BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 10/24/2005

B. Von Paris & Sons, Inc. (Headquarters)

Phone: (410) 888-8500Fax: (410) 888-9062

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service2
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints4

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4)
01/27/2016Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My furniture and household goods were packed at my apartment on September 28 and 29 at *************************, Silver Spring, Md. It was then picked up on September 30thto be shipped to Largo, Florida. They told me it would be delivered in Largo on OCTOBER 10TH. It was delivered on Saturday, October 11th. I have no idea where my furniture was from September 30th until October 11th. After it was delivered my daughter and I was inundated with bites and we found these bugs in our bed and on pillows. My daughter was so bitten up that she had to go to the doctor for medicine for the itching. We called in an exterminator and he told us the house was inundated with bed bugs. Now, I have never had bedbugs in my apartment which I lived in for 14 years and I moved into my daughters house which she has lived in for four years and never saw a bedbug. Where did they come from? Also when I opened the cardboard box that my bedroom mirror was in bugs jumped out.

I had to hire an exterminating company to tent the house at the cost of $1,000.00 and stay at a hotel at a very great inconvenience $300.00 plus $200.00 for food and the cost of keeping my dog as it was the only hotel that would take him.

Desired Settlement
All I would like is the money I spent getting rid of these bugs and compensation for our pain and suffering

Business Response
We are in the process of reviewing the circumstances of this complaint. We have contacted ************************ to solicit their input insofar as they were the carrier that hauled the *****'s household goods from Maryland to Florida. They sent a letter to the *****'s stating that there was no definitive evidence that the infestation was transit related, and accordingly denied any liability. Von Paris Moving & Storage was the entity that booked the ***** order and we rightfully are involved in attempting to resolve the matter to our customer's satisfaction. In the *****'s complaint they make reference to unsealing a box containing a mirror and that "bugs jumped out". It begs the question as to how bugs were able to penetrate a sealed box. Because ************************ was unable to verify that the infestation was due to a transit related circumstance the best that we can do is offer a goodwill gesture to our customer. Accordingly, we will offer a $250.00 goodwill gesture to the ***** family together with our apology that this circumstance was a part of an otherwise successful move.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I would like to know how I got the bedbugs since I did not have them when the household items were picked up and they appeared as soon as the goods were left off at my daughter's home who also never had bedbugs.

It seems to me that since they stored the furniture for ten days they had to be responsible for this infestation. I would like an answer to this question. The bugs appearedon my bed after the box with the mirror was put in my bedroom. Also the mover was suppose to put some pieces of furniture together but the mover could not way to leave. Maybe he knew something.

Final Business Response
With additional research it was established that no other shipment on the same truck with the ***** shipment reported any bug infestation. If the infestation was inherent in the truck itself the other shipments would have been affected as well. In an effort to satisfy our customer and bring this matter to a successful conclusion we are willing to amend our original offer. This will be our "final offer" concerning this complaint and it is in no way an admission of liability in this matter it is offered as a "goodwill gesture" to our customer. Accordingly, we will offer the *****'s $500.00 as a gesture of goodwill. If this offer is rejected there will be no further offering at all and we would ask the BBB to close the complaint.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

09/02/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Von Paris claims that I owe them money. The company sent to my home two African American males who pounded on my door until I called the police.

August 09, 2015


Consumer Complaints
Baltimore, Maryland

Dear Sir or Madam,
I am writing about a moving company by the name of Von Paris Moving & Storage. I hired them in February (please see the signed estimate), to move me from ** ******* ***** ************ Maryland, XXXXX, to **** ********** ***** ******* Maryland, XXXXX. The reason I am writing to you is because I have been wrongfully billed. I was not going to take time from my busy schedule to write to the Better Business Bureau about such trivial matters such as a moving company. But Von Paris has made several attempts to harass me so I believe it is time to concern myself with a "moving company", and put a stop to the unreasonable mail that consist of a bill that they are sending to me. I think it is time to make an attempt to get rid of this unscrupulous and extremely unprofessional company who doesn't know the first thing about running a business.
I would like to start from the beginning when Mark ******* came to my home at ** ******* ***** ************ Maryland XXXXX, to give me an estimate. The date of the estimate was on February 10, 2015. It was finally agreed upon that Von Paris would move me from ******* **** to **** ********** **** on Thursday, March 05, 2015. There was a snow storm on March 05. But on March 06, 2015, the company moved me with one truck that had a long bed on the back of the truck. The company has trucks with shorter beds on it. Everything I owned was on the truck including all of my clothes and makeup. Around 5:00p.m. the driver Ron ********* cell phone, (XXX)XXX-XXXX and e-mail, ************@yahoo.com, who was also the leader of the moving team attempted to drive me into the driveway of **** ********** **** with the truck that had a very long bed on the back. He could not get the truck into the driveway. There was too much ice and snow at the end of the driveway. I called the dispatcher and asked her if the men could shovel the driveway out for me if I paid them and her answer was no. She said that the men or the company had no responsibility to me to shovel the driveway. I explained to the men that I had no place to go or spend the night. My close friend who has cancer was in the hospital with pneumonia. The moving men and the company could have cared less. By the way I already had given the moving men a fifty dollar tip before they refused to shovel the driveway. Without any change of clothing I was able to sleep at the hospital where my friend was staying for the weekend. When I called Von Paris on Monday, March 09, 2015, to see what time they could move me that day, the office said that the driver was assigned to another job. I attempted to contact Mark *******, cell number XXX-XXX-XXXX, and another manager by the name of Joe ** *** but they would not return my calls. I have never spoken to Mark ******* since the first day he came to my home at ** ******* **** on February 10, 2015, to give me an estimate. I have never spoken to Joe ****** but I left messages in both of their phones that I would contact my lawyer if they did not have me moved by the next day. I was moved on Tuesday, March 10, 2015.
About a week later I received a call from one of the moving men whose name I do not remember and he said that he made a mistake when he added my bill and the company under charged me. I told him I wasn't going to pay the bill. After all, I was given the absolute worse customer service anyone could have ever imagined. I don't owe them any more money. The company, the managers, must have ordered the movers and the office workers to call and harass me. About five of the movers including Ron ******** and an office worker called me to tell me that I owed the company $700.00. They were even stupid enough to leave messages on the phone. I never got a call from Mark ******* or Joe ** ***. I ignored all of their calls. A week later two African American males came to my house to harass me.

Desired Settlement
I called the police on two African American males who never returned to my home once they realized I was going to get the police involved. So now Von Paris is sending me bills for the boxes for the amount of $258.45. I do not owe them any money. The resolution I want is for the harassment to stop and I do not want any more bills to come to my house.

Business Response
Ms. ******,

Von Paris Moving & Storage appreciates the opportunity to provide moving services to you and we regret that you have experienced any issues after the completion of the move. We have investigated thoroughly all of the events that you annotated in your complaint.

Our company was not aware of the actions taken when you were visited at your home after the move. Our company would never send someone to your home to discuss a billing or payment issue. These actions were not and never would be sanctioned by our company. The individuals that came to your home did so on their own and without our consent or knowledge. We are taking immediate action internally. Additionally, we are communicating with every one who provides service to our customers that this type of action would never, ever be prompted by or sanctioned by our company. We are truly and most sincerely sorry that this occurred.

In light of the circumstances, we will be crediting your account in the amount of $258.45 thus bringing the account balance to $0.00 and ending any attempts that were made to collect further monies.

We hope that you are happy in your new home. We wish you the very best of happiness and success in the future.

Sincerely,

Dan ********
Vice President/General Manager

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)




September 02, 2015

Dear Sir or Madam,
I have given a lot of thought to what has happened during my move involving Von Paris Moving & Storage and the company's employees. I have thoroughly read the reply from the vice president/general manager of Von Paris Moving and Storage. I first would like to comment on a sentence that the vice president/general manager, Dan ********, has written. He writes, "in light of the circumstances, we will be crediting your account of $258.45 thus bringing the account balance to $0.00 and ending any attempts that were made to collect further monies". I should have never been billed for the boxes in the first place for the amount of $258.45. The way that everything has been managed from the very beginning is to say the least unprofessional and unethical. When Mark ******* came to my previous address to give me an estimate on the move, he did not include the cost of the boxes. He didn't even mention it. I have no less than eight telephone calls from the movers including a Jay ******* a moving coordinator, often leaving messages, that I owe the company $700.00 which is a charge not even related to the boxes. According to a John *** telephone number XXX-XXX-XXXX, he accidentally undercharged me by $700.00 even though the invoice was marked paid. When the company realized that all of the harassing telephone calls their employees made was actually unsuccessful - then it was the time that the telephone calls stopped and the two African American men had shown up on both my front and back door steps pounding fiercely on my doors. I didn't mention in my earlier letter that these men were driving one truck with Von Paris Moving and Storage painted in large letters on the truck. Isn't the company supposed to know the location of its employees and the location of its trucks? I find it unbelievable that the Von Paris Moving and Storage, and its managers including the Vice President/General Manager of the company was not aware of any of these criminalistics acts after the move. The criminalistics act is called harassment including the bills sent to my home repeatedly.
The most serious event was when the employees came to my previous address at ** ******* **** to assist me with packing. The date was on March 05, 2015. The moving date was set for March 06, 2015. But there was a major snow storm that day. Everything I own was packed in boxes, so an attempt was made to move all of my items to my new home on Friday, March 07, 2015. Everything I own was on the Von Paris truck including my clothes. I had already given the moving men a $50.00 tip before we arrived at ********** ***** my new home. When the moving men arrived at **** ********** ***** the Von Paris truck that had a very long trailer and the truck could not get into the driveway. When I suggested that the men do a little bit of shoveling, they refused, even after I handed them a $50.00 tip. The moving men said that it was not required by the company for them to shovel snow. When I told the leader who was the driver of the truck, Ron ******** , I had no place to go at nights while my belongings and furniture was on the company's truck, the employees and managers at Von Paris could have cared less. I also worked as a church musician at *** *********'s of ******* ***** ******** ****** on Sundays. Needless to say that my music and my clothes were packed on the truck so the church services at *** *********'s was "compromised", putting it mildly.
My strongest argument is that if Von Paris was all that reputable of a company, wouldn't the company have tried to make accommodations for me for that weekend? I have seen shorter trailers on the back of the company's trucks. Why couldn't the company transfer my belongings into a shorter truck on the day of the move? This way the smaller truck would have been able to get into the driveway. Why did anything not think about trying to get the truck into the driveway into my new home the morning of the move? What happened after this was disgraceful. No one would tell me where the truck was going be parked with all of my belongings including an expensive guitar, piano, and organ. Everything I own on the truck was someplace I did not know. It wasn't like I was to find the truck, break into it, and take back my belongings. During that time I was helping my friend who has cancer, and who was in the hospital with pneumonia. Fortunately the charge nurse at the hospital gave me permission to sleep in a chair at ******** I slept at ********* ******* ********* ******* ****** during the nights until my belongings and furniture were returned on Tuesday, March 11, 2015, four days after the initial move. On Monday morning, March 10, 2015, after waiting for a call from Von Paris which I did not get, I called the moving coordinator, Jay ******* to see what time the men were going to move that day. Jay ****** said that the driver, Ron ********* was assigned to another job that day. The move could not be until the following Thursday, March 13, 2015. If I wanted the move to happen any sooner, I would have to pay extra money, something like over $200.00 dollars. This is when I called Mark ******* and Joe ****** the other mangers. They never returned my calls. In fact, I have never had another conversation with Mark ******* after his initial visit to my previous residence when he had given me an estimate. The day of his visit to my previous address was on February 10, 2015. I finally left a message in the voice mails of both men, who never returned my calls that Monday, March 10, 2015, that if my items were not returned to me by the next day, Tuesday March 11, 2015, I was going to contact my lawyer, and the company was going to have the largest law suit on their hands that the company has ever experienced. Miraculously, Jay ****** called me back immediately and said that the move would be made the next day, Tuesday, March 11, 2015. The move was made that day into my new home.
I believe that because of all of the issues that I have mentioned gives reason for my complaint to be made public on the website of the Better Business Bureau. Hopefully no other person will be victimized as I have been. I do expect not to be billed, or most importantly, harassed by the company, Von Paris Moving and Storage in the future. One thing is for sure and that is the company will never receive my business again or receive a good recommendation from me. I am a church musician and I am the owner and operator of ***** ****** **** I really do have many more important matters to contend with rather than managing the inadequate issues and unprofessional practices of a moving company. This is really good material for my lawyer.
Thank you for your assistance in this matter.
Sincerely,


****** ** ******




11/17/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Failure to deliver ALL parts to our furniture. Used incorrect hardware which has now ruined my furniture. No ownership on this!
On October 30th, I moved into **** ****** **** Pasadena, MD 21122. During the move, my mother was at my new house. When I returned at 7PM, the movers were about to begin assembling the beds. The beds consisted of a crib, full bed for my son, and our queen bed. The movers notified me that they could not locate the hardware from the original movers and there was nothing they could do until tomorrow. Therefore, I had to pack up all my belongings, my children (3 and 1) and stay at my mother's as I had no place for my children to sleep. Keep in mind I am 6 months pregnant. I explained to the supervisor that I needed this corrected ASAP 10/31 as I am going away for the weekend and I had a babysitter coming to watch my kids. The next morning, at around 830AM, ******* ****** from Von Paris called and I went through the situation and explained the urgency on this matter. She was calling to notify me that the movers are trying to locate the hardware. At around 1130-12PM, I called back to get an update. I was informed that the hardware was located and ******* would be calling me back with an ETA for the movers to assemble the beds. With still no word around 1-130, I called asking what was going on. I was informed that the movers were heading back to Savage, MD and would be coming to my home next which would put a 3-5PM delivery time. I explained that this was unreasonable as I would be trick of treating with my children and would be leaving immediately afterwards. I also addressed that this was brought to everyone's attention first thing in the morning and because I am not a priority, this is now, again, my problem and ruining my plans. ******* stated she would call them and push for an earlier time and would call me back. ******* never called me to let me know when they were coming and they showed up around 3PM. The two men started assembling the beds and ******* called apologizing for someone not letting me know that they couldn't be at my house until 3. This is when ******* asked if I was paying with a Cashier's check...I explained that I am due a discount as this has completely ruined my move and holiday plans as I am still home instead of taking my children out. She stated her manager wanted me to pay in full and he would contact me regarding my concerns. I responded by saying that this happened the night before at 730 and this should have already been addressed and its horrible customer service. She stated she was going to find him and would call me back. After a ½ hour, I called back to find out what to pay and *******'s operated stated she was gone for the day. At this time, my husband is yelling that the movers did not bring our original hardware and that they used NEW hardware on the furniture, which is now ruined. I called and asked for a manager who did not answer and let him know that I needed a call FIRST THING in the morning Saturday in regards to my reimbursement for my furniture and I would be contacting the BBB. In summary, I was inconveniently put out of my new home Thursday night, lied to on Friday regarding the movers FINDING my hardware, completely DISREGARDED when I brought the urgency of this to them, and we now have RUINED furniture. I have missed Halloween with my two small children who I was unable to take Trick or Treating as I was sitting around my house waiting for my furniture to be assembled for my sitter. No one at the company wants to listen to me regarding a discount for the inconvenience and now my furniture is RUINED. As I stated, I have a convertible crib. The new hardware is not the same size and I worry for the safety and sturdiness of the crib. Not only the safety but explain to me how I am supposed to convert the crib into the toddler bed and full size bed as promised when I do not have the hardware! Also, this isn't even touching the fact that my son's footboard is broke, I am missing one of the knobs to the dresser and his changing table is missing the bottom making the storage unusable.

Desired Settlement
I am looking to be reimbursed for the beds that are ruined. The queen bed was from ***** and is missing a ton of pieces- I can provide pictures. The crib is unusable as I can no longer convert to a toddler and/or full size as the company promises as I do not have the hardware. Also my sons footboard is broke and I am missing pieces to his storage. I am looking for $1,000 in damages.

Business Response

Hello. I'm so sorry that our service was not all you expected it should be. We strive to be the best mover in the region and among the best in the country. This relocation was a bit out of the ordinary as it was actually two moves. The 1st one had your items moving from a residence to a garage with those same items to be moved about a week later to another residence. The move from the origin to the garage was fine, however our driver left a box of bed parts on his truck. He incorrectly assumed that he'd be the same driver to reload from the garage and deliver to the destination for the second move a week later. He failed to make the office aware that he had the box. The next week we assigned a different driver to do your second move and he realized at the end of that move that he was missing a parts box. This was late in the evening. The next morning we were made aware of the situation and did our research. Once we determined what happened we sent the original driver back out with the parts to reassemble the beds. This was done the very same day we found out about the issue. I have via voicemail and will again call to offer some reimbursement for the aggravation and time put out of the home including covering any hotel bills during that time. If you were forced to stay with friends and family we will happily discuss some fair compensation for those factors as well. We'll be more than happy to work with you on those factors over and above any damage claims issued. Damage issues will be dealt with as per our contract through our claims dept. All charges (Minus of course the amount we work out for the customer service considerations) will have to be paid in full before beginning a claims settlement process as per our written agreement. Again I've left a voicemail with all of my contact info and will also call again each day until we reach you. I'm eager to turn this experience around for you if at all possible. Again let me say that I'm very sorry that our service wasn't all you or we expect it to be but I'm eager to discuss it with you further and see if we can make this right. I look forward to working with you to resolve your concerns.
Thank you!

08/11/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Did not show up on time or complete majority of tasks I paid for!
I was assured movers would be at my house by 9 am to have all my things gone by 1 pm. Movers did not show up til 11:30. They then did very little as I had to move almost 80% of my things out of the house because I was selling my house that day and had to be out by 2 pm. I tried during the initial quote to have the move scheduled the day before but they assured me the day of was perfect and everything was fine. I made over 10 phone calls to the company which were unanswered and not returned. They claimed my phone was not working or my voicemail was not set up. All these statements are incorrect as I received 100's of phone calls over the same time from others and multiple voicemails. No one but Von Paris had any "problems" with my phone. They offered zero compensation for any of these problems.

Desired Settlement
I paid $3986.32 to have the company move my things out of my house and deliver them to Cordova, TN. I believe this is a 3 part move and would like to receive $700 refund for the part of the agreement they did not fulfill. $700 is because if each part of the move is a third of the price they did very little of the first part. I believe I should receive half of the money for this portion of the move because they came nowhere close to the deadline they assured me they could meet and I did the majority of the moving which they were supposed to do 100%.

Business Response
This has been resolved to customer's satisfaction

Industry Comparison| Chart

Movers, Records Management, Storage Units - Household & Commercial, Movers - International, Movers - Office, Moving & Storage Company, Logistics, House & Building Movers

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.