BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Curves Severna Park

Find a Location

Phone: (410) 544-4100Fax: (410) 544-8350View Additional Phone Numbers474 Governor Ritchie Hwy Ste C, Severna ParkMD 21146-2962

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Curves Severna Park is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Curves Severna Park's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Curves Severna Park

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
09/09/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
This curves franchise deceived me...they convinced me that the curves complete program was all inclusive with a meal plan, a trainer and access to the facility 6 days a week. One month into my membership they changed the opening hours. When they changed to hours I was not able to attend because I was working. After five months of not being able to have the access agreed to in the contract I called the manager ***** and told her I wanted to discontinue membership, she said I needed to bring in a written statement. I took the written statement in on July 26,2013. The payment was due to be manually removed by ***** on July 27,2013. In spite of the letter and the date ***** manually removed 56.00 from my account on July 30, 2013.I called her, she said number one the change in the business hours" was a good business decision" for the establishment and I needed to give them a thirty day written notice regarding discontinuing membership.When I dropped off the letter on the 26th the lady there on that Friday told me "it would be fine because ***** was off for the weekend and she had not removed the money yet" ***** was not apologetic.. she was on the right side of the contract.
Product_Or_Service: membershipma

Desired Settlement
For five months I was a member. I was able to attend three times.***** manual.ly removed a total of 280.00 dollars from my account, all I request back is 56.00

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ******** Manager
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *****************@gmail.com
Ms. ****** entered into a contract with Curves of Severna Park on February 26,2013. She decided to cancel her membership on July 26, 2013. Said cancellation requires a 30 day written notice which Ms. ****** gave to Curves on July 26, 2013. Her account was debited according to the contract. I am sorry for Ms. ******'s misunderstanding of her contract. Curves of Severna Park will not be sending Ms. ****** a refund.

Sincerely,
***** ******** Manager

Industry Comparison| Chart

Health & Fitness Program Consultants, Health & Wellness

Additional Information

top

If a business refers you to another company or uses sub-contractors, BBB recommends that you research that company including reviewing their BBB business review.

BBB file opened: 07/21/2006Business started: 01/01/2002Business started locally: 01/01/2000
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Attorney General's Office
200 St Paul St
Baltimore, MD21202-2004
(410) 576-6300
http://www.oag.state.md.us

BBB records show a license number of Active for this company, issued by Attorney General's Office. Their web address is http://www.oag.state.md.us. This license is in the name of Curves of Severna Park.

Type: Registered Health Club

Check License Status: http://www.oag.state.md.us/Healthclub/consumer.htmActive

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

Type of Entity

Curves Severna Park is a Franchise business of Franchisor Curves International, Inc.

Business Management
Principal: Ms. Anita Patel (Owner)Ms. Kelly Matson (Manager - Ellicott City)
Contact Information
Ms. Katie Huerta (Manager - Severna Park)
Related Businesses
Curves Severna Park is a Franchise business of Franchisor Curves International, Inc..
Number of Employees

10

Business Category

Health & Fitness Program Consultants, Health & Wellness

Products & Services

This company offers a women's only workout facility.

Alternate Business Names
Drane Enterprises, LLC

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Curves Severna Park

474 Governor Ritchie Hwy Ste C

Severna Park, MD 21146-2962

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 9275 Baltimore National Pike STE 201 

    Ellicott City, MD 21042-3943

  • 474 Governor Ritchie Hwy Ste C 

    Severna Park, MD 21146-2962(410) 544-4100

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Greater Maryland. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Curves Severna Park is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (410) 480-1009
X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on December 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Health & Fitness Program Consultants

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.