BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 09/28/2011

Gavigan's Home Furnishings

Phone: (410) 609-2114Fax: (410) 609-2575

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

16 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Delivery Issues2
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service12
Billing / Collection Issues0
Total Closed Complaints16

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (16)
09/04/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Reclining sofa defective. The sofa is falling apart within 3 months
I purchased a reclining sofa & loveseat from Gavigans Home Furnishings on April 29, 2014 for a total of $2,091.12. Invoice # XXXXXX, Elite Protection Plan # TCPOWER20K-669,760. Sales Associate ***** Store Manager *******. The furniture was delivered on May 10, 2014. Upon inspection noticed was stitching coming out of the sofa and discoloration on the edges of both sofa and love seat. I contacted Gavigans and a tech was dispatched. The tech ******* came out and stated the discoloring was normal and the back of the sofa cushion needed to be replaced. The replacement cushion was ordered then installed. Noted when installed was the coloring was slightly off. My husband then punctured the middle sofa cushion with his keys which was covered by the accident protection. This was also replaced and the cushion coloring was also slightly off. Then the sofa recliner where your legs go has now collapsed, the other sofa recliner is coming loose from the sofa, the middle sofa cushion that was replaced rocks back and forth and the staples are coming out where it was replaced. I have called and emailed several times about this and sent many pictures. ******* has been out to inspect the furniture. I have been emailing ******. I did speak to ******* (Manager) who stated she seen the pictures and she has never seen furniture look like this and thinks that we are abusing the furniture. I take well care of my house and my belongings. When I said I paid over $2,000.00 for this she said you only spent $1,704.83 and the furniture is the "basic" furniture not the ultimate furniture and furniture is not built like it was 15-20 years ago.

Desired Settlement
I have requested to have the entire sofa replaced or I would return both sofa and love seat for a full return since this one is defective and to date I have not heard an answer.

Business Response
Good Morning,
We are unsure as to the purpose of this claim, as we have ordered a new piece for this consumer which will arrive in approximately 4 weeks. The consumer is aware of this as well. *******'s feels that this claim is unwarranted as we are replacing the piece in question, and request closure of this claim.
Thank you
****

Consumer Response
********* **** <*************@gmail.com>

I have emailed Gavigans, they say they have ordered a new sofa and it should be in within 6 weeks. I will keep you updated. Thank you so much for your help. I truly appreciate it!

12/26/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Arm of love seat was never sew downback of couch is sagging had furniture a week
Paid cash have had furniture a week and the was not sew on and there is no foam in couch and it is sagging in the back

Desired Settlement
What I paid for delivery and extra service warranty and the cost of the furniture

Business Response
As of today, Gavigan's Home Furnishings refunded the consumer in full, as well as the *********** accident protection plan which was refunded at her request, as the consumer no longer wishes to use this protection plan and has requested the cancellation. We have picked up the merchandise from the consumer's home this morning.

We would also request to keep on file with the Better Business Bureau the harassment information documentation from the consumer via telephone, and threatening emails sent to our service department, the corporate office manager, as well as ****** ******* *** the Vice President of the company should this case arise again. I have forwarded this information via email.
We have also filed this information in our system, as well as the documentation regarding the six large dogs in the home, and the cancellation of the service plan which does not cover animal damage and is no longer valid for any merchandise still in the home, per the consumer's request.

We respectfully request that this case is closed and the consumer has received a refund for the merchandise picked up by Gavigans Home Furnishings this morning.

Thank you


12/16/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I'm disappointed in the furniture; however, extremely upset service & the disrespectful customer "service".
I purchased a beautiful ******* Sofa bed, love seat & tables 3/8/2014 for a total cost of $4,283.40. The cusions have "sunk" into the furniture & we are sitting on bar that hits us in the back of the thighs when we sit.
When I called on 9/23/14, I spoke with the store & they were very nice. They recommended me to the service department @ the corporate office. I called 3x on 9/23-24/2014,& got no reply. I called the store, again & the store manager was very nice, and e-mailed the service coordinator & "cc'd *** *******" on the e-mail.
9/25/2014, the service coordinator called & said the service tech would call me to set up appt. 9/29/2014- I called back to ask about the tech who was supposed to call- she'd call him again. 9/30/2014, I called again & got no support & asked to speak with the manager. The service manager was very nice & agreed to send Gavigan's service tech (not the contracted tech that has yet to reply). 10/2/2014 Gavigan's tech came out to look @ the furniture & take photos. All agreed that this is "not right" (all ncluded the service tech & the manager & all who saw the photos) The manager assured me that ******* would replace the cusions & they would be in in 6 weeks. (6 weeks pass...) 11/13/2014- I called to check status & the cusions are NOT on the way, & ******* has NOT agreed to replace them. I asked if anyone was planning to call me, & I was assured that "I just go this information & was going to call you today". I asked for a copy of the e-mail from ******* stating this & the e-mail was dated 10/28/2014. They DID NOT JUST GET THIS INFO, nor do I believe that they were "just getting ready to call me today". Thanksgiving is in 2 weeks & I have no place for my guests to sit. I do; however, have a >$4,000.00 bill for furniture that I can't sit on. No one has helped me, and their tone & manner is NOT one of customer service. I was told that I was speaking with *** *******, homself; however, I question this b/c he was VERY unprofessional, rude & unhelpful. I am rather shocked to experience such deplorable customer service. They continued to blame ******* Furniture & are extremely unhelpful. I have made 13 phone calls so far & I am no closer to a solution. Very upsetting.

Desired Settlement
I would like for Gavigans to stand behind their product, & repair, replace or refund. I love the set, but it's unuseable in its current state. I don't want anything special, just for someone to help me with this problem & stop giving me a run-around & speaking to me as if I have done something wrong. Very, very rude.

Business Response /* ****** *** 2014/11/26) */

November 26, 2014

Re: Case #XXXXXXXX
***** ********

Please see the attached 8 page pdf file regarding documentation of this claim. Gavigans Home Furnishings has offered two options to this consumer, both were rejected by the consumer.

The emails contained in the pdf explain the situation in more detail. Gavigans has made multiple attempts to satisfy the consumer, to no avail. We have gone as far as to contact the supervisor of customer service as well as the east coast sales manager at ******* Furniture to satisfy the consumer's issues. Please see our service technician's document containing the consumer's signature.

Gavigans is a facilitator of the ******* manufacturer's warranty, we defer to their advice and suggestions. The two options are 1-custom cut and replace cushions 2-return the merchandise to the manufacturer for factory inspection and repairs. The options have been made available and discussed with the consumer.

Regarding the many contentious phone calls; Mr. ******* did speak to this consumer on multiple occasions and made sure to take every call with our service department present, as well as the office manager to alleviate any confusion as to how the situation has been handled. Not once did ****** ******* call the consumer a liar or scold anyone. The consumer fails to mention that she harassed our service department via telephone, and was extremely aggressive and combative during each and every conversation with Mr. *******. The consumer accused Mr. ******* of being an imposter and demanded to speak to "his father" who is the President of the company. *** ******* is the Vice President of the company and has no reason to lie to a consumer, or act in an aggressive fashion. We are attempting to correct this problem, but have been met with nothing but abuse and aggression along the way. "Don't you have control over your business?" and myriad other abusive comments are counterproductive and do not reflect Gavigans Home Furnishings business conduct in any way. We would prefer to have discussions that do not involve accusations or screaming, as the issue at hand is the merchandise, which we have attempted to correct to no avail. As always, we are more than happy to take care of the situation per the manufacturer's warranty and guidelines.
The consumer may contact our customer service department at XXX-XXX-XXXX **** to discuss the consumer's choice of options offered.




Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I am not surprised at all with this reply- it is exactly what I expected from him. He was much more interested in argument than resolution.
Last week, I received a call from ******* furniture (direct), & they are very interested in correcting this situation & I requested to work directly with *******, as Mr ******* is very angry, and I am unable to communicate with him.
******* seems sincerely interested in correcting this problem & I am very thankful to work with someone who has listened to my concern, understands the problem, & has offered to help.
My problem is not fixed; however, I feel hopeful, as ******* sounds sincerely interested in helping me & has identified that he thinks a adjustment spacer will correct the problem. I am unclear if I still need to go through Gavigans for the service.

Final Business Response
At this time, Gavigan's Home Furnishings requests that this case is closed, as the consumer has made abundantly clear that she no longer wishes to handle this case with our company.

Per ****** ******* ****** request; the local sales representative for ******* Furniture has contacted the consumer directly to address the myriad issues, as well as to avoid any more extremely contentious communications between the company and this consumer.

As suggested by our service department upon the first service inspection from Gavigans; we are advised by the sales representative that the consumer will receive the spacer bars, however, the required parts and subsequent service is to be handled by an independent service technician and ******* Furniture. This was the original course of action suggested, and the course of action that was refused by the consumer.

Gavigan's also requests that any communication from this point regarding this case and the consumer come from the Better Business Bureau only. The independent technician will handle the service portion of this case, and will contact the consumer concerning the repairs.


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I agree that I do not want to work with Mr ******* ever again. I have, in fact hared from ****** Furniture, directly. Mr **** is extremely kind, & very easy to work with. He's respectful & professional. He has arranged to have the furniture repaired.
I will be glad to close this complaint after the problem is resolved. I do ageee, that correspondance with ****** *******, Jr. is not an option; however, I recieved a call from a service rep named *******, who said he was calling from Gavigans to schedule the repair. I am still a little confused as to who is coming to complete the repairs, but I just want the sofa repaired. This has been a terrible experience.
Please stay the course with this concern until it is resolved. I am glad to close this report once the furniture is repaired.

11/17/2014Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
hi, I ordered a beautiful bedroom suit on July 4,2014, great sales lady, great experience so far. The delivery even came earlier than expected August 5, 2014. The men who delivered the furniture installed the mirror on the dresser upside down, missing the already made holes, and creating new holes. I called that very day to notify ****** in customer service to get a return phone call, and email the very next day. I had been communicating with her for a few weeks, and then it stopped. Keep in mind the mirror has not been fixed or replaced. I had to call the store get a manager involved, to only be put in touch with ****** again. After many phone calls, the mirror was replaced to find new holes in the back of my dresser(BRAND NEW DRESSER)I was told by Mr. ******* this will not be replaced but can be fixed. As of today 10/28/2014 they have not kept their word, and I will NEVER buy any furniture from here again. BUYERS BEWARE!!!!

Desired Settlement
Hi, I would like to notify BBB, as a FYI. I would also like my BRAND NEW DRESSER be fixed as I was told it would. I am outraged that Gavigans would not be more open to my situation as this happened with their delivery men, whom they have stated no longer are contracted out for delivery. Thank you, FRUSTRATED CUSTOMER

Business Response
In reference to this claim, Gavigan's Home Furnishings is more than happy to take care of the dresser, however, we will need communication between the consumer and our customer service department.
The new dresser back, as discussed with the consumer during her conversation with Mr. *******, is ready for replacement.
At the consumer's convenience, she may contact our Customer Service department at
XXX-XXX-XXXX **** or ******@ghfhome.com to facilitate the replacement in a timely fashion.

Thank you


09/24/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Owner/management of Gavigans accuses Iraq/AFG 24 year veteran of breaking furniture during pick-up in Maryland and transportation to Virginia.
In good faith on 5 Jul 14 we purchased bedroom, dining room set and sofa for daughter's college apartment in VA from Gavigans total $1706. We were told 6 to 8 weeks for arrival of sofa and dining set . On 16 Aug 14, we paid the remaining balance, picked up furniture in boxes and wrapped couch from WH(WH). Upon arrival to WH dock we received a negative, unprofessional, belligerent and unkind experience from ******* who dictated what we were going to do .I reminded Charlie I was the customer, his actions were intolerable and recommended a more professional demeanor. I reported the matter to ******* (owner wife) and the store. Store manager ******* never called back and ******* did not address the matter with customer. We identified the merchandise my cousin (Police Officer) and I proceeded to carefully load the rental truck. We were never informed to inspect furniture prior to departure. Upon arrival to VA we off loaded the furniture and proceed to assemble. Upon opening the mirror box the right side was damaged and upon opening the dining room table I noticed the side skirt on the new table top was damaged, I took photos and proceeded. 17 Aug 14 I called the Forest Hill store and spoke to ******* manager for assistance, explained how unsatisfied we were with the overall WH experience and will not make another purchase from Gavigans. Response received nothing she could do and all damage claims must go thru ****** Hirsch at the warehouse. 18 Aug 14 emailed ****** photos and requested her assistance with replacement of broken/damaged furniture. Please advise how to proceed with replacements. ****** response, I picked up the furniture from the WH just let me know when you can return damaged furniture for inspection and we will proceed.18 or 19 Aug 14,I called ****** and explained our unique situation, furniture is in VA and cost us more money for rental truck/fuel to pick up and deliver the furniture. Perhaps she could order the replacements, in the mean time when I return back to VA I would return the items and not lose time with the order. She eluded we broke the furniture and the items must be returned before any repairs could be done. Appalled at accusation I informed her why question my integrity and explained to her our status. The purchase was brand new we are requesting replacements as opposed to repairs. We were the first to open the boxes that came from Vietnam and the damage could have occurred in transit to the warehouse. No one would have ever known until the boxes were opened. She became defensive, unprofessional and proceeded to tell me she could not make that decision. I requested to speak to the owner and requested a phone call. 19 Aug 14 wife and I went to the Forest Hill store to express our concerns to **** salesperson and explained, as stated above, how dissatisfied we were with the overall experience and how in good faith we performed our part but Gavigans is not taking care of the customer. Additionally,we mentioned we would make the BBB complaint if this matter was not resolved. She stated to hold off until the owner responded.21 Aug 14 I received a voice from the owner stating I wanted to speak with him but he told me right now he is leaving the office and will not return until 22 Aug 14.No apologies/customer service terminology was received.

Desired Settlement
We are seeking new replacement table top and mirror. But on 23 Aug 14 I returned the call to *** ******* and explained situation, before I could finish he rudely interrupted and accused me of damaging the furniture since I picked it up from the WH and did not have it delivered. He stated the location of the damaged mirror is due to threading bracket screws into mirror. I stated that may be but why could the thread insert while in production not cause the same damage or while being stored at the WH awaiting the table top and sofa. He stated why I did not inspect the furniture at the WH prior to departure. I informed him know one mentioned that to me and was that common practice. I explained by removing furniture from original packaging for inspection will probably increase the chances of damages since customer could not get contents back in original packaging and if that was the case then why Gavigans does not inspect prior to issuing contents to customer. I expressed to *** it looks like the damaged occurred in transit to the WH and that I was the end user and only one who opened the box therefore he should not accused and place the fault on the customers. Besides we loaded the table upright with blanket and nothing loaded on top that could even possibly damage the table side skirt based on the location of the damage. *** ******* became boisterous unprofessional and accused me of raising havoc at the warehouse, that is when I realized why the employees in the company have no customer service skills it's due to the owner who is the culprit. He continued to belittle me and I informed him why not meet at the Forest Hill store for further discussion he agreed but then never stated a date and time. I informed *** this conversation was not accomplishing anything and he stated the only thing he could do was repair the furniture. I explained to him it cost me more money to deliver the furniture as opposed to the cost of table top and damage mirror. I explained this was the absolute worst experience we have ever encountered in the customer service arena. We are appalled at the questioning of someone integrity over a couple of dollars really. I requested him to order the replacements in the essence of time and that upon arrival we could exchange table top and mirror. Again he emphasized and stated the only thing he could do was repair the furniture. I informed him he would hear from me again

Business Response
Please allow us to preface this claim with the fact that *******'s does not accuse consumers of damage, regardless of their military standing or time served in the military, or police officer pickup assistance. The case is regarding the merchandise which was picked up, signed for in good condition, taken from the warehouse and reported damaged after the fact. As Mr. ******* has expressed to this consumer, we are more than willing to work with this consumer, if he will follow the clearly stated pickup requirements on the back of his signed ticket order. We have supplied photos, the back of the signed order, as well as his signed order stating the merchandise was, in fact, received in good condition. At the time of pickup (I was in the room to witness the conversation between ******* and the consumer), she did advise the consumer to open and inspect the merchandise as the consumer mentioned multiple times that he was traveling out of state with the merchandise. We also require that the consumer remove ALL debris, items, etc. from their pickup vehicles. The consumer arrived with a full bed, wanted assistance in the removal of all of the debris and items in the bed, became very aggressive when our warehouse team refused to remove the debris from the truck, as the back of the sales order clearly states that vehicles must be empty and free of debris to facilitate pickup.
The abusive nature and extreme confrontations with this consumer are not noted in the claim from the consumer, but we request that they are noted in the BBB claim for *******'s. I have also emailed photos to support our claim that this is clearly abuse, and the merchandise was damaged in transit to "college" We respectfully request that this case is closed, as the resolution offered was aggressively rejected by the consumer. We are more than happy to follow the information on the back of the sales order, as stated to the consumer by Mr. ******* himself. Thank you

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Appalled at *******'s pathetic response. We are totally unsatisfied and we are seeking new replacement table top and mirror. I explained that I will return the mirror and table top and exchange it upon warehouse receiving replacements. Makes no sense to be without a table top and mirror after waiting 6 weeks. Reason we did not have *******s deliver was due to the astronomical cost to deliver. But wait what about if they delivered we would not be entertaining this matter at all. Bottom line we stand firm *** ******* did accuse me of breaking the furniture, my sister was listening to the conversation when I called him, and she was shocked. Additionally ******* ****** eluded we broke the furniture that is why I requested to speak with the owner. Nevertheless, this is an exercise in futility for a couple of dollars but negative customer service is well worth it. In reference to our status you have questioned the integrity of two law abiding citizens who civil obedience and respect for authority is beyond reproach. The merchandise was picked up secured properly and not inspected at no time did *******s employee highly recommend inspection of items, If that was the case we would have. Additionally, the boxes were all closed upon receipt why would a customer open boxes at the warehouse to inspect furniture, we all know will all the packaging material customers will not get the items back as originally packed therefore increasing the risk of damage. Leading to the question why *******s does not inspect the items before issuing to the customer to ensure all items are packaged correctly and not pass the risk onto the customer. In reference to all debris, items, etc. from their pickup vehicles (my copy does not state vehicle not cleared out), Additionally, what position does ******* has to tell customer who are moving not to have items in their vehicle. Since I am paying for a rental vehicle and live about 1 hour from north of the warehouse traveling south, it passes the common sense test bring the furniture with you to the final destination. I had a mattress, chair, rubber maid bins, moving blankets in the back of the UHAUL upon arrival to the warehouse we removed the items prior to loading the furniture. No one ever asked the warehouse team for assistance to remove anything from the vehicle. We have moved in the military over 12 times across state lines and never experienced any broken furniture of this magnitude. This is not our first rodeo when it comes to moving household goods. We were always professional in conversation with employee's unfortunately the customer service was not reciprocated, as you can see not even an apology with the response. Bottom line *******s is being evasive to the fact of the matter will they replace the furniture or not. I provided the photos via email anyone with common sense would say the table top would have been damage prior to the side skirt. Table top is not damaged this appears to be damaged by a forklift since the table was packed in a rectangular box vertically. The damage occurred somewhere in the supply chain pipeline prior to customer receipt. In reference to the mirror it seems the threaded insert in the back was threaded in too far causing the damage at manufacturer to warehouse. Manufactured in Vietnam thousands of miles away, go figure the customer does not even get the benefit of the doubt. In reference to abuse *** ******* and immediate staff from "GAVIGANS" are the intimidators and culprits who are portraying a domineering role and not exercising any customer service attributes whatsoever. A pathetic shame to society customers should not endure any hardships of this nature. In good faith we paid for the furniture and we expect better than the absolute poor customer service. My recommendation is for GAVIGANS to emulate Macy's, Gardiner's, Ashley's customer service techniques. Bottom line as per terms and conditions concealed damage must be reported to GHF within 24 hours of pick-up. Manufacturer warranty is 6 months. We picked up on Saturday 16 Aug 14 and I reported concealed damage Monday 18 Aug 14. We are the exception to the rule and if a business is paranoid and accusatory to customers then my recommendation is for the business to assess internal and external customer service processes. I'll end with the following statements. Treat every customer as if they have 10,000 twitter followers and you will succeed. Resolve a complaint in the customer's favor and they will do business with you again 70% of the time. Up to 95% of customers will give you a second chance if you handle their complaint successfully and in a timely manner.

Final Business Response
While we appreciate the consumer's myriad suggestions on how to improve our 32+ year business, we would like to stay on topic.
The issue at hand is the merchandise dispute. That being said, as we previously stated in our first response to this case, *******'s has indeed offered a solution to this consumer's issue which is return the merchandise to the warehouse and we will gladly take care of the issues, as stated by Mr. *******.
As previously provided, please see the scans of the consumer's signed receipt that the merchandise was received in good condition, as well as the photos originally provided. As such, we stand by our offer, as is stated on the back of the signed order contract.
Attachments to follow.


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Another evasive response 32 years in business and *******s has not re-ordered the table top and mirror. Nothing is being resolved if *******s wants to work with the customer then let me know as I stated before did you order the table top and mirror. What is the arrival date so I can bring the items in for ex-change. Based on *******s assumptions the merchandise was received in good condition due to the boxes not being opened and inspected. Once again *******s is procrastinating and wasting time. In good faith I paid the final balance on 16 Aug 14 now its 23 Sep 14 almost six weeks the items could have been ordered and arrived by now. On the other hand *******s decided to engage with customer via the BBB as opposed to ordering furniture in order to maintain their 32+ years of being in business reputation. Customer service is not rocket science. Do the right thing.

07/02/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Purchased 6 piece bedroom set Ashley Signature Series, both nightstand and dresser were damaged no resolve to complaint of replacement nor refund.
On or around the middle of October 2013, we purchased a 6 piece Ashley Signature Series Bedroom set. During the first week of November it was delivered and one of the nightstands and the dresser was visibly damaged and observed by the delivery driver. We sent pictures via email to ****** the manager at the Forest Hill Gavigans store who said she would order replacements. Since that time there have been multiple phone calls, emails and even a certified letter made by us to Gavigans trying to get the situation resolved and a total of 2 dressers and 3 nightstands were attempted to be delivered by the store to replace the damaged pieces we had originally gotten. All the attempted pieces were noted to be visibly damaged more than the ones I'd originally received, therefore I wrote refused due to damage on the drivers ticket and refused to accept them, I had taken pictures and emailed them to ****** the manager. I never got any phone calls to discuss what to do next. I have since then sent two more emails to both ****** and corporate office requesting a partial refund as I bought new furniture and paid full price, not floor models nor clearance merchandise from this Gavigans store. Also due to the fact that Gavigans cannot deliver me a "new" undamaged dresser nor nightstand. I feel my emails, phone calls and the certified letter have gone unanswered therefore I had no choice but to file a complaint with the BBB as of the end of March 2014 I still have no resolve to this situation. I cannot begin to make you understand how frustrating and deeply time consuming this process has been. I've missed several days at work over this issue. What was suppose to be an enjoyable happy time in our lives buying new furniture to furnish our new home turned into a nightmare.

Desired Settlement
Gavigans is unable to deliver me "new" undamaged pieces to replace the damaged nightstand and dresser therefore I am asking for a reasonable partial refund as I bought "new" pieces not floor models nor clearance products. I have lost several work days with a loss of over 1280.00 of work pay waiting for their delivery drivers and have spent a great deal of time making phone calls, emails, letter trying to get this situation resolved. My experience trying to furnish my new home has turned into a nightmare.

Business Response
April 3, 2014

Consumer: **** *****
** ***** ****** *****
****** **** ** XXXXX
Ref: XXXXXXXX

In reference to the claim above, Gavigan's has scheduled the delivery replacement piece for Mrs. *****'s order to be hand-carried and delivered by a Gavigan's representative on Saturday April 5, 2014.

We have not only been in communication with the consumer regarding her concerns about the merchandise from the original delivery date, and I will be glad to provide email examples of the communications.

We have also offered a $100.00 gift certificate to the consumer, for her inconvenience, which seems to have not been mentioned in the consumer's complaint.

We feel that we have gone above and beyond to satisfy the consumer, and have taken care of the issues which pertain to Gavigan's Home Furnishings merchandise in this claim.

If you have any questions regarding this case, please feel free to me via email or telephone to discuss this matter further. You may email me at *******@ghfhome.com or call XXX-XXX-XXXX *****

Thank you,
*******
Corporate Administrator


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
In reference to the response from ******* the corporate administrator, I have received one email from Gavigans on 11/13/13 from manager ****** ***** acknowledging my first email with the original photos of the damaged dresser and nightstand. I have received no further email correspondence. I have received no mail correspondence. I believe the problem lies in poor communication on Gavigans behalf. I have never been offered a $100.00 gift certificate.
That being said, in response to my Better Business Bureau complaint I received a phone call from Gavigans on 4/3/14, the deadline date to reply to the BBB complaint, with no apology, just "I'm calling to schedule delivery of your nightstand for Saturday is that acceptable" and "ok we will be there Saturday morning 4/5/2014" Gavigans did not mention the dresser replacement, nor was there a mention of a gift certificate, nor an apology. A 4th replacement nightstand was indeed delivered Saturday and swapped for the original one, it had a minor ding but I accepted it as it was in better condition than the original one. Still no resolution to the damaged dresser and was never offered any compensation as stated in *******'s response


Final Business Response
We have ordered a new dresser for Mrs. ******* which should arrive within the next two weeks or less.I will give her a call once it arrives for inspection prior to delivery and will send the gift certificate at that time. I am going to check with our IT department, for some reason BBB emails are going to my spam folder. I apologize for the delay.

Thank you!

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
It has been 2 weeks since Gavigans last response to the BBB and I have received NO phone calls or correspondence of ANY kind. They stated they would have the item in 2 weeks time or less, it has been two weeks. Gavigans (******* ****** refuses my emails stating that I need to go through the BBB. THEY ARENT COMMUNICATING WITH ME AT ALL.

Page 1 of 3

Industry Comparison| Chart

Furniture - Retail, Office Equipment, Bookcases, Benches - Seating, Stools, Mirrors, Mattresses, Carpet & Rug Dealers - New, Cabinets, Bedding

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.