectional and caused significant damage to my front door. They caused paint chipping and several scratches to my door. I emailed the owner, Mr. ***** ***** photos (per his request) of said damages. I was refunded $50 for my couch (pathetic) and the damage to my door was not even acknowledged. Mr. ***** said he "spoke with my crew and they informed me they did not damage your door." I said well what about the pictures, he said "I spoke with my crew, they did not damage your door". I moved into my home, no damage to the door, his company moved my furniture (which they also damaged) into my new home. He completely disregarded my complaints. Never returned calls. Never responded to emails. I am VERY disappointed in the service provided by MMI as well as the total lack of concern or respect for me as a paying customer. I would NEVER recommend MMI or their services to ANYONE I know. I understand that it is possible, and potentially likely that there will be damage(s) from moving. However, I am grossly disappointed in the lack of compensation or concerned MMI has showed me. I felt dismissed and like I was being accused of lying about the damages his company has caused me. I am not asking for more than what I paid back. But I do need my door fixed, or money to get it fixed. As mentioned, I know it is part of the territory with moving that something(s) might get damaged. That is why a "professional" moving company has insurance, for said damages.

Desired Settlement
I expect that this company either refund me for the services I paid for as a result of the damage caused or send someone out to look at and fix or replace my door. I do not want more than what I paid, as there is no reason for that. I just want what I thought I was getting. Yes my furniture got moved into my house. However, at the expense of my front door. I would like my claims to be taken seriously and with concern, not rudely dismissed. I either need my $300 back, so I can get the door fixed or replaced, or I need someone on behalf of MMI to give me quote for the door and write me a check for that amount (which quite possibly would be more than the $300 I'm asking for back). As mentioned before, I am very disappointed with the services and lack of customer service from MMI. Between being late, damaging my furniture and accusing me of lying about damages caused by MMI workers, I am NOT at ALL satisfied. I would not make up damages to my front door, this has been going on for over a month now. This is not something I want to deal with. I just want to be treated with respect and given the consideration I deserve.

Business Response
Moody Movers, Inc. serviced Ms. ******** and paid out a damage claim of $70 for a couch that received a stain on it during the process of the move. Our movers were asked to attempt to deliver the couch to the basement door where it would not fit because of the height of the couch. Ms. ******** questioned whether or not the scratch on the front door was there before the move and I questioned my crew about the incident the same day, and all 3 movers assured me that nothing was forced through her front door and our company did not damage her front door. I spoke to Ms. ******** about the situation 3 days after the move and informed her that our company investigated the situation and determined that the scratch on her door was not caused by our company and we received detail information in reference to moving of her couch and other belongings. Our position as I told her before is that the damage to her door was there prior to our move in.

Thank You,

***** *****

Industry Comparison| Chart

Movers, Moving Supplies, Moving Services - Labor & Materials, Movers - Office

Additional Information

top

If a business refers you to another company or uses sub-contractors, BBB recommends that you research that company including reviewing their BBB business review.

BBB file opened: 10/03/2000Business started: 01/01/1995
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Maryland Dept. of Transportation
7201 Corporate Ctr PO Box 548
Hanover, MD 21076-0548
(410) 865-1142
http://www.mdot.state.md.us

BBB records show a license number of 720865 for this company. This license is in the name of Moody Movers Inc.

Type: Department of Transportation

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: May 1997, MD

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Steve Moody (President)
Number of Employees

7

Business Category

Movers, Moving Supplies, Moving Services - Labor & Materials, Movers - Office

Products & Services

This company offers local and long distance moving, storage, crating, packing and unpacking services.

Industry Tips
Selecting a Mover

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Moody Movers Inc. has received 5.0 out of 5 stars based on 3 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Moody Movers Inc.

Columbia, MD 21045

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Greater Maryland. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Moody Movers Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (888) 824-2766
  • (301) 617-2666
  • (919) 621-9933
  • (410) 286-5366
X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on December 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Movers

Selecting a Mover
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.