BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 03/10/2010

Next Day Floors

Phone: (410) 298-7223Fax: (443) 729-2041

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service9
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints10

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (10)BBB Closure Definitions
07/10/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Contract Complaint Issue

Complaint: Vinyl flooring was ordered for the bathroom and the kitchen. After everything was decided, when the salesman wrote up the contract he reversed them.
On June 23, 2014, I ordered vinyl flooring for the bathroom and kitchen. The kitchen is about 5 times larger than the bathroom. When the style for the bathroom was picked out, the salesman, **** *********** commented that this design with variably sized squares would look good in the bathroom because it is smaller and needs this type of design. When the design for the kitchen was picked out (equal sized squares), the salesman said it was good that both of us looking at the designs, picked the same one. So it was decided that the bathroom would get the variable sized squares and the kitchen would get the equal sized squares. We then went to another house to do a carpeting estimate and also do the paper work for the vinyl order. He then presented me with a contract for the kitchen using equal sized squares and described it as ******* ******** Victoria Light and for the bathroom using variable sized squares and described it as Gerflor ******* Cassiopee Grass. There was no quantity of flooring next to either line item. I agreed to the price and the installation date and signed the contract. I had no idea at this time and would have no reason to think that when he filled out the contract, he reversed the flooring choices. He listed the bathroom choice for the kitchen and the kitchen choice for the bathroom. When the day of installation came, about 10 a.m., the installers brought in two long rolls of flooring, one with variable sized squares and one with equal sized squares. They brought the correct ones. The installers proceeded to tear up the kitchen and bathroom floors in preparation to put the new ones down. When it came time to lay the new kitchen floor about 1 p.m., the installer spread out the bathroom floor. I told him that was for the bathroom and asked him if he had enough on the other roll to do the kitchen. He said no, just enough for the bathroom. I told him they were reversed. He called the company and advised them what I said. The salesman called me and said its in the contract that way...its in the contract that way...its in the contract that way...I'll have the secretary email you a copy of the contract if you want. I told him he wrote the order wrong and wanted him to offer me an adjustment because of his error. He told me to look at my copy of the contract. With the bathroom all torn up and the kitchen all torn up I had the installers finish the job as they were told to do. The bathroom flooring is now in the kitchen and the kitchen flooring is now in the bathroom and they will be that way for at least ten years or more. When I signed and paid for the invoice, I wrote on it that the salesman reversed the orders and I expected an adjustment to the price because of his error. I have yet to hear from the company. I would appreciate your assistance in this matter since the salesman and company have poor attitudes about the error that was committed.

Initial Business Response

This issue was quickly resolved yesterday,June 7,2014. Your e-mail with the complaint actually arrived before the invoice on which Mr. ***** wrote that he expected an adjustment. That paperwork is only turned in to the office once a week. The salesperson did not feel he made a mistake on the contract that Mr. ***** signed. But as soon at the Operations Manager was made aware of the situation she called Mr. ***** and told him we would credit his account $300.00. She also explained what happened and apologized for the confusion. Mr. ***** was happy with the this resolution.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

09/06/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Defective, damaged, or incorrect product received

Complaint: Carpet and wood floors installed and there has been problems with both since day one.Called to have looked at and were supposed to hear back never did
My husband and I had floors put in about 6 months ago,we had laminate and carpet put through the entire house. We then had a flood in the basement and had to have more carpet put in and used them again. Since day one we have had problems with carpet where they had to come out and get what was underneath the carpet. Then the laminate starting lifting about 1 month after it was laid, they said that it was cause of moisture, no moisture in the home. Then we noticed that more boards were lifting....we then bought new furniture and when it was delivered and they lifted the old furniture up there was a big dent in the floor, Nest Day Floors sent someone out that said that we had to heavy of furniture, then I called and a lady said that she was going to send another contractor out to look at it...about 3 weeks they sent someone out and they came and looked but never heard back about 2 weeks from Next Day Floors and I had to call them. The person that I spoke with ***** I was told by another person in office that she was fired, they again could not find paper work about my floors and that someone came out to inspect them.I then asked to speak with the manager and they put me on the phone with ***** **** who said that he will look into this then call me back. He never called back I again had to call him.He said that he will send another person to inspect floors because he cant find the name of the company that came out,I gave him the number and name of the company and all he had to do ws call to verify they looked at the floors. ** then set another appointment for another company to come out. This company came out and the man said that the damage under the couch was due to the Laminate floor being rotted, then the lifting of over 6 other pieces lifted is due to moisture and this kind of floor does this...he then said that the company will try to blame because we have a dog.Our dog is in cage when we are not at home...she does not have access to our house only the kitchen and she is caged when we cant watch her.

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ******* ********, Pres.
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *********@nextdayfloors.net
Mrs. ******'s original purchase was on 11/1/12 and it was installed on 11/12/12. It was reported that something was under the master bedroom carpet. An installer returned on 11/16/12 and Mr, ****** signed that the problem has been rectified. The padding had a hard spot in it. On 2/23/13 it was reported that the laminate was buckling under the couch and it was noticed when new furniture was moved. Even though it was 4 months after the installation and it could have been caused by the customer or the furniture movers, we fixed the problem. Mrs. ****** signed that the work had been successfully completed on 3/2/13. On his bill the installer noted that it was water damage. On 2/14/13 Mr. ****** made a second purchase from us for carpet and vinyl after they had a flood in the basement. That was installed in early March without any issues. On 8/7/13 a call was made saying the floor was buckling in more places. We had some changes with our staff and there is no record of who went out. Mrs. ****** called back on 8/12//13. A new employee, Erika, took the call , told no one, and did not return to work the nest day. We do apologize for that. Mrs. ****** then spoke to the Operations Manager, ***** ***** We knew from the previous report that it was more water damage but we sent out a "Certified Independent Inspector". His report states that "The condition affecting the floor is of swollen seams from moisture intrusion from above. This is consistant with the spillage of liquids, which is locally cased and the responsibility of the consumer." Mr. **** called Mrs. ****** to tell her of the report and she was not happy and wants us to replace the entire floor. There is no manufacturing defect as stated in the report. We fixed the first water damage at our expense but cannot do so again. If Mrs. ****** would like we can give her a price for repairing the 4 damaged planks. I will mail Mr. And Mrs. ****** a copy of the report. I can also furnish it and all other documentation to your office.

Consumer's Final Response
This is an add on to the last response. They don't even have record that the carpet people came out three times to fix issues. The first was a hard piece of padding in the hallway. The second was in the master bedroom, supposedly a piece of jewelry under the carpet. The installer took a rubber hammer and beat until it was flat. He then stated that was one of my children's fault. The third was in another bedroom and again the installer took a hammer to it. The fact that they don't have any records of those visits show a growing problem with communication. This led to a missing report that was in our favor. This is highly unacceptable for customer service.

Business' Final Response
see attachment or go to case link for supporting documents.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

11/12/2013Problems with Product / Service
08/19/2013Problems with Product / Service
10/02/2012Advertising / Sales Issues
Page 1 of 2
12/27/2011Problems with Product / Service
08/05/2011Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Floors - Hardwood, Contractors - Flooring, Carpet & Rug Dealers - New, Tile - Ceramic - Contractors & Dealers, Floors - Laminate

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.