BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Dove Remodeling Services, Inc.

Phone: (410) 439-5700Fax: (410) 439-2522

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service8
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints8

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (8)
05/07/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I have had major problems with this company from the beginning. Now I am having problems with my gate that they installed and they refuse to correct.
I was supposed to have my fence and gate completed on October 31, 2014. I get a call early in the morning from the person who was supposed to complete the work telling me his kid is sick. I get it but no one called me back informing me that they would send a replacement nor did the guy care that I still had to get this work done. I called and called and finally got someone to come out to do the work but after all of the back and forth they couldn't do it that day. The guys that came were nice and cordial. Fast forward November 11, 2014, what was supposed to be a one day job has turned into several days. They charged my credit card for the entire amount of completion of work when they know they did not finish the work. I had to dispute this with my credit card company. After calling and leaving several messages for ****, I finally talked to her. The company finally finished putting on the caps I allowed my credit card to be charged for the completion of the work. Then I begin having problems with the gate as I could not get it open so they came back out to take one of the locks off. It worked fine for several months, until now. I cannot open my gate! Again, I have called and spoken with ****** and have left messages for **** and again no return phone call. I should have known this company was bad news when no one called me to send a replacement for the first guy. This is bad business and I will be sure to share my experience with others. In the meantime, I paid for a gate and fence and right now I can't open my gate. I want my gate fixed. If they don't want to fix it, I would like a partial refund so that I may hire a qualified contractor to fix what they refuse to fix.

Desired Settlement
I would like either one of two things. Either they fix my gate or provide a refund in the amount of an estimate for repair.

Final Consumer Response

11/03/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
i **** ***********, signed for window remodelling to my home on march 2104. After August 22,2014, I requested for my $700 deposit , no response .
i spoke via phone with one of the supervisors( ****/jillian about my long wait since march 2014 in August 2014 since no one called me from the office in pasadena, after sales *** ******** assured me the work will be done by may 2014. Since March 2014 no work was done, no calls about delay of services and no respond about getting my deposit refund paid by cheque. Sales license no.XXXXX and MHIC#XXXXX.

Desired Settlement
$700.00 deposit

Business Response
I will be refunding Ms *********** deposit of $700.00 on Friday October 24. I had to wait and get the deposit back from the vendor where her product was ordered from.

Thank You
****

10/30/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
i would lake the problem fixed
Bathroom ceiling replacedNovember 2013, cracked September 2014, called company to try to reslove this issue, no one evey called me back

Desired Settlement
Address this issue, fix the problem

Business Response
Mr ****** work was completed in November 2013. He called the company with a small service in October 2014. We sent a mechanic to his home on October 18. 2014 to repair a small ceiling crack in his bathroom and completed the work to his satisfaction.

Thank You
**** *****

06/24/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Company used inferior material to fix front gutter. Six months later wood discolored. One year later gutter was falling off the wood.
Dove removed the deteriorating wood from my front gutter On December 14, 2013 and six months later I notice the wood had changed colors. Called and had them re-paint the wood. Recently I notice the gutter was separating from the wood and the discoloring of the wood. You could see the nails and the holes created by the different pieces of wood. The wood had shrunked the shingles were coming apart from the wood and with a heavy snow storm my gutter would fall off. I called and spoke to someone who said it had passed the warranty and I informed her that I did not care the work should last longer than a year. They sent Gil Goldberg out to look at the problem. He assured me that they would fix the problem on Monday, December 30, 2013 I did not have to be there. When I arrived home from work I notice someone had driven their vechicle on my lawn and the motion detector was broken. I called after 4pm the manager was gone requested a call back the next day. No one called the next day so I called them around noon. The manager said the people who did the work said the motion detector was already broke, that is a lie. There was nothing wrong with my motion detector or my lawn when I went to work. They had to remove the motion detector to do the work and they broke it and left it hanging on the garage. No one called or said anything. They painted the wood that they repaired but the rest of the wood is discolored. I informed the manager they did a shoddey job. Why would I break my motion detector when I am payed them to repair my gutter. I asked her when would they fix it because it is suppose to snow and there are wires hanging from my detector? She could not provide a date yet it is their fault my detector is broken and I am filing a complaint based on the shoddy work they did. My landscaping person is a witness to the shoddy job that was done on my gutter and we have pictures. Futhermore I did not, never have and will not tear up my property.

Desired Settlement
I want my property fixed.

Business Response
From: Dove Remodeling Services, Inc.
Date: Tue, Jan 21, 2014 at 10:38 AM
Subject: Re: BBB Complaint Case# 36094568 (Ref#85-90168488-36094568-4-300)
To: "kisbister@greatermd.bbb.org"


Good Morning Katie,

This is a response to the complaint for Dorothy Walker #36094568.
The work that Ms. Walker is complaining about has been resolved. We did have some problems with the work done at her home however, we have taken care of all of her issues. She is free to call us with any additional concerns that she may have.


Thank You
Lita Bosch
Dove remodeling Services


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The issue is not resolved. The wood that was used is peeling and rottening in other places. In fact the wood has discolored and there are sections were you can see that they used different pieces of wood across my house. The wood that was used is inferior and after they painted the wood a second time in June 2013 the wood discolored again. You can see spaces in the wood where the wood and the gutter are separating. This is unacceptable, the wood is rottening. I should not have to call another company to fix it.


Business Response
We have been out to Ms walkers home and have since replaced the wood that she is referring to that was in pieces. We also fix her light that she said we broke as well as repaired her lawn. Not sure what else she would like us to do. We have been out to her home every time she has called us with a problem.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The gutter is not fixed. As I staed previously they use inferior wood on the job they did. The wood is discolored and you can see it rottening. I have pictures. They fix the light fixture because their crew broke it and blamed it on me. They also tore up my grass. The wood extended across the front of my house from the garage to the porch. I am not satisfied with the lousy job they did.


Business Response
I understand that ms walker is still unhappy with the service that we have given to her. Our production manager has been to her property to ascess the problem. I believe that we have went out of our way to do what we can to make her happy. As soon as the weather is warmer I will send another crew out to her home again to try and accommodate her.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
How can I be happy when the wood is rottening. Even the repair done recently the wood is chipping and changing colors and the work was done not even 3 months ago. I want Dove Remodeling to treat my home as if it was their's. The wood and the paint as I have stated over and over is inferior and they knew it was. This is not a resolution until the job is done right. I have pictures.


Consumer Response
4/20/14: consumer submitted photos - see below & attached



---------- Forwarded message ----------
From:
Date: Sun, Apr 20, 2014 at 8:38 AM
Subject: Re: BBB Case#36094568
To: cjackson@greatermd.bbb.org


I am downloading the pictures. This is the work done less than 3 months ago. They said when the weather broke they would come out and repair my gutter. No one has contacted me since the initial response to my Better Business complaint.

The third attachment DSCN0047 is when they broke my light and lied and said I did it. I will be sending more pictures.


Consumer Response
4/20/14: more photos - see attached


Consumer Response
4/26/14: consumer submitted more photos - see below & attached
4/28/14: CJ acknowledged receipt




---------- Forwarded message ----------
From: Cassaundra Jackson
Date: Mon, Apr 28, 2014 at 12:04 PM
Subject: Re: BBB Case#36094568
To: eveningstar47@aol.com


Good morning -

Thank you for the additional photos. I have added them to the complaint detail as well. Currently, all photos are viewable to both parties, you and the business; please notify me if that is not acceptable. Thanks again for your time. Have a great day


---------- Forwarded message ----------
From:
Date: Sat, Apr 26, 2014 at 7:57 PM
Subject: Re: BBB Case#36094568
To: cjackson@greatermd.bbb.org


Ms. Jackson,

I had an opportunity to climb the ladder and get closer to my gutter. I could not climb high enough to get all the way up but I did take a couple of pictures.

As I stated the wood is rottening.


Dorothy Walker


Consumer Response
From:
Date: Wed, Jun 4, 2014 at 1:06 PM
Subject: Re: BBB Complaint Case# 36094568 (Ref#85-90168488-36094568-27-4100)
To: kisbister@greatermd.bbb.org


Please be advised I have heard nothing from this company.

Dorothy Walker

05/05/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The complaint is Dove was hired to fix a leak that is still leaking 2 years later.
On 2/13/12 I called Dove to come out and give me an estimate to fix a leak in my bathtub that was leaking down into my pantry ceiling and to repair my front door. ****** and ******* came to my house on 2/15/12. ****** wrote me an agreement to change the faucets in tub, caulk around tub, patch pantry ceiling and repair front door. The estimate was for 295.00 for labor and I owed an additional 50.00 for the faucet kit. They told me they could fix it on 2/17/12 which was a Friday and I just happened to be off. ******* came to my house on 2/17/12. He changed the faucets, tightened something behind the tub, patched the ceiling in the pantry, and fixed the front door. ******* assured me it would take care of the leak. I hired ******* (on the side) after the fact to repair other things in the bathroom that the leak had caused damage to but had nothing to do with the Dove agreement. Approximately 9-12 months went by and the hole reappeared in my pantry ceiling.I called ****** and he came out within a couple of days and said it was just coming out of the tub. He said lets just keep an eye on it and we will patch it later. I work six days a week for long periods of time so about 9 months went by and I called him again. He came out again and said he would bring ******* back to fix it, Several weeks went by and he called and said he was real busy couldn't get back to fix it and would like to refund my money because he felt that he wasn't going to please me. It started to become a he said she said and I told him that I just wanted it fixed and time didn't matter. I thought about it for a few days ( which was about 4 weeks ago -Jan/2014)and called him back and told him I would take the refund and hire someone else to fix it. I asked him to just drop off a check and his response was for me to call Dove. When I called Dove, they asked me why I hadn't called them before and I told them because I thought he was going to take care of it. They said they did what was on the agreement which I don't deny but I trusted that when they originally wrote that agreement that it was to fix the leak and now I have been jerked around for two years and have been forced to hire someone else and pay another 300.00. The plumber that I recently hired to fixed it, had to fix the shower faucet and overflow that ******* had tightened. I feel I deserve some kind of compensation for faulty judgement and being Mislead. I see now that their complaint record is pretty long for only being in business for 3 years. I guess I should have looked on BBB first.

Desired Settlement
I am asking for a partial refund.I'm not denying that they did do the work that was written on my agreement but I trusted and was reassured by ****** and ******* that what was written on the agreement would fix the leak. I was mislead. I never thought for a minute that I would be dealing with this two years later and have to hire someone else and pay 300.00 more.

Business Response
We completes the work at ms *****'s home several months ago. This is the first time that she has called us with any issue with the work that was completed. As she states in her complaint she. Contacted our employee and asked him to do work for her on the side which was not turned in to the company, as a result this voids any warranty that she may have with the company. This employee is no longer an employee of the company because of doing work on the side. I do sympathize with the customer but I feel she was trying to get work done without going threw the company. I will however review her file and do what I can for her.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I do not accept the response but I am not surprised by the response. Whoever wrote the response from the Dove company could NOT have read my complaint. I wrote the complaint clearly and honestly for a reason. I have nothing to hide. I did nothing wrong. First off the job was not finished several months ago. I did not contact the employee for the side work, he confronted me as the job for Dove was (what I thought)finished.As I stated in my response, I did not call the company because ****** who started the job was responding to my calls and complaints.The company's employee problems are not my problems. The company should be more concerned about customer service and trying to maintain their reputation. The fact that they did not respond to the BBB complaint until it was almost too late and the other seven complaints on their record should be their concern for their reputation. I am asking for compensation based on what I was told by ****** who could not provide me with the appropriate customer service.We would not be addressing this complaint if the leak had not come back.

04/19/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Customer service not at all good. Sent certified letters, no resposone., all work is guaranteed. Oweners rude,all they want money

I had my house remodeling done with Dove Remodeling.

1- sighed contract for gutters & down spouts 8/30/2014 still not finished- 2/23/2015 told that it would be to my satisfaction. - gutters over flowed from the spouts my house had so much water around it and puddles that I was afraid I would have a flood in the basement.

2- Birds made nests in the spouts because the had no end caps

3- sent a lot of e mails to ***** no response or they would get back to me not the rude owners **** and *****.

4 ***** told me that everything inside and out were hiccups. I had many but was assured that everything is guaranteed.

5-since I only have 1 bathroom. were told ok will be fixed in 1 day. I said that since I have a medical situation I need water 24-7 no problem can use neighbors for 1 day Well they turn off-the water for days. I had to stay at hotel
-sent 3 e mails-days 3 different times to ****
No response

6-12/23/2014 ***** stopped in for an early payment. Needed money for the workers to get a Christmas. How nice, until I had to stop at *****
and was right there when ***** handed the ***** sales person MY check.

7- there are so many promises, lies, rudeness, excuses
and I was told more that once that they are all "Christians" did that make it right?
11-it is no wonder that they get an F from BBB.

8 ***** came out before the job was finished. He talked me into Leaving $2000.00 for the balance.But when he came back to get his money the next, "Oh no the agreement is $1000.00."

9-The salesman we had at the house was very good at first. ***** and ***** are very firm about money. I

10 -I can not say enough about the men working here. They were professional.

11- one time ***** came out for money and told me that my project is small not like some of the others he working on So that makes me feel real good. My project isn't important?

12-I would not recommend Dove Remodeling to anyone. I would tell them that if you want to 18 months of more, they are the ones for you.

13- As far as I am concerned I feel like I taken advantage of as far as over payment, dishonesty, rude, don't really care about the customer. I guess It is all about the money.

14- I only will deal with be e mail and USPS mail.

15- I AM DONE WITH DOVE REMODELING !!!!!!!!!






Desired Settlement
I want Dove Remodeling to remeburse me for getting the spouts fixed by someone I want to use. Pay me for the front door handle #129.00 the thermastat was installed incorrectly and ran for 1 1/12 blowing cold air continually, I had to pay $385.00 to get it fixed. And I want them to pay $422.00 hotel bill. Pay for someone to come out and due the final paint touch up. Spouts and touch up paint were on the PUNCH LIST.

08/08/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I have 2 properties managed by a property manager that needed minor work last summer (July 2013). Unresolved problems occurred at both.

The second complaint involves my personal house. I needed my old back door replaced with a new door and some plastering of my kitchen ceiling. My concern is with the door. The new door was custom made by myself - a space was cut and a window inserted and a dog door space was cut but the door not inserted. I was given an estimate (5-24-2013) which I approved. When the workers came (7-25-2013), the previous door was removed and the new door placed. I was in the next room about 30 ft. away. While installing the new door I was told that they wouldn't be able to get the door in perfectly and there would still be small gaps from the frame. I expected that and it was not a problem. After the door was hung they offered to put in the dog door, install the latch for the window (unfortunately it was put on backwards), and install the door knob and dead bolt without extra charges, which was much appreciated.
When they finished the job, I looked at the inside of the door and everything looked good. I signed the form and the workers left. However, later that day I saw the outside of the door. There was a hammer hole in the upper right corner. Despite being in the next room, no one told me or showed me what happened. I emailed the company and was told I would have to pay to have it fixed. I refused to pay for the repair. I was told that someone would stop by to look at and 'fix' the hole. The same men came back (7-30-2013) and put wood putty in the hole. They told me to wait a couple of days and then I would have to prime and paint the door myself. Since wood putty usually needs to be sanded I asked them when they would come back to sand it and make sure it dried flush with the door. I was told they didn't need to do that. At no time was there ever an apology from the workers or company. After the wood putty was allowed to dry it contracted leaving an indentation. The surface is rough and needs to be sanded. I tried to contact the company by phone (twice) but my calls were not returned. Over the past 6-8 months I tried email contact (3-4 times). I was actually told that fixing the damage they caused to my door was a 'favor' done by their company. I am requesting that the door be replaced (I will purchase the door) with all the customization as well as painting. Or, repair the damage created by their workers so that no one can tell there was any damage in addition to returning the money spent on the door ($289).

Desired Settlement
I am requesting appropriate repair or replacement of the door of my personal home.

08/08/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Final work done was much less than original estimate. Full amount was paid despite and agreement to charge less. Asking for refund with no success.
I have 2 properties managed by a property manager that needed minor work last summer (July 2013). Unresolved problems occurred at both. For my rental property, there was water damage to the ceiling of a hallway. The estimate from Dove (6-4-2013) included replacing some of the ceiling and repainting for $800. When the workers arrived, they decided that they only needed to do a patch. My property manager spoke to the company about the difference between the estimate and actual price due to much less work being done. They agreed that the $250 deposit given to them by my property manager was sufficient. However, my property manager had not informed me of this right away. I contacted Dove to discuss problems with my personal property and at that time was told I owed $550 on my rental property. I paid with a credit card and only found out later that the actual price was only $250. I have been asking for a refund but have been unsuccessful. For this complaint I am requesting a refund of $550.

Desired Settlement
I am requesting a refund for the ceiling repair at my rental property.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Home Improvements, Pressure Washing, Windows, Vinyl Repair, Doors, Hardwood Floor Contractors, Handyman Services, Bathroom Remodeling, Tile - Ceramic - Contractors & Dealers, Siding Contractors, Roofing Contractors, Deck Builder, Painting Contractors, Gutters & Downspouts, Carpet Installation, Drywall Contractors, Concrete Contractors, Caulking Contractors, Kitchen Remodeling

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.