BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 12/19/2000

Thompson Gas & Electric (Headquarters)

Find a Location

Phone: (301) 432-6611Fax: (301) 432-7147View Additional Phone Numbers6708 Old National Pike, BoonsboroMD 21713-2721 Send email to Thompson Gas & ElectricView Additional Web Addresses



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 12/19/2000

BBB has determined that Thompson Gas & Electric meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Find a Location

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Thompson Gas & Electric's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 16 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

BBB serving , maintains a report on this company's headquarters location. Please visit for details or call .

16 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues5
Problems with Product / Service10
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 16

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Thompson Gas & Electric

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (16)
01/23/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Double charging for initial fill of propane tank, inaccurate readings and filling tank when not required and without permission.
They claim that we should only pay for what we use but we were required to pay for an initial fill of the tank.... we are the third family to live in this house, why are we paying for an initial fill?
This seems to be a way for them to charge roughly $800 each time the house is sold! (we paid for what the previous owner used).

They also claim that the tank is filled to 80% each time they fill the tank. we have seen it at 70% the same day of the fill.

The fill the tank without permission, when they want without notice.

Desired Settlement
Would like a refund for the initial fill in the amount of $729.00.

10/11/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Thompson Gas removed the gas tank from my property without any previous notification.
In December 2012 I purchased a property located at **** ***** **** *** *********** *** The previous owner had a contract with Thompson Gas and a propane tank was on the property. I called Thompson Gas in *********** to take over the contract and during that call contact numbers and my address has been given to Thompson customer service. No contract has been sent to my home, that is different to the purchased property. Than, without any notification the tank and the gas inside has been removed. The manager from the Sevierville branch stated that someone called ****** sent a contract to an unspecified address.Now they will charge new fees for a tank install and fill up.

Desired Settlement
I request to waive the install fee and be compensated for the propane gas that was in the tank at the time of removal.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ****** Regional VP
Contact Phone: XXX XXX XXXX
Contact Email: *******@thompsongas.com
We spoke with the customer and explained that our computer notes indicate that the local branch mailed the information for sign up in December but it was not returned. Therefore the tank was removed after 5 months. However, when speaking with the customer they stated that they had not received the information. Terefore we offered to reinstall the tank at no charge as a courtesy. The customer agreed to this arrangement and will be scheduling a time for this to be installed in the near future.

10/01/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Too high for a delivery without informing of price prior. Not comparable pricing with competitors.
Delivery Date 9/26/13
acct#.XXX-XXXXX-X
Propane delivery of 110.2 gal at 2.39/gal with delivery chrg. Competitor's price was 1.99/gal with no delivery charge. If the billing is going to be $289.16 for a residential, then either the amount should be disclosed with buyer prior to delivery or have competitive pricing. $54 could have been saved by going with the other company. Who wouldn't do that for the same thing. We've been with this company for atleast 7 years and never had a problem until it was bought out by Thompson Gas. Needless to say, this company has lost our business.

Desired Settlement
Looking to get $44 credit in propane. Not looking for anything big, just resonable. Would be asking for $54, but ******* in the office is going to try and credit the delivery charge of $10.

Business Response
Customer was comparing "special" offers from competitor and not their regular daily pricing. Area Manager contacted the customer and explained the differences. Regardless of this , he agreed to provide the customer a credit in the amount of $53.95 for good customer service and satisfaction. Customer stated they were happy.

09/02/2013Problems with Product / Service
12/04/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchased a home at *** ********** ****** Fleetwood, NC XXXXX. In preparationration of renting it, I phoned Thompson Gas to top off the kerosene heating tank in August.They stated they had done this and sent me a bill for $135.37 dollars which was paid in full. At that time the temperatures were in the high 80s and low 90s.The tenant phoned me in september on move in day and stated the tank was completelyempty. I phoned Thompson Gas to come and fill the tank and they first stated that they were too busy. I told them this was unacceptable and that the tank was supposed to be full. They then agreed to come and fill the tank to the top which cost $763.67.I do not believe that the tank was topped ofF in August.THEN TO MAKE MATTERS WORSE, THE LINE TO THE TANK BECAME PLUGGED BECAUSE THE TANK WAS DRY.SO, I HAD TO PAY ***** ******** $135.00 DOLLARS TO UNPLUG IT.

Desired Settlement
REMOVE 135.37 DOLLARS FROM THE BILL BECAUSE A DELIVERY WAS NEVER MADE.... AND THENREMOVE 135.00 DOLLARS FROM THE BILL FOR ***** ******** COMING OUT AND UNPLUGGING THE FUELLINE,I HAVE MADE NO LESS THAN 4 PHONE CALLS AND HAVE SENT EMAILS AND NOBODY IS CALLING ME BACK TO RESOLVE THIS ISSUE. $763.67 -270.37 493.37 is the balance that I really owe and will pay

Business Response
Dear Ms. ******,

We reviewed this carefully with all the employees involved to determine the reason for the issue. The driver who delivered product to the rental home on 8/17/2015 was very clear about the location of the home and the delivery. It is in a difficult location to access, and he fully recalled the delivery and the circumstance of it. The details of the delivery ticket also support that he made a delivery of 43 gallons. Another driver made a 2nd delivery on 10/16/2015 of 256.5 gallons, into a 300 gallon underground tank. This driver filled the tank to maximum capacity. At that time there was 10" of oil remaining in the tank, or approximately 43 gallons. This is the same amount as the original delivery of 43 gallons, which had not been used since the initial delivery on 8/17/15. After receiving your information on this site, the local manager and the local driver went to the home and discussed the issue with the tenant. He informed them that the service repair man had cleaned the oil furnace and placed it back in operation. He assured them that the tank was not out of oil, and the reason the furnace would not operate was due to an extremely dirty combustion chamber and a plugged burner. This is typical of an oil furnace which is not cleaned yearly, or has not had a proper air setting, leading to incomplete combustion in the chamber. Oil lines however, are copper, and do not corrode or plug due to the tank being empty. We are 100% certain that a delivery of 43 gallons did occur on 8/17/15, and that the tank was not out of product on 10/16/15 when the second delivery was made. We are also 100% certain that the repair issue with the furnace were not caused by either delivery, or by being out of oil. However, the driver did not fully fill the tank on 8/17/15 because mistook it seemed full at 43 gallons, when in fact it was not full. Due to this issue, we are going to fully credit your account for the 43 gallons delivered on 8/17/15, and also credit your account for 1/2 the cost of the furnace cleaning. The local manager ***** ******* has been in touch to take care of this issue. Your new balance will be sent to you via the regular statement. Thank you for your business and we regret the inconvenience caused by the short fill delivery in August. Best Regards, ***** ******* Regional Vice President.

11/23/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I pre paid for 175gl of propane company went over required amount and charge me a remanding balance for their mistake and threat me with a late fee.
Thompson gas Newnan Ga. Location over filled my propane tank past the required amount I pre paid for. I was not present at my place of resident when delivery guy came to deliver. I call to speak with the Manager ********* he suggested two options. 1) come pump it back out or 2)set up an payment plan with an addition late fee if not paid by certain day. I explained to manager that the employee their company sent out had a work order for 175gal. I left a check for 175gal inside an envelop that had 175gal of propane written on the front of envelop. I have a 200gal tank so how is it possible he went over the amount by 30gal and I was left with an invoice saying I owe a remaining balance. I feel like they are running a scam and if the employee read the work order and took the check I left then he had had to know he went over the required amount so why didn't he pump it back out then instead of writing a invoice saying I owe additional money?

Desired Settlement
An adjustment to my account

Business Response

Mr. *********,
Thank you for your business with ThompsonGas. We apologize for the oversight in delivering more gas than requested. The driver delivered 205 gallons to the tank, rather than the ordered amount of 175 gallons. The local manager has discussed with you and offered to either pump out the additional gallons, or to set up the remaining balance of $51.33 on equal payments for three months. You had agreed to pay for the additional gas, since it was discounted and would save you money by purchasing it at a lower rate. We offered this because it was over the amount ordered. However, after review we will offer to pump out the additional gas, so you will not have to pay for it. The local manager will contact you today to notify you of the time in which the driver will arrive to remove the additional 30 gallons. We will continue to offer the lower rate which you were quoted at the time. Thank you again for your business with ThompsonGas, and have a great day.

08/03/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I contacted Thompson Gas on 6/8/2015 to let them know that we would be moving & not in need of there services after 6/19/2015 & inquired about refund
I contacted Thompson Gas on 6/8/2015 letting them know that I would no longer be in need of their services on 6/19/2015. I was told at that time should there be a refund that I would be issued a check that I would probably received w/in 2-3 weeks. I contacted their Nashville, NC office only to find out that the work order had not been completed until 6/24/2015 as well as I had been charged $95 for a labor charge that I was unaware of when they went to take to lock the tank. I questioned the young lady at the office and she stated that this is what is charged. I was going to receive a $159.00 credit however with the $95 charge taken out I would only receive a check for $58(and some change). I called back and spoke with Amy the lady that handled my initial call and was told she has to charge what her corporate office told her to charge and gave me her supervisors phone number her name was Jennifer. When I called and spoke with Jennifer I was assured that the $95 would be credited to my account and that she would make double sure that the refund information was in the mail no later than June 30, 2015. As of last week I still have not received any refund back it is now going on 8 weeks. I contacted the Nashville, NC office last week and was told by Amy that the credit that was promised to me June 24th had just been approved and my check was probably floating around at corporate somewhere. This is a horrible way to do business 1. Thompson Gas had no problem cutting gas off if payment was not made to them. 2. I told them I would no longer be in need of their services after 6/19 it took another week for there staff to cut the gas off at the prior address. 3. It has taken as of today 6 weeks and still no refund check. When is or is it coming.

Desired Settlement
My money or refund overnighted or made available to me as quickly as possible

Business Response
Refund check has been processed and will be mailed out on July, 22, 2015.

07/06/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Have been billed for a leak in the tank that they first denied, then accepted responsibility for, then in turn put it back on our bill.
Had called the company because we were on a monthly payment plan and the amount of gallons being deposited all of a sudden where astronomical and hence our bill went up. I asked if we could get checked for leaks and I was assured that the equipment gets checked every time a service guy comes out to fill it up. We ran completely out of gas and a service tech came out. He checked the valve and we had a gas leak at the valve and it was leaking into the ground around our house and in our basement. There were dead spots in our yard that he said was from the gas deposits. I told him what Thompsons said about it being tested and he said that is 100% wrong. They are not tested for leaks everytime. He assumed I had been leaking for weeks and wouldn't have known it till it ran out or we lit a match. HE gets a hold on the company and explains his findings. The head guy there said he would take care of it and we would continue on our monthly plan. There were credits shown on our account for the gas leak and delivery charges. A few months later the bill changed and the amounts resurfaced. We called and were told everything was fine and that we didn't owe that money and to keep paying our monthly budget amount. We sold our house and I called to cancel service and to go on will call until settlement. She asked me how I was going to pay our balance, I recapped the story, she looked in the notes and said, I see where you were credited....have a nice day. Well we are still getting bills and depending on who you talk to there, we still are showing having to pay this money from the leak itself.

Desired Settlement
The bill cleared

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: Andy ****, RVP
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *****@thompsongas.com
We are not able to locate this account in our system and the email we sent to her came back undeliverable. Please provide better contact info. Thanks!

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
***** ******** *******
OLD ADDRESS-** ***** *** ********* ** XXXXX
******@yahoo.com or **************@*******.gov

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I have not received any phone calls or messages I have not responded to. I have not received an email since May 18th from Barry ******. I returned a call on the 19th after he called me and left a message and the gentleman up who answered the phone said they do not work in the same building and put me through to his voice mail which I left a message with no response. Both emails he sent me on May 18th were responded to immediately by me along with the phone call.

Final Business Response
Apparently our Manager and ***** cannot hook up. Please have her call me directly if she is still not satisfied. XXX-XXX-XXXX

05/18/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I have called several people several times, as well as emailed people several times with questions regarding the large increase in billing.
I have received two letters in the last couple months regarding the budget plan I have with Thompson Gas. I have had an account with them for almost 3 years with no increases in my monthly payment except for the last few months. My payment has increased from 110 a month to 300, despite the fact that I have not changed the temperature in my house or have not varied my usage since I first opened an account with them. I emailed the manager of the company, who responded to my email once. After I began asking questions about how they bill my meter, my emails suddenly ceased receiving responses. I then proceeded to call this same individual, and received no phone calls back. I attempted to contact their customer service center with the same billing questions. The first representative was extremely rude, and refused to answer my questions. I then called back and spoke with another representative who said they would have someone come and replace/maintain my meter and contact me about their findings. No one ever showed up to check the meter, and I have not received any contact regarding it being checked. I then contacted the supervisor of customer service, who once again failed to answer my questions. Upon this continuation of failure to address my account issues, I requested to speak to this individual's supervisor, who I left a voice message with regarding my concerns. I received no phone call back from this individual ****** ******) who I have left several messages with. I have called several people within this company with no assistance or response. I have spoken with ****** ****** who neglected to respond to numerous emails (which I have on file if needed), I left several voice messages with ***** ****** (who never returned my calls), and requested help from two customer service representatives (who were rude and failed to address my concerns and answer questions I had about my meter, as well as failed to have my meter replaced or maintained). I am forced into continuing my account with this company due to the contract my HOA has with their business with supplying propane through a central tank to the houses in my neighborhood. I have given the individuals in this company ample opportunities to simply answer my questions and address my concerns with the amount of money/propane usage I am being charged, as well as discrepancies on a month to month basis with significant fluctuations in the amount of propane I use month to month. At this point, I feel this is my next step in getting my concerns addressed.

Desired Settlement
Foremost, I want someone to address my billing/propane usage concerns and physically come and check my meter. There are numerous discrepancies in my account on a month to month basis, and the amount of propane I am being charged is preposterous to the amount of square footage in my home. Secondly, I am tired of dealing with this company's poor customer service tactics and failure to represent the mission statements their website/company claims with regards to customer service. I want this company to review all the propane usage I have been charged and refund me the large amounts of money they have been charging me with regards to heating my home. I would also like the opportunity to work with a different propane company if possible and negotiable through my HOA. If not, then Thompson Gas can pay in full to convert my home from gas heat to electric heat so that I no longer need to maintain services with them.

Business Response

We spoke to the customer. Her main issue was the budget payment being raised from $120 to $175 to $300. We agreed to move it back to $175 for now since she won't be using any gas through the summer. She does understand that we may need to adjust it upward this fall/winter to get her caught up. She only ask that we call her to discuss any adjustments. We put notes on her account not to adjust her budget amount without speaking to her first.

We also scheduled to have her meter changed out on May 21st 1st AM. She if off work that day.

She was happy with the resolution.



Page 1 of 3

Industry Comparison| Chart

Gas - Propane, Air Conditioning Repair, Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential, Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial, Humidifying Apparatus, Furnace Sales & Service, Heat Pumps, Heating & Air Conditioning, Fuel - Gasoline, Water Heaters - Dealers, Water Heater - Tankless, Fireplace Equipment - Retail, Propane Gas Plumbing, Electric Equipment - Service & Repair, Gas - Propane - Equipment & Supplies

Additional Information

top

If a business refers you to another company or uses sub-contractors, BBB recommends that you research that company including reviewing their BBB business review.

BBB file opened: 09/18/2000Business started: 01/01/1946
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Dept. of Labor, Licensing & Regulation (dllr)
500 N Calvert St Ste 401
Baltimore, MD 21202
(410) 230-6001
http://www.dllr.state.md.us/license/

BBB records show a license number of 60003 for this company, issued by Dept. of Labor, Licensing & Regulation (dllr). Their web address is http://www.dllr.state.md.us/license/. This license is in the name of J. Randall Thompson.

Type: Propane Gas Fitter Certificate

Check License Status: https://www.dllr.state.md.us/cgi-bin/ElectronicLicensing/OP search/OP search.cgi?calling app=PLM::PLM_qselect60003

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

BBB records show a license number of 2291 for this company, issued by Dept. of Labor, Licensing & Regulation (dllr). Their web address is http://www.dllr.state.md.us/license/. The expiration date of this license is 01/28/2017. This license is in the name of J Randall Thompson.

Type: HVACR

Check License Status: https://www.dllr.state.md.us/cgi-bin/ElectronicLicensing/OP search/OP search.cgi?calling app=HVAC::HVAC_qselect?

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: December 1969, MD

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Randy Thompson (Owner)Ms. Shelley Christiansen (Customer Care Advocate)
Number of Employees

50

Business Category

Gas - Propane, Air Conditioning Repair, Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential, Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial, Humidifying Apparatus, Furnace Sales & Service, Heat Pumps, Heating & Air Conditioning, Fuel - Gasoline, Water Heaters - Dealers, Water Heater - Tankless, Fireplace Equipment - Retail, Propane Gas Plumbing, Electric Equipment - Service & Repair, Gas - Propane - Equipment & Supplies

Products & Services

This company offers residential fireplaces, water heaters and propane grills as well as propane gas for commercial, industrial and agricultural customers serving MD, WV, VA, PA, and the southeastern U.S.

Alternate Business Names
Thompson Gas & Electric Svc, Electric Service, Inc., Thompson Gas, Thompson's Gas and Electric Service, Inc., Thompsongas

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Thompson Gas & Electric

6708 Old National Pike

Boonsboro, MD 21713-2721

To | From

Find a LocationX
Or, display all locations
Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Greater Maryland. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Thompson Gas & Electric is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 353-3188
  • (800) 768-6612
  • (410) 531-7790
  • (301) 293-6110
X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on December 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Gas - Propane

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.