BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 05/06/1999

Gardiners Furniture

Find a Location

Phone: (410) 358-1730Fax: (410) 585-1748View Additional Phone Numbers4241 Brookhill Rd, BaltimoreMD 21215-2200 Send email to Gardiners Furniture

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 05/06/1999

BBB has determined that Gardiners Furniture meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Gardiners Furniture's rating include:

  • 30 complaints filed against business

Factors that raised Gardiners Furniture's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 30 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

30 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 15 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues3
Delivery Issues2
Guarantee / Warranty Issues3
Problems with Product / Service22
Billing / Collection Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 30

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (30)BBB Closure Definitions
09/29/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Customer Service Complaint Issue

Complaint: there are really 2 of them. kitchen dinette not delivered on estimated time, living room set 6 weeks late and frame was broken,
order # XXXXXX on 7-26, dinning set, est deliver was early aug. needed on labor day. called 2 times was told chairs on back order. kept saying next week, well next week never came. sales rep was kelt Smtih. The living room set was the worst was delivered 6 weeks late when arrived was broken. they sent a repair man out 5 weeks later. was given a $250 store credit and that is why we went back for the dinning set. Other wise I would of never went back to buy anything.
So now the living rooms set is still not up to quality standards. we opened a charge acct to purchase the living room, so had a little money left on it to put the $250 towards the dinning set. When i called to question the delivery on each item they acted like it was not big deal to wait and it happens all the time. Then when told them about the broken recliner on the sectional again acted like not big problem and would have the furniture dr come out. We were so upset. I did not know what to do or who to contact. We are more unhappy with the living room sectional even after repairs. it cost over 2k and bought in early april.

Initial Business Response
I called and spoke with Mrs. ***** regarding her experience, issues and concerns with her existing motion set and her pending delivery of her dining set. Gardiners offered and Mrs. ***** accepted to reselect to a living room set that is of better quality and one that she can enjoy for many years to come. She won't be able to visit the showroom for approximately 1 mos. which is fine with Gardiners. Regarding the back ordered dining set it appears it has finally reached the Baltimore port and once it clears customs we should be able to schedule delivery to Gardiners within the next 2 weeks. Provided this collection is on the container we will schedule this with Mr. *****. If the dining room set is not on this container the customer may opt to select a different set or cancel the order and receive a refund. We apologize for the poor experience and look forward to working with the *****'s to better their future shopping experiences.

Final Business Response
Ticket CWXXXXXX on system authorizing full reselection.

The back ordered dinette set arrived today and Mr. ***** requested a delivery date of 9-27-14. He was off Monday but we deliver Tues-Saturday weekly. I provided Mr. ***** with "track my delivery" information so he can pinpoint his delivery on Saturday 9-27-14. We will provide a 30 minutes call ahead the day of delivery and provide a 4 hour window the day before.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

09/12/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Defective, damaged, or incorrect product received

Complaint: Sofa set made defective. Feathers constantly coming out of throw pillows and sofa pillows. Also, ends of feathers sticking out.
On June 8 2013, we purchased 2 chairs and a sofa from Gardiner's towson store on Joppa Rd. The furniture was delivered on September 6 2013. Within a few months, we noticed that we were getting stuck in the arm. on further examination, we noticed that they were feather ends. we then noticed that feathers were coming out completely, to the point, that when we got up from the sofa, we had feathers on our clothes. Now, it has gotten so bad that every time we go to sit down we look at feather that are out or about to come out.
Near the end of July 2014, we contacted the store to let them know of our complaint. A customer service representative named ******* took the call. After explaining to her what the problem was, she transferred me to the maintenance dept, They told me that the feathers coming out was to be expected and this furniture was one of their better quality pieces. We told them we were never informed of this when we chose the sofa and we couldn't believe that feather were expected to come out at this rate. we were transferred back to ********* She informed us that she would speak to some other in the warranty department.
It has now been a month, and we have not heard a word from Gardiner's. Obviously , customer satisfaction are only words to this store and needless to say, I will never buy another piece of furniture from Gardiner's.

Initial Business Response
Our customer purchased his sofa and chairs as shown on display. The tags on the furniture, see image below, denote that the cushion composition is BD- Blend down and Feather Down. This tag hangs on the right side facing arm of the sofa and was available for review by the customer at the time of purchase. We unfortunately have no way of knowing for certain if this was discussed with the customer at the time of sale but it is unlikely that it was not because this is an upgrade and a desired feature. However, the tags are there and provide all of the information for review by all of our customers.

Gardiners Furniture has a 6 month warranty and the manufacturer a 1 yr warranty against manufacturing defects. The concerns voiced by Mr. Giles are not one of defect rather personal preference to seating composition.

Gardiners has reached out to Kincaid Furniture to see if they are able to provide alternative seating options without feather or blend down for these pieces. This may be at a charge to the customer but we will do all that we can to minimize the cost. The throw pillows can be refilled with a fiber fill vs. the blend down as purchased should the seats and backs be replaceable.

The blend down/ feather down option is an upgraded, more luxurious seating option that is typically desired by a higher end customer. Feather quills will escape their encasement but this in no way depicts a defect or poor quality, it's just the nature of blend and feather down products much like a high end comforter, duvet cover or down winter jacket.

Gardiners will reach out to Mr. Giles once we hear from Kincaid regarding alternative seating options.

XXX-XXF-SPECTRUM - CUSTOM SELECT SOFA
**** - *******
Product Category: LIVUPH - LIVING ROOM UPHOLST
Product Group: STAFAB - STATIONARY FABRIC
Collection: KINCUSTOM
NS
Regular Price: 2,199.99 Suggested Price:3,698.00
Sale Price: 1,849.00 Sale Dates: 8/20/2014 - 9/9/2014
Product Benefits
89 X 40 X 39 H
HIGH PERFORMANCE ********* FABRICS
******** ********
100% SUNBRELLA ACRYLIC
CUSHION:BD
8-WAY HAND TIED MARRIED COMBO
2 FD:REEL PARCHMENT STRIPE
FEATHER DOWN
2FD: ASUKA SILK
FEATHER DOWN
FIN: C1 ESPRESSO

SPEC ORD:
CUSTOM SELECT OPTIONS SHOWN WITH OPTIONAL
BLENDOWN, FEATHERDOWN, AND 8 WAY HAND TIE

HANDLE -$100.00 (AA, BB)
CC SAME $
DD +$200.00
EE +$400.00
FF +$600.00
RR+ SEE PRICE LIST

Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I do not accept the response because the responder assumes that I have not had furniture of comparable quality before. In fact, it is because we have had similar pieces that we made the complaint in the first place. We realize that the feathers will come out occasionally. However, it is at the rate that they are coming out that is of concern to us. To walk out to sit on the sofa and see feathers sticking out of various places almost everyday or laying on the carpet, in our opinion is excessive. Also of concern, is the possibility of our putting out more money for the remedy. We are ,definitely, not in favor of that option. My wife and I have always concerned ourselves with buying quality furniture which is why we only shop at certain stores that are known for their standards. We always make an effort to buy furniture that will not only last but also not go out of style quickly. Therefore , we look forward to a satisfactory settlement.

Final Business Response
The complaint revolves around the seating and inside back material. Gardiners will work with ******* to get replacement foam cores and replacement fiber fill backs and install them for Mr. ****** This will alleviate the problem with feathers and resolve the nature of the complaint. I will make arrangements with a Gardiners location of choice to show the Giles core options available by ******** We cannot take back used furniture when the option to fix the nature of the complaint is available. We look forward to working with the customer for a solution.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

09/10/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Product Quality Complaint Issue

Complaint: I Purchased a couch and loveseat in 2/2011 and the couch now (8/2014) has holes and staples sticking out and is almost not useable.
In December of 2010 I purchased a sofa and loveseat from Gardiners furniture. It was delivered in 2/2011. The couch is in the family room and hardly had any use until i had my son in 2012. In the year since he has been born, staples have torn through the upholstery at the base of the couch where the seat cushions rest. The staples have caused holes in the fabric and through the pillows that rested on top of them. I spokw with Domine, the customer service rep a few times and she states that " something had to be placed under the cushions to have worn the front rail in that way. The foam pad has shifted off the
rail and that wouldn't have happened with just foam to foam. The wear is from customer use and not considered under manufactures warranty." Sadly though she is wrong. Nothing was placed under the cusions to cause this. It must be a manufactures defect or something. The only thing we have done to these chairs is sit on them. The matching love seat does not have any problems with it.

manufacturer : *********
model: boXXXXX-*********
brand: ****
Purchase price: $646.20

Initial Business Response
Gardiners Furniture reviewed ***** ******'s complaint on her furniture delivered February of 2011. Although over 2 yrs beyond the warranty Gardiners suggested the customer email photos because of the nature of the complaint. Upon review of the first photos sent it was immediately apparent that the foam had rolled off the front rail which left the hardwood frame unprotected and with use the fabric gave way to the wood hard edge. The clips used to hold the sinuous springs down wore through the fabric and eventually tore one of the seat cushions. What needed to be determined was why because this is a top selling frame and we have not seen damage like this in our years of selling this sofa. In photos 1 and 2 there is a rubber "rug" grip present that was placed on the seat deck of the sofa. This is not something shipped with the furniture nor should it be used to keep the cushions from moving. Not having seen the furniture in the home there's no way of determining if just the rug grip was used under the seats and over the seat deck or if there was something else under the cushions that the rug grib was holding. Nevertheless, the modification more than likely caused the unusual wear and tear on the front rail causing the foam to fail and the cover to fail. Additional photos were requested but the rug grip was no longer present and we were unable to determine what it was being used for.

Gardiners is willing to replace this sofa less a 20% usage fee to be paid by the customer. The customer may bring their sofa back to our warehouse and pick up the replacement sofa or if they'd like to have it delivered/picked up at their home we will do so for a $79.95 transportation fee.

Photos have been sent to BBB to be posted with this claim.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

08/15/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Inappropriate behavior by customer service personnel

Complaint: Sold wrong piece of furniture and getting run around from staff in process of returning the item.
Wanted to buy new furniture for our family, so we decided to try the Pasadena location-BIG MISTAKE!
Sales man, ***** ****** seemed very nice too nice in fact. I explained that we wanted a reclining sofa and loveseat but not a powered one just a manual. We narrowed our choice b/w 2 sets and decided on the one we bought. We paid in cash/debit over $2K to include delivery and warranty. However, I noticed I was charged for a "power" loveseat that I did not order. I immediately emailed my "*****" and explained my concern. Next morning I called the store to only be told: "All sales people are off due to a big sale we are having tomorrow from 10AM-10PM, we are here just to man the phones." I called this morning at 1028 spoke with ***** who said he wasn't sure if the warehouse carried the matching manual loveseat, and that it would take 6 weeks to order. He knew I didn't want to wait 6 weeks for furniture since we had the conversation upon our introduction. I told him I emailed him my concern the same night we made the purchase, and he rudely said: "I don't check my work email when I'm not at work." I asked what the price difference would be, and he stated there would be a difference, but he would have to email me the difference since he was with a customer. I asked, how long will that be and he reply:"Well, you know, depends on if the customer is needy. If she's not needy then it should be within a few minutes." There was $175.00 difference! I called back to speak w/a manager and got **** (he, too, was rude) did not want to help me. He told me, 'that he works in the office and that it was the sales guy job to help the customer." I explained I wanted to ensure I was not being told one thing verse another. I had to force him to check the computer to see if the warehouse did have the manual loveseat in stock. He put me on hold, and then a female manager got on the phone only to say they didn't stock the manual loveseat and it would be 6-8 for me to get a manual loveseat. I told her, I would probably call back to cancel, but wanted to speak to my husband first. I call back to cancel my order, I spoke w/***** who had a nonchalant attitude. He asked for my debit card # and my husband's debit card#. I told him, I need to call my husband. He asked if I would be calling back. I told him there was no need to hang up & we could do a conference call. No sooner I dial my husband, I click back and ***** hung up! I called the store was told that ***** was with a customer, I told the receptionist she need to get ***** on the phone. I then told her I would wait. In the series of 6 times someone picked the phone up and placed me back on hold was over 25 minutes! I ended up with "****" who ended up taking both card numbers down. I explained to ****, that I just about had it with Gardiner's and their rude employees. I told him Monday before we paid ***** was overly nice and now he is like Dr. Jekyll/Mr. Hyde. He did not care that I was upset, he never apologized for his staff behavior but insisted that I return the card for the warranty protection, then he insulted me by saying he could put a per-stamped envelope in the mail for me!!! I told him, no thanks I could part w/ a stamp. How dare him ask that?! I just paid your company over $2K in cash and you say that? Gardiner's just lost more than $2K. We planned on returning to buy furniture for other rooms in the house, but now someone else will get our money.

Initial Business Response

Gardiners Furniture sincerely apologizes for your poor experience at our Pasadena location. The Sales Director from Corporate will be giving you a call to extend his apology in person.

We understand that it can be frustrating to call the store only to find out that they are closed in preparation for a large sale the following day. However, this is necessary in order to prepare for the pricing, tagging, furniture set up etc. that is required for the One Day Sale event that was taking place on Wednesday. Your call the following morning and the handling has precipitated the need to further evaluate the handling of customer calls for our sales associates. Although *****'s intention of taking your call while on the showroom floor assisting another customer was genuine, it proved to further escalate your frustration because he was unable to give you his full attention. Our policy has always been to give our customer's in the store our undivided attention. I'm sure if you were in the store you'd agree that your sales associate should never leave you to take a phone call of any nature other than that of a real emergency. ***** had no way of telling you that he needed to get back to his customer while on hold so unfortunately the call was ended in hopes that when you retrieved the necessary information to process your refund you would call back. Our sales associates do not handle refunds nor do we want them taking down customers personal account information because it is ultimately handled by our trained office personnel. When calling back the office should have informed you that ***** was unavailable and requested that he call you back. In addition they simply could have taken the information from you, apologized for your troubles and processed your refund as needed.

If there is anything we can do to win back your trust please let us know. We value you as our customer and again apologize for the poor handling of your order.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

08/15/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Defective, damaged, or incorrect product received

Complaint: Ordered our Sofa on 4/7/14 and it has been a nightmare the last 6 months, They have our money we are yet to receive our product
On April 7, 2014 I went into gardeners furniture located at **** ******* ******** Pasenda Md, XXXXX. Contract number AXXXXXX. We got a call a couple of weeks later stating the fabric we had chosen was no longer available and we must come back in pick out another fabric. We went back in and chose a different fabric. I was upset that they waited so long to tell me we could not have the original fabric we chose but things happen. I was told we could not cancel the order because even though the contract we signed was voided by gardeners not having the correct fabric, we were told the pieces had already been ordered,.

On 5/18/14 our Sofa had finally came in, I asked them for the soonest to have it delivered since it was already delayed by the sales Lady lying to us about the fabric being available. The earliest they could deliver it wa 5/28/14, 10 days later. It was delivered on 5/28/14. As soon as the delivery men left I realized we were missing the throw pillows that were included with our order. I called the store and they said there was nothing they could do for me and they took my name and number and someone would contact me. 2 days went by and I had not received any call. By the 30th of May (2 days having the sofa) We had realized the back cushion on the sofa was split down the seem exposing the padding. Also the last seat of the right side was sunken in. As you move form left to right on the couch you get lower and lower to the floor. This is not how the unit on display was at all. I called the store again and was told a second time there is nothing that they can do for me and someone with in service department would contact me. After about 4 phone calls and a week later I finally got a hold of someone that told me they would order the pillow immediately and have someone come out and look at the unit. As my wife does not work and is home everyday of the week I again asked for the soonest available day for someone to come out. I was told it would be 3 weeks until someone could come out. I was appalled and offended that it took them 30 minutes to sell me the sofa and take my money but 3 weeks to come and look at a defective unit. I called the store and asked for my money back and was told that it was a special order item and I could not return it. I then talked to the service department again which told me they would try to get someone out sooner. They sent someone out on June 25, 2014 a whole month after they delivered our defective sofa. The technician walked in looked at the couch and stated that it was indeed defective and they would immediately order the parts needed to repair the unit. Meanwhile we had still not received the pillows they failed to deliver. As well as a second back cushion on the couch has ripped at the seem, like it was poorly or incorrectly stitched.
I was told someone would call me with further information. I got an email ( not even a phone call) about a week ½ later stating the part had been ordered.
Through out the entire time I have been dealing with them the worst part about it all was NOT ONE PERSON HAS YET TO APOLOGIZE. Every person I have talked to about my issue seems to act like it is no big deal like HAHA we got your money you can't return your item deal with it. I tried calling again last week on the birthday july 20, 2014 to see what is going on and got the same story again, I can't do anything for you I will have some one contact you. It has been over a week.
Today on July 28th, 2014 we received the throw pillow we were missing but it is a different size (Smaller) then the other pillows and seems to be a different firmness, Like it does not belong with the others. I have still not heard about the now 2 back cushions that are ripped at the seem and the slant the couch is on, sinking at 1 end. This is insane and something needs to be done. It has been 5 months and we still do not have what we ordered. This is not what you should get with a 2200$ couch which was after the 50% off.

Initial Business Response
GARDINERS WOULD LIKE TO SPEAK WITH THIS CUSTOMER BEFORE POSTING OUR REPLY. THE DATES PROVIDED BY THE CUSTOMER CONFLICT WITH ONE ANOTHER AND IT STATES HE IS WITHOUT THE FURNITURE WHICH IS NOT THE CASE.

I CALLED THE CELL # PROVIDED AS THE DAY TIME PHONE AND LEFT A MESSAGE ASKING TO PLEASE RETURN MY CALL AT XXX-XXX-XXXX ****** ******.

Final Business Response
I spoke with Mr. ******* on Wednesday and arranged to send a technician to his home on Thursday after 11am per his request. The sectional was delivered on 5-28 and was delivered with all throw pillows however, 1 of the 3 should have been blue and was in a pattern like the others. The replacement blue pillow was ordered that day.
As reported by Mr. ******* there was a back pillow casing with an open seam and another with a side and top seam open. The softness on the one side of the LSF sofa is from the seat core and a replacement can be ordered as can the casings that have opened seams.
I spoke with Mr. ******* this morning to give him some options on rectifying these issues. After receiving the technicians report and photos I conveyed my concern for the compatibility of the cover that was used on this sectional. The open weave of the fabric seems to not work well with this particular design and my concern is that if we simply replace the casings we may experience more of the same issues down the road. I recommend that Mr. ******* consider selecting a different cover or a different product all together and he was very receptive of this suggestion. Gardiners is aware that this was not his first choice of cover therefore, if he cannot find another product that meets his needs we will service this one at his request or allow this set to be returned for refund. Gardiners will work closely with Mr.******* on pricing of any re-selections to assure he receives the same sale discount as he did on his original purchase.
Mr.******* will visit the showroom and report back to me as to how he would like to proceed.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

Page 1 of 6
11/18/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Improper or inferior repair

Complaint: FURNITURE WAS NOT AS WE WERE TOLD VERY POOR QUAITILY WITH MANY FLAWS EVEN AFTER DROPING 2ND SET PULLING APART AS SEW SEAMS
WE BOUGHT AT LIVEING ROOM SET WITH WARRANTY AND WHEN IT WAS SENT TO US WE NOTICE THAT SEAMS WERE NOT SEWED RIGHT AND THERE WERE BREAKS IN THE SEWING OF SET --DELIVERY MAN SAID THAT WAS NOT HIS PROBLEM TO GET IN TOUCH WITH STORE --CALLED STORED STORE AND THEY HAD US COME BACK TO STORE TO PICK OUT ANOUTHER SET . WHEN THAT CAME IN IT ALSO WAS OF POOR CRAFTSMEN SHIP WITH SEWING AT SEAMS COMING APART. THEY IN TURN SENT A REPAIRMAN UP TO LOOK AND HE DETURMED THAT IT NEEDED TO COVERS DUE TO SEAM PULLING APART .THEY SAID THEY WOULD HAVE TO ORDER NEW COVER AND AFTER 3 TO 4 MOUTH WE HEARD NOTHING SO WE CALLED THEM ABOUT THIS AND AFTER FINDING OUT THEY NEVER ORDER THE PANELS--SO THEY HAD US LOOK UP THE NUMBERS ON CHARIRS AND GIVE THEN THE NUMBERS AGAIN .MOUNTHS WHENT BY AGAIN BEFORE THE CAME UP TO REPLACE THE PANELS. OTHER AREAS WERE STARTING TO COME APART AND I CALLED THEM AGAIN AND GOT THE RUNAROUND AND WAS TOLD THAT NOW IT WAS NOT COVED UNDER ANY WARRANTY SO I CONTACTED THET TOP PERSON AND TALKED TO HIM AND HE AGREED TO REPLACE THE SOFA FREE OF CHARGE . ABOUT 1 MOUNTH LATER I CALLED THE STORE TO ASK WERE IT WAS AND WAS TOLD TAHT I HAD TO PAY TO BRING TO MY HOUSE AND TO PICKUP OTHER SET AND HE WOULD LET ME KNOW WHEN IT CAME IN . I TOLD HIM THAT HIS BOSS SAID I WOULD NOT HAVE TO PAY ANTHING AND I WASNT DUE TO THERE MISTAKE I CALLED BACK IN A FEW WEEKS AND THEY SAID THAT THEY SENT THAT SET BACK AND WERE NO LONGER DEALING WITH THIS PROBLEM ANYNORE. WE PAID OVER 4,000.00 FOR AT SET OF FUTNITURE THAT WAS POORLY MAKE AND THEY DONT CARE

Initial Business Response
The furniture in question was first delivered in 2011 with a one year
warranty. That warranty had long expired however we were able to work with
Lane Furniture to offer the customer replacement pieces of their LAF and
RAF recliners.
The factory warranty states that labor and transportation expenses are not
covered under the warranty. The customer was advised that they were
welcome to return the 2 pieces to our distribution facility when the 2 new
pieces arrived or if they preferred to have them delivered/picked up they
would be responsible for the $150.00 transportation fees. This was offered to
the customer in April of 2013. Gardiners contract states that if after 30 days
attempts to schedule service are not made the issue will be consider resolved
and the order closed. The customer called the store manager in July and was
advised at that time that more than 60 days had passed and the offer was
closed and considered resolved.
Gardiners will appeal to **** to reopen this request for replacement
authorization. Provided they agree and the fabric and frame are still current
Gardiners will honor our original offer. The same stipulations regarding drop
off/pick up at our distribution facility at no charge or if delivery desired the
consumer would be responsible for the transportation fee of $150.00.
The store manager will contact the customer and inform them of *******
decision and if the cover and frame are still available. The customer will then
have 15 days from that date to make a final decision.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
THIS IS NOT WHAT HAPPEN THEY NEVER CALLED ME OR L/M ON ANY PHONE AS THEY SAID THEY DID. THE FIRST YEAR THEY LOST OR FORGOT TO ORDER REPAIR PARTS TO UNITE AND THAT WAS MOST OF THE 1 YEAR INHOUSE WARRANTY. THERE BEATINTING AROUND THE CASE IS HOW THEY DRAWED OUT THE PROBLEMS FROM THE START. I WAS TOLD BY **** ******** THAT THEY WOULD TAKE CARE OF THE 100%.NEVER DID HE TELL ME THAT I WOULD NEED TO PAY FOR IT TO BE DROPED. THEY WOULD NEED TO PICK UP DAMAGED SET ANYWAY.THEY NEED TO STEP UP AND CORRECT THIS ISSUE AND MAKE THINGS RIGHT AND NOT THINK THAT THIS WILL FADE INTO THE WIND. AS FAR AS THE 1 YEAR WARRNATY WHY DID THEY DRAG OUT THE FIRST REPAIR OVER 8 MOUTHS OR SO BEFORE TAKEN CARE OF THAT WITCH USED UP AIMOST THE YEAR . I DONT UBDERSTAND WHY THEY KEEP USEING THAT AS A WAY OUT.


Final Business Response
Gardiners Furniture is sympathetic to Mr. *******'s health issues and concerns with his **** furniture purchase but the consumer does need to accept responsibility and follow the terms of the contract under which his purchase was made so that Gardiners is able to assist him with his service concerns.

The initial delivery of this Lane merchandise was made on 12-15-2011 and all contractural agreements are based on this date when monies were deposited and contracts signed.

Mr. ******* was informed in April 2013 by *****, the store manager, that Gardiners would replace 2 pieces of his furniture. The furniture was out of Gardiners warranty but within **** Furniture's warranty. As a condition of the vendor's warranty he is responsible for transportation fees. The $150.00 covers delivery /set up to his home and covers the return of the pieces that have been replaced. Mr. ******* declined to accept the terms of the contract and stated he would call the Director of Sales, ****,to further discuss. Mr. ******* never made that call, however, **** reached out on two different occasions, both times leaving voice messages regarding this situation.

After more than 2 months had passed *** ******* contacted the store manager and was advised that the request had been closed and considered resolved per the terms of Gardiners contract.

The 5 yr plan Mr. ******* has referred to is an Accident Plan not an extended warranty. This plan covers accidental damages caused by the consumer such as cigarette burns, spills, tears, cuts etc. It is not nor was it sold as an extended warranty. A complete copy of the warranty was given to Mr. ******* at the time of purchase.

Gardiners will keep open the offer to replace the 2 pieces of furniture provided the $150.00 transportation fee is paid no later than November 30,2013. If this matter is not resolved the offer to replace the furniture will be null and void.






Complaint Resolution: BBB determined the company made a reasonable offer to resolve the issues, but the consumer did not accept the offer.

02/03/2012Advertising / Sales Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Furniture - Retail, Office Furniture & Equipment, Mattresses, Beds - Retail

Additional Information

top

If a business refers you to another company or uses sub-contractors, BBB recommends that you research that company including reviewing their BBB business review.

BBB file opened: 08/01/1985Business started: 06/01/1941
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: January 1953, MD

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Gary E. Mullaney (President)Customer Contact: Ms. Denise Holechek (Customer Service Manager)Mr Bob Iwanowski (VP/General Manager)Ms. Kasee Taksey-Lehrl (Advertising Manager)
Number of Employees

155

Business Category

Furniture - Retail, Office Furniture & Equipment, Mattresses, Beds - Retail

Products & Services

This company offers full service brand name living room, bedroom, dining room, home office, entertainment, and accent furniture sales as well as mattress and bedding sales.

Service Area

Serves all of Maryland's Greater Baltimore Region including but not limited to Columbia, Dundalk, Ellicott City, Essex, Glen Burnie, Hunt Valley, Parkville, Pikesville, Randallstown, Reisterstown, Timonium, and Severna Park.

Alternate Business Names
Gardiners Home Furnishings Center, Inc.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Gardiners Furniture

4241 Brookhill Rd

Baltimore, MD 21215-2200

To | From

Find a LocationX
Or, display all locations
Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Greater Maryland, serving Western MD to the Eastern Shore. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Gardiners Furniture is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (877) 272-9023
X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on December 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Furniture - Retail

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.