BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Gardiner Wolf Furniture

Find a Location

Phone: (410) 358-1730Fax: (410) 585-1748View Additional Phone Numbers4241 Brookhill Rd, BaltimoreMD 21215-2200http://www.gardinerwolf.com/

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Gardiner Wolf Furniture is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Gardiner Wolf Furniture's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 29 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

29 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 9 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Delivery Issues2
Guarantee / Warranty Issues2
Problems with Product / Service23
Billing / Collection Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 29

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Gardiner Wolf Furniture

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (29)
06/07/2016Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Furniture purchase on 3.20.16 with a 4-6 week guaranteed delivery....it is 5.23.16...no furniture...
I have spoken with the salesperson on 3 separate occasions and have been informed it's on its way...it has been 9 weeks and no information as to even an estimated delivery date. I believe this salesperson promised something he knew he could not deliver in order to get the sale. Had I been told the truth about the delivery time frame, I would have ordered different furniture. This time frame was guaranteed.

Desired Settlement
I would like my furniture

Business Response
It appears there was a cover delay on this order SXXXXX. The store provided financial compensation to Ms. ******* for the delay and this is now scheduled for delivery tomorrow, June 1st, 2016. We apologize for the hold up.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

03/15/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Refund issues after repair and replacement was not made
This is the letter I recently wrote to corporate:
First I do not prefer any of your furniture stores, but Bel Air will NEVER get our business again.
Timeline:

10/31/2015 - Bought a couch at Gardiner Wolfe in Bel Air because the salesman told us it was in stock. That was the first lie. We never signed a contract, but I paid for the furniture in full at the store on 11/2/2015

11/17/2015 - The furniture then was not delivered until the week before Thanksgiving. The couch and ottoman was defective and we called the store. They said they would have to send someone out to look at it.

12/2015 - They finally sent out a gentleman to review the product which he stated was too defective to repair on site. He took photos and said he would have to contact corporate.

Mid December - Someone contact my husband, ***** to ask if we wanted a store credit for the damages or if we wanted the couch replaced. We told them we wanted it replaced and we do NOT want a defective couch. They agreed to replace.

January 2016 - several weeks passed with no word from Gardiner. I called the warehouse and the store and they said the couch was back ordered. Even though we saw you were running a special on the couch through television advertisement.

2/10/2016 - I called the warehouse and they told me they could see that the ottoman was on back order but I would have to file a complaint through the store.

2/10/2016 - I call and asked to speak to a Manager ********* answered the phone and stated that the manager was on another call and would have to call me back) She took all of my information and my complaint.

2/10/2016 - No manager EVER called back.

2/24/2016 - I called again to speak with a manager...no one was available, so I'm sure at this point I'm not a valued customer.

3/3/2016 - To date, no one from your store has tried to rectify the situation and at this point I intend to file a complaint with the Better Business Bureau and contact my credit company to have them dispute the charges. I do not want to keep this pathetic, poorly constructed couch. Nor do I want any further business with your company. I tried to rectify the situation with your company, to replace and then eventually to just refund our money and come pick up the couch.
We never signed a contract for the couch, because your sales clerk/accounting clerk never instructed us to do so. If needed, I will contact an attorney at a small claims court.

****** ***** XXX-XXX-XXXX

Desired Settlement
I would like them to refund my money and pick up their defective merchandise.

Business Response
It's always unfortunate when the quality of the furniture does not meet our or our customer's expectations. As the customer stated the technician agreed there were production issues with the furniture and agreed to replace. Although frustrating the customer was with full use of their furniture while the replacement order was waiting to be filled.

On March 2,2016, *****, the regional sales manager called the home number listed on the order XXX-XXX-XXXX. The voice message said it was *****, the purchaser on the account, and to please leave a message. The regional manager asked that Mr. ***** please call him to discuss this situation and to advise that we could now deliver his furniture on exchange ticket EXXXXX one day next week , whenever customer was available or to discuss additional options if this was no longer what the customer wanted. Additionally, ***** called the XXX-XXX-XXXX number and was told that there was not a Mr. or Mrs. ***** at this number.

Gardiner Wolf is happy to oblige the customer by either replacing the furniture, which is now in stock or be picking up the furniture and refunding all monies paid. This offer is valid for 14 days.

Please provide a number where ***** , regional manager, can speak with the customer.

We apologize that this concern has created such a headache for our customer and look forward to working with the *****'s to rectify.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

01/04/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The establishment did not honor the price they had listed on a piece of furniture even though the price was on the piece for about a month.
To whom it may concern
Representatives from the company include:
** - sales associate
******** - office manager
****/ed - store manager
**** - general store manager

On Veteran's Day November 07 , 2015 I went to Gardiners and walked around trying to get furniture for my home. I planned on getting all the furniture from Gardieners due to the nice stuff I found
** came to us on our first trip . on that trip we took pictures of every piece.
Two or three weeks later we came back ready to purchase the items everything we sought out ** due to him helping with us upon our first visit.
We had all the pieces picked out along with the picture and the price tag for ease of identifying and putting together a budget
** acknowledged how easy it was to get the stuff from us because of the prep work we had done
We were shopping for 2 living rooms, 2 bedrooms, and a kitchen set and spent over $8000.
The delivery was broken up due to what was in the warehouse and what wasn't . Upon checking out we ran into a hiccup with the 0% but that was rectified that day and the whole process took about 3 hours.
We purchased a lamp when we went to pick up the lamp we were told that the price for the server was not added to the ticket although the server was on the list and the price for the server was wrong. The price was $285 the day we initially saw it and when we went back to purchase which equated to a 3-4 week period. The general manager, **** was there and we came to an agreement of raising the price by $100 and was given 2 pillows for accessories that process was 3 hours. When I was just suppose to take 15 min to pick up a lamp. We received the first delivery no issue but the second delivery, the delivery time was from 10am - 2pm the drivers did not arrive until 330 and we had to call before we even heard from Gardieners or the drivers. When they arrived they were pleasant and told us that the truck broke down and they had to reload onto a new truck. Why we didn't get a call or was told when we called? But then we realized there was no bed frame for one of the bedroom, on the ticket it said it was a floor model but it didn't make the truck. We called the store to see what happened and the office manager, ******** said the next day to deliver was 18th not acceptable so we talked to another manager ****/** and we threaten that we would not have yet another day off or hours taken away from work or family and we had plans that evening at 630pm so he sent someone out who arrived at 611pm we stressed again that we had plans and needed to leave by 630, the guy when arrived my wife asked if he was the store house manager and he replied no I am the guy they send out to customers with bad attitudes, she responded oh really, do I have an attitude? And do you know the whole story? He replied by maybe that was the wrong answer and no they did not disclose what happened and it was none of his concern. He did not come prepared and we had to give him a hex screw driver to complete the job which was finish at 650pm. After he finished we cancelled the plans and went to the store and talked to ******** and ** and explained to them in detail the series of events and how we were displeased and we are willing to forgive if we can get a few items we walked around the store and took pictures of accessories and maybe a couple of end tables. We emailed the pictures to ******** and she relayed them to the General Manager ********. We explained we were not looking to get all the pieces but at least a few. ** called the next day and said there was nothing they could do and we replied okay thank you. Fifteen minutes later we received another call from ** offering $50 gift card. We respectfully declined due to the amount of time and money spent with the store $50 could barely purchase another pillow.

Desired Settlement
For the time lost waiting for the delivery and additional time used to come to complete the order after they were the cause of the issue and the extra time and discussions required to get the complete order delivered and finally the disrespect shown to my wife by the delivery driver, I would like them to provide a few of the items on the list of accessories on the email that was sent to the office manager the evening of the delivery and an apology to my wife.

Business Response
Gardiner Wolf agrees that there were many situations in which could have been handled better and sincerely apologize for the time and aggravation it caused our customer. The omission of the server resulted in a very well negotiated reduced price for the customer, nearly $200.00 less than the sales price and in addition the store manager provided 2 pillows valued at $100.00 for no charge.

The delivery contractor sent out a supervisor to install the missing frame on the date requested by the customer. He was dispatched from a location other than our warehouse and was unaware of the reason for the service call, only that a customer needed him to be at their home to resolve a problem no later than 6:30pm, hence his need to borrow tools. It's unfortunate it came across that he is sent out to resolve customers with bad attitudes and if I were able to replay that conversation he more than likely stated he handles problem issues, not problem customers. The interpretation is certainly easy to take offensively and please accept Gardiner Wolf's apology for offending our customer. This was not his intention.

In lieu of the $50.00 gift card a store credit ticket has been entered for $200.00 that the customer may use to purchase any items of his choice. This amount is available on store credit ticket # TXXXXX or he may provide his phone number to the office to access this credit.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
In regards to the general manager's response, I systematically determined what my time was worth which excluded normal furniture purchase and delivery time. To calculate what my time is worth, I used my hourly rate from my day job and produced what I thought was reasonable, the other option was to ask for 10% off of the purchase order. The general manager's response was in line with the difficulty received while working with this company. Gardiner's in Towson shows absolutely no regard to their customers time, and many of the employees have displayed this from the top management down to the delivery guy (who identified himself as Gardiner's warehouse manager's cousin). I have had such a bad time working with this store. The general manager offered $50 gift card and $200 store credit. Nothing at the store of any value to me can be found at this price and above all I precisely identified items, yet again, that would go nicely with my decor. When we settled on throw pillows while the store made the mistake of marking the server at a lower price and kept the price on the server for over a month from when I noticed it. But it shows how reasonable I am as a customer but how this store continue to mess up. Had I known that this was going to be a series of unfortunate events for me I would have not made this agreement. Again, this store makes the customer's pay for their (Gardiner's) mistakes and due to the name of the store, they treat customers with little to no value. I would return all the furniture, if I did not sign a contract. They expect their money on time but if I don't pay I get penalized, but when they do not honor their promise they pay with throw pillows and $50 gift cards. I work very hard for my money, thus I buy myself nice things, with that being said I do not have the want or need for anymore throw pillows, which is basically all I can buy with $200 store credit and maybe one or two accent bowls.

Final Business Response
Once again we apologize for the inconvenience and oversight in the pricing error, however, it is and was the customer's right to negate the order or to agree upon a price. As compensation for the error the customer has already received $300 in price adjustments and product (throw pillows).

We respect that Mr. ****** works hard for his money and will therefore send him a refund check for $200 rather than issuing a store credit as previously offered. This will allow Mr. ****** to use the funds as he wishes or deposit them back into his account.

Final Consumer Response
Once again we apologize for the inconvenience and oversight in the pricing error, however, it is and was the customer's right to negate the order or to agree upon a price. As compensation for the error the customer has already received $300 in price adjustments and product (throw pillows).

We respect that Mr. ****** works hard for his money and will therefore send him a refund check for $200 rather than issuing a store credit as previously offered. This will allow Mr. ****** to use the funds as he wishes or deposit them back into his account.

12/17/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
chair ordered 4/27/15; delivered 8/17. (4 MONTHS) The cushion was so hard couldn't use it,
I called immediately & spoke to my sales rep. She sent out someone to look at it within 2 days. A towering big man at least 6'3-4". he could not make a dent in the cushion and ordered a replacement. Said it would be a quick turnaround maybe max 2 weeks. I am still waiting. About 2-3 weeks ago I spoke to my sales rep Claudia Harkins who told me someone from customer service would be calling. NEVER HEARD FROM THEM. Recently I called the store and asked for Claudia and the reception said she was there and went to get her. She was told to tell me that I have to deal with customer service.

LAST WEEK, I SENT A DETAILED COMPLAINT TO THE PRESIDENT OF GARDINERS, AND IT WAS IGNORED.

This chair cost me $800. It has been sitting in the living totally covered with the tags. NOW I JUST WANT THEM TO COME AND PICK UP THE CHAIR AND REFUND MY MONEY.

Desired Settlement
PICK UP THE CHAIR AND REFUND MY MONEY!

Business Response
This is a special order chair and is a non cancellable or returnable item unless it's deemed defective or the issue cannot be corrected. A 6'1" average weight technician visited the home on X-XX-XX and the technician requested that we order a "softer" core per the customers request from Broyhill. Parts can take anywhere from 4 weeks to 12 weeks depending on the manufacturer and availability. Broyhill's parts have been running slower than average because of some internal software changes slowing down the processing time. PO# XXXXXX was placed and the part has arrived. The customer was contacted on 12-3 and service is currently scheduled for 12-16 with *******. Gardiners reserves the right to attempt to replace the core as ordered. We will send out not only the new core but the sample core from the showroom so the customer can compare with her core, what she originally sat on and the replacement core. Returning the special order chair is not an option.
Work order AA9JKJ is scheduled for service on 12-16-15.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
There was no option to accept Gardiner's response with a stipulation wherein I could add a concern. I will accept their response providing that if the cushion they are replacing is to my satisfaction and that it fits the chair properly. Under these conditions, I would be happy to accept the company's response.
But for the record a customer should not have to wait 8-9 months for a piece of furniture (just a chair) no matter what issues the company may be having! And for their pleas for help go unaddressed.

Final Business Response
Gardiners ultimate goal is to meet Ms.*****'s expectations of her Broyhill chair. We are sending out the replacement core that was ordered from Broyhill as well as the core from the floor sample, which according to Ms.***** was desired. Should one or the other core not prove to be a softer seat we will allow Ms.***** to reselect to a chair of her preference.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I feel confident with this last response that Gardiner's will satisfy my concerns to keep a happy customer. Thank you.

11/03/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Product workmanship
I purchased a sleeper sectional April 2015 using a Gardiners credit card called first issue the back panel sofa had to be restitched and the chase pillow was to large . The next issue the springs making noises,that problems took another 8 weeks for some to come out , the spring kit was replaced a couple weeks ago and the spring are still making
noises

Desired Settlement
Refund,

Business Response
We are sorry that our customer is not satisfied with her purchase. Sleeper units in general tend to make noise from the metal springs that hold the mattress. This often dissipates over time. The customer had requested an even exchange, however we don't feel this is in her best interest, therefore we would like to offer a reselection to a different product and preferably something without a sleeper unit.

Please have the customer contact Denise in the Customer Care Dept at XXX-XXX-XXXX x1520 to make the necessary arrangements.

Thank you.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I do accept the offer to exchange the sofa sleeper sectional that I currently have now, however I want another sectional sleeper just better quality, that's my first choice preferably .

Page 1 of 3
07/04/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The office Assistance Manger, became rude, brusque and quickly hanged up the phone.
On 31 May 2016, I searched your web site for three-piece sectional sofas. I had made a few inquiries online and missed two phone calls from Tony and Kenny (Towson). When I return the call. The office Assistance Manger, answered, ("I don't know why, any one would be calling you from tis number") the phone and became rude, brusque and quickly hanged up the phone.
I have a stored credit (>$2000.00) based on the items, I first selected, which did not fit into the doorway (prior measurements were provided and delivery people, said they did not received). I want a full refund. It would be impossible for me to continue to shop at this store.

Desired Settlement
I want a full refund.

Business Response
Thank you for reporting your experience regarding the assistant office manager. We pride ourselves in good customer service and expect that to be adhered to at all times on all levels.
Our records indicate that on 6-12-16 this ticket N16997 was scheduled for delivery on 6-17-16. That was days after this request was posted, therefore, we will proceed with the scheduled delivery for this Friday 6-17-16. A refund is denied.

01/12/2016Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Old mattress/boxsprings taken and delivery instructions said not to. Gardiners will not reimburse me or provide me with another one.
Bedroom furniture delivered on 10/9/15. No problems except I had previously expressed to the sales associate (Shannon Boone) that I didn't want my old bed taken, but they took it anyway. I was outside at the barn when they were setting up furniture. I signed the paperwork after they were done, but didn't discover my missing mattress and boxsprings until after they left. The old mattress/boxsprings was in another room entirely! After a phone call to manager, they said they wouldn't be able to retrieve my old bed as it goes into one big bin and hauled away. The manager offered to give me a new mattress/boxspring, but it would be at cost. I told him I didn't want to BUY a new bed. He said he'd check to see if there were any floor models or discontinued models he could give me but he said he couldn't find any. I am very dissatisfied at their handling of this issue and I feel they owe me another bed because removal of the old one was not authorized.

Desired Settlement
I realize I will not be able to get my old mattress/boxsprings back, but I feel that they owe me another set since it was their error.

Business Response
With the purchase of new bedding Gardiners furniture offers as an accommodation to it's customers free removal and disposal of old, used bedding. The customer signed the Home Delivery Responsibility sheet and it's listed under #5 that Gardiners will remove the replaced bedding from your home if you purchase a set of bedding from us. The old bedding was standing up in a different room which happens more often than not so that customers can make room for the new arrival. Gardiners would have gladly returned the disposed bedding had the customer contacted us that day or shortly thereafter. Unfortunately 4-5 days had passed *** the removed bedding had been disposed of for sanitary purposes. The home responsibility sheet also specifies it is the responsibility of the consumer to be home during the entire delivery time frame and the signature on the shipping ticket acknowledges we performed our responsibilities noted above to the customer's satisfaction. By signing for the delivery the customer acknowledged that the delivery was completed to her satisfaction. It is unfortunate that she did not wish to have her old bedding removed however it was left to the drivers discretion to take the bedding in the absence of the home owner who was outside on the property dealing with other matters. We are unable to provide the customer with a replacement set of bedding at no charge.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
We told the sales associate that we didn't want the old bedding removed. I verified that w/someone in the store on one of the occasions that I talked with them.
I'm extremely disappointed that they are it taking responsibility with this issue-I will not be doing any future business with this company.

11/02/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We ordered the items on May 25, it was promised 8-12 weeks for delivery and now, 15 weeks later we are still waiting on 1 (of two) pieces.
Order was made on May 25. Both furniture sets were custom ordered and would take 8-12 weeks. Since exact delivery date was unknown sales person put down "Early August" with the promise that we would get a call to confirm exact delivery date when that time comes.

On Monday, July 27 (9 weeks from order) we called Gardiners because we had not hear from them. They said they would check and get back to us - no answer. Then we called August 3rd, still no update or delivery date. Finally, we called August 10 (11 weeks from order) and we were informed that there was a delay and they would have to get back to us on completion/delivery date.

Finally, on August 28 (13+ weeks from order) we received a call informing us they could deliver it on Sept. 11. We insisted they deliver it the very next week (Aug 31-Sept4) or we would be cancelling order. WITH A LOT OF DRAMA, STRESS, EXCUSES AND ADDITIONAL PHONE CALLS they decided to deliver on Sept 1.

When they delivered the two sets, one was fine but on the second (our dining table) they did not have the hardware to assemble it. So they left the pieces in our kitchen awaiting the hardware.

One last call (we are sick of hand holding this company to demonstrate good customer service) on Sept 2 to find out when we should expect the hardware to arrive so we (like IKEA) can assemble the furniture as described by the sales staff.

No one of any authority or concern was ever available to speak with on the phone. We were the "can that was kicked down the road" without resolution and clearly without any care. The end may be in sight but after more than 15 weeks from the order date we are ready to return the dining table for a full refund.

Desired Settlement
This has caused a lot of mental stress and anguish for us since we have lived with an empty kitchen awaiting the furniture for more than 6 weeks without any update or information. BREACH OF CONTRACT is a no brainer here and we have been reasonable along the way but Gardiners staff has not demonstrated any level of care or concern about fulfilling their end of the contract after receiving our payment.

I am expecting not only the delivery charge to be refunded but also a meaningful portion of the dining table's cost given the gross delay in delivery completion.

Business Response
Customer spoke with the General Manager, *******, and has accepted an allowance for their incovenience and concerns. As Always thank you for helping us strive to be better!

10/30/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Recliner set was special order, were made poorly and make lots of noises
our recliner set make lots of noise when we want to recline them because there is no space between leathers rub each other tightly and will damage the leather eventually and also it is made very poorly. I spent around $5000 for this set. I am very disappointed and repairman who came look at the furniture said there is nothing he can do about it.He took some pictures to show them to his boss and when we talk to customer service in repair department they said there is no manufacture defect ?????

Desired Settlement
If it is not repairable, I need they make me another one with higher quality work

Business Response
I believe there may be a misunderstanding between the customer and what the technician informed him on the first visit. The reclining sofa and loveseat have a "floating" middle footrest that can easily be lowered to eliminate the leather rubbing on leather. *********** did not allow the technician to move the middle footrest because he was concerned it would leave holes where it was previously. The technician tried to explain it's meant to move, designed to move and is a quick and easy fix. The customer refused the service recommended to correct. Subsequently the customer called service and it was suggested by our leather provider that using baby powder on leather to leather would eliminate noise. The same technician revisited the home and began to apply but the customer asked him to stop. This problem is easily corrected provided the customer allows us to service the product as he requests in his claim. Because this is special ordered merchandise and not merchandise that we have in stock we can send this back to the manufacturer to adjust the footrests. We can arrange to pick up his sofa and loveseat, ship back to **** ***** *** and they will make all of the necessary corrections. It would be at the discretion of the manufacturer to service or replace the furniture. Upon return from the manufacturer ******** **** would arrange a redelivery back to the customer. ******** **** is happy to resolve this either by adjusting the middle footrest on the ottoman portion of his reclining pieces or will return the furniture to the vendor for it to be corrected at the plant. Please advise how the customer would like to proceed.

Final Business Response
The General Manager spoke with the customer and he has opted to have the furniture corrected by the manufacturer. We will be picking the furniture up on EXXXXX on Tuesday 10-27-15. We are estimating 2-4 weeks to return to customer unless the factory has to make new furniture at which time we will update the customer.

08/24/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On 7/24/15, we purchased a dining table & bed. We attempted to resolve the unwanted bed after 1wk (its estimated delivery was 12wks, but no response
On 7/24/15, we purchased a dining table and bed. We were told the bed would be delivered the first week of August, while the bed would be delivered approx. in 12weeks. We visited the store after approx. 1 wek as we thought we had 30days to change our minds (we were unsure of the bed). I ws told someone would call me to schedule delivery dates and ("T" numbers for delivery). No one ever called. After 1-week, I visited the store,and I requested to speak with the store manager, who did not come out to speak with me. I was informed we had only had 3days to decide, and the bed was already ready to be delivered, as well as the table. I asked about how the bed could be special order and ready in 1-week not 12-weeks, and I was asked why no one called to deliver the table as it was originally in-stock. They gave me no specific answers, but told me there was nothing they could do to resolve my dissatisfaction with the bed, even though we had paid in cash, and not utilized any financing/credit. I asked to "exchange" the bed for a model I wanted, which would have cost more, which I was willing to pay, but the store staff refused this solution. I now know after the fact, that this store was not BBB accredited and has a recent and frequent history of complaints to the BBB. I was willing to realistically resolve this issue, and not only were the staff at Gardiner's unwilling, but their customer service was so poor as to cause me to leave the store in tears. I am filing this complaint in hopes this issue can be resolved, as well as a way to hold such companies with poor customer service accountable.

Desired Settlement
My husband and I would like to return the originally ordered bed, and are willing to purchase the bed we like (per online catalog), at the price of a local competitor (Gardiner's website states they price match).

Business Response
Please accept our apology for the obstacles you've faced in regards to your special order Broyhill bed. Special orders can take anywhere from 4-12 weeks and usually once the order is placed with the manufacturer the order cannot be canceled. This does not excuse the fact that you were not able to speak with a manager or unable to get this resolved when you visited the showroom.
It appears this has not yet been delivered and is scheduled for 8-17-15. Barb, the store manager, will be giving you a call within the next 24 hours to discuss some possible options in an effort to resolve this issue. You are a valued customer and every effort will be made to resolve this situation to your satisfaction. If for any reason her call is missed you may contact me in the Customer Care Dept at 410-358-1730 x1520 and I will gladly work with you and Barb to get this resolved.
Denise


Page 1 of 4

Industry Comparison| Chart

Furniture - Retail, Office Furniture & Equipment, Mattresses, Beds - Retail

Additional Information

top

If a business refers you to another company or uses sub-contractors, BBB recommends that you research that company including reviewing their BBB business review.

BBB file opened: 08/01/1985Business started: 06/01/1941
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: January 1953, MD

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Gary E. Mullaney (President)Customer Contact: Ms. Denise Holechek (Customer Service Manager)Mr Bob Iwanowski (VP/General Manager)Ms. Kasee Taksey-Lehrl (Advertising Manager)
Number of Employees

155

Business Category

Furniture - Retail, Office Furniture & Equipment, Mattresses, Beds - Retail

Products & Services

This company offers full service brand name living room, bedroom, dining room, home office, entertainment, and accent furniture sales as well as mattress and bedding sales.

Service Area

Serves all of Maryland's Greater Baltimore Region including but not limited to Columbia, Dundalk, Ellicott City, Essex, Glen Burnie, Hunt Valley, Parkville, Pikesville, Randallstown, Reisterstown, Timonium, and Severna Park.

Alternate Business Names
Wolf Furniture Enterprises Inc.

Additional Business Names and Locations are viewable by clicking Find a Location

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Gardiner Wolf Furniture

4241 Brookhill Rd

Baltimore, MD 21215-2200

To | From

Find a LocationX
Or, display all locations
Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Greater Maryland. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Gardiner Wolf Furniture is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (877) 272-9023
X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on December 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Furniture - Retail

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.