BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 11/03/2010

Jack's Small Engines and Generator Service LLC

Phone: (410) 557-6792Fax: (410) 557-6413View Additional Phone Numbers1745 Jarrettsville Rd, JarrettsvilleMD 21084-1523 Send email to Jack's Small Engines and Generator Service LLCView Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 11/03/2010

BBB has determined that Jack's Small Engines and Generator Service LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Jack's Small Engines and Generator Service LLC's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 18 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

18 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues4
Delivery Issues3
Problems with Product / Service11
Billing / Collection Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 18

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

4 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Jack's Small Engines and Generator Service LLC

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 4 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (18)
10/13/2014Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details

I have not received an item ordered in early spring 2014.
I ordered a lawn mower deck several months ago (I believe it was in April 2014) Part numberXXXXXXXSM which cost 418.05. I have not received this item. My order number is XXXXXXXXX. I have contacted representatives two different dates to try to resolve. They were aware when I spoke to them that the item has not been delivered to me. However I still do not have this item. My customer ID I is XXXXXXXX. This order consist of3 items. I received the other smaller items but I never received the mower deck (also called mower housing assembly).

Desired Settlement
Send item or refund amount paid.

Business Response

Customer was called and emailed. A new part has been ordered and will ship on 10/1. See below:

This email is in regards to your order with us for a ********** deck. I have also left a voicemail explaining the situation to you on the phone number you had provided us on your order. I do greatly apologize for this inconvenience and extended and frankly inexcusable wait time for a singular deck.

After escalating this issue within ****************** I was notified that the freight company had not been able to contact you in regards to delivery of your deck. Unfortunately, with the size and cost of the deck it is a standard procedure that the freight company advise delivery, creating an appointment with you so that someone is there to sign for it upon delivery. They have advised me they will be resending your ordered deck to you within the next 24 hours. You should be receiving this deck within the next 2-3 business days.

As advised, you have to be there to sign for this deck as they will not leave the part on the front doorstep as UPS or FedEx would. They have been given the two different phone numbers you have advised me with which include: xxxxxxxx. Please be aware that they will be calling you and scheduling within the next few days.

Should you have any questions, please either respond to this email or call into our Customer Service Department at xxxxx and ask for me directly.

11/11/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Terrible experience - Ordered part - would not work - Promised refund - Would not fulfill promise.
Terrible experience with Jack Small Engines. Ordered a carburetor for a saw, from their web site. No part number referenced only that this part fits a Poulin #1900 chain saw. Received carburetor and it would not work. They have a well defined return procedure, including getting a return number. I called, stating my problem, including that the part had been on the saw, could have some gasoline in it. They agreed to the return including no restocking charge. When they received the part, the rejected it due to gas smell. When I pursued, they then stated that " I" had ordered the wrong part number (not my fault since their web site showed it) and that I returned the part in wrong shipper (not true). My only mistake was not checking this company's history, which has these type problems

Desired Settlement
Refund of purchase cost plus shipping.

Business Response
Customer was refunded in full. Sent email to advise accordingly.

08/30/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Customer service is very bad. Requested full refund and was refused.
I ordered a part for a weed eater that needs repair. I chose the correct part based on information provided by this company. When the part arrived, I discovered that it was not correct. I called and was told to go back on line and order the correct part and that I had not gone by the actual model number. I did use the correct model number, went back on line and visited several different sites and found that the design of the part I need has been changed since production to now. I have requested a full refund plus shipping. I was told that that won't happen. I asked if the head assembly would fit my model of weed eater and was told, "I don't know." I asked to have some one who did know to call me. No one has returned my call. If the head assembly will definitely work, then I will keep the part as a spare. If it will not work, then I need to return the part.

Desired Settlement
Due to a change in design of the part for my model of weed eater, I would like a full refund of the part plus shipping charge. $3.52 + 7.95 = $11.47. I will pay the return shipping fee.

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ******* ****, Director
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXXX
Contact Email: ********
Refunded customer and emailed him requesting a call back to discuss further. See email to customer

Mr. ****** - I have received your complain via the BBB. Thank you for the candid feedback. I am very sorry to hear you had a less than pleasant experience. We pride ourselves on going above and beyond for our customers. It appears we failed that expectation with you. Please call me at the number below as I would like to get more details on your interaction. In the meantime, I have processed a refund in the amount of $3.52 for the part in question. You do not need to send it back. Please keep it.

Please call me at the number below to discuss further. Thank you.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Mr. ******* **** and I are having a difficult time in connecting via telephone. Due to long-distance limitations, I am not able to call several times a day the number he has requested to be contacted at. The last call from him was several days ago. I didn't get to the phone quickly enough. I called right back and got a message machine again. I left a message and have not heard from him since. As to his willingness to reimburse me for the part, I am thankful. However, I can't use the part as it is wrong, so why should I keep it? I would appreciate a shipping refund also. I am willing to return the part at my expense, but shouldn't have to pay shipping twice. Mornings are the best time to get a hold of me.

Business' Final Response
Called customer again. No answer. Left message advising I will refund him full including shipping. Advised customer to call me if there are any questions or concerns.

06/03/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Bought a "lemon" lawn mower from Jacks and business has refused to issue full refund.
On 4.30.2013, my wife bought me a walk behind mowers (order # XXXXXX) from Jacks. The machine arrived on or about 5.3.2013 and I used it for the first time on 5.6.2013. After about 5 minutes of use, the blades stopped working and the machine made a loud pop sound at shutoff. I returned it to Jacks for repair that day and got it back on 5.9.2013. On 5.10.2013, I tried to use the machine but it failed after startup when the blades failed to engage, the engine started smoking heavily and the loud popping sound that I complained of earlier would not stop. I returned the mower to Jacks that day in an effort to get another one but the manager refused to do an exchange. I then asked for a full refund- which is well within their new product return policy and the manager again, to my surprise, refused to grant my request. I then advised the manager that I would leave the mower on his parking lot and would take steps to get a full refund. I left the machine at Jacks' parking lot, took photos as proof and left it there.

Desired Settlement
A full refund is being requested.

Business' Initial Response
We have been working with the customer to repair the unit each time it has been brought in under Ariens Warranty. We have contacted the manufacturer and they have allowed us to repair the unit at no cost to Mr. ******. The unit sold is for residential cutting purposes and it appeared the unit was used to cut high grass which led to burnt belts. The unit also had a drivebelt issue which has since been prepared. We appreciate the patience of Mr. ****** while the repairs have been made to his machine.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Jacks has made several efforts to repair machine that they purported to be in excellent working condition when they sold it to me few weeks ago. With that in mind, this is where the problem is. Jacks sold me a $2000.00 machine that continues to be problematic. And, as opposed to repairing the machine right the first time, Jacks has engaged in wild speculation relative to why the machine continues to fail. Also, the machine is working fine right now and I pray that it continues to perform. If it does not, then I will take it back to Jacks.

08/21/2014Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 2
06/23/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Ordered parts they said in stock and they never shipped or emailed me about order.
Ordered parts that were supposed to be in stock on6/3 at 9:39 am. Got email that said placed order and would send another when shipped. Nothing for a week so I called they said backordered but was received Friday 6/5. Online says parts ship within 1 to 2 days. Now 6/8 and they say it shipped 6/8 but when I reminded them I should have gotten an email when it shipped customer service said it must still be in warehouse so they can't cancel order. This a a poorly run company at best or an out and out rip off.

Desired Settlement
stop the shipment and refund my money. NOW!!!

Business Response

Ms. ********* - Thank you for the feedback. I have received your complaint via the BBB. Please be advised our website does not show stocking status. This particular part had to be ordered from our vendor, when it arrived it was immediately shipped to you. Per your request I have refunded you the $24.09 for the order. A copy of the credit invoice is attached. Additionally, I will email you a return label. Please place the shipping label on the box and give to any postal carrier or drop into any mailbox. Thank you

04/01/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

When I Googled my mower part #XXX-XXXXXC it sent me to Jacks as one of my choices. The price on the part was $259.48 plus shipping. That was agreeable to me and I called and spoke to *** who told me shipping was $30 for a total of $289.48. I told *** that was fine but I would have to call back with a credit card # after speaking with my wife. I called back about 2 hours later with my credit card # and spoke to ***** who said she would not honor ***'s quote and the advertised price. I asked for a manager or the owner and was told neither were available to just leave a message. I also emailed my dilemma/complaint and the next morning got an email from ******* ****. His email said he was sorry there was a mixup and that he would honor the price advertised plus shipping of $50.95. When I told him that was not the quote I received for shipping he told me that the part # was old and had changed and so had the shipping quote also changed. I questioned this because the weight did not change which affects shipping costs not the part # change. I was told take it or leave it.

Desired Settlement
Send my part at the original quote and learn from whatever mistake you made. This is no longer about money but about good business practice. I am a retail business owner and know how customers should be treated. Thanks.

Business Response

Thank you for the communication. Please be advised, Mr. ******* is attempting to purchase a part (#XXX-XXXX) that is no longer available from the manufacturer. It has been replaced by part (#XXX-XXXXXX-XXXX) which has a subsequent increase in price. In the spirit of fairness, I have agreed to honor the original price for the discontinued item. The freight , however is firm at $50.95. Again, thank you for the communication.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Mr. **** is trying to mislead all of us into thinking that the part changed when in fact only the part # changed and he wants to charge me 70% more shipping for the same part. I talked to three different people at ****'s and got three different prices. Again, this complaint was not about price but about principle and I will go to his competitor and pay a little more for this part out of principle alone. Thanks for your time and efforts.

09/01/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Purchased a part, received a part that is wrong, company will not respond

cust. # XXXXXXXX pfCase:XXXXX, pfTicket:XXXXXXX
I purchased a carburetor assembly # XXXXXXXXX and it arrived 7/22/2014 for my weed eater brand trimmer GT 119T and it will not start or run.
Paid w/ C card, they want to have another company warrentee the part, I told them it's wrong how can you do this when you sent me the wrong psrt.
I've tried to contact jacks (***** ***** the contact name)but they will not reply

Desired Settlement
The correct part or refund my C Card account

Business Response

Mr. ****** was contacted and offered a replacement part at no cost. It has been ordered by Jacks and will ship to Mr. ****** once it arrives at our warehouse.

08/04/2014Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details

I placed an order for a lawn mower handle on June 12th, 2014 and have not received it as of July 16th, 2014.
I placed an order for a lawn mower handle on June 12th, 2014. The website showed the item as "in-stock" however a day or two after I placed the order, I received an email stating that the item was out of stock and on back order from the manufacturer. Well, today is July 16th, and I still have not received the item. I was told two weeks ago that the manufacturer was about to ship it to Jack's but now when I called today, I was told that they still do not have the item. Not once has anyone bothered to call me to communicate any issue with me or anything. This is terrible service and I will not order from this company again.

Desired Settlement
I want my product delivered.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ******* ****, Director
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Contact Email: ********
Replied to customer:

Mr. ******* - we are in receipt of your inquiry with the BBB. Please accept our apologies for the delay in fulfilling your order. The part was on a manufacturer back-order and should be in my warehouse by mid next week. We will ship as soon as it arrives. Please be advised our website does not presently show stocking status. Our website acts as a catalogue in that these are the parts we are able to order. While we stock the vast majority of the parts we offer, we do not stock all 2 million+ parts in our warehouse. If you ever have an urgent need for a part please call our customer service line and we'll gladly inform you if a part is in stock.

Again, our apologies for the delay we will be able to fulfill your order by next week.

******* ** **** **
Director, Operations
Jacks Small Engines

07/28/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Jack's offered a product for sale. After accepting the order for the product, they tried to double the price.
On July 7, I found a part listed by Jack's that I needed for my ATV. This part was a brush guard item ************* After placing this item in my cart for checkout, I noticed the description field for this item, their system printed ************* I went to another website and determined this was the part that superseded the original part, and that this was alright. I placed an order for the item for $164.40, and they accepted this order. The order was XXXXXXXXXX. On the order confirmation in the description field for the item I purchased, their system printed *************

On July 9, I received a call saying that they were going to charge me $308 for a different part, ************* The woman on the phone stated they didn't know the part was superseded, and that the new part was more expensive. I tried to tell her that was the part they sold me based on the description field. She refused to acknowledge this and kept saying it wasn't their fault.

This is an outright lie. Their system identified the superseded part ************** on my order summary along with the cost per item of $164.40.

I believe they are trying to "bait and switch" this part. Unfortunately for them, their computer system is a lot more honest than they are.

When faced with a choice between paying $308 for the part or canceling my order, I canceled the order.

Desired Settlement
Reinstate the original order and fulfill the order as you confirmed on July 7, 2014.

Business Response

We will honor the original price. There was a systems error on our part. Emailed customer...see below

Mr. ****** - Thank you for the candid feedback. Our apologies for the pricing discrepancy. I will honor the original price paid if you are still interested in purchasing. Please advise - the amount was $175.35 (inclusive of shipping.) Again, our apologies, thank you.

Page 1 of 3

Industry Comparison| Chart

Lawn Mowers, Tractor Equipment & Parts, Generators - Electric, Tools - Electric, Machine Tools, Gardening Hand Tools, Lawn & Garden Equipment & Supplies, Snow Removal Equipment, Pressure Washing Equipment , Small Engine Repair, Engines - Rebuild & Exchange

Additional Information


If a business refers you to another company or uses sub-contractors, BBB recommends that you research that company including reviewing their BBB business review.

BBB file opened: 08/23/2001Business started: 05/01/1997
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Adine Cumberland (Owner)Mr. Ron Lazarus (Manager)Mr. Herbert L. Rice II (Director, Operations)
Number of Employees


Business Category

Lawn Mowers, Tractor Equipment & Parts, Generators - Electric, Tools - Electric, Machine Tools, Gardening Hand Tools, Lawn & Garden Equipment & Supplies, Snow Removal Equipment, Pressure Washing Equipment , Small Engine Repair, Engines - Rebuild & Exchange

Products & Services

This company offers retail lawn mowers, lawn mower parts, pressure washer parts and other small engines and parts for commercial and residential consumers.

Hours of Operation
Mon: 09:00 AM to 06:00 PMTue: 09:00 AM to 06:00 PMWed: 09:00 AM to 06:00 PMThu: 09:00 AM to 06:00 PMFri: 09:00 AM to 06:00 PMSat: 09:00 AM to 04:00 PM
Alternate Business Names
Jack's Small Engine and Generator Service LLC, Jack's Small Engines

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Jack's Small Engines and Generator Service LLC has received 4.12 out of 5 stars based on 4 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Jack's Small Engines and Generator Service LLC

1745 Jarrettsville Rd

Jarrettsville, MD 21084-1523

To | From


1 Locations

  • 1745 Jarrettsville Rd 

    Jarrettsville, MD 21084-1523(410) 557-6792
    (410) 692-6300
    (877) 737-2787
    Fax: (410) 557-6413
    Fax: (410) 557-6413
    Fax: (410) 557-6413

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Greater Maryland. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Jack's Small Engines and Generator Service LLC is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


Additional Phone Numbers

  • (410) 692-6300
  • (877) 737-2787

Additional Web Addresses


Additional Email Addresses


BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on December 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.


Industry Tips for Lawn Mowers


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.