BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

mdcrabbers.com

Phone: (866) 496-5063

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints3

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)
10/17/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Order not delivered on time, shipping tracking number not provided, won't call back.
I ordered crabs to be delivered Sept 11. I have email confirmation of the order and delivery address. I was not sent a tracking number. Despite many efforts, the man has never responded to any of my emails or phone calls. When I was going through the order process, he would return calls sometimes before I even finished leaving a message. Since the delivery date was missed, I have called and emailed repeatedly and have heard nothing back from him.

Desired Settlement
I want my $78.99 back. An apology would be nice, too, but I'll settle for the money.

Business Response
Ms. ***** has been in communication with us since Sept 9, 2014, when she first placed an order with us by telephone up until the 10th when she called last minute before we were suppose to ship her package out, when she had asked to change the delivery address. Because we had to modify the shipping label right before the package left, we did not update the system with the new tracking number. However, the package was tendered over to UPS on time for a scheduled delivery on Sept 11, 2014. Unfortunately the pkg was delayed due to weather in her area. (See Tracking No. 1ZAXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX). She blamed us saying we were responsible for the delay for not giving her the updated tracking no. The delay again was weather related, which is not guaranteed under our shipoing terms.

This was her quoted response

"I know it got hung up in Vegas because of weather. But it doesn't matter because you're still responsible because you guarantee satisfaction."

As much as we want to guarantee satisfaction we certainly do not guarantee delays due to Acts of God nor does any other crab company that ships.

Ms. ***** feels we caused the delay, and caused UPS not to release the package on time, and we did not give her the new tracking no. She indicated she was in the blind for days not knowing where her package was, yet she did instruct her recipient to refuse the package the day after, when the package was delivered, when even on the 2nd day, the package would have been fine, as it was packed in an insulated styrofoam box, with ample gel packs.

She called and emailed 3 days, and many more after that later asking for a refund, which we had told her repeatedly, we would not be able to do, as it was a delay beyond our control, which she has agreed to. See our shipping terms on our website under Weather Delays.

We understand she called numerous times, but it is fact that we do get a lot of calls throughout the day.





Final Business Response
Also, to say we have had no communication with her since the shipment is a completely false. We have emailed and been in talks with her 6 times, with her responding to all of our explanations after Sept 11 regarding the delay and explanation on the guarantee. She was just not happy with the response. And doesn't agree to the Weather Delay clause.

09/08/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My wife and I ordered a half bushel of crabs for our wedding anniversary which arrived sour with a bad fish smell that crabs shouldn't have.
Crabs purchased for delivery on 8-5-14 arrived on time but once we picked a crab each we noticed a nasty fish smell that crabs shouldn't have. We tried a couple more crabs each but once we began picking them they all had that nasty fish smell. Seeing as the whole batch was bad we closed them up and called MDCrabbers and after being transferred to the operators manager I was treated to a fairly rude bullying call telling me that that shouldn't happen and that all they could do was credit us for half the order. I'm sure you understand that once you get bad seafood from somewhere you really don't want to go back. If I had been treated with courtesy I may have been more inclined to want a credit but after being talked to like somehow it was my fault that the crabs were bad or that I was too stupid to know what bad seafood smells like all I want is for people to know that they have a chance at getting bad crabs and that they won't do much of anything to help you. Also this isn't the first time we've gotten crabs shipped to us though we never had any problems when dealing with ********** ***** and will simply be returning our business to them. I just don't want to see anyone get sick because of bad crabs.

Order Info...
order# XXXXX
customer ID XXXXX
Order Date 7-9-2014
delivery date 8-5-2014
Order was placed online via credit card
I didn't get the name of the sales rep or manager I talked to
Order total $224.90

Desired Settlement
Very simple a refund of the amount for the order total and an apology.

Business Response
The customer had called us complaining initially about the heaviness of the crabs and asked for a discount on their order. Then after we indicated we would not refund them, for 3 reasons, because they had already eaten half the crabs, which is something we state clearly on our website regarding claims, that product must be intact for reimbursement, not consumed. Secondly, they did not call us back the same day they received their package for us to identify issues at hand, and thirdly, they did not want to return the package despite our request to have it returned. Despite all this, we still offered to issue a refund on half of their order to alleviate the situation. They were not happy, because they wanted a full reimbursement which we told them we could not do, given the guidelines they did not follow.

Again, fact that customer ate half the crabs, and wanted a full refund, using the claim it smelled bad later was indeed fishy. Why would you eat crabs if it smelled bad in the first place and refuse to return the package on request.

It is quite interesting that they had to endorse ******** in this complaint.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I'll start off by saying simply none of MDcrabbers response is accurate. I never asked for a discount and I never complained of the heaviness of the crabs from the start it was the stench of fish that came from them. Second we didn't eat half the crabs I never said we hate half the crabs, out of a half bushel we cracked 5 total grabs which is what I told them the day I called, my wife and I each cracked a crab open and the inside was full of olive green mustard not yellow and the smell of fish became very strong. We were hoping that it was just a couple bad crabs the second crabs we each opened had yellow mustard and didn't smell as bad (though it's hard to tell when your already gassed by fish stink) of those we ate a bit of meat under one crab each because it tasted off. Being that we live in Cali now and these crabs were for our wedding anniversary I cracked open one more hoping it was just bad luck but it was just another bad crab. Another error is the time of our call, I called them a half hour after receiving the package and had to open it how else could I find out what state the crabs were in. As well MDcrabbers instructed us not to send the package back, we were more then willing to get it back to ups but the guy on the phone said he didn't want it. As well no offer of a full or partial refund was ever made, I was told in no uncertain terms all they would do was issue a credit for a quarter bushel on a future order. Which is useless as I won't order from these folks again, they are rude, short tempered, distracted when you talk to them on the phone, sell bad crabs then lie on here about what actually occurred. This is precisely why I decided to take this up with you folks at the BBB.

Once again we called the same day a half hour after receiving the package, we ate less then a crab each but cracked a total of 5 out of a half bushel no where near half the order, we were willing to ship it back to them but the specifically refused. I followed the instructions for problems with an order that are listed on their site to no avail. As well after hearing the blathering of lies in their response to my complaint I can only be left feeling that these guys do this sorta thing a lot. All in all MDCrabbers.com seems very shady and at this point would just like others to know what they are getting into before ordering. Thanks for your help in this matter and yes we are still asking for a full refund as well as an apology for the bad crabs the bullish attitude and these flagrant untruths.

03/23/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
MD Crabbers could not ship my order within the time I wanted so I cancelled the order and want a refund.
On 12/22/2015, I ordered a gallon of oysters and a few crabs from their web site. The site did not state if they had stock or not. I called the next day and they stated they were all out of everything so I said "ok then, just cancel my order and refund the money." I have called several times and they will not answer my call. Also have sent emails. The charge amount of $242 still remains on my banking account. Would like a refund.

Desired Settlement
I simply want a refund since they were out of stock and could not deliver prior to Christmas.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Fish & Seafood - Retail, Fish & Seafood - Wholesale, Online Retailer

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.