BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

America Van Line, LLC

Find a Location

Phone: (866) 363-7247Fax: (410) 526-2673View Additional Phone Numbers11221 Dolfield Blvd Ste 106, Owings MillsMD 21117-3254 Send email to America Van Line, LLChttp://www.americavanline.comView Additional Web Addresses

! There is an alert for this business !

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

America Van Line, LLC is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

This business has no rating because it is out of business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

11 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues2
Delivery Issues1
Problems with Product / Service7
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 11

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on America Van Line, LLC

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (11)
10/30/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The company stated their policy of an average of 1-14 days from pickup to delivery for my relevant regions but they took 45 days.
Reference #XXXXXXX
I worked with **** ****** from AVL and the driver delivering my home goods was **** *********

After I set my reservation for a pick up date of August 20, 2013, I didn't hear much from AVL. I emailed and called several times to get in touch with Alan to followup regarding my anticipated delivery date, but most of my emails were never answered unless I followed up with a phone call.

On August 20, I had problems with Mike who came to pick up my belongings in ********. He came 5 hours late, left trash (empty tape dispensers, napkins), and came ill-prepared. He asked to use my tape, stating that he was out. After he exhausted my supply, he went to get more from his truck. I made him a sandwich and he left the crumbled up napkin with the crusts outside of my apt entry way, bundled up on the grass.

On Monday, Sept 30, the driver **** stated that he would be able to meet me on Wednesday for which I was able to change my work schedule around. However, on Tuesday, he stated that it would be Wednesday afternoon or evening, at the VERY latest, Thursday MORNING. After 6pm on Wed, **** stated that he would not be able to meet me Wednesday evening and that it'd be first thing Thursday morning. With this understanding, I took off of work on Thursday and waited for him in Nacogdoches early in the morning. However, he never called. I essentially woke him up at 930am.
He called me at 648pm to let me know that he was on his way and that he'd make it at 9pm. I met with **** ******** at 930pm on Oct 3, 2013. This was Thursday night at 930pm! **** tried to charge an additional $1000 for a long carry but brought it down to $250. To avoid this my father shuttled the boxes to the front door AND helped carry everything. **** still charged $75 & they completed everything around midnight! Had Dad not helped, it would've been 2am!

While the policy states an average of 1-14 days for delivery from ** to *** with a maximum of 21 days, it's very difficult for me to understand why my delivery took 45 days. Both states have major roadways and are not far from major cities. The time (1) frame was ridiculous, (2) trash was left by both the pickup crew and the driver (**** went so far as to say that he doesn't pick up the trash when I handed him the balls of tape which he cut from the blankets), the (3) customer service from AVL was lacking once my belongings were picked up, (4) I had to request a credit for $388 twice for a charge in excess of my total balance (charged by **** during the pickup), (5) there was NO followup, which I can elaborate further with my call logs and emails to AVL, and (6) the manner in which my delivery was handled was poor and unacceptable. I have been very patient and polite, yet my questions and concerns weren't acknowledged. This is appalling and quite frankly, astonishing! I cannot believe that it took 45 days and that my 57 year old father had to help. No one even notified me that my belongings were picked up. I had to call to find out by getting transferred and put on hold several times.

My items were delivered on Oct 3. On Oct 4, I requested a reasonable 15% refund (from the total payment of $1645) for the reasons listed above, not taking into account lost wages and expenses for professional clothing due to not having my belongings. On Oct 5, ***** ******* (manager at AVL) responded, stating that the company will discuss my case on Monday, Oct 7 and get back with me via email on Wednesday, Oct 9. I did not hear back from them. On Friday, Oct 11, I emailed *****. On Monday, Oct 14, ***** responded and offered a $175 refund (about 10.5%) but that I'd have to sign an agreement stating that I would not pursue further action against AVL nor would I file or continue with any complaints. That afternoon, I responded that my 15% was a fair and reasonable request and insisted that the company reconsider. I asked AVL to please provide a decision by Thursday, Oct 17. The company has not yet responded.

Desired Settlement
I requested a 15% refund, total $246.75, even though wages and expenses incurred totaled to over $700.

10/04/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
i was doubly charged for the packing of boxes when it had already been included in the quote.
This is regarding the moving order number XXXXXXX from ********* ** to ******** *** The sales contact is **** ******* The packing guy that came to my home was **** and ****** is his boss.

1. Why was I charged 200$ additional for packing the 20 boxes for which we had already included the cost in the quote? **** charged me 200$ extra for the packing for which i had already paid in the quote.

2. Why there was a charge for 90$ and 60$ for the 6 fabric covers price and labor? what was it used for?

I called **** 3 times and he always says ***** will contact me. I have not received a call from ***** for more than 3 days.

Desired Settlement
reimburse the 200$ + 150$ = 350$ that was charged additionally.

09/25/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I paid a moving company America Van lines $1600 for my move to Texas after they got my stuff they asked for more $$$ another $5o3 will weight truck!!!
I was given a price of $1600 and told my move would not go more than 10% over that price now that want another $503 or another $500 to weight the truck. They are criminals you need to look at them and shut them down they have all my money $1600 paid in full and will release my stuff without another $503 in Dallas. I really your help!!!I am a grad student and I suffer a mentally disability and I did understand the forms and they never told me about that extra $500 fee to weight the truck they are criminals they have all my stuff and now they want to hold me up for more money. please help me!!!!

Desired Settlement
I just want my stuff for the price they gave or within 10 % of it and to speak with someone in charge of it I have called and talked a GM ***** but I do not like him and he has no power to help me and he lies about price. They have me a written price of $1,598.31 and they have full payment of $1600.00.

Business Response
We have reviewed the Consumer complaint filed by ****** ****** against America Van Lines, regarding overcharge issues. We have also reviewed the original pre-move estimate, and the final moving paperwork relative to this matter.

We have confirmed that Ms. ****** hired the Business to perform a Long Distance move from *********** ** to ****** commencing on 8/15/13. Prior to the move Consumer obtained a phone/email estimate based solely on her representation of the size/scope of services needed. However, at pick-up Consumer had more items/volume than she had previously specified. She was advised of this by the foreman & issued a revised Binding Estimate of Cost in the sum of $2103.20, which she accepted & signed thereby voiding/replacing any prior estimates. After loading was complete and the movers had left, Consumer then called the Business' office asking for a discount on the move cost that she had already agreed to. The manager told her that he would look into it & she could call him back to follow up the following day (which was 8/16/13). However, Consumer did not wait to even follow up & filed this BBB complaint on 8/16/13, before ever letting the Business address her concerns.

Based on the above, Consumer was charged for actual services/supplies used in the amount agreed to by her in writing at the time of pick-up. She did not allow the Business even 1 day to address her concerns before filing her complaint. Therefore, no overcharge occurred & no adjustment is due Consumer. Please update your records accordingly. Thank you.


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I told them what I had and I had what I had I never agreed to pay another $503 more dollars ****** that is a total lie!!! I am mentally disabled and I am dirt poor when the guy told me that I about had a heart attack I asked him what I should do...he began to ask me to sign forms did not explain what I was signing.

I was LIED too. I was told I would HAVE 30 DAYS of FREE STORAGE and I was told my stuff would 43 cents a pound and cost $1600 to move....after all my stuff was on the truck then they asked for another $503 in ****** I was like I will never have that...EVER.. I have NO JOB and NO Money...PLEASE HELP!!!

I need my stuff but I cannot pay more than 10 percent more like they said. They should not be allowed to steal your stuff and demand more money!!! This is INSANE!!! I am calling the cops in MD if you cannot help me.

On Sat August 24 I tried to get my stuff from AMerica Van Lines they refused to give it to me without another $503.20 in CASH. They took my stuff to a un air condition unit in ****** ***** 3 miles from my apt and are trying now to charge me for that even though I was told 30 days of FREE storage came with them. Aug 20 date of arrival for my stuff was only when they agreed to honor the first price on $1600 I already them when they stole my stuff and demanded I paid them tons more money I DO NOT HAVE...I told them August 15 they would have to hold the stuff in ******** LONGER. I WAS LIED TOO AND tricked into signing my rights away to get my stuff weight at the 43 cents a pound rate they promised me. I need my stuff. America VAN Lines are criminals. They told my mom I refused the stuff on August 24 last Sat and they did not know WHY. I had $30 in my wallet and I told them the truth I have NO MONEY. I have a lady ****** with the Atty General of Maryland office been calling them everyday and they will not call her back she is faxing them a letter today and sending one in the mail. They should be shut down for doing this to a disabled person. It is awful and mean. They were paid in Full they did not finish the job and my stuff is going to be damaged by the non AC in the storage over the past week in Texas heat but I will get my stuff back even if I have to speak to Gov **** ***** and *** *** ****** about this criminals myself. I have reported them to Atty Generals in ** and ******** and ****** I also do not have my contract they took it and all I have is a bill of sale and my list of items. I have talked to a lawyer with the *** ************ in ****** and the Legal Aid of *******

10/06/2014Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
America Van Lines did not include some of our items in the shipment from MD to TX, and some items were badly damaged. Overall- very dissatisfied.
America Van Line was hired to complete our relocation from MD to TX. The pick up date of our household items was June 16, 2014 by a crew of 3 men. They took our possessions to a nearby loading facility but not before adding additional charges for packing to the original estimate. We packed our items ourselves. Our items were finally delivered on June 28, 2014 later than the estimated time of arrival. The driver would not initially accept a money order for the remaining balance because the owner of the company demanded cash. We (customer) wanted to pay with some form of payment other than cash for tax purposes. The owner was reluctant and the driver would not allow the movers to begin working until the owner agreed to our payment terms. Once the movers began unloading the truck many of our items were damaged or missing. My executive desk, end table and daughter's bike were badly damaged to name a few items. My ****** suitcase was not shipped at all. I attempted to file a claim for more than a month before someone took my claim according to their process. I opted for the standard coverage of .60 cents per pound. It could take 9 months before a resolution is made according to the claim respondent.

Desired Settlement
I'd like the company to replace my ****** Suitcase and compensate me for damages we incurred from the move. My executive desk is valued at more than the total cost of our move, and I'd like fair compensation for the damages to our property for the items listed in the detailed complaint. I'm also requesting a partial refund for the additional charges we incurred for packing.

Business Response
We have received the Consumer complaint filed by ***** ****** against America Van Line, regarding overcharge, late delivery, and damaged items. We have reviewed the complaint along with the consumer's estimate, moving paperwork, and our claim records relative to this matter.

We have confirmed that Consumer hired the Business to perform a Long Distance move from Maryland to Texas, commencing on 6/16/14. Prior to the start of the move Consumer was offered two coverage options for his shipment - Additional Valuation Coverage for repair/replacement of any damaged/missing items or the free coverage included of $.60/lb/article. He declined to purchase the additional coverage & chose/signed for the $.60/lb/article coverage. He was charged for actual services/supplies used in accordance with the estimate and the Bill of Lading he signed for the move. Delivery was completed within the agreed delivery range on 6/28/14 (within 9 business days). Following delivery, on 8/21/14 Consumer contacted our office regarding filing a claim for missing/damaged items. On that date an email was sent to him with a claim form to complete & submit in order to file a claim under the coverage chosen. To date, we have not received the completed claim form with supporting documentation/information back from Mr. ******, as is required to file a legal transportation claim. Therefore, we would ask that customer submit his written claim with all information requested within the time frame specified on his Bill of Lading, so that we may open a transportation claim & review it under the coverage rate chosen by him. At this time no compensation is due Consumer.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I have not received the "claim form" the company indicated they sent to me. The communication between the business and myself was done via a recorded phone call which I made to the company. I finally spoke with the company after a number of attempts made by me. I will gladly submit the "claim form" when the company issues the document to me. Please advise the company to send me the form.

Final Business Response
We are in receipt of the rebuttal filed by ***** ****** relative to his ongoing complaint against America Van Line.

We have confirmed that the claim form was emailed to Consumer on 8/21/14 to **********@yahoo.com per his request. Another copy of the claim packet is attached hereto for Consumer's convenience.

Once the Consumer submits his completed claim form via trackable mail to our office within the time frame specified on his Bill of Lading, we will open a claim and provide a determination based on the coverage in place.

We must again reiterate that at this time no claim has been filed & no compensation is due Consumer. Thank you, ** ********, Director CPC

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The cover letter is missing one of the items I reported "missing" from the original delivery. My ****** travel size suit case is not included on the itemized portion of the cover letter. The company can refer to the recorded phone conversation for verification. Please advise before I return the claim form.

12/10/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I have issues with the gross overcharge, which is more than double the estimate as well as multiple damaged and missing items.
Initially, I was quoted an estimate of just over $4k to move from ** to *** Come moving day, I was forced to sign all paperwork prior to moving my furniture onto the truck and then was informed that my new charge is $8900 because it is based on number of boxes. However, the contract clearly states that the charge is based on lbs or cubic feet. Having my furniture held hostage on the truck, I had no choice but to agree to their terms. However, the estimated delivery day was between 1-10 days. I received my furniture 19 days after pickup. Almost all of my furniture is damaged including an expensive coffee table with its leg completely snapped at the joint. All the corners on my furniture is chipped/ scratched/ completely ruined. I am missing the mirror to my dresser set as well as the glass top to the same dresser. I am also missing a 40 lb propane tank that I was told would be allowed onto the moving truck if I had completely emptied it, which I did prior to moving day. As on moving day, I saw the paperwork stating that my furniture totaled 9800 lbs and at $0.43/ lb, would roughly be around the original estimate price of $4200. Including the packing material, fuel and origination surcharge, the total moving cost should be around $5500. However, I was FORCED to pay close to $8900 for this horrible service that was not even promptly delivered as promised. I believe that I have been grossly overcharged and all to have my furniture damaged. Furthermore, when I tried to call the owner to resolve these issues on moving day, he repeatedly did not pick up my calls, leaving me even more outraged. Also, as I awaited the arrival of my furniture, I was constantly being told different information about the whereabouts of my furniture each time I called. I feel that this company is completely dishonest and does not provide the service that is advertised. Who wants a moving company that will deliver your furniture damaged and in pieces? Not to mention, before unloading the truck on moving day, I was told to sign the contract under "Delivery Acknowledgement", stating that my furniture was delivered in good condition and complete as is listed on the inventory. When I objected to doing so based on the principle of logic (how can I ascertain to this statement PRIOR to seeing my furniture and PRIOR to the truck being unloaded), the movers were closing the truck up again and about to leave, hence, holding my furniture hostage until I complied with their unreasonable terms. Based on this horrendous experience and even worse service (or lack thereof), I feel that I should be refunded fully, seeing as how this company is deceitful and does not provide the service that it advertises. Also, I have plenty of pictures of the damaged furniture that I am willing to supply in order to fully represent the seriousness of this injustice and dishonesty and lack of proper service.

Desired Settlement
I am seeking to receive a full refund because the service that I have paid for was not provided. I have a house full of damaged furniture that did not arrive on time and the people running the company constantly lie to try to squeeze more money out of the client, especially after the furniture is already in their possession and nothing can be done at the moment. Like previously stated, I have many pictures depicting the numerous damages that my furniture has incurred as well as pictures of the total weight/ cubic feet of my furniture, proving that the total moving cost is RIDICULOUSLY INFLATED, which is no where close to the original estimate.

Business Response
We have reviewed the Consumer complaint filed by *** ********** against America Van Line, regarding overcharge, late delivery, and missing/damaged items. We have also reviewed the original estimate, final moving documents, and our claim records relative to this matter.

We have confirmed that the Consumer hired the Business to perform a Long Distance move from ******** to ****** commencing on 6/30/13. Prior to the move Consumer had an in-house estimate performed by the Business, based solely on his representation of the size/scope of services needed. He gave a list to the estimator of the items to be moved, including the total number of boxes he would have. He was given a price based on that information. However, on the pick-up day Consumer had significantly more items/boxes and even called back after the pick-up was completed & had the movers come back the following day to pick up an additional item - a lawnmower, which they did. As such, prior to loading, Consumer was advised that he had more items & required additional services & was given a revised Binding Estimate of Cost. He accepted & signed this revised estimate, thereby agreeing to this price and replacing/voiding any prior estimates. He was charged exactly at the binding price agreed to, and no overcharge occurred. Regarding delivery, Consumer's First Available Delivery Date was specified as 7/3/13 with an agreed delivery range of 14 Business Days (Mon-Fri, excluding weekends/holidays) from that date. He received delivery on/about 7/18/13, which was well within that time frame and no delay occurred. Finally, regarding damaged/missing items, to date no written claim has been received from Mr. **********, as is required under the Terms of the Bill of Lading and Transportation Guidelines to open a claim. If he wishes to file a claim under the coverage chosen by him for his move, he may contact our office at (XXX) XXX.**** (Mon-Fri, 10am-5pm EST) to obtain a claim form so as to file a claim.

Based on the above, no overcharge or late delivery occurred and no claim for loss/damage has been filed to date by the Consumer. Therefore, at this time no compensation is due him. Please update your records accordingly. Thank you.




Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Just as America Van Line keeps stating that I have no new information, they are still skirting around the main issue. In fact, some of the information is a lie; more specifically, the part about the weight of the shipment not even available. I have a document from America Van Line asking whether I would like to have my shipment weighed and if I wanted to do it later, an additional fee would be incurred. Therefore, either America Van Line lied in the rebuttal or presented me with inaccurate and misleading information, further proving my point of bad business practice in even the slightest detail.

I urge the BBB to understand the frustration that I have repeatedly expressed and America Van Line has not resolved or explained adequately. My complaint plus the numerous other similar complaints from other consumers should raise multiple suspicions and questions as to how this company operates.

Final Business Response
We have reviewed the most recent rebuttal filed by *** ********** regarding his ongoing complaint against America Van Line. This is now our THIRD response to this complaint.

We must again advise that Consumer had the option of canceling the move or accepting the revised Binding Estimate at the time of pick-up, when it was determined that he had significantly more items/boxes. He opted to move ahead & signed the Binding Estimate, therefore no weighing of the shipment occurred & no weight tickets are required or available. For a Binding Price move, no breakdown of charges is required. As such, Consumer was charged the exact amount he agreed to & signed for, and no overcharge occurred. This is now our THIRD & FINAL response to this complaint, as Consumer has not provided any additional information but just continues to state the same thing in each of his 3 postings. We respectfully request that this case be closed. Thank you, ** ********, Director CPC


Consumer Response
please see attached or caselink for photos from consumer (1 of 3)


Consumer Response
please see attached or caselink for photos from consumer (2 of 3)


Consumer Response
please see attached or caselink for photos from consumer (3 of 3)


Consumer Response
(please see attached or caselink for consumer's hardcopy response and photo of contract)

Original contract agreement: $0.43/lb @ 1000 lbs

* Moving day:
o Told me I have too many boxes; I had to sign a new agreement and if I

o Would not load the 40 gal propane tank onto the truck even though
o Didn't tip the movers-> threatened to treat my furniture as garbage; I
o The inventory papers to list all the items on the truck ran out.
refused they were going to unload the truck and leave my furniture in the street-> FORCED my hand and signed the signature

already spoke with the owner and he agreed
did not tip out of principle

Borrowed a sheet a paper from me and added certain items like the propane tank, all of which never made it to *** The items were transferred to another inventory sheet without the items written on the regular paper with my signature faked at the bottom of the new inventory paper.

* Never was informed that I have an option to buy additional insurance because their insurance only gives me $0.60/lb for any damaged or missing
item even though I was told that everything is fully insured.

o The insurance available is through the company's own CLAIM

* Delay in delivery:
o Told 10 days MAX but took 20 days for my furniture to arrive.
o Because so many different companies from so many different areas CENTER, which has the option to accept or deny my claim.
o When I called to inquire about the status, no one would answer for
handled the furniture, I was not able to track my furniture and it was scattered everywhere.
days, then they would tell me it was arriving tomorrow but it never
came when they said it would.

* Delivery day:
o Forced me to sign the delivery papers, saying that the furniture
o When I refused, the boss of the movers told them to close up the truck
o As the furniture was brought off the truck, I was shocked to see the
o Called the company but NOBODY ANSWERED MY CALLS. Had to use
o Mover told me that I have 90 days to file a claim through the company
arrived in GOOD condition and that nothing is missing BEFORE the truck was unloaded
and get ready to leave. THREATENED TO TAKE MY FURNITURE BACK IF I DID NOT SIGN AND AGREE THAT EVERYTHING IS PRESENT AND IN GOOD CONDITION. This makes absolutely no sense and is fraudulent business practice.
state of my furniture- broken, chipped/dented at EVERY CORNER, missing items, oil stains on ALL MY MATTRESSES. Even the boxes
were ripped/ bent, indicating the type of care given to my furniture. the mover's phone to reach someone at the company.
without the need for a police report; just fill out the claim forms

* Insurance Claim:

o Took forever to get a hold of someone in order to get the claim forms within a timely manner so I can get reimbursement for the damaged/
missing items

o Claim forms say that I will get $0.30-0.60/lb for any missing/
damaged items; ONLY getting a fraction of the cost of the items

o Requests for the claim to be accepted are quite ridiculous. For example, an appraisal of each item and damage costs is required for the claim to be accepted but APPRAISAL COSTS WILL NOT BE REIMBURSED.

o So I have to pay more money to maybe get some of my money back for the damage incurred to my property. This is absurd.

o Whether the claim is approved or denied, it is completely in the hands of the company's own CLAIM CENTER.

o I can send you a copy of the Claim forms so you can see what is required to appropriately file a claim. They are trying to force my hand, but I am in a very bad predicament right now. I cannot afford to spend an additional penny on this. But I shouldn't have to pay for the
company's mistakes.

Thank you. Please feel free to contact me if you need more information or if you have any questions. Thank you for your time and efforts. It is truly appreciated. I look forward to hearing back from you.

Thank you once again,
*** **********


Consumer Response
see attachment or go to case link


Business Response
---------- Forwarded message ----------
From: <************@aol.com>
Date: Wed, Nov 13, 2013 at 6:03 PM
Subject: Re: BBB Complaint *********************************************** - *** **********
To: *******@greatermd.bbb.org
Cc: *****@americavanline.com


Dear Mr. *******

America Van Line will agree to participate in Non-Binding Mediation via telephone, relative to the above referenced case filed by *** **********.

Please notify us where/when to send the $75.00 mediation fee, and when the Mediation will be scheduled.
Sincerely,

******** ********, Exec. Director
Customer Care Department
(XXX) XXX-XXXX

11/12/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We had 2 items that are missing from our delivery.
We had one clear plastic container that had 2 items taken from it.
One was a Nintendo DSI Black color and the 2nd item was a Sony Playstation portable 2000 Black color.

I have tried to contact the moving companies VIP Complaint line twice, both times i was told i would be called back within 3 business days, and i still have not gotten a call back at all.

Desired Settlement
The nintendo dsi black msrp is $150, it sells for around $110.
The playstation portable 2000 sells for around 249$

I am looking for a refund for the amount of $360

Business Response
We have received & reviewed the Consumer complaint filed by ***** ****** against America Van Lines regarding missing items. We have also reviewed the Consumer's moving documents and our claim records relative to this matter.

We have confirmed that the Consumer hired the Business to perform a Long Distance move from ******** to ******** commencing on 7/28/13. At the time of pick-up Consumer selected & signed for $.60/lb/article coverage maximum for his entire shipment in case of loss/damage. He opted not to purchase the additional coverage for repair/replacement. Delivery was completed on 8/13/13 & at that time Consumer signed all paperwork confirming shipment was received in good condition, without exception. Thereafter, on 8/29/13 Consumer called to file a claim (this was the only call we received from him). On 9/3/13, after our return from the Labor Day holiday, we did call the Consumer back & left a voice mail message for him asking him to return the call so that we could perform a new claim intake. We did not hear from him until receiving this complaint filed by him with the BBB. We did speak with Mr. ****** today, & he advised that he is missing 2 electronic game systems from a box that he packed himself, & alleges that someone took them out of the box during the move. As such, we advised him to file a police report as theft must be handled by the police department. He will do this.

Based on the above, at this time no compensation is due Consumer, and we respectfully request that this case be closed. Thank you.



Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Again, it is impossible for any customer EVER to open every box they packed to check to see if anything is damaged or stolen while the movers sit there for 5 hours allowing us to do so.

The items were packed in a clear plastic case. They saw the 2 items, knew they were of value and took them.

Maybe the movers in maryland were not happy with the their tip. They took my money and threw it on the dash in disgust. Maybe in anger/revenge they stole the two items.

The moving industry is one of the most hated industries that exist. It is because of cases like this.

A simple gesture of $200.00 would put this to a close. This is the amount i need to replace the two items that were stolen. This is much less then the price i paid for them knew, this $200 price is a compromise on my part.
I spent over 3,000 on this move, i really don't think 200 will make much of a difference to your profit margin.

I hope you do the right thing and show your future customers that you still believe in customer service. That moving is hard, but your company stands behind their name and reputation and that you care about the reviews you receive here and on other review sites.

Thank you.

Thank you.

Final Business Response
We have reviewed the recent rebuttal filed by ***** ****** regarding his complaint against America Van Line.

We must again reiterate that the missing items claimed were Packed By Owner (PBO), with no verification by America Van Line that they were ever part of the shipment given to them for transportation. Further, it is the Consumer's responsibility to make written notation of any damaged or missing items or tampered boxes at delivery, so as to document their claim. The Inventory List signed by Consumer clearly states "WARNING -- Before signing, check shipment, count items, and describe loss or damage...". As such, there is no documentation that the items claimed as missing were ever part of the shipment given to America Van Line for transport. Finally, the coverage chosen by Consumer was the free $.60/lb/article coverage, and he did not purchase Additional Valuation Coverage for his shipment, thereby specifying that all items in his shipment were worth a maximum of $.60/lb times the weight of any item. The additional coverage is purchased by Consumers directly from a private insurance company or Consumer's homeowner's insurance company, therefore Consumer's allegation that the "movers KNEW that i didn't pay for extra insurance, therefore giving them A LICENSE TO STEAL knowing that their employers will do NOTHING about their employers steeling the goods of their customers" is completely illogical and untrue. Even if the Consumer had proven that the items claimed were in fact part of the shipment AND were not delivered to him by the Business, the most he would be due under the $.60/lb/article coverage chosen by him would be $12.00 (20 lbs x $.60/lb).

Based on the above, no compensation is due Consumer. However, strictly in the interest of good will and without any proof of the loss claimed, at this time America Van Line will offer settlement of $50.00 for all claims/complaints. In the event that Consumer wishes to accept the $50.00 settlement for all issues, he should email us at ************@aol.com no later than 10/28/13 confirming his acceptance of this sum, and we will then forward to him a release form to execute so that payment may be issued to him. No further compensation is due Consumer.

Please update your records accordingly. Thank you, ** ********, Director CPC

09/03/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The sales representative that we worked through misrepresented the cost and delivery timing of the move.
There were two instances of dishonesty on the part of the sales representative, ******* ******** during the moving process.

1. The full extent of charges that could reasonably be incurred was never presented. When giving the estimate, ******* said that all we needed was "a rough idea of how much you have." This was not true. We needed an exact packing list. We were forced to do another estimate on the spot when the movers arrived for almost $1000 more than the original estimate. In addition, reasonably foreseeable service charges were not discussed and not made clear until the movers arrived for delivery.

2. ******* lied about the delivery window. From the first time we discussed the move, ******* specifically stated that delivery would occur within a window of 2-15 business days from the pickup date. The contract clearly states otherwise. Our load was picked up on 7/8/13 and I called ******* on 7/22/13 to inquire about delivery status. He re-affirmed that delivery would occur within 15 business days. He specifically stated that the load would arrive on or before 7/30/13. Delivery was not made until 8/5/13. We made the decision of which carrier to use largely based on *******'s delivery window and had to purchase approximately $200 worth of supplies and sleep on the floor for two weeks because it was not accurate.

Desired Settlement
After consulting the contract and a lawyer, we are requesting a refund for the first complaint in the amount of the additional deliberately hidden charges of $600.

In addition we suggest that this business's BBB certification be revoked in light of similar deceptive sales practices demonstrated in other BBB complaints as well as online reviews of the company's services. It is worth making clear that we found no issue with the movers themselves. They performed the services professionally. The issue is with deceptive sales practices. Please consider a change to the business's accreditation for this reason.

Business' Initial Response
We have reviewed the Consumer complaint filed by ****** ******* against America Van Lines, regarding overcharge & late delivery. It must be noted that the actual customer listed on the file is **** ********** NOT ****** *******. We have now reviewed the pre-move estimate and final moving paperwork relative to this matter.

We have confirmed that Consumer hired carrier to perform a Long Distance move from ******** to ********* commencing on 7/8/13. Prior to the move Consumer obtained a phone/email estimate based solely on her representation of the size/scope of services needed. However, at the time of pick-up Consumer had significantly more items/volume & required additional services. As such, she was issued a revised Binding Estimate of Cost for actual services/supplies needed, which she accepted & signed at that time, thereby voiding/replacing any prior estimate. She was charged the exact amount of this revised estimate, therefore no overcharge occurred. Regarding delivery, prior to the move Consumer received & accepted/signed the Terms & Conditions, which clearly state that the estimated delivery range is 14 Business Days (Mon-Fri, excluding weekends/holidays) from her First Available Delivery Date, but also advises that "in some rare cases delivery time frame may take up to 28 business days". At the time of pick-up Consumer also signed the Delivery Time Frame Form which confirms this range of up to 28 bus days for delivery as well. At that time Consumer specified that her First Available Delivery Date was 7/10/13, which is when the Delivery Range would begin. Delivery was completed on 8/5/13, which is within the 28 Business Day Delivery Range, therefore no delay occurred.

Based on the above, no overcharge or late delivery occurred & no compensation is due Consumer. However, strictly in the interest of good will America Van Line will provide a customer service adjustment of $100.00 towards the expenses Consumer incurred while awaiting her delivery. Should they wish to accept this offer, they should email our office at ************@aol.com no later than 8/31/13, confirming her acceptance of $100.00 for all claims/complaints, & we will then email her settlement documents to execute and return so that payment may be issued to her. Thank you.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Two reasons:

1. There is a pending claim on two items that were damaged in the move, so we will not accept $100 as the final settlement for all claims/complaints.

2. While we understand that the contract was honored, the sales practices were not addressed by BBB. We would like to know what follow up action will be taken.

Business' Final Response
We have reviewed the recent rebuttal filed by **** ******* against America Van Lines. Regarding the Consumer's recent filing, we must advise again that Consumer did not provide accurate representation of the size/scope of services needed during the pre-move estimate. As such, the original estimate was based solely on their representation, & when the movers arrived they immediately advised Consumer that they had significantly more items than previously stated. Consumer had the option of either moving forward with the revised price for actual services/supplies used or canceling the move, and opted to accept the price & continue the move. The Business does everything possible to ensure that consumers provide a complete representation of work needed, but in cases where it is not accurate consumers are given the above options. As such, no overcharge occurred. Regarding damages to two unspecified items, we have no record of any claim filed by this Consumer to date. In the event that they wish to file a claim for damaged items, they should contact our office at (XXX) XXX.**** (Mon-Fri, 10am-5pm EST) with their Bill of Lading and list of items to be claimed, so that we may perform a claim intake & issue a claim form to them. Once they submit the legal written claim including documentation required under the Terms of the Bill of Lading & Interstate Transportation Regulations, their claim will be processed based on the coverage chosen by them for their move. At this time, we must reiterate that no compensation is due Consumer, and our prior offer remains open only until 8/31/13. Thank you, ** ********, Director CPC

08/23/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
not paying any compensation for the damage household items during our relocation from ******** to ********** in 2012 despite insurance per contract
We hired America Van Line to move our belongings from our house in **** ***** **** ** in ***** ****** ** to *** ****** *** The move occurred over a year ago in July, 2012. We paid ~$10,000 for the move. There was some damage to the furniture and other stuff during this long move. Although the contract included insurance coverage for the damaged items, the company is completely not responsive and not interested in paying any compensation. Our estimate for the damage is about $1500. We followed exactly their extremely long and tiring claim process which required scheduling a phone interview to describe the damage which was followed by detailed filing of insurance claims. We had to made a number of phone calls for America Van Line to initiate the process and to move to the next step. We finally managed to receive the forms to fill in October 20 12 and send them back by registered mail. Since that time, we haven't heard from them despite our numerous phone calls. Between July 2012 and May 2013 we made more than 40 phone calls to America Van Lines to process our claim. At every call we were placed on hold which could last 30 min or longer waiting for their representative to talk us. After we were finally connected, each time we needed to describe again and again, who we are, why we were calling and then we were told that America Van Line would call us back which never happened. They are very arrogant, not helpful and show no interest in processing the insurance claim. Our case Reference Number at America Van Line is XXXXXXX. We need your help.
Sincerely,
****** and **** *********

Desired Settlement
refund for the damage items per our claim

Business' Initial Response
We have reviewed the Consumer complaint filed by ****** ********* against America Van Line, regarding damaged items. We have also reviewed the moving paperwork and our claim records relative to this matter.

We have confirmed that Consumer hired the Business to perform a Long Distance move from ******** to **********, commencing on 6/18/12. Delivery of the shipment was completed on 7/14/12, and a review of the delivery paperwork does not show any evidence of written notation of any damaged items made by Consumer at that time. Thereafter, we received a written claim via mail from Consumer on 11/26/12 (4.5 months after delivery) for various damaged items. However, it did not include any receipts or repair estimates as requested in the claim form instructions, so as to document damage and amounts sought. Following completion of our review of this claim, a determination letter with release form was mailed to Consumer on 3/4/13 with a settlement offer of $366.00 based on the $.60/lb/article coverage chosen by him for his move. To date, we have not received the executed Release back from Consumer, as is necessary for the Business to finalize payment to the Consumer.

We have now re-sent another copy of the settlement documents to the Consumer, and have provided a final extension until 8/30/13 for him to return the executed Release back to our office so that payment may be issued to him by America Van Line.

Based on the above, settlement was offered based on the coverage chosen by Consumer, and we must ask that Consumer return the executed Release Form so that payment may be finalized. No further compensation due Consumer. Thank you.

Page 1 of 2
11/12/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Hired company to move/store items for out of state move. Moved within state and some stored items were missing. Received items that were not mine
Items were stored for 1 year. Items were transferred several times from one storage location to another. Received items on 10-15-15 at a storage facility that was shared with another customer. Did not receive a few boxes and received items that did not belong to me. I am missing boxes that contained new bedding valued at $200 and cosmetics valued at $200. I have a glass entertainment center that does not belong to me.

Desired Settlement
I would like to be compensated for the items that were misplaced/given away. I am willing to have the other customers items picked up.

11/02/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The movers damaged my sofa couch and despite filling a claim the company nor their insurance carrier are willing to pay the claim.
I reside in the************ Townhomes located in ************, MD. The property is owned by ******************* Group. The property is still undergoing a major rehabilitation. Most tenants were required to relocate to other units on the property. America's Top Movers/Allied Van Movers/************ Movers were hired to move each tenant out of the previous unit into the rehabbed unit. On 5/16/2015 the moving employees damaged my sofa couch with a tear in the fabric on the left side. I immediately brought it to the attention of the movers with both parties taking pictures. On the next business day I reported the incident to the property management,******** Management. After weeks of going back and forth between the management office and the moving company I was finally contacted by **********, Claims Processing Center, ************** ********. In an email she provided the claim form and a cover letter stating the carrier will issue payment to me within 30 days. Months later I did not get that payment and I then contacted Ms. ******., an ******************* Group employee. She provided me address and telephone number to the moving company and stated I should request to speak with a person named *****. While on the phone I chose the prompt for the claims department and was connected to someone named Sheldon who stated he was the America's Top Movers company but when I told him I needed to speak to ***** regarding my claim he suddenly stated that company and that person are no longer here. A day later he called again stating I should instead contact the claims processing center again. I called ******. several times and got no response. I also contacted the claims processing center again who in turn stated there was nothing they could do and I should attempt to contact the company that is supposedly no longer in business. The amount of the claim to repair the damage is $50.00. Please note that in addition to damaging my furniture the movers also charged me $40.00 to move items that were in black plastic contractor bags. I reported this to the management and in fact was compensated by ******************* Group in the form of a check for those wrongful charges. I did not hire this company, I did not ask for this stress and I certainly do not believe it is fair for me to track down these individuals and make them responsible for their actions.

Desired Settlement
I wish my claim to be settled and I be made like I was before the move with an undamaged sofa couch.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Movers, Moving Supplies, Moving Assistance - Packing, Unpacking, Organizing, Moving & Storage Company, Packaging Service

Additional Information

top

If a business refers you to another company or uses sub-contractors, BBB recommends that you research that company including reviewing their BBB business review.

BBB file opened: 01/01/2003Business started: 01/01/2001Business started locally: 01/01/2003
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Maryland Dept. of Transportation
7201 Corporate Ctr PO Box 548
Hanover, MD 21076-0548
(410) 865-1142
http://www.mdot.state.md.us

BBB records show a license number of 1619333 for this company. This license is in the name of America Van Line LLC.

Type: US Dept of Transportation

Check License Status: http://www.safersys.org/

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. David Abraham (Owner)Customer Contact: Ms. Margaret Lombardi (Customer Service)Mr. Kfir David Avraham (Dispatch Manager)Mr. Kevin Miller (Onsite Manager)Mr. Edward G. Wescott Mr. Rave Yaron
Number of Employees

60

Business Category

Movers, Moving Supplies, Moving Assistance - Packing, Unpacking, Organizing, Moving & Storage Company, Packaging Service

Products & Services

This company offers local and long distance moving services as well as storage.

Alternate Business Names
America's Top Mover
Industry Tips
Selecting a Mover
LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 11221 Dolfield Blvd 

    Owings Mills, MD 21117-3254

  • 11221 Dolfield Blvd Ste 106 

    Owings Mills, MD 21117-3254(866) 363-7247
    (410) 376-7538

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Greater Maryland. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*America Van Line, LLC is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (201) 437-6900
  • (410) 526-2695
  • (866) 786-2109
  • (410) 376-7538

Additional Fax Numbers

  • (877) 828-3276
X

Additional Web Addresses

  • www.americastopmover.com
  • www.atopmovers.com
X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on December 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Movers

Selecting a Mover
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

According to information in BBB files, this company is no longer in business. If you have an unresolved dispute with this company you may wish to seek legal advice.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.