BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Mariner Finance, LLC (Corporate)

Phone: (443) 438-2036Fax: (410) 558-4396

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

28 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 16 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues18
Problems with Product / Service9
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints28

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (28)BBB Closure Definitions
06/27/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to substantiate charges

Complaint: They have called several times and said the information that I paid this debt does not exist. Then they send a letter saying my payment is past due.
I have called in my payment since September of 2013 and receive a conformation number and they record the transaction every time. The payment in question was April 23,2014 I called in made my payment of $103.51 and got my conformation number XXXXXXX and this transaction was recorded. Then in May I made my payment the same way I called in to make my payment on May 28,2014 for $103.51 and got my conformation number XXXXXXX all these transactions take place at Mariner ************ **** Blvd,N.Y.XXXXX Phone XXX-XXX-XXXX at that time i was told That something was wrong and I did not make my payment for April I said yes I did and gave them the conformation number. Then a couple of weeks later I received phone call stating the information I gave them did not exist. I assured them it was recorded and the number I gave to them a second time XXXXXXX was accurate and that they have recorded the conversation. Then on June 6,2014 I received another call from them at the **** **** store telling me I did not make my payment and the conformation number I have is no good and that have no proof of me ever making the payment. Then I stated you recorded the conversation and gave me the conformation number. They are calling me a liar and demanding I make my payment. Someone has made a very serious mistake at that office and they are trying to blame the customer which is me that is wrong. Then I received a letter saying my payment was past due and to make my payment for April and the May payment was made no problem there is something fishy going on here someone has made a mistake and they are trying to cover it up. Who made the mistake and why are they lying trying to cover up what they have done wrong and try to intimidate me. I have made my payment by phone got a conformation number and the conversation was recorded. I am the Victim here why are they harassing me.

Initial Business Response
Mariner Finance is pleased to have resolved the consumer's issue. We spoke to the customer and found out that while the payments had been called in, it had not been processed. We have corrected the situation and are sorry for any inconvenience. The consumer is aware of the resolution and will be making payment today to replace payment that was never posted.

Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Since this was there mistake I want a guaranty that this will not be reported on my credit report as a late payment. They corrected the missing payment and they have admitted making a mistake and apologized to me in writing that it was there error I just want to be guaranteed this payment shows up on my credit report as being late or anything else for that matter. My payments are always made on time.

Final Business Response
Mariner Finance has reviewed the account records and found no evidence that anything derogatory has been reported to a credit reporting agency. In the event that anything does exist please let us know and we will resolve immediately.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

06/17/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to correct billing errors

Complaint: Mariner brought my account from another company and the billing was never corrected and they change the loan type with out my consent
mariner brought my account from **************** i had no payment issues with time all payments was on time when mariner brought the account I didnt receive any notification about it or where to make my payments to. I finally received a call and made my first payment a month later. finally a few months later I payed the account off and I find out that they have reported that I have made four late payments over 30 days and that the account wasnt payed off and that they have change my line of credit to a mortgage. I checked my bank records and confirmed that it was incorrect and i even had a invoice with credits on one of the months they had me down as late. I called and started receiving the run around that i was wrong its not true then i explained to them that the dates you have doen as me being late dont even match my credit report. So this needs to be fixed. Ok they said send me a screen shot or proof and they will take care of it asap. I sent 3 emails with the info. They never called me back so I continued to call them and they keep giving me the run around. They told me that if the payment was 10 days late that they report it as 30 days late.... I said thats not right. so i confirmed my docs again and they got rude and started to not answer my calls or transfer me. The supervisor told me she was emailing me and she had to get off the phone to process the email and to call back. I called back 10 minutes later to find out that she left for the day and she did that to get me off the phone.. I called the next day and tried to reach out to them to get this fixed. I finally got to talk to someone and she told me that this was funny and that i had the wrong branch. And if i wanted to talk to the supervisor to call back next week because she had to leave because they close at 5pm and she couldn't transfer the call and that the supervisor said she didn't receive the emails so i sent again while over the phone and even asked to representative if i could send it to her she keep laughing and was like no i don't do that i cant give you my email. She then said try a branch office they can help you I said this is the number i have been calling why now is this the wrong branch then she hung up on me. I called different branches and the said they couldn't help me and that i can file a complaint. I still haven been able to get this issue taken care of and now i am unable to move forward with purchasing the house had a contract on because i have a rouge mortgage on my account that didn't exist. I felt violated and that this was very unprofessional to treat customers like this and to brush things off like this and not fix there mistakes

Initial Business Response
Mariner Finance apologizes for any inconvenience Mr. ***** has experienced. We can confirm that the account **** ******* sold to us is paid in full. If Mr. ***** feels that any inaccuracies exist in his credit reporting we encourage him to follow the dispute procedure with ******* and we will electronically respond properly.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

06/09/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Contract Complaint Issue

Complaint: Loan paid off 42 days ago; no title or satisfaction papers received. ********** Tn office
Paid loan off online April 7.
Called office on April 17 to see about vehicle title and loan papers marked paid.
I was told that because I had not paid in "certified" funds there was a 30 day waiting period.
I fail to understand since funds were transferred to your account t is now 42 days and I have neither vehicle title nor loan documents marked paid.
This was the ***********

Initial Business Response
Mariner Finance apologizes for any inconvenience. We have sent the paid papers and liens release to the consumer by ******* ******* and he will have in hand tomorrow.

Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The lien release on the vehicle title and the finance documents show ***** **** ***** not Mariner finance.

I want a release from Mariner finance who I made payments to the final few months of the note originating with ***** **** ******

***** **** ***** was wonderful; Mariner Finance not so. I will never deal with them again.

It also occurs to me that Mariner Financed failed to perfect the lien in light of the fact that they did not file title documents indicating such,however, I still require the documents releasing me from any claim they might claim to have.

Final Business Response
See attached final response.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Neither the paid papers nor the lien release reflect satisfaction by Mariner Finance.

The documentation received bears the name of ***** **** ****** there is nothing showing that Mariner Finance has been paid.

There are no satisfaction documents bearing the name of Mariner Finance; moreover the original contract with the dealership DID NOT contain any provisions for assignment.

I would like a letter of satisfaction from Mariner Finance, on company letterhead stating that the account has been paid in full, and that no further claims exist.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

06/03/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to respond to phone calls or written requests for assistance or support

Complaint: has not provided pay off balance information although it has been requested by phone calls & emails for weeks
both my son and I (co-signers on his car loan) have requested the pay-off balance of the loan by both email and phone, we have never received a reply or phone call back...I also submitted a request twice on their webiste I use to make payments and have never received a response

Initial Business Response
We are sorry for any inconvenience. We have left a message this morning for the consumer to call us for any information she needs. She can also contact Mr. *********** VP as XXX-XXX-XXXX for personal service.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

05/29/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to correct billing errors

Complaint: I am unable to get a payment book with my correct account number. I have requested to speak with corp management & have been told they have no phone #
I entered into a 24 month same as cash loan on 3/24/14. The monthly payment to satisfy this agreement is $100.00. I tried to reach the corporate office about not receiving the payment book but was unable to do so. When I was finally able to reach someone in the local office ******* OH)I was told that Mariner Fiance has nothing to do with the payment book. It finally arrived almost 4 weeks after I signed the papers. The payment book is for 30 monthly payments of $98.75. This does not satisfy the 24 months same as cash agreement. I would incur interest if I followed the payment book. I contacted the ****** OH office and spoke to ****** ******* branch manager. We discussed the 30 months as opposed to 24 month coupons. She sent me her card and had written the account number on the back of her card. When I went online to make a payment I noticed my account number was not the same as the one in the payment book. I called ****** and she said the account number changed because of the office handling the loan. She said I could use the coupon book if I mailed the payment. I advised her I do not want to risk the payment going to the wrong account and that I needed a payment book with the correct account number. As of 5/4 I had not received a new book. I emailed ****** at that time and have not received a response. I contacted another local office today and requested the number for corporate. I was told there is none.

Initial Business Response
Mariner Finance has reviewed the inquiry and apologizes for any inconvenience. The "same as cash" option is still available to be utilized. Please note that we did not have a local branch open when the transaction was originally consummated. We have since opened a local branch near the consumer and that resulted in the new account number. We have ordered a new coupon book from our third party vendor reflecting the current account number as requested by the customer. We would be able to identify the account by either. We also accept payments by phone, on line and in person as well as the mail. The coupon book reflects the number of scheduled payments on the contract. The "same as cash option" is an option the consumer has available to them to pay off with no interest if they wish to but they also can pay according to the terms of the contract if they desire. The Branch Manager and staff are available if there are any additional questions or concerns.



Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
As of 5/14/2014 I do not have the payment book with the correct account number. It has been over a month since this payment book was requested. Mariner Finance does not state when the replacement book was ordered. Prior to the first payment book's arrival I had contacted Mariner Finance to notify them that I had not received the first payment book .I was told it took approximately 3 weeks for the payment book to arrive and that Mariner Finance has "no control over the 3rd party printing company." I can only surmise that the branch manager in ****** OH did not process the request for the payment book with the correct account number as she had promised she would. To date she has also not responded to 2 emails sent to her before filing the complaint with the BBB. Apparently the Branch Manager is not available to the customers of Mariner Finance as stated in the response.

I would like to know when the payment book with the correct account number was ordered and where it shipped from. I am also leery of the guarantee that I can pay under either account number and it will be posted to my account. The 1st office in the ********** area (or what I was told was the office) was in the ********** area. ***** is in the ********** area. I cannot afford to have a payment not post correctly or I will be charged interest because I am not adhering to 24 months same as cash option.

Final Business Response
Your account number is *********** (The **** is the ****** OH branch) . The mailing address for payments is Mariner Finance **** *** XXXXX Baltimore, MD XXXXX. . The address we have for you is **** ***** ***** *** ******* OH XXXXX. Your contract contains the terms of your loan. We are not receiving the non-delivered coupon books back as returned mail. We will have the area *** Mr. ****** contact you if you have any questions about the terms of your "same as cash option" or wish to review the coupon book situation again.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
As of today, May 20, 2014 I still have not received the coupon book "that was ordered 4/21 from 3rd party vendor in ************* IN." It has now been a month since the "first" request and 11 days since the 2nd request for a coupon book with the CORRECT account number. I did try calling the ***** office to speak with the "manager" or someone above the manager. I also had sent 2 unanswered emails. I called another local office to speak with a manager. I was told the managers travel and are not in any one office at any given time. I have tried contacting the MD office and was told there is NO management personnel in that office either.

Why no one from Mariner has contacted the printer to find out the status of the coupon book let along contacted me prior to my filing a complaint with the BBB is anyone's guess. Also, since a book was requetsed in 4/14 and I did not receive it I can only surmise that the coupon book could be in anyone's hand with MY personal information, my address, my account number, my payment. Since identity theft is a major issue today, the 3rd party vender/Mariner Finance has now left the door open for someone to have access to my identity. On a side not, I did ask for the book to be sent certified mail/UPS so it could be tracked but was told it only ships US Mail, no tracking.

I am aware I can drive to an office or pay online, however, since it seems very difficult to even get a payment book with the correct account number I doubt I would have any luck in person. Also, I was never advised in writting that the account number would change due to a local office change.

Mariner Finance is not customer service oriented and I still want a payment book with the CORRECT account number. I do not want to have an issues with the same as cash option and judging by the coupon book fiasco I can see that happening very easily.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

Page 1 of 5
06/04/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Complaint taken over the telephone by BBB staff (Ch).

On February 1, 2014 consumer made a final payment for her fur coat purchase of $333.00. However, it appears the check was not cashed by consumer\'s bank ********* because the check was lost and did not reach the company. The company contacted the consumer by phone and she made the lost final payment over telephone of total cost of $394.61 and included the interest for late payment of $61.61.
Consumer feels she should get a refund of interest charges of money she did send on time to the company.

Initial Business Response
We regret any inconvenience but the rules for "same as cash option" financing are stringent.

Consumer Response
Dear Mrs. *****

I am writing you to express my dissatisfaction in the response I received from Mariner Finance. It is totally unsatisfactory. The invoice and check were mailed on February l, 2014. The check number was 6300.

According to the contract that I filled out with ***** ***** it was clear that my intent was to pay the debt off 30-60-90. A duplicate of the contract was sent to me congratulating me for paying the bill of and expressing the desire for me to recommend them to my friends and relatives and I will be rewarded $50 for each successful loan closed. That is a lot of nerve when
they have given me no consideration and charged me an absorbent late fee charge.

This has to be some kind of SCAM that Mariner is running: and, I want the late fee charges reversed!

I talked to **** ***** a Mariner Finance branch manager, in **** *******, Ohio who was rude and very much aware that I had complained to the BBB concerning this situation; and, he further stated that I will not be getting my money back! Enclosed are the correspondences sent to me.
Something needs to be done about this situation! I would like to know where to report this
SCAM. There should be a county commissioner or someone to report bad faith practices to so an investigation can be done. Again, I am seeking the return of my money.

Sincerely,
****** ** *********

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined the company provided proper verification that indicated there was no obligation to resolve the issues of the complaint.

05/06/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Some time ago I received a check from Mariner bank. Not being from America I did not fully understand how things worked. Honestly the check could not have come at a better time as my wife and I were experiencing a financial hardship due to myself getting my hours cut from 40+ to 30 and eventually lost my job. I had some shady dealing with another company that left me without a vehicle and in the brink of financial ruin so cashing that check meant everything (at the time).Later I found that the check was targeted in a predatory fashion in fact the check was a loan with high interest targeted towards people that did not know better and I am ashamed to say that I fell for it. Unfortunately I had no choice but to pay but I had no idea how because at this point my wife and I were living with a relative and surviving on my wife's part time income of $230 per week take home. I expressed this situation in great detail to Mariner and asked them to "Have a heart" and please understand. Rather than help me out of a situation they decided to threaten and speak to me as though I was nothing more than a thief even though I assured and apologized for my misunderstanding and my present situation. I was severely harassed with phone calls of threats to pay and received a court notice for judgment. I then BEGGED on my hands and knees to every relative and friends (how humiliating) for any amount that could be given to help. Finally my sister borrowed the money from a friend to lend it to me in the amount of $1200. The debt with Mariner was $2589 so I called ****** and asked for settlement for this amount and he agreed if I can bring Cash by Friday.

Initial Business Response
Here are the facts from our side. Mr. ***** received a fully disclosed pre-approved loan by mail based on criteria contained in his credit file, which has been in existence since 2001. He opted to utilize the offer on August 2, 2014 by negotiating the check in the amount of $2589.00. He did not pay his first payment which was due on September2, 2013. He has never paid a payment and the first time we actually spoke to him was on February 22, 2014. Based on his request due to his circumstances we approved a settlement in full of $1554 if paid by March 22, 2014. He has not paid anything still. There are some items in his complaint we are not aware of such as we do not know who ******* is and we do not have an office in ************ Mariner Finance plans to continue its legal remedies to collect what is due. If Mr. ***** wishes to start paying or make us an offer we will consider.

Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
First of all the check they send me to cash was not a pre approved loan I did not know it but due my difficult situation I did cash it and later came to know that I need to pay but I could not until I spoke with ****** at ****** highway office and I offered 1200 as full settlement he got angry at me and insulted me and agreed to accept $1200and asked me to beg borrow for more and to bring him cash to which I smelled fishy but I just wanted to settle and put things behind this difficult situation in order to avoid court and bankruptcy. I went to ****** highway office and met ****** personally and again he called me a thief in front of his staff and customers. I landed up in the hospital as my blood sugar and pressure went high. ****** was unprofessional and his behavior was unethical and his intensions of accepting cash was questionable.

Final Business Response
Since our last response the consumer has not paid anything. We have had no contact in reference to a new proposed settlement. The trial date is now scheduled for July 7, 2014. Our request for cash or certified funds with the initial settlement offer was to be able to provide documentation to the customer that the matter was settled in full. Mariner Finance adheres to all collection laws and has procedures in place to monitor this activity and be compliant.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
****** accepted the 1200 as settlement in full but I need them to remove this account from my credit report upon cashing this certified check. I also want ****** from ****** highway be fired as He insulted me in front of his staff and customers and called me a thief. I already explained in the letter to them that I am going through tuff time and arranged for $1200 which my sister had offered me to help me. I went personally to ****** highway office and they refused to accept . I landed up in hospital with high blood sugar and blood pressure and lost sleep because of ********* bullying me. If this matter is not resolved in 30 days I will file a grievance with ** ******** ******* citing MD Consumers Protection Act,and same notice to ******* ***** *********** They cannot walk away with bullying me and call me a thief.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined the company made a reasonable offer to resolve the issues, but the consumer did not accept the offer.

03/10/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Sales Complaint Issue

Complaint: I received an unsolicited check in the amount of $1200.00 in the mail at my home address. I have not heard of these people I thought this was ilegal.
I received an unsolicited check in the amount of $1200.00 in the mail. I thought it was a credit offer and proceeded to tear it up when I noticed that it was an actual check not an offer for credit. Prior to this I have never heard of these people and have never done business with them. The check states that it is not transferable but there is nothing to prevent anyone from cashing it. It only asks for signature and date and phone number. the letter states that "you can have quick access to cash whenever you want it", Just sign the back of the check and either deposit it or cash it". It does not ask for proof or identification. I thought that this was no longer allowed. In these days of identity theft I am extremely upset that this was sent to my home without my permission. I feel this is very poor business ethics and encourages more identity theft issues than ever. I would like to see these practices stopped. There is an OPT-OUT NOTICE on it which I will certainly use but people need to be aware of these practices in case someone does take it from their mailbox and cash it. I find it hard to believe that a finance company would open themselves up to this kind of theft, and we wonder how the financial industry collapsed!
I am unhappy enough with all the junk mail I get for credit applications and reverse mortgage loans now and I certainly don't want to see checks coming to my mailbox for thieves to make easy money with.

Initial Business Response
Mariner Finance will follow up to make sure the consumers opt out is received and processed. Please note that the checks can only be cashed by the payee and the cashing or deposit institution is responsible to obtain proper identification.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I still feel these practices are not ethical but it appears that I will have to take my complaints to the ******** ******** ******** ********** ** ******** ********** Department to work on changing the laws if Mariner Finance is indeed in compliance with the state laws. I will call the number provided to make sure my op-out was completed and I thank you all for your prompt responses and your services.


Final Business Response
Mariner Finance follows all Federal and State laws in the Financial Services arena. Mariner Finance is 100% committed to doing business in a compliant oriented environment. Mariner Finance also has highly sophisticated procedures in place to protect our consumers and company. If Ms. ******* would like to speak to us directly please feel free to contact me at XXX-XXX-XXXX and I will return the call.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that despite the company's reasonable effort to address complaint issues, the consumer remained dissatisfied.

10/15/2012Problems with Product / Service
10/10/2012Billing / Collection Issues
Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Loans

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.