BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 07/19/2005

A.M. Gable Heating & Cooling, L.L.C.

Phone: (410) 360-0991Fax: (410) 360-5443104 Dale Rd, PasadenaMD 21122-2879 Send email to A.M. Gable Heating & Cooling, L.L.C.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 07/19/2005

BBB has determined that A.M. Gable Heating & Cooling, L.L.C. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised A.M. Gable Heating & Cooling, L.L.C.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on A.M. Gable Heating & Cooling, L.L.C.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
06/25/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
called to have HVAC unit fixed but they took more than 5 trips out to fix and then charged me for service charges for coming out multiple times.
I called them to fix our HVAC unit and they supposedly fixed something and charged me over $500 but the same problem occured and they came out and checked something out but still didn't fix the problem. This cycle occurred several more times and I was charged for service charges for them having to return to fix something they never fixed in the first place.

Desired Settlement
I would like to pay for the work they did but not the multiple charges on the service charges since they were the one who had to return due to their negligence in fixing the issue when they were here. I should only be charged 1 service call charge, which I already paid, and now they are charging me again and I would like to pay the final invoice minus the service fee.

Business Response
BBB Case #XXXXXXXX

In response to Mr. ****'s complaint please note the following:

Mr. **** and I had met at his place of business when I had taken a class with my daughter. He asked if I would forward a maintenance agreement to him which I had. Mr. **** emailed me (3/7/13) asking if I would be interested in bartering the services. I explained to him that we do not participate in those practices and would require payment. He asked if he could be billed in the spring and fall, and this was extended to him. The maintenance agreement (dated 3/1/13) was signed and forward via email with no payment being made.

When spring had approached, Mr. **** was forwarded multiple reminders, but neglected to schedule the maintenance. (It is not uncommon for commercial leases to require a tenant to have a maintenance agreement. I have had a number of renters sign agreements submitting them to the leasing agent, but never pay or have the work performed by us.) I did not hear from Mr. **** until October of 2013, eight months later. He was calling to schedule a fall maintenance.

We went out for the first time on October 17, 2013. The unit was installed in October of 1993. The system is old and in very poor condition. There were no filters in the unit. The maintenance was performed by us on this day. At this time Mr. **** was charged 1/2 of the service agreement $127.50 and $21.75 for filters. This amount was paid in full. The technician explained to Mr. **** the age of the system and that it was evident a number of technicians/companies had worked on this unit, and there were multiple issues.

In the past, universal parts were used for replacement by previous companies and not OEM parts (Original Equipment Manufactured). We have used only OEM parts with each of our replacements.

On November 13, 2013 Mr. **** was having heating issues and requested a service call. There was a defective gas valve. ****** ***** (our shop supervisor) diagnosed the issue on 11/14/13 and returned to replace the authorized part on 11/20/13 (email with authorization and price breakdown on file dated 11/18/2013.) Mr. **** paid one hour for the initial call $120.00, $244.33 for the valve, and $120.00 for the labor to install the part. This amount was paid in full (10% discount for the maintenance agreement was applied).

On November 26, 2013 Mr. **** was having heating issues again. Mr. ***** went out. The wiring in the unit was in disarray from the many different hands which had touched the unit through the years. The problem was intermittent. Mr. ***** rewired the unit and cleaned up as much as possible. Mr. **** was not billed for this call.

Mr. **** emailed me on 12/4/2013 to say there were still issues. A limit switch was ordered and authorized via email by Mr. **** (email on file). The part was changed on 12/6/13. Mr. **** has not paid this invoice.

On 1/23/2014 Mr. **** emailed stating he was having problems with the unit (intermittent problems), and he had left a message the week prior. I apologized for the delay in responding and explained my father-in-law was hospitalized and passed ***** We were out that afternoon. (Email on file) We went out again on 1/24/14. None of these calls were billed.

With the issues being intermittent, it was decided to replace the ignition module. On, January 29 we changed the module $196.52 and charged for one hour of labor $120.00. The amount was not paid.

Mr. **** emailed again on 1/30/2014 with issues. Again, we went out, cleaned the flame sensor and burners, and the unit fired off. Mr. **** was not charged for this.

It is not uncommon with a unit of this age, having countless technicians/companies working on it, and basic wear of 20 years to have an intermittent issue. Mr. **** was explained the condition of the equipment at the onset of the service. The owner, **** *****, called Mr. **** to discuss the findings. Mr. **** does not feel he should have to pay for the part replacement.

When we come across units in this condition, we do our best to work in the interest of the customer. Mr. **** was only billed for the part replacements and one initial diagnostic. All other calls were not billed. I feel that we did our best to work with Mr. ****.

The following is a breakdown of billing:

10/17/2013 Initial maintenance call
$127.50 (1/2 of maintenance agreement)
$21.75 (material - filters)
PAID IN FULL

11/14/2013 Diagnosis of bad gas valve
$120.00 service call
PAID IN FULL

11/20/2013 Return to replace part authorized by customer
$120.00 one hour labor
$244.33 gas valve
PAID IN FULL

11/26/2013 Rewired unit
No charge

12/6/2013 Replaced limit switch
$120.00 one hour labor
$17.00 limit switch
BALANCE DUE

1/23/2014 Service call
No Charge

1/24/2014 Service call
No Charge

1/29/2014 Replace Ignition Module
$120.00 one hour labor
$196.52 Ignition Module
Balance Due

1/30/2014 Cleaned burners and flame sensor
No Charge

**Please note all prices billed to Mr. **** were discounted in conjunction with his maintenance agreement. All supporting documentation is available upon request (Emails, invoices, service tickets). (I have attached a few supportive documents, the remainder can be provided.)

To date, Mr. **** owes a balance of $440.02.

If I may provide additional information, please do not hesitate to call upon me.

Warm Regards,


***** *****
A M Gable Heating and Cooling
*** **** ****
********* ******** XXXXX
XXX-XXX-XXXX
Email: *********@aol.com


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
As you can see in their own words and responses that it took them 8 separate visits to fix the same problem that they were initially called for before it was resolved yet they are charging me 3 separate hours of labor when all of it should have been done all at once as well as another service charge to tell me that something was wrong yet never fixing the problem. As you can also see from their response, they are admitting that they never fixed the original issue at hand yet still charges me for labor, service calls, and parts. All these parts that were changed never fixed the issue since their initial call on 11/14/13 until they finally changed the ignition module on 1/29/14. Again the final issue at hand is that all their other charges prior to 1/29/14, when the ignition module was changed, DID NOT FIX THE PROBLEM. I feel that A.M. Gable Heating & Cooling charged me for unnecessary repairs while repeatedly charging me for fixes that DID NOT fix the problem as every one can see in their own response from ***** ***** of A.M. Gable Heating & Cooling. I'm satisfied that their companies response will be available for view online by all future customers so that they can see that A.M. Gable does not do a satisfactory job of fixing heating and cooling issues by their own companies admission with the outlining of their 8 visits to fix 1 issue. I am told by my legal counsel that I should pay the cost of the ignition module which is part of the remaining balance but should not pay for the other labor charges or service charges since they are excessive charges which were not necessary but rather a direct result of their technicians inability or inexperience to fix a problem in the first place as their own representative, ***** *****, has admitted to in their response above.



Final Business Response
Once again, this was an intermittent problem. It is not unusual for multiple calls for this situation. Again, taking into consideration this is a 20 year old system with multiple individuals working on it through the years this is not an uncommon occurence. In these situations, we do not charge the customer for each visit to work in their best interest. The charges were only applied for the parts and labor to change the parts. Also, our supervisor was the technician on the job due to the issues and age of the system. There were wiring issues from previous work, universal parts installed, etc... Mr. **** was told of the issues in the very beginning, and the owner followed up with a call to also address this matter. Not charging for the multiple calls was working in the interest of the customer. This was in no way an admission of negligence. We have had a number of similar circumstances with aging systems and intermittent issues, the customers are highly receptive to us working with them to remedy the problem (they understand the problems associated with old equipment). For someone who is not in the trade it would be similar to owning a very old vehicle. You can expect issues due to age, and it will take longer to diagnose the problem as you can have multiple issues creeping up. The bottom line is the unit is being nursed through and passed it's life expectancy.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
They are not proposing a resolution but rather just stating that they are still charging me for the excessive service charges even though it did not fix the issue they were originally called out for.

I would like to take this to arbitration if they are continuing to require payment for excessive service charges.

Thank you for your help.

*****.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Heating & Air Conditioning, Air Quality Service, Thermostats, Generators - Maintenance, Generators, Radiant Heating, Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial, Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential, Geothermal Heating & Cooling, Water Heaters - Repairing, Heat Pumps, Boilers - Repair & Cleaning, Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems

Additional Information

top

If a business refers you to another company or uses sub-contractors, BBB recommends that you research that company including reviewing their BBB business review.

BBB file opened: 07/20/2005Business started: 01/01/1980
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Dept. of Labor, Licensing & Regulation (dllr)
500 N Calvert St Ste 401
Baltimore, MD 21202
(410) 230-6001
http://www.dllr.state.md.us/license/

BBB records show a license number of 2561 for this company, issued by Dept. of Labor, Licensing & Regulation (dllr). Their web address is http://www.dllr.state.md.us/license/. The expiration date of this license is 07/11/2017. This license is in the name of Alan M. Gable.

Type: HVACR

Check License Status: https://www.dllr.state.md.us/cgi-bin/ElectronicLicensing/OP search/OP search.cgi?calling app=HVAC::HVAC_qselect?

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

BBB records show a license number of 65122 for this company, issued by Dept. of Labor, Licensing & Regulation (dllr). Their web address is http://www.dllr.state.md.us/license/. The expiration date of this license is 10/29/2017. This license is in the name of Alan M. Gable.

Type: Licensed Plumber

Check License Status: https://www.dllr.state.md.us/cgi-bin/ElectronicLicensing/OP search/OP search.cgi?calling app=PLM::PLM_qselect

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Alan Gable (Owner)Mrs. Karin Gable (Co-Owner)
Number of Employees

6

Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning, Air Quality Service, Thermostats, Generators - Maintenance, Generators, Radiant Heating, Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial, Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential, Geothermal Heating & Cooling, Water Heaters - Repairing, Heat Pumps, Boilers - Repair & Cleaning, Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems

Products & Services

This company offers residential and commercial heating & cooling system service and installation.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for A.M. Gable Heating & Cooling, L.L.C.

104 Dale Rd

Pasadena, MD 21122-2879

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 104 Dale Rd 

    Pasadena, MD 21122-2879(410) 360-0991
    Fax: (410) 360-5443

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Greater Maryland. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*A.M. Gable Heating & Cooling, L.L.C. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on December 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Heating & Air Conditioning

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.