BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Sharp Energy

Find a Location

Phone: (410) 749-4147Fax: (443) 260-15389387 Ocean Gtwy, EastonMD 21601-7053http://www.sharpenergy.comView Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Sharp Energy is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Sharp Energy's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Sharp Energy

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)BBB Closure Definitions
10/31/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My house is being foreclosed on and I called the ********** Location of Sharp Energy to get them to pick up my 330 gallon tank which has about 70%
My house is being foreclosed on and I called the ********** Location of Sharp Energy to get them to pick up my 330 gallon tank which has about 70% and they informed me that I will not get any money that I paid for the gas reimbursed. My gas is paid for and I owe no money to Sharp Gas. I should be reimbursed for the remaining gas in the tank. I was told I get no money and the next person that moves in can reimburse me. The bank is taking over the house and asked that we get it removed so there will be no one else moving into my home that I am being foreclosed on. I have been a Sharp customer for many years.

Desired Settlement
I want the money that I paid for the gas reimbursed for the remaining gas in the tank.

Business Response
I have been forwarding this to the ********** office. I will contact them again. This customer is located out of that District. If you do not hear back from them please let me know.

Thank you,
****


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The ********** Location should have responded before now. There has been plenty of notice given by BBB & myself this is not fair to me to keep monies I have paid out of my pocket for gas that has been paid for. The tank has been removed from the property and no refund has been issued.

Business Response
I have been forwarding this to the Georgetown office. I will contact them again. This customer is located out of that District. If you do not hear back from them please let me know.

Thank you,
****


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The ********** Location should have responded before now. There has been plenty of notice given by BBB & myself this is not fair to me to keep monies I have paid out of my pocket for gas that has been paid for. The tank has been removed from the property and no refund has been issued.


Business Response
Hello Mr ****
I will pass this on to the proper district. This incident was not located in my area of responsibilities.
Thank you
****


Business Response
I'm responding to the Complaint Case# ******** - ******* ******.

Sharp Energy did as Mr. ****** asked them to do on 10/28/2013. The 330 gallon propane tank had 55% of propane in it. The tank was pumped out and was returned back to the Sharp Energy yard.

Mr. ****** was called on 10/30/2013 and was informed that he needed to mail a letter to the office with his new mailing address. Sharp Energy's policy is that we have to have in writing the new address if someone moves.

As of today we have not received that new address from Mr. ******. Mr. ****** has a refund of $179.51 after removing the tank from the property of **** ***** *** ******* ** XXXXX.

If you have any further questions, please contact me.

Thank you,

**** *********
Customer Experience Manager

03/07/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Failure to provide service when requested, then causing an emergency situation, then charging more money to rectify the problem.
Account # XXXXXX

On the morning of February 4th, I woke up to the smell of propane and low temps in the house. I had requested a propane fill on January 6th 2014. During this request, I realized there were other issues causing the problem, not an empty propane tank. I do have phone records of the calls made to them. They were asked to fill the tank and charge my credit card, which I assumed they had done. On the morning of 02/04/1; Realizing that I was running out of propane, I called to see if they had filled the tank as previously requested. I was told no and that they could not get anyone out today to provide service, it would be later in the week before anyone could make it out. After several conversations with "*****", she finally got "****" on the phone who said he could make it out today with a $140 charge to solve my emergency. This is the 2nd time that I've encountered a major heat emergency and Sharp has charged me extra fees to rectify the issues that were caused by their poor communication and service. The office always tells me that I can not use another propane company because I have their tank and that it is against the law. In my contract it states that I can pay rent on the tank and that I only had a one year contract with them, which was in 2010. It seems as though they are trying to make money by whichever means necessary, even @ the expense of their customer's well being and property.

On the first occasion, they came out to the house to cut the propane off without my knowledge. No letter, no phone call on a shut off. I did owe them money on the first fill, but they filled the tank without my request in November. I usually wait until December because of a tight budget. I am a single mother of 2. I called immediately to let them know the situation and asked them not to do that again without a phone call first to fill the tank and that I would pay them as soon as I could. "Sherry" informed me that they could not fill my tank again, which should be around February, until I paid for the first fill. I said ok.

On January 6th when they came to the house without a letter or phone call, or a knock on the door, to say that they were shutting my propane off, it was suppose to be 7 degrees the next day. I called them to pay the bill, thinking I had run out of propane. I was told that I had been shut off and they couldn't make it out to turn it back on for a week. I have five people living in the home with pets. I could have had extensive pipe damage in the home, not to mention my family. I had to argue with them for @ least 30 minutes, before the manager got on the phone to tell me he could make it out to turn it on for an extra charge of $30.00. They are charging me the highest prices possible on the propane and continue to play these "extra charges" games, when I have no other recourse but to pay them. To me, this doesn't seem fair or right, and this should be against the law. Luckily no one or nothing suffered any damage, other than the shear aggrevation of dealing with such an un-proffesional company @ the expense of others in order to make more money.

Desired Settlement
I would like to be refunded for @ least, my $170.oo in extra charges, due to their own lack of communication and poor service. Along with some clear explanation of my rights in using other propane companies. I do not wish to deal with Sharp Energy in the future with the type of service they are providing.

Business Response
2/19/2014

Complaint Case# XXXXXXXX
*******, *****

I have reviewed Ms. ******* account and have spoken to the Easton office regarding her complaint.

Ms. ******* received a delivery on September 25, 2013 of 193.4 gallons. On November 18th there were messages left for Ms. ******* to contact the office because she was past due. The office finally got hold of her on November 25th and she made payment arrangements with them. She advised the office that she would make a payment online the following week of $206.00. The arrangements were to pay $206.00 for the next 3 months and she was advised that the balance must be paid before getting another delivery. On December 13th she was contacted about not making the payment that she had promised. From December 13th to January 5th Ms. ******* made no attempt to pay on her bill or to contact the office. On January 6th our Service Tech went out and disconnected her tank due to no payment. Once the tank was disconnected we received a call later that day and she paid the balance in full with her credit card.

Ms. ******* account is a Will Call Account and she has been advised to monitor her tank. Once the tank reaches 25% she needs to call the office and request for a delivery and she is advised to pay at the time of placing the order.

On February 4th when Ms. ******* ran out of propane, it was because of her not monitoring her tank and calling to request for a delivery. Sharp Energy charges an out of route fee for any Will Call Customer that request a delivery the same day. The fee is $140.00.

Ms. ******* has also informed another propane company that she owed the tank and had them fill Sharp's tank. We contacted the propane company and advised them that it was Sharp Energy's tank. We then reached out to Ms. ******* and gave her an opportunity to purchase the tank.

I feel that Sharp Energy has gone above and beyond providing propane service to Ms. *******. Sharp Energy is not holding Ms. ******* hostage; she is more than welcome to go with another propane company. If she wishes to do so, Sharp will need to be contacted by the propane company that she wishes to have and we will be happy to swap tanks with them.

Sharp Energy does feel that they should give any refund due to the charges that were placed on the account.

If you have any questions regarding this matter, please contact me at *************

Thank you,

**** *********
Customer Experience Manager
Sharp Energy

Industry Comparison| Chart

Gas - Propane

Additional Information

top

If a business refers you to another company or uses sub-contractors, BBB recommends that you research that company including reviewing their BBB business review.

BBB file opened: 06/20/1994Business started: 01/01/1943
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Catherine Hutchison (Customer Experience Manager)Mr. William Radcliffe Mr. Bob Zola (President)
Number of Employees

35

Business Category

Gas - Propane

Products & Services

This company offers Gas/Propane Appliances.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Sharp Energy

9387 Ocean Gtwy

Easton, MD 21601-7053

To | From

LocationsX

3 Locations

  • 9387 Ocean Gateway 

    Easton, MD 21601-7053

  • 9387 Ocean Gtwy 

    Easton, MD 21601-7053

  • Tri-County Gas Co., Inc.

    PO Box 1858
    129 Columbia Dr 

    Salisbury, MD 21801-3307(410) 822-8567
    (410) 749-4147
    (302) 856-1433

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Greater Maryland. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Sharp Energy is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Web Addresses

  • http://www.sharpenergy.com/
X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on December 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Gas - Propane

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.