BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 11/03/2010

Jack's Small Engines and Generator Service LLC

Phone: (410) 557-6792Fax: (410) 557-6413

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

19 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues5
Delivery Issues3
Problems with Product / Service11
Billing / Collection Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints19

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (19)
05/13/2016Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Charged me for the price of a new service manual and delivered an open, grease-stained manual in its place. This is Dishonest!
Hi,

Received my order on May 5th.

Did you know that word-of-mouth is the single most important method people use to convey to one another how reputable or not a business is?

I don't think it is honorable of your business establishment to charge me full price for an opened and used book. Whoever opened and used the book even stained it with their greasy hands and then made a lame attempt to put the book back into its torn cellophane wrapper.
XXXXXX Service Manual

Since a new manual is supposed to be sealed in a cellophane wrapper, the only fingerprints on it when opened should be the customer's. You think about that.

I detest dishonest people and businesses. You have defrauded me in that you charged me for the price of a new service manual and delivered a used service manual in its place. You need to make this right. If you choose not to, I will seek legal recourse against you.

You will never earn my trust to do business with you again. In addition, I will let my family, friends, and colleagues know about your dishonest business practices.

You charged me new item pricing for a used item! This was no accident. Someone at your establishment unwrapped a new item, used it, and then placed the torn wrapper back onto the now used, and grease-stained item and sent it to me and charged me full, new item pricing. This is the deliberate, conscious act of a dishonest person and a dishonest business for allowing it to happen.

John ********

Desired Settlement
50% refund for price of the used service manual they sent to me and refund of shipping costs and a formal apology for dealing with me dishonestly.

Business Response
The customer was contacted and the matter has been resolved amicably.

Consumer Response
Hi,

Cameron at Jack's Small Engines worked with me and refunded 50% of retail price for the service manual in question. He was very courteous and professional and willing to work with me to address and resolve my concerns. Please close this case.

Also, I would recommend Jack's to friends and colleagues because of their efforts to resolve this matter efficiently and professionally. They really do take customer service seriously as demonstrated by their actions in this matter.

Thank You,

John ********

10/13/2014Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I have not received an item ordered in early spring 2014.
I ordered a lawn mower deck several months ago (I believe it was in April 2014) Part numberXXXXXXXSM which cost 418.05. I have not received this item. My order number is XXXXXXXXX. I have contacted representatives two different dates to try to resolve. They were aware when I spoke to them that the item has not been delivered to me. However I still do not have this item. My customer ID I is XXXXXXXX. This order consist of3 items. I received the other smaller items but I never received the mower deck (also called mower housing assembly).

Desired Settlement
Send item or refund amount paid.

Business Response

Customer was called and emailed. A new part has been ordered and will ship on 10/1. See below:

This email is in regards to your order with us for a ********** deck. I have also left a voicemail explaining the situation to you on the phone number you had provided us on your order. I do greatly apologize for this inconvenience and extended and frankly inexcusable wait time for a singular deck.

After escalating this issue within ****************** I was notified that the freight company had not been able to contact you in regards to delivery of your deck. Unfortunately, with the size and cost of the deck it is a standard procedure that the freight company advise delivery, creating an appointment with you so that someone is there to sign for it upon delivery. They have advised me they will be resending your ordered deck to you within the next 24 hours. You should be receiving this deck within the next 2-3 business days.

As advised, you have to be there to sign for this deck as they will not leave the part on the front doorstep as UPS or FedEx would. They have been given the two different phone numbers you have advised me with which include: xxxxxxxx. Please be aware that they will be calling you and scheduling within the next few days.

Should you have any questions, please either respond to this email or call into our Customer Service Department at xxxxx and ask for me directly.


11/11/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Terrible experience - Ordered part - would not work - Promised refund - Would not fulfill promise.
Terrible experience with Jack Small Engines. Ordered a carburetor for a saw, from their web site. No part number referenced only that this part fits a Poulin #1900 chain saw. Received carburetor and it would not work. They have a well defined return procedure, including getting a return number. I called, stating my problem, including that the part had been on the saw, could have some gasoline in it. They agreed to the return including no restocking charge. When they received the part, the rejected it due to gas smell. When I pursued, they then stated that " I" had ordered the wrong part number (not my fault since their web site showed it) and that I returned the part in wrong shipper (not true). My only mistake was not checking this company's history, which has these type problems

Desired Settlement
Refund of purchase cost plus shipping.

Business Response
Customer was refunded in full. Sent email to advise accordingly.

08/30/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Customer service is very bad. Requested full refund and was refused.
I ordered a part for a weed eater that needs repair. I chose the correct part based on information provided by this company. When the part arrived, I discovered that it was not correct. I called and was told to go back on line and order the correct part and that I had not gone by the actual model number. I did use the correct model number, went back on line and visited several different sites and found that the design of the part I need has been changed since production to now. I have requested a full refund plus shipping. I was told that that won't happen. I asked if the head assembly would fit my model of weed eater and was told, "I don't know." I asked to have some one who did know to call me. No one has returned my call. If the head assembly will definitely work, then I will keep the part as a spare. If it will not work, then I need to return the part.

Desired Settlement
Due to a change in design of the part for my model of weed eater, I would like a full refund of the part plus shipping charge. $3.52 + 7.95 = $11.47. I will pay the return shipping fee.

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ******* ****, Director
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXXX
Contact Email: ********@jackssmallengines.com
Refunded customer and emailed him requesting a call back to discuss further. See email to customer

Mr. ****** - I have received your complain via the BBB. Thank you for the candid feedback. I am very sorry to hear you had a less than pleasant experience. We pride ourselves on going above and beyond for our customers. It appears we failed that expectation with you. Please call me at the number below as I would like to get more details on your interaction. In the meantime, I have processed a refund in the amount of $3.52 for the part in question. You do not need to send it back. Please keep it.

Please call me at the number below to discuss further. Thank you.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Mr. ******* **** and I are having a difficult time in connecting via telephone. Due to long-distance limitations, I am not able to call several times a day the number he has requested to be contacted at. The last call from him was several days ago. I didn't get to the phone quickly enough. I called right back and got a message machine again. I left a message and have not heard from him since. As to his willingness to reimburse me for the part, I am thankful. However, I can't use the part as it is wrong, so why should I keep it? I would appreciate a shipping refund also. I am willing to return the part at my expense, but shouldn't have to pay shipping twice. Mornings are the best time to get a hold of me.

Business' Final Response
Called customer again. No answer. Left message advising I will refund him full including shipping. Advised customer to call me if there are any questions or concerns.

08/21/2014Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 2
12/18/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Jack's sold me a new ***** brush cutter whose engine would not run. They said it was ********** problem." ***** will not provide warranty service.
Jack's sold me a ***** ******** brush cutter on Nov 2 ($399) and also the required carburetor jets for this altitude. Jack's told me that while ***** requires installation of a 5000 foot plus jet for this destination, that Jack's would not install it at any price. Jack's shipped both purchases to the local authorized ***** dealer/repairman, **** ******* of Eagle, Colorado where the proprietor, ***** ******* had agreed to set up the machine and make the ***** required carburetor adjustment. Mr. ****** supervised the work in the shop, but called to tell me there was a problem. I went to his shop where he showed me that the engine would not run smoothly or continuously. His man had first run it with the stock jet,and it was unsatisfactory. He then replaced that jet with the one Jack's furnished for this altitude, and he said it ran distinctly worse. Accordingly, he replaced the original jet. He said with both jets it did better choked, indicative that it was set up too lean. He even proposed trying a ****** ** jet, which was larger than stock (not smaller- which would be consistent with the altitude objective.) Otherwise, he said this was the best it was going to get without addressing what he regarded as a separate underlying fault. He suggested that I take it home and try it. Perhaps it would work better at my house - 700 feet higher, even though he knew there was no logic to that scenario. At this point I agreed to try it, not wanting to go on a possibly quixotic fishing expedition with the meter running at $90 an hour. ***** ****** is revered in this county. They have done all the maintenance and repair on my ***** ****** snowblower for many years, and also my ******* ***** and I have the highest regard for their expertise.) I paid **** ****** $105 for their attempt to get it to run and took it home. In use, it cut some 1/2 dry, dead willow sticks satisfactorily, but the engine was erratic. After five minutes it stopped. It would restart readily, but I could not keep it running. I called Jack's, and was told this was not their problem, but something I should pursue with ***** in Georgia. I called the number Jack's gave me only to be told by ***** that they would not provide warranty service. I called ******** ******** and they are contesting the charge.

Desired Settlement
I have had a satisfactory relationship with Jack's over the years. (Although I live in Vail, Colorado now, I am from *** **** ** in ********* I would like to be able to work with Jack's in the future. Unfortunately I cannot seem to get the help I need from Jack's to get this brand new machine to work. Maybe ***** should have a role in working with their distributor in Denver and their **** ****** representative, but it seems I do not have the standing with ***** to get warranty action. I do not think it should be costly for ***** to get this brand new item to work. I, on the other hand, already have about $540 invested, and do not wish to give any shop free hand to try sequentially and additionally what ever occurs to them as possibly a solution without ***** in the picture. I want authorized service to remedy what is needed and I will withdraw the complaint and ask ******** ******* to restore payment. This is a newly purchased, brand new ***** machine, and it should work. It doesn't.

Business Response
Please be advised we are currently working with the customer to correct his problem. He has identified an authorized repair facility in his state of Colorado to address the issues with his equipment. It is currently in their possession and they are working closely with the manufacturer to ensure the repairs are covered under warranty. We will continue to follow until the matter is fully resolved.

06/23/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Ordered parts they said in stock and they never shipped or emailed me about order.
Ordered parts that were supposed to be in stock on6/3 at 9:39 am. Got email that said placed order and would send another when shipped. Nothing for a week so I called they said backordered but was received Friday 6/5. Online says parts ship within 1 to 2 days. Now 6/8 and they say it shipped 6/8 but when I reminded them I should have gotten an email when it shipped customer service said it must still be in warehouse so they can't cancel order. This a a poorly run company at best or an out and out rip off.

Desired Settlement
stop the shipment and refund my money. NOW!!!

Business Response

Ms. ********* - Thank you for the feedback. I have received your complaint via the BBB. Please be advised our website does not show stocking status. This particular part had to be ordered from our vendor, when it arrived it was immediately shipped to you. Per your request I have refunded you the $24.09 for the order. A copy of the credit invoice is attached. Additionally, I will email you a return label. Please place the shipping label on the box and give to any postal carrier or drop into any mailbox. Thank you

04/01/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
When I Googled my mower part #XXX-XXXXXC it sent me to Jacks as one of my choices. The price on the part was $259.48 plus shipping. That was agreeable to me and I called and spoke to *** who told me shipping was $30 for a total of $289.48. I told *** that was fine but I would have to call back with a credit card # after speaking with my wife. I called back about 2 hours later with my credit card # and spoke to ***** who said she would not honor ***'s quote and the advertised price. I asked for a manager or the owner and was told neither were available to just leave a message. I also emailed my dilemma/complaint and the next morning got an email from ******* ****. His email said he was sorry there was a mixup and that he would honor the price advertised plus shipping of $50.95. When I told him that was not the quote I received for shipping he told me that the part # was old and had changed and so had the shipping quote also changed. I questioned this because the weight did not change which affects shipping costs not the part # change. I was told take it or leave it.

Desired Settlement
Send my part at the original quote and learn from whatever mistake you made. This is no longer about money but about good business practice. I am a retail business owner and know how customers should be treated. Thanks.

Business Response

Thank you for the communication. Please be advised, Mr. ******* is attempting to purchase a part (#XXX-XXXX) that is no longer available from the manufacturer. It has been replaced by part (#XXX-XXXXXX-XXXX) which has a subsequent increase in price. In the spirit of fairness, I have agreed to honor the original price for the discontinued item. The freight , however is firm at $50.95. Again, thank you for the communication.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Mr. **** is trying to mislead all of us into thinking that the part changed when in fact only the part # changed and he wants to charge me 70% more shipping for the same part. I talked to three different people at ****'s and got three different prices. Again, this complaint was not about price but about principle and I will go to his competitor and pay a little more for this part out of principle alone. Thanks for your time and efforts.

09/01/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Purchased a part, received a part that is wrong, company will not respond

cust. # XXXXXXXX pfCase:XXXXX, pfTicket:XXXXXXX
I purchased a carburetor assembly # XXXXXXXXX and it arrived 7/22/2014 for my weed eater brand trimmer GT 119T and it will not start or run.
Paid w/ C card, they want to have another company warrentee the part, I told them it's wrong how can you do this when you sent me the wrong psrt.
I've tried to contact jacks (***** ***** the contact name)but they will not reply

Desired Settlement
The correct part or refund my C Card account

Business Response

Mr. ****** was contacted and offered a replacement part at no cost. It has been ordered by Jacks and will ship to Mr. ****** once it arrives at our warehouse.

08/04/2014Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I placed an order for a lawn mower handle on June 12th, 2014 and have not received it as of July 16th, 2014.
I placed an order for a lawn mower handle on June 12th, 2014. The website showed the item as "in-stock" however a day or two after I placed the order, I received an email stating that the item was out of stock and on back order from the manufacturer. Well, today is July 16th, and I still have not received the item. I was told two weeks ago that the manufacturer was about to ship it to Jack's but now when I called today, I was told that they still do not have the item. Not once has anyone bothered to call me to communicate any issue with me or anything. This is terrible service and I will not order from this company again.

Desired Settlement
I want my product delivered.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ******* ****, Director
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Contact Email: ********@jackssmallengines.com
Replied to customer:

Mr. ******* - we are in receipt of your inquiry with the BBB. Please accept our apologies for the delay in fulfilling your order. The part was on a manufacturer back-order and should be in my warehouse by mid next week. We will ship as soon as it arrives. Please be advised our website does not presently show stocking status. Our website acts as a catalogue in that these are the parts we are able to order. While we stock the vast majority of the parts we offer, we do not stock all 2 million+ parts in our warehouse. If you ever have an urgent need for a part please call our customer service line and we'll gladly inform you if a part is in stock.

Again, our apologies for the delay we will be able to fulfill your order by next week.

******* ** **** **
Director, Operations
Jacks Small Engines

Page 1 of 3

Industry Comparison| Chart

Lawn Mowers, Tractor Equipment & Parts, Generators - Electric, Tools - Electric, Machine Tools, Gardening Hand Tools, Lawn & Garden Equipment & Supplies, Snow Removal Equipment, Pressure Washing Equipment , Small Engine Repair, Engines - Rebuild & Exchange

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.