BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

American Vet Heating & Cooling, LLC.

Phone: (877) 717-4822 (Disconnected)Fax: (410) 943-4059View Additional Phone Numbers6302 Arrowhead Dr, HurlockMD 21643-3212 Send email to American Vet Heating & Cooling, LLC.http://www.americanvethvac.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

American Vet Heating & Cooling, LLC. is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered American Vet Heating & Cooling, LLC.'s rating include:

  • Failure to respond to one complaint filed against business.

Factors that raised American Vet Heating & Cooling, LLC.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on American Vet Heating & Cooling, LLC.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)
05/05/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We had this heating equipment put in and have had problems with the heat. It hasn't been heating since Feburary.
The central air hasn't been working since a Feburary 25, 2014. American Vet came to fix it Feb. 27, 2014. *** came out and said there was a part that needed to be ordered and we had not heard from him since. We have been calling American Vet of Hurlock, MD for 3 weeks however we had not recieved an answer or call back until yesterday March 30, 2014. *** claimed that he had been in the hospital. We have a York central air unit model # ************ and Serial #**********. This air unit is still not fixed. After calling American Vet several times they have not come back. We had purchased this unit on August 20,2011 and we paid $6,150.00 for it.

Desired Settlement
We would like American Vet to pay for the cost of getting the heat repaired by another HVAC company of our choice

Business Response
Mr. ****** ********* contacted American Vet Heating and Cooling, LLC.
to diagnose a heating problem on a system that we had installed over three
years ago. Since the original installation the system has never been cleaned or serviced, which actually voids any manufacturer warranty. Our labor warranty
was for a two year period, although we were well beyond the labor warranty
period we arrived to check over the system and only charged our typical
diagnoses fee - no labor charges at this point. After a second visit it was
discovered that a part had failed on the outdoor unit. Due to some health issues
shortly after the discovery we were breifly unavailable at which point I informed the customer that any **** authorized dealer could perform the
repair, they declined and wanted to wait for me. Once we had the chance to do
the repair, we scheduled it for March 26th, 2014 and the customer asked me to
wait until the following week to do the repair on a Monday. March 31, 2014 it was a rainy day which delayed the repair until the next day, April 1, 2014. There
were many txt messages sent and received from myself to the customer and from myself to his wife throughout the entire "downtime", as well as phone
calls, so the claim of no contact is not true by any means, contact was
maintained. We also performed the repair at a fraction of the normal price for this repair to attempt customer satisfaction. This repair took place after the
customer filed the complaint to the BBB, but we did our repair without
knowledge of the complaint as the customer or the BBB never notified us of the
complaint until almost a week after the repair was finished.

Consumer Response
The first time we called american vet it wasn't quite a year, we had some of the duct work that came unattached from the vent. The other guy that worked with him came to fix it. At that time we ask them to schedule the check up and he said we didn't need to schedule it because he was here now. So we thought he knew what he was talking about. We started having problems with the system doing that winter so we called him we couldn't get a answer. We called the 800 number . we called back to back times until we got an answer. The lady that answered said she would give the message and days went by before we heard anything. When he finally called he gave a day he could come. When he did get hear he looked at the system and said he had to adjust the computer in system because the electric going off with the wind and snow it had to be reset. we paid 89 dollars for that visit, we told him what his partner said about we didn't need a check up and he said he believed us because he was cheating him out of his money that he was getting from their visit they were doing at the customers homes, so he had to fire him.The next time we called him it took two weeks before we could get him and we called his cell that he gave us and the 800 number. When he came he went under the house and it still didn't work that night after he left.We ask that time how much was it he said nothing.So we had to call again and this time he went in the box outside and found what was wrong. He told us he had to order the part and it would take a few days.We called him after a week and then the second week came ,we called both numbers no answer the third week came we called the **** dealer,and the local dealer, both people told us it didn't take that long to get that part. So the local dealer said he knew him and he would call him. He called us back and said he didn't get anyone but he left a message. After that he called and said he had been sick and he would be back to work that following week. That week we waited and we called next week and got a lady on the 800 number she said he was waiting for the part and she would call me back that afternoon to let me if the part was back I never heard from her.The following week the local dealer called and said the part was back and they wanted to make sure it was for us. That week he came and fixed it and said the part was put together in the factory with the coils touching. He charged us Three hundred dollars. He agreed for us to pay him in two parts and that's what we did.We really went along with him and waited along time two months and a half. We had to use our baseboard heat and we'll glad we had that but the electric bill 100 dollars more the first month using it and the second month it was 191 dollars extra. We really think we should be compensated for all we have been though.American Vet really need better communication with their customers we called so many times and never got an answer. This happen weeks at time and no one would return call that's not good business .we paid six thousand dollars for this system .We can't throw money away like that .

03/31/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The company did not install a filter they said they would and which I paid for.
American Vet performed a servicing of my HVAC system in July of 2013. I paid $200 at the time of the visit. This servicing included a filter replacement, which was not done that day. The technician said that he would be back to install it. He never returned despite my calling the office twice. I did not receive a return call to either of these messages. I would like a partial refund so that someone reputable can install this filter.

Desired Settlement
I would like the filter installed on my HVAC system.

Business Response
The Customer was contacted the exact day that we were notified of the complaint by phone call. The Customer did not answer the phone, and a message was left. We received an email from the Customer very late on 3-21-2014. We emailed the Customer back on 3-22-2014 and we have not received a response as of this day, 3-27-2014. If you would like a copy of the email that we received from the Customer and also the email that was sent by the Company, please let me know. Thank you.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I was never contacted by telephone after the service visit after I left two messages between July 29 and the time I filed the complaint. The call that I got from the contractor only came after I filed the complaint. Part of the comment in the message was that he would "contact his legal department". At this point, I do not wish to have any more contact with this contractor.

09/26/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
*** *****/American Vet was selected to handle our project to install new equipment ******** 2 hvac systems w/Ductwork) but abandoned the project.
***** (***) *****, owner of American Vet Heating and Cooling, LLC. started our project (to remove old boiler, install new ****** and 2 separate (upper and lower house) HVAC systems to include duct work) with an estimated completion timeline of 4 weeks at contract acceptance and 1st deposit payment on May 31, 2014. After a little over 4 weeks into the project, the contracted agreed estimated time, he only had the ****** partially installed but working, 1 indoor air handler in place and not working. After another 2 weeks, he had the lower HVAC unit electric wire ran but not tied into the electric panel, and 6 of the 8 holes cut in our floors for the lower hvac unit. *** said he would be out to perform work many times without showing and then would vanish and not return calls or texts in some cases a week at a time. *** always came up with an reason why he did not show but he surely was eager to get his deposit. We asked him to deliver our purchase equipment after 4 weeks past when the 2nd deposit was paid (July 2) only to be told he had to contact his attorney and no equipment was ever delivered. We feel he has abandoned the project after only a small fraction of the completion and we have lost the $15,521.25 we paid him. Buyer beware if you choose this company to do any work. *** ***** promises the world but delivers very little. He will also say he wants to work out mutual agreement but when it comes down to it, he does not call you back. We are forced to take other action since our boiler was disconnected and will need heat before winter.

Desired Settlement
We have asked for our equipment with no success and now we have looked up court records, it is very unlikely he will be able to provide our equipment or a refund. He was supposed to call us back to discuss on August 15 but as was typical, he vanished. We are filing a complaint with the Maryland Home Imporovment Commission.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Heating & Air Conditioning, Stoves - Wood, Coal, Furnace Cleaning, Geothermal Heating & Cooling, Heat Pumps, Water Heaters - Repairing, Boilers - Repair & Cleaning, Air Conditioning Repair, Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems, Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair, Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential

Additional Information

top

If a business refers you to another company or uses sub-contractors, BBB recommends that you research that company including reviewing their BBB business review.

BBB file opened: 07/14/2010Business started: 07/13/2009
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Dept. of Labor, Licensing & Regulation (dllr)
500 N Calvert St Ste 401
Baltimore, MD 21202
(410) 230-6001
http://www.dllr.state.md.us/license/

BBB records show a license number of 58535 for this company, issued by Dept. of Labor, Licensing & Regulation (dllr). Their web address is http://www.dllr.state.md.us/license/. This license is in the name of James Crist .

Type: HVACR

Check License Status: https://www.dllr.state.md.us/cgi-bin/ElectronicLicensing/OP search/OP search.cgi?calling app=HVAC::HVAC_qselect?

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

BBB records show a license number of 95945 for this company, issued by Dept. of Labor, Licensing & Regulation (dllr). Their web address is http://www.dllr.state.md.us/license/. This license is in the name of James Crist .

Type: Maryland Home Improvement Commission

Check License Status: http://www.dllr.state.md.us/license/mhic/?

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

BBB records show a license number of 74165 for this company, issued by Dept. of Labor, Licensing & Regulation (dllr). Their web address is http://www.dllr.state.md.us/license/. This license is in the name of James Crist.

Type: Propane Gas Fitter Certificate

Check License Status: https://www.dllr.state.md.us/cgi-bin/ElectronicLicensing/OP search/OP search.cgi?calling app=PLM::PLM_qselect74165

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Joy Crist (Owner)Mr. Jim Crist (Owner)
Number of Employees

4

Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning, Stoves - Wood, Coal, Furnace Cleaning, Geothermal Heating & Cooling, Heat Pumps, Water Heaters - Repairing, Boilers - Repair & Cleaning, Air Conditioning Repair, Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems, Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair, Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential

Products & Services

This company offers HVAC services including repair, service and maintenance.

Service Area

Maryland's Eastern Shore and the entire Delmarva area

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for American Vet Heating & Cooling, LLC.

6302 Arrowhead Dr

Hurlock, MD 21643-3212

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 6302 Arrowhead Dr 

    Hurlock, MD 21643-3212(877) 717-4822
    Fax: (410) 943-4059

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Greater Maryland. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*American Vet Heating & Cooling, LLC. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (410) 943-4049 (Disconnected)
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on December 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Heating & Air Conditioning

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.