BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

America Van Line, LLC

Phone: (866) 363-7247Fax: (410) 526-2673

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Delivery Issues1
Problems with Product / Service4
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints5

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (5)
10/30/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The company stated their policy of an average of 1-14 days from pickup to delivery for my relevant regions but they took 45 days.
Reference #XXXXXXX
I worked with **** ****** from AVL and the driver delivering my home goods was **** *********

After I set my reservation for a pick up date of August 20, 2013, I didn't hear much from AVL. I emailed and called several times to get in touch with Alan to followup regarding my anticipated delivery date, but most of my emails were never answered unless I followed up with a phone call.

On August 20, I had problems with Mike who came to pick up my belongings in ********. He came 5 hours late, left trash (empty tape dispensers, napkins), and came ill-prepared. He asked to use my tape, stating that he was out. After he exhausted my supply, he went to get more from his truck. I made him a sandwich and he left the crumbled up napkin with the crusts outside of my apt entry way, bundled up on the grass.

On Monday, Sept 30, the driver **** stated that he would be able to meet me on Wednesday for which I was able to change my work schedule around. However, on Tuesday, he stated that it would be Wednesday afternoon or evening, at the VERY latest, Thursday MORNING. After 6pm on Wed, **** stated that he would not be able to meet me Wednesday evening and that it'd be first thing Thursday morning. With this understanding, I took off of work on Thursday and waited for him in Nacogdoches early in the morning. However, he never called. I essentially woke him up at 930am.
He called me at 648pm to let me know that he was on his way and that he'd make it at 9pm. I met with **** ******** at 930pm on Oct 3, 2013. This was Thursday night at 930pm! **** tried to charge an additional $1000 for a long carry but brought it down to $250. To avoid this my father shuttled the boxes to the front door AND helped carry everything. **** still charged $75 & they completed everything around midnight! Had Dad not helped, it would've been 2am!

While the policy states an average of 1-14 days for delivery from ** to *** with a maximum of 21 days, it's very difficult for me to understand why my delivery took 45 days. Both states have major roadways and are not far from major cities. The time (1) frame was ridiculous, (2) trash was left by both the pickup crew and the driver (**** went so far as to say that he doesn't pick up the trash when I handed him the balls of tape which he cut from the blankets), the (3) customer service from AVL was lacking once my belongings were picked up, (4) I had to request a credit for $388 twice for a charge in excess of my total balance (charged by **** during the pickup), (5) there was NO followup, which I can elaborate further with my call logs and emails to AVL, and (6) the manner in which my delivery was handled was poor and unacceptable. I have been very patient and polite, yet my questions and concerns weren't acknowledged. This is appalling and quite frankly, astonishing! I cannot believe that it took 45 days and that my 57 year old father had to help. No one even notified me that my belongings were picked up. I had to call to find out by getting transferred and put on hold several times.

My items were delivered on Oct 3. On Oct 4, I requested a reasonable 15% refund (from the total payment of $1645) for the reasons listed above, not taking into account lost wages and expenses for professional clothing due to not having my belongings. On Oct 5, ***** ******* (manager at AVL) responded, stating that the company will discuss my case on Monday, Oct 7 and get back with me via email on Wednesday, Oct 9. I did not hear back from them. On Friday, Oct 11, I emailed *****. On Monday, Oct 14, ***** responded and offered a $175 refund (about 10.5%) but that I'd have to sign an agreement stating that I would not pursue further action against AVL nor would I file or continue with any complaints. That afternoon, I responded that my 15% was a fair and reasonable request and insisted that the company reconsider. I asked AVL to please provide a decision by Thursday, Oct 17. The company has not yet responded.

Desired Settlement
I requested a 15% refund, total $246.75, even though wages and expenses incurred totaled to over $700.

10/06/2014Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
America Van Lines did not include some of our items in the shipment from MD to TX, and some items were badly damaged. Overall- very dissatisfied.
America Van Line was hired to complete our relocation from MD to TX. The pick up date of our household items was June 16, 2014 by a crew of 3 men. They took our possessions to a nearby loading facility but not before adding additional charges for packing to the original estimate. We packed our items ourselves. Our items were finally delivered on June 28, 2014 later than the estimated time of arrival. The driver would not initially accept a money order for the remaining balance because the owner of the company demanded cash. We (customer) wanted to pay with some form of payment other than cash for tax purposes. The owner was reluctant and the driver would not allow the movers to begin working until the owner agreed to our payment terms. Once the movers began unloading the truck many of our items were damaged or missing. My executive desk, end table and daughter's bike were badly damaged to name a few items. My ****** suitcase was not shipped at all. I attempted to file a claim for more than a month before someone took my claim according to their process. I opted for the standard coverage of .60 cents per pound. It could take 9 months before a resolution is made according to the claim respondent.

Desired Settlement
I'd like the company to replace my ****** Suitcase and compensate me for damages we incurred from the move. My executive desk is valued at more than the total cost of our move, and I'd like fair compensation for the damages to our property for the items listed in the detailed complaint. I'm also requesting a partial refund for the additional charges we incurred for packing.

Business Response
We have received the Consumer complaint filed by ***** ****** against America Van Line, regarding overcharge, late delivery, and damaged items. We have reviewed the complaint along with the consumer's estimate, moving paperwork, and our claim records relative to this matter.

We have confirmed that Consumer hired the Business to perform a Long Distance move from Maryland to Texas, commencing on 6/16/14. Prior to the start of the move Consumer was offered two coverage options for his shipment - Additional Valuation Coverage for repair/replacement of any damaged/missing items or the free coverage included of $.60/lb/article. He declined to purchase the additional coverage & chose/signed for the $.60/lb/article coverage. He was charged for actual services/supplies used in accordance with the estimate and the Bill of Lading he signed for the move. Delivery was completed within the agreed delivery range on 6/28/14 (within 9 business days). Following delivery, on 8/21/14 Consumer contacted our office regarding filing a claim for missing/damaged items. On that date an email was sent to him with a claim form to complete & submit in order to file a claim under the coverage chosen. To date, we have not received the completed claim form with supporting documentation/information back from Mr. ******, as is required to file a legal transportation claim. Therefore, we would ask that customer submit his written claim with all information requested within the time frame specified on his Bill of Lading, so that we may open a transportation claim & review it under the coverage rate chosen by him. At this time no compensation is due Consumer.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I have not received the "claim form" the company indicated they sent to me. The communication between the business and myself was done via a recorded phone call which I made to the company. I finally spoke with the company after a number of attempts made by me. I will gladly submit the "claim form" when the company issues the document to me. Please advise the company to send me the form.

Final Business Response
We are in receipt of the rebuttal filed by ***** ****** relative to his ongoing complaint against America Van Line.

We have confirmed that the claim form was emailed to Consumer on 8/21/14 to **********@yahoo.com per his request. Another copy of the claim packet is attached hereto for Consumer's convenience.

Once the Consumer submits his completed claim form via trackable mail to our office within the time frame specified on his Bill of Lading, we will open a claim and provide a determination based on the coverage in place.

We must again reiterate that at this time no claim has been filed & no compensation is due Consumer. Thank you, ** ********, Director CPC

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The cover letter is missing one of the items I reported "missing" from the original delivery. My ****** travel size suit case is not included on the itemized portion of the cover letter. The company can refer to the recorded phone conversation for verification. Please advise before I return the claim form.

12/08/2014Problems with Product / Service
11/12/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Hired company to move/store items for out of state move. Moved within state and some stored items were missing. Received items that were not mine
Items were stored for 1 year. Items were transferred several times from one storage location to another. Received items on 10-15-15 at a storage facility that was shared with another customer. Did not receive a few boxes and received items that did not belong to me. I am missing boxes that contained new bedding valued at $200 and cosmetics valued at $200. I have a glass entertainment center that does not belong to me.

Desired Settlement
I would like to be compensated for the items that were misplaced/given away. I am willing to have the other customers items picked up.

11/02/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The movers damaged my sofa couch and despite filling a claim the company nor their insurance carrier are willing to pay the claim.
I reside in the************ Townhomes located in ************, MD. The property is owned by ******************* Group. The property is still undergoing a major rehabilitation. Most tenants were required to relocate to other units on the property. America's Top Movers/Allied Van Movers/************ Movers were hired to move each tenant out of the previous unit into the rehabbed unit. On 5/16/2015 the moving employees damaged my sofa couch with a tear in the fabric on the left side. I immediately brought it to the attention of the movers with both parties taking pictures. On the next business day I reported the incident to the property management,******** Management. After weeks of going back and forth between the management office and the moving company I was finally contacted by **********, Claims Processing Center, ************** ********. In an email she provided the claim form and a cover letter stating the carrier will issue payment to me within 30 days. Months later I did not get that payment and I then contacted Ms. ******., an ******************* Group employee. She provided me address and telephone number to the moving company and stated I should request to speak with a person named *****. While on the phone I chose the prompt for the claims department and was connected to someone named Sheldon who stated he was the America's Top Movers company but when I told him I needed to speak to ***** regarding my claim he suddenly stated that company and that person are no longer here. A day later he called again stating I should instead contact the claims processing center again. I called ******. several times and got no response. I also contacted the claims processing center again who in turn stated there was nothing they could do and I should attempt to contact the company that is supposedly no longer in business. The amount of the claim to repair the damage is $50.00. Please note that in addition to damaging my furniture the movers also charged me $40.00 to move items that were in black plastic contractor bags. I reported this to the management and in fact was compensated by ******************* Group in the form of a check for those wrongful charges. I did not hire this company, I did not ask for this stress and I certainly do not believe it is fair for me to track down these individuals and make them responsible for their actions.

Desired Settlement
I wish my claim to be settled and I be made like I was before the move with an undamaged sofa couch.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Movers, Moving Supplies, Moving Assistance - Packing, Unpacking, Organizing, Moving & Storage Company, Packaging Service

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.