BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Allied Propane Co.

Phone: (410) 392-9602Fax: (410) 398-6647307 W Pulaski Hwy, ElktonMD 21921-5265http://www.alliedpropane.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Allied Propane Co. is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Allied Propane Co. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Allied Propane Co.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
09/23/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
As I called in for information of a delivery, the customer service department spoke to me with disrespect, general disregard to customer service, poor
I placed a call to Allied Propane 9/8 approx. 7pm, and left a message with the answering service. Allied called 9/9 and my husband gave them a payment over the phone, they did not state when they would deliver. I called in 9/10 and asked as to when the delivery would be, she ***** stated she did not know but it could be up to 5 days, I then stated I called in on the 9/8, she stated " then you should call in on regular business hours" with an attitude. She then placed me on hold for approx. 5-7 minutes. I choose to hang up and call back in, The phone was picked up on the second ring and *** answered, I stated with annoyance that I was on hold for "10 minutes, al be it an exaggeration on my part, She stated "10 minutes" I asked to speak with **** the owner and was told he was in a meeting and I would not be able to speak to him until it was done. Not unreasonable but now I was annoyed with both girls responses. I was going to purchase a $1000.00 worth of propane, we have been with them for 12 years and with those 12 years they, *** and ***** have been rude before. We reduce our payment to $800.00 a loss of $200.00 to Allied and as the conversation ended *** stated "I guess you don't want to know about the pre-purchase program" with an attitude. Good luck Allied, your customer service department has lost you money and we will be looking for a new propane company.

Desired Settlement
No settlement, other than maybe an apology from your customer service department.

Business Response
I spoke with ***** ********* on 9/10/2014 and she relayed this complaint to me. We did make a delivery of propane to her residence on the same day. I told her I would talk to both *** and ***** on the way in which they responded to her call and I have done so. I will call ***** today and advise her of this. Hopefully this will resolve this issue to everyones satisfaction.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Gas - Propane, Oils - Fuel

Additional Information

top

If a business refers you to another company or uses sub-contractors, BBB recommends that you research that company including reviewing their BBB business review.

BBB file opened: 06/16/1994Business started: 01/01/1946
Contact Information
Principal: John Reilly (Division Manager)Mr. Russell Lewis (V.P. Operations)
Number of Employees

4

Business Category

Gas - Propane, Oils - Fuel

Products & Services

This company is a distributor of propane to retail, industrial, agricultural, and commercial accounts.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Allied Propane Co.

307 W Pulaski Hwy

Elkton, MD 21921-5265

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 307 W Pulaski Hwy 

    Elkton, MD 21921-5265(410) 392-9602
    Fax: (410) 398-6647

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Greater Maryland. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Allied Propane Co. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on December 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Gas - Propane

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.