BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Bill Me Later, Inc. (PayPal Credit) (Headquarters)

Phone: (866) 528-3733Fax: (443) 921-1996

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

821 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 203 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues92
Billing / Collection Issues525
Delivery Issues7
Guarantee / Warranty Issues4
Problems with Product / Service193
Total Closed Complaints821

Additional Complaint Information

Due to complaint volume, only 50% of the eligible complaints filed against this business have their details reported.

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (821)
08/22/2016Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Unauthorized early payment of promotional balance
Paypal credit gives special 6 month interest free financing for purchases over $99.00. Standard purchases are subject to 19.99APR. In July of 2016 I had a promotional balance of $592.32 which expired October/November of 2016. I made standard purchases of several hundred dollars and made three payments totalling $500.00 to offset the standard purchases I made. Paypal credit applied these payments to my promotional balance, which was not due yet, and not to my standard purchases...without my permission. I called customer service and was told they could not do anything because the billing periiod had ended. Now I'm stuck paying off $400 - $500 of standard purchases with interest. I find this practice completely unethical.

Desired Settlement
Paypal credit should waive any interest on standard purchases on my July bill - $442.13 - for the next 6 months, effectively making all standard purchases on my July bill promotional purchases.

Business Response
Your consumer complaint filed with the Better Business Bureau of Greater Maryland was referred to PayPal Credit's Executive Escalations Team for response. We welcome the opportunity to respond to your complaint and to attempt to resolve this matter to your satisfaction.

Your complaint states that in July of 2016, you had promotional balances totaling $592.32 due to expire in October of 2016, and in November of 2016. You state that you made standard purchases of several hundred dollars and made three payments totaling $500.00 to offset your standard purchases. Additionally, you state PayPal Credit applied your payments to your promotional balances without your permission. You called PayPal Credit and were advised that your payments could not be applied to your standard balance since the billing period had ended. You believe PayPal Credit's business practices are unethical. You are requesting for the standard purchases on your July statement to become promotional purchases.

PayPal Credit's records reflect that your PayPal Credit Account ("Account") was opened on May 24, 2007 with an online purchase of $253.42 through ******* with PayPal Credit selected as the payment method. In order for an application to process with PayPal Credit and an account to be opened, the consumer must provide their name, date of birth, billing address, phone number, last four digits of their social security number, and agree to E-Sign Consent and the electronically presented Terms and Conditions at the time of application.

Your statement dated July 2, 2016, shows your payment of $200.00 dated June 3, 2016, in addition to a credit of $35.98 from************ dated June 15, 2016. This statement also shows eight purchases totaling $269.48. This statement reflects three promotional balances totaling $592.32: $356.06 due to expire on October 27, 2016; $131.44 due to expire on November 27, 2016; $104.82 due to expire on November 27, 2016. Also shown on this statement is your ending balance of $825.82 and your minimum payment requirement of $25.00 due by July 27, 2016. Please note that at the time, your Account had a standard balance of $233.50.

Your statement dated August 2, 2016, shows your four payments totaling $900.00. This statement also shows twenty-five purchases totaling $544.36. This statement reflects a promotional balance of $28.05 due to expire on January 27, 2017. Also shown on this statement is your ending balance of $470.18 and your minimum payment requirement of $25.00 due by August 27, 2016.

PayPal Credit's records reflect that your payments totaling $900.00 were applied to your standard balance of $233.50, leaving a zero standard balance. Since you did not have any promotional balances expiring in the next two billing cycles, the remaining $666.50 of your payments was applied to your promotional balance of 592.32 displayed on your statement dated July 2, 2016, and then applied to your promotional purchase of $32.48 with *********** posted on July 17, 2016. The remaining $41.70 of your payments was applied to your promotional purchase of $69.75 with ********** posted on July 17, 2016, leaving a promotional balance of $28.05 due by January 27, 2017.

On August 3, 2016, you called PayPal Credit regarding how your payments were applied to your Account. You stated that you made two payments of $250.00, and that you wanted the payments to be applied to your standard balance. Additionally, you stated that you did not want your payments to be applied to your promotional balances since they were not yet due. The teammate advised you that your payments resolved your standard balance, and then your payments were applied to the remaining promotional balance on your Account. You then asked if one payment of $250.00 could be applied to the standard balance. The teammate consulted with a supervisor regarding the matter, and then advised you that your payment could not be reallocated.

Upon receipt of your complaint, your issue was researched once more. It was found that PayPal Credit will honor a request to allocate payments to purchases that have posted prior to the payment posting. Please note that purchases made after a payment posts cannot be satisfied with that payment. Please also note that any additional payments that you may make within the current billing cycle will post according to the PayPal Credit Payment Hierarchy.

The order in which PayPal Credit applies your payments is set according to the consumer protection guidelines in the Credit Card Accountability, Responsibility, and Disclosure ("CARD") Act. PayPal Credit allocates payments, per the CARD Act, to pay down transactions accruing at the highest interest rate. Please note that the Annual Percentage Rate ("APR") for both your Standard Purchases and your Deferred Interest Purchases discussed in this complaint are the same, 19.99%. Per the Terms and Conditions, "we will use each payment in the amount of the Minimum Payment Due or less, first to pay billed Monthly Plan Payments on any Easy Payments Purchases (in any order we choose), then billed interest, then billed fees, then the principal balance (in any order we choose), and then any other amounts due. However, if you have a balance on a Deferred Interest Purchase, during the two Billing Cycles immediately preceding its Expiration Date, we may use the payment after the amount to pay billed Monthly Plan Payments on any Easy Payments Purchases to pay the balance on such Deferred Interest Purchase." Therefore, PayPal Credit will apply payments to Deferred Interest Purchases when the promotional period is ending within the next two billing cycles. If there are no Deferred Interest Purchases expiring within two cycles of the payment, the payment will be applied to the revolving balance on the Standard Purchases part of the Account during that billing cycle. Please also note that customers have the option to allocate payments however they choose, provided the payment is not older than one billing cycle.

If you pay more than your minimum monthly payment, the excess amount will be applied as follows:

1. Promotional balances where the promotional period will end in the next two billing cycles.
2. Existing revolving balances, including interest and fees (if any), in order from highest to lowest Annual Percentage Rate ("APR").
3. Promotional balances expiring more than two billing cycles from the date we receive your payment, in order of their expiration date.
4. Activity that has occurred on your account since your last statement date.

As previously mentioned, PayPal Credit will honor a request to allocate payments to purchases that have posted prior to the payment posting. On August 11, 2016, PayPal Credit adjusted your payment of $250.00 made on July 14, 2016, per your request on your call dated August 3, 2016. This adjustment will be reflected on your September statement.

Please be advised that PayPal Credit is unable to accommodate your request to make all of the standard purchases on your July statement promotional purchases.

Customer feedback is extremely important to us and we are sorry to hear that you had a negative experience with us. Your comments have been forwarded to our Leadership Team and will be considered as we make future enhancements and updates to our product to ensure we meet your satisfaction in the future.

As of August 17, 2016, your Account is open with a balance of $406.27 and no minimum payment requirement. Please be advised that at this time, your Account balance consists of a standard balance of $136.09 and a promotional balance of $270.18.

We appreciate the time you have taken to share your concerns with us. I hope this information is sufficiently responsive to your complaint.

Thank you,

Krysten G*****
PayPal Credit Executive Escalations
PayPal, Inc.
866-528-3733


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)


08/16/2016Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I called *** ********* Account and had my account closed. I have a credit of $1,464.81. I want that money credited back to my bank account.
RE: Acct. # XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX. I called *** ********* Account about 3 to 4 weeks ago and closed my account. At that time, I had a credit of $ 1464.81. There were no open orders then or are there now. My most recent statement shows a posting date of 06/28/16 with a credit balance refund of $ 1464.81. Just below that, it shows total purchases & adjustments of $1464.81 and says my current balance is zero. I have not made any orders and I want that money credited back to my bank account you have on file. I have overpaid you by $ 1464.81. This is not your money.

Desired Settlement
I want my $ 1,464.81 credited back to my bank account. You were paid by personal check and also you did automatic withdraw from my checking account.

Business Response
Dear Ms. ******:

The **************************** Account is a credit product issued by ********************* (Bank) and serviced by Bill Me Later, Inc. The **************************** Account is a payment option made available by Jewelry Television to its customers. We welcome the opportunity to respond to your complaint and to attempt to resolve this matter to your satisfaction.

Your complaint states that you made two payments on your **************************** Account that created a credit balance of $1464.81. You are requesting for **************************** to refund you for the amount you overpaid.

****************************'s records reflect your **************************** Account ("Account") was opened on September 12, 2015, with a purchase of $18.77 through Jewelry Television, and **************************** was selected as your payment method. In order for an application to process with **************************** and an account to be opened, the consumer must provide their name, date of birth, billing address, phone number, and last four digits of their social security number and agree to and accept the option to share information and review your credit. Upon approval, a copy of the Terms and Conditions were sent to you via U.S. postal mail within seven business days. At that time you were presented with the option to accept or decline the **************************** account.

On June 28, 2016, you contacted **************************** requesting for your Account to be closed. You also stated that you overpaid your Account and that you would like to be refunded. Per your request, a representative closed your Account and issued a refund. The representative also advised you that you would receive a refund check in the amount of $1464.81 within three days.

Upon receipt of your complaint, your Account was sent for review. Please be advised that your Account has been closed since your request on June 28, 2016. **************************** also confirms that the credit balance refund check issued to you on June 28, 2016, has not been cashed. As a courtesy, PayPal Credit has stopped payment on the check and reissued you a check to the address on file. Please allow up to six business days for receipt.

As of today's date August 11, 2016, your Account is closed and reflects a zero balance. We appreciate the time you have taken to share your concerns with us. I hope this information is sufficiently responsive to your complaint.

Sincerely,


***** ******
Executive Escalations Specialist
PayPal Credit
(XXX) XXX-XXXX


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I received a refund check in the amount of $1464.81 on 8/13/2016. I am satisfied this is the amount of credit due to me. I thank **************************** Account for their response in this matter. ******* ******.

08/15/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
In March made a purchase on Ebay using PayPal. On June 6th I returned the item. Finally received a bill from PayPal on 7/28/16 from COLLECTIONS!
On March 23 I placed an order on Ebay with PayPal. On June 6th I returned the item.I did not receive a bill from PayPal until July the 28th, it was from COLLECTIONS! I called was told they could see item was returned. Was transferred 5 times to attempt to resolve the issue. At last was told to go to company I purchased the item from! If the item was returned and the money from the company was returned to PayPal why would they be sending me a bill? It isn't even for the amount I paid for the item. Have no idea what they are trying to pull but have cancelled PayPal and no longer want to deal with their shifty ways. They used to take the money right out of my account, now charge me a whopping 19.99%.

Desired Settlement
I don't owe PayPal anything. The item was returned, PayPal even acknowlages that and said they got the total$60.32 back. They didn't send me a bill and now all of a sudden I owe them $39.00 previous balance (according to them) plus $2 in fees. One of the gals said she would take care of it but I don't trust them. I want a final bill showing I owe them nothing.

Business Response
Your consumer complaint filed with the Better Business Bureau of Greater Maryland was referred to PayPal Credit's Executive Escalations Team for response. We welcome the opportunity to respond to your complaint and to attempt to resolve this matter to your satisfaction.

Your complaint states that you received a bill from PayPal Credit with late fees and interest charges for a purchase that was previously returned. You also state that you have never received statements showing you owe PayPal Credit a debt. You are requesting a refund of all fees and a statement showing a zero balance.

PayPal Credit's records reflect that your PayPal Credit Account ("Account") was opened on January 15, 2015, with an online purchase of $54.54 through PayPal merchant ********** with PayPal Credit selected as the payment method. In order for an application to process with PayPal Credit and an account to be opened, the consumer must provide their name, date of birth, billing address, phone number, last four digits of their social security number, and agree to E-Sign Consent and the electronically presented Terms and Conditions at the time of application.

During the application, you received and consented to the PayPal Credit E-Sign Consent, wherein you agreed to receive disclosures and other information electronically. As such, you consented to receive "statement ready" emails from PayPal Credit via the email address on file for your Account, ***********@hotmail.com, alerting you that your statement is ready for viewing electronically. A paper statement will not generate unless the Account becomes delinquent or you change your paper statement status through PayPal Credit's web self-service site or via a written request as disclosed in the Terms and Conditions. Please note that PayPal Credit does not have a request on record for your Account requesting paper statements.

Statement ready emails provide you with a "snap-shot" of your Account activity, including your statement balance, minimum amount due, amount to pay to avoid interest, and your payment due date. There are also two prompts within your statement ready emails that request that you login to your Account to review your full statement details. According to PayPal Credit's records, all emails and electronic statement notifications issued to ***********@hotmail.com were delivered successfully.

PayPal Credit's records show that on March 23, 2016, you made an online purchase of $60.32 through PayPal merchant **** ***** with PayPal Credit selected as the payment method. On April 8, 2016 you contacted PayPal Credit to request the closure of your Account. Per your request, the Account was closed on April 8, 2016. Please note that when you close your Account, and you have an existing balance, you will continue to receive monthly statements and any applicable fees until your Account is paid in full. Further, this account closure has not affected your online access.

Your statement dated April 21, 2016, shows your purchase of $60.32 through PayPal merchant **** ****** This statement also shows your ending balance of $60.32 and your minimum payment requirement of $35.00 due by May 18, 2016.

Your statement dated May 21, 2016, shows a late fee of $5.00. A late fee was charged to your Account because your minimum payment of $35.00 was not met by May 18, 2016. In addition, since your balance of $60.32 was not paid in full, an interest charge of $2.00 was assessed to your Account on May 21, 2016. Also shown on this statement is your ending balance of $97.32 and your minimum payment requirement of $72.00 due by June 18, 2016.

The PayPal Credit Terms and Conditions state, in part, "We charge a minimum of $2.00 of interest in any Billing Cycle in which you owe interest on Standard Purchases and/or Cash Advances." In addition, the PayPal Credit Terms and Conditions state, in part, that "We will charge you a Late Fee for each Billing Cycle the Minimum Payment Due is not paid in full by its Payment Due Date." All of the fees assessed to your Account were charged in accordance with the PayPal Credit Terms and Conditions.

Your statement dated June 21, 2016 shows an interest charge of $2.00 was assessed to your Account because your balance was not paid in full by June 18, 2016. Your statement also shows a return credit of $60.32 from PayPal merchant **** ***** dated June 10, 2016, your ending balance of $39.00, and your minimum payment requirement of $39.00.

Your statement dated July 21, 2016, shows an interest charge of $2.00 because your balance of $39.00 was not paid in full. This statement also shows your ending balance of $41.00 and your minimum payment requirement of $41.00 due by August 18, 2016.

On July 26, 2016, you contacted PayPal Credit by phone to request a refund of late fees and interest charges in the amount of $41.00. As an extended courtesy, PayPal Credit reversed one late fee totaling $35.00 and three interest charges totaling $6.00; the credits posted to your Account on July 26, 2016, and will be reflected on your August 21, 2016 statement.

As of August 10, 2016, your Account is closed with a zero balance.

We appreciate the time you have taken to share your concerns with us. I hope this information is sufficiently responsive to your complaint.

Thank you,

***** ****
PayPal Credit Executive Escalations
PayPal, Inc.
XXX-XXX-XXXX


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I do accept PayPals response,however, I never received any email bills from PayPal. The amount I owed has always been taken right out of my Bank account, always has been so have no idea why that would change. Perhaps emails ended up in the "junk" file, I have no idea, they get deleted after a certain amount of time. Glad I am through with them and no longer involved.

06/21/2016Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Paypal did not authorize Paypal credit to me *********** on May 31, 2016, but did not let me know about this. *********** contacted me.
No detailed report - Paypal should have contacted me to say the credit request was declined - a pending charge appears on my Paypal account online.

Desired Settlement
No much they can do as far as resolution but it does lower my confidence as a customer and I think I will look for other companies for credit use.

Business Response
Your consumer complaint to the Better Business Bureau of Greater Maryland was referred to PayPal Credit's Executive Escalations Team for response. We welcome the opportunity to respond to your complaint and to attempt to resolve this matter to your satisfaction.

Your complaint states you attempted a purchase with ********* and you were not notified that the purchase attempt was not authorized. You state that *********** contacted you regarding the declined transaction, however, the transaction show as pending in your PayPal account.

PayPal Credit's records reflect that your PayPal Credit Account ("Account") was opened on January 2, 2011, through an eBay online application. In order for an application to process with PayPal Credit and an account to be opened, the consumer must provide their name, date of birth, billing address, phone number, and last four digits of their social security number, and agree to E-Sign Consent and the electronically presented Terms and Conditions at the time of application.

PayPal Credit's records show that you attempted a purchase on May 31, 2016 for $62.48 that exceeded your credit line. When you attempt a purchase with PayPal Credit that exceeds your current credit line, we automatically determine whether we can increase your credit line to approve that purchase. PayPal Credit reviewed your eligibility for a credit increase at the time of the attempt, but we were not able to authorize the transaction because additional information regarding your income was required. In addition, since PayPal forwards your transactions to us for payment, a transaction that is declined by PayPal Credit may still generate a confirmation email, and may still appear as pending within your PayPal history even after being declined; PayPal Credit has confirmed that your purchase attempt was declined.

On June 1, 2016, PayPal Credit mailed you a letter informing you that your recent purchase attempt exceeded you credit line and that your request was pending because, "Additional information regarding your income is required to process this transaction." The letter also explained that, "federal law and regulations require us to take additional steps to collect and consider additional information in order to process this transaction." You were also advised in that letter to contact PayPal Credit at 1-866-528-3733 to complete the process and that if you did not do so within thirty days, PayPal Credit is unable to consider your credit request for the transaction in question. PayPal Credit has mailed you a copy of this letter for your records.

PayPal Credit's Terms and Conditions state, in part, "We have the option to refuse a request for an increase, but we will notify you of the reasons for any refusal. We may occasionally and routinely verify credit information about you and obtain an updated consumer report in connection with this Account." Please note, your recent decline does not prevent you from making attempts in the future, and you may be able to avoid these declines in the future by providing us with your current annual household income. To update your account with this information, please call us at 866-528-3733.

As of June 14, 2016, your Account is open with a balance of $4,843.29, a minimum payment of $144.00 due by June 24, 2016, and available credit of $37.71.

We appreciate the time you have taken to share your concerns with us. I hope this information is sufficiently responsive to your complaint.

Sincerely,

Deborah E*****
PayPal Credit Executive Escalations
PayPal, Inc.
866-528-3733


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
They explained their reasoning for their decision in detail.

06/06/2016Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
False advertising
I placed 3 orders through PayPal credit because it was advertised that I will get 12 months free of interest charge 2 weeks later wen I went to make my first payment I noticed that I only got 6 months with no interest I called them and complained about it as soon as i noticed the error and I have been calling every week since the noticed error to check on the status of my complain and they keep telling me that is under investigation and they haven't fixed the issue

Desired Settlement
Get my 12 months with no interest

Business Response
Your consumer complaint filed with the Better Business Bureau of Greater Maryland was referred to PayPal Credit's Executive Escalations Team for response. We welcome the opportunity to respond to your complaint and to attempt to resolve this matter to your satisfaction.

It is PayPal Credit's understanding that your complaint is regarding false advertisement. Your complaint states that after seeing an advertisement for twelve month promotional financing on a merchant's website, you placed three orders through PayPal Credit. You believed that "No Payments + No Interest if paid in full in twelve months" promotional financing would be applied to each order, however, only six month promotional financing was applied to the orders. You further state that you have contacted PayPal Credit multiple times about this problem, and were advised that the matter was being investigated. You are requesting for the "No Payments + No Interest if paid in full in twelve months" promotion to be applied to your three orders with ***.

PayPal Credit's records reflect that your PayPal Credit Account ("Account") was opened on April 12, 2016, with an online purchase of $740.94 through PayPal merchant *************** Inc with PayPal Credit selected as the payment method. In order for an application to process with PayPal Credit and an account to be opened, the consumer must provide their name, date of birth, billing address, phone number, last four digits of their social security number, and agree to E-Sign Consent and the electronically presented Terms and Conditions at the time of application.

Your statement dated April 17, 2016, shows five purchases with *************************: $740.94 posted on April 12, 2016; $634.94 posted on April 12, 2016; $652.16 posted on April 13, 2016; $652.16 posted on April 14, 2016; $634.94 posted on April 16, 2016. This statement also shows two credits from *************************: $740.94 posted on April 13, 2016; $652.16 posted on April 14, 2016. Also shown on this statement is your ending balance of $1,922.04 with no minimum payment requirement. Your purchases with ************************* qualified for "No Payments + No Interest if paid in full in six months" promotional financing until November 14, 2016. Minimum monthly payments were not required for any of the promotional balances. In addition, as long as the promotional balances are paid in full by November 14, 2016, you will not receive any interest charges.

On May 4, 2016, you called PayPal Credit regarding your purchases with ***. You stated that you made purchases believing that each qualified for twelve month promotional financing. However, you stated the purchases only received a six month promotion. The teammate you spoke with advised you that a research case would be submitted on your behalf, to see if the purchases qualified for twelve month promotional financing.

On May 5, 2016, you spoke with a supervisor at PayPal Credit, who advised you that there was an issue with ***'s advertisements involving promotional financing. The supervisor also advised you that he would submit a request to get the promotion adjusted as a courtesy, since the twelve month promotion was advertised.

Your statement dated May 17, 2016, shows three purchases with**************************: $634.94 posted on April 12, 2016; $652.16 posted on April 14, 2016; $634.94 posted on April 16, 2016. This statement also shows your ending balance of $1,922.04 with no minimum payment requirement.

PayPal Credit received the submitted requests advising that you believed your purchases with *** qualified for "No Payments + No Interest if paid in full in twelve months" promotional financing. On May 18, 2016, the review of your Account was completed and your purchases were adjusted to reflect "No Payments + No Interest if paid in full in twelve months" promotional financing. This adjustment will be listed on your June 17, 2016, statement.

As of May 26, 2016, your Account is open with a balance of $1,702.04 with no minimum payment requirement.

We appreciate the time you have taken to share your concerns with us. I hope this information is sufficiently responsive to your complaint.

Thank you,
Krysten G*****
PayPal Credit Executive Escalations
PayPal, Inc.
Phone: 866.528.3733


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Got my purchase corrected by Paypal

Page 1 of 35
02/03/2016Billing / Collection Issues
11/24/2015Problems with Product / Service
07/14/2015Advertising / Sales Issues
08/30/2016Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Account Paid In Full on 5 Aug 2016 in the amount of$2084.49, preceded by a pmt of $61.00 on 3 Aug 2016.
My account #****************. As mentioned above, when I made that $2084.49 that amount was listed as Pay Full Balance amount. Now I get a statement saying I owe another $31.90 due on 4 Sept 2016 with no explanation of what this amount is for. If it is interest I feel that they are rip off artists. I am a retire Navy Hospital Corpsman Chief and a Viet Nam Veteran. I live on a fixed income, and I personally feel that I am being taken advantage of. It took me months to save up that amount to pay these crooks off and now they say I owe more. BS

Desired Settlement
I want that $31.90 dropped like a hot potato and the sooner the better. I am really upset about this company and think they should be investigated by the Fair Trade Commission, and Consumer Affairs.

Business Response
Your consumer complaint filed with the Better Business Bureau of Greater Maryland was referred to PayPal Credit's Executive Escalations Team for response. We welcome the opportunity to respond to your complaint and to attempt to resolve this matter to your satisfaction.

Your complaint states you paid your account in full with payments of $2,084.49 on August 5, 2016, and $61.00 on August 3, 2016. You then received a statement showing you owed an additional amount of $31.90. You are requesting the interest charge be waived.

PayPal Credit's records reflect your PayPal Credit Account ("Account") was opened on May 1, 2012, with an online purchase of $170.69 through PayPal merchant **************. In order for an application to process with PayPal Credit, the consumer must provide their name, date of birth, billing address, phone number, last four digits of their social security number, and agree to E Sign Consent and the electronically presented Terms and Conditions at the time of application.

Please note, your statement has always closed on the 7th of each month, with a payment due date of the 4th. Payments made up to and including the 4th will be applied towards your current billing cycle. Any payments made after the 4th and up to and including the 7th, will be applied towards your current billing cycle, but will be considered late and late fees and interest may be charged as a result of your minimum payment not being satisfied and/or you standard balance not being paid in full by your due date.

PayPal Credit received your payment of $2,084.49 on August 5, 2016. As a result, an interest charge of $31.90 was charged to your Account as a result of your standard balance not being paid in full by your August 4, 2016, due date. Pursuant to the Terms and Conditions, you were notified the Account is subject to interest and fees. Further, the Terms and Conditions state, "We will not charge any interest on Standard Purchases or Cash Advances if you pay your entire balance by the due date each month." The Annual Percentage Rate for the Account is 19.99% and the fee was charged in accordance with the Terms and Conditions.

PayPal Credit is unable to waive the interest charge of $31.90 as a result of your standard balance not being paid in full by your August 4, 2016, due date. As of August 17, 2016, your Account is closed with a balance of $31.90 and a minimum payment requirement of $31.00 due by September 4, 2016.

We appreciate the time you have taken to share your concerns with us. I hope this information is sufficiently responsive to your complaint.

Thank you,

Kristin P*****
PayPal Credit Executive Escalations
PayPal, Inc.
866-528-3733

08/15/2016Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I did not apply for Paypal Credit and receive a bill
I received email from PayPal Credit on July 22nd 2016,amount was $232.50.
-I have never applied for credit line, and they do not email me the application I suppose to admit for credit line
-none of the customer service personal LISTEN the issues
-they told me I might click on PayPal credit by mistake when I purchase the item
How in the world you will approve a credit when the person NEVER applied for
-They reverse the late fees but they charge me for interest AGAIN i did not apply for credit
-I do have Paypal account using for our business, it only works if I have a money in my account. It is like a checking account
-Original purchase was $149 and I end up paying $167.50
-They cannot explain how in the world it was charge to PAYPAL credit and got approval
-I would like to get copy of original application that i suppose to applied, and I would like the interest fees removed
Customer service people need to learn how to listen, understand the issue, instead they are try to over talk the customer

Desired Settlement
I want all the fees including interest charges removed and compensate the time i spend on the phone talking 5 people

Business Response
Your consumer complaint filed with the Better Business Bureau of Greater Maryland was referred to PayPal Credit's Executive Escalations Team for response. We welcome the opportunity to respond to your complaint and to attempt to resolve this matter to your satisfaction.

Your complaint states that you did not open a PayPal Credit account, but you received a bill for a purchase of $149.00. You state that you were unaware that your purchase was charged to PayPal Credit and that you only became aware you had a PayPal Credit account when you received an email showing a balance of $232.50. You state that you never applied for a PayPal Credit account and you are requesting proof of application and a refund of all fees.

PayPal Credit's records reflect that your PayPal Credit Account ("Account") was opened on October 16, 2015, with an online purchase of $149.99 through eBay, Inc. When a consumer is presented with an opportunity to apply for a PayPal Credit account; there are several affirmative actions a consumer must take.

First, in order for an application to process with PayPal Credit and an account to be opened, the consumer must provide their name, date of birth, billing address, phone number, and last four digits of their social security number. Then, the consumer must affirmatively agree to E-Sign Consent and to be presented with the Terms and Conditions and other important disclosures electronically, which requires that you click "Agree and Continue."

You then have to affirmatively accept the electronically presented Terms and Conditions by clicking "Agree and Apply." The first line of the Terms and Conditions provided to you during the application process states, "PayPal Credit is an open-end credit plan offered by Comenity Capital Bank (the "Lender")...and you authorize the lender to review your credit report." This immediately informs a consumer that they are applying for a line of credit. If a consumer does not wish to apply for PayPal Credit, they always have the option to cancel the application through a link provided on the page.

After you agree to the Terms and Conditions, you are presented with a non by-passable disclosure box that states, "Just to confirm...You're applying for a credit line that is subject to interest. We'll send an email to ***************@gmail.com each time your new statement is ready to view online." At this point, you can either select "Agree and Apply" or "Cancel application," which will return you to the page where you can choose one of your other available payment methods. Please note that at any point during the application process a consumer has the option to cancel the application. A PayPal account holder is never required to open a PayPal Credit account.

PayPal Credit is primarily an internet based payment method wherein the credit application occurs online and is generally utilized for internet based transactions. As part of the application process, you would have also received and consented to the PayPal Credit E-Sign Consent, which states, in part, "By checking the "I agree to have the Terms and Conditions presented electronically", which you hereby adopt as your electronic signature...Your electronic signature on agreements and documents has the same effect as if you signed them in ink." As a result, PayPal Credit does not have copies of physical applications or signatures.

Your statement dated October 21, 2015, shows one purchase in the amount of $149.99 with ***********, which posted on October 16, 2016. Your purchase qualified for "No Payments + No Interest if paid in full in six months" promotional financing until May 18, 2016. This balance did not require a minimum monthly payment. In addition, as long as the promotional balance of $149.99 was paid in full by May 18, 2016, you would not receive any interest charges. This statement also shows your ending balance of $149.99 and no minimum payment requirement.

On October 23, 2015, the electronic statement notification for the October 21, 2015 statement issued to ***************@gmail.com was delivered successfully. In addition, this electronic statement notification was opened. These electronic statement notifications provide you with a "snap-shot" of your Account activity, including your statement balance, minimum amount due, amount to pay to avoid interest, and your payment due date. There are also two prompts within your statement ready emails that request that you login to your Account to review your full statement details.

Your statements dated November 21, 2015, through March 21, 2016, show no purchases and no payments. According to PayPal Credit's records, all emails and electronic statement notifications issued to ***************@gmail.com were delivered successfully.

Your April 21, 2016 statement shows no purchases, no payments, and an ending balance of $149.99. In addition, this statement shows no minimum payment requirement, and a promotional financing balance of $149.99 with an expiration date of May 18, 2016.

Your May 21, 2016 statement shows an interest charge of $17.46, and an ending balance of $167.45. When your promotional financing expired on May 18, 2016, the purchase was not paid in full, and you were charged accrued deferred interest in the amount of $17.46 on May 21, 2016. PayPal Credit's Terms and Conditions state, in part, "If you do not pay the balance in full by the Expiration Date, you will be charged interest from the transaction posting date."

On every statement in which your promotional financing purchase appears, you are provided with a "Deferred Interest Calculation" chart. In this chart, you are provided with your promotional financing expiration date; your monthly accrued deferred interest; your total accrued deferred interest; and the remaining balance of your promotional financing purchases. Further, directly under this chart there is a notice that states, "you must pay your deferred interest balance in full by the expiration date above to avoid paying accrued deferred interest charges."

Your statement dated June 21, 2016, shows a late fee of $25.00. A late fee was charged to your Account because your minimum payment of $25.00 was not met by June 18, 2016. In addition, since your balance of $167.45 was not paid in full, an interest charge of $2.84 was assessed to your Account on June 21, 2016. Also shown on this statement is your ending balance of $195.29 and your minimum payment requirement of $60.00 due by July 18, 2016.

The PayPal Credit Terms and Conditions state, in part, "We charge a minimum of $2.00 of interest in any Billing Cycle in which you owe interest on Standard Purchases and/or Cash Advances." In addition, the PayPal Credit Terms and Conditions state, in part, "We will charge you a Late Fee for each Billing Cycle the Minimum Payment Due is not paid in full by its Payment Due Date." All of the fees assessed to your Account were charged in accordance with the PayPal Credit Terms and Conditions.

Your statement dated July 21, 2016, shows a late fee of $35.00. A late fee was charged to your Account because your minimum payment of $60.00 was not met by June 18, 2016. In addition, since your balance of $167.45 was not paid in full, an interest charge of $3.21 was assessed to your Account on July 21, 2016. Also shown on this statement is your ending balance of $233.50 and your minimum payment requirement of $100.00 due by July 18, 2016.

On July 25, 2016, you contacted PayPal Credit by phone stating you were unaware of the creation of the Account and had not been receiving statements. You were advised that PayPal Credit was selected as the funding source for your October 16, 2015 purchase through eBay. You were also advised of your current balance of $233.50 and that you had agreed to receive statements electronically. During the call, the teammate offered to refund late fees and interest charges totaling $66.05 in exchange for a payment of $167.45. You were also advised that the $17.46 in deferred interest from your May 21, 2016 statement was not eligible for a refund. With your consent, a payment of $167.45 was processed and PayPal Credit reversed two late fees totaling $60.00 and two interest charges totaling $6.05. The payment and fee waivers will show on your next statement dated August 21, 2016.

As stated above, on every statement in which your promotional purchase appeared, you were notified of the remaining balance of your promotional financing purchase and the promotion expiration date. Therefore, PayPal Credit is unable to waive the accrued, deferred interest charged as a result of your promotional financing purchase not being paid in full by the expiration date.

As of August 2, 2016, your Account is closed with a zero balance.

We appreciate the time you have taken to share your concerns with us. I hope this information is sufficiently responsive to your complaint.

Thank you,

James V***
PayPal Credit Executive Escalations
PayPal, Inc.
866-528-3733


08/05/2016Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Company is trying to charge multiple late fees and interest off of delays and issues that are company's fault
My name is ******** ********. I have the paypal account ***************@*********.net. I also own the paypal account paypal@***********.com, that does over $1 million in business through Paypal's terminal per year.

In 2015, I received an invoice from something called "Paypal Credit". I had never heard of Paypal Credit. I did not request a Paypal Credit account, I did not approve a paypal credit account, and was in no way informed that an account was being opened for me. The invoice included an approximately $90 charge - a legitimate charge I tried to put on my paypal account.

I immediately wrote Paypal Credit a letter asking them to close my account, and enclosed a check for the full amount, with a notation on the account that the account should be closed.

THe letter was returned me, unanswered. The check was also returned to me, with a note that Paypal Credit was refusing to cash it because it indicated that the account should be closed.

In the meantime, more 'normal' paypal purchases were showing up on in my paypal credit balance. I called again and asked for my account to be closed. I was told that I needed to write a letter. I explained that I had written a letter and it was returned. Someone promised to research the matter and get back to me.

Two months later, not only has no one gotten back to me, but Paypal Credit started charging me interest and late fees as well.

I called again, (at this point having spent approximately 10 hours dealing with this situation) and finally spoke with a supervisor, who offered to waive the extra fees if I paid the legitimate balance. I think I even agreed at the time to pay some of the interest, just to resolve the situation. (If I remember correctly, my business contact who manages the paypal@***********.com provided compensation for the interest).

Today I received another invoice from paypal, reversing the payment of $437 and adding some more bonus service charges and interest. From an original charge of about $90, Paypal Credit is now trying to charge me $520.

I spoke with someone called Charmaine today, in the Maryland location. She was completely unhelpful. She explained that my bank had supposedly written a letter to advise them that I am not authorized to sign checks on my own account (!) but refused to supply any proof or documentation or further information. She also explained, in a somewhat gleeful tone, that Paypal Credit would happily keep charging me late fees and interest into eternity unless I agreed to pay every last sent.

----

This is ridiculous. The account never should have been opened in the first place and should have been closed when I first asked for it to be. Furthermore, Paypal Credit should keep its employee's promise to accept payment on the actual purchases (and not the bogus fees and interest) as a full and final resolution.

Desired Settlement
I will pay for the actual, legitimate charges (pending determining what happened to the $437 "final settlement" I already paid).

At that point Paypal Credit should close my account and never contact me again for any reason.

The difficulty in getting this dispute resolved has led me to move my business account away from paypal@***********.com. You'll notice that we used to do $1-$2MM per year on that account and now we're down to a small fraction of that. If it has taken approximately 20 hours so far to deal with a dispute of a couple hundred dollars where Paypal is clearly at fault, I'm concerned about what will happen if I am trying to deal with Paypal over a greater business matter. (To be fair, I have always had exception service from my business contact with the paypal@***********.com account. But that's just one person, and Paypal's overall processes, tones, and complete lack of interest in listening to or understanding the situation (as opposed to just repeating "you need to pay every penny or we'll keep doing what we're doing") concerns me greatly.

Business Response
Your consumer complaint filed with the Better Business Bureau of Greater Maryland was referred to PayPal Credit's Executive Escalations Team for response. We welcome the opportunity to respond to your complaint and to attempt to resolve this matter to your satisfaction.

Your complaint states that PayPal Credit has caused payment delays and is charging you fees and interest due to the delays. You did not authorize PayPal Credit to open an account in your name; however, you received an invoice that contained a legitimate charge. You wrote to PayPal Credit requesting the account be closed and enclosed a check for the purchases; however, the check and letter were both returned to you. You contacted PayPal Credit by phone and requested your account be closed, but were advised you had to put your request in writing. You stated you had already written to PayPal Credit, but your request had been returned to you. The representative submitted your account for research, but you never received a follow up call. Two months later, you contacted PayPal Credit, spoke with a supervisor and agreed to settle the account for the principle and some of the interest. You recently received another statement from PayPal Credit showing your payment had been reversed and additional interest and fees were applied. You contacted PayPal Credit and a supervisor informed you that your bank advised PayPal Credit that you were not authorized to sign the check you sent as payment. You are requesting your account be closed, all fees be waived, and PayPal Credit to stop contacting you.

PayPal Credit's records reflect that your PayPal Credit Account ("Account") was opened on July 6, 2015, with an online purchase of $25.00 through PayPal merchant ***********. When a consumer is presented with an opportunity to apply for a PayPal Credit account, there are several affirmative actions a consumer must take.

First, in order for an application to process with PayPal Credit and an account to be opened, the consumer must provide their name, date of birth, billing address, phone number, and last four digits of their social security number. Second, the consumer must affirmatively agree to E-Sign Consent and agree to be presented with the Terms and Conditions and other important disclosures electronically, which requires that you click the "Agree and Continue" button.

You then have to affirmatively accept the electronically presented Terms and Conditions by clicking "Agree and Apply." The first line of the Terms and Conditions provided to you during the application process states, "PayPal Credit is an open-end credit plan offered by Comenity Capital Bank (the "Lender")." This immediately informs a consumer that they are applying for a line of credit. Please note, at any point during the application process a consumer has the option to cancel the application. A PayPal account holder is never required to open a PayPal Credit account.

Your July 12, 2015, statement shows three purchases: $25.00 on July 7, 2015, from ***********; $123.75 on July 9, 2015, from ************ and $66.78 on July 11, 2015, from PAYPAL. This statement also shows a promotional credit of $10.00 for making your first purchase using PayPal Credit, your balance of $205.56, and a minimum payment requirement of $25.00 due by August 9, 2015.

Your August 12, 2015, statement shows three purchases from ***********: $99.41 on July 19, 2015; $81.53 on July 25, 2015; and $77.45 on July 27, 2015. This statement also shows a late fee of $25.00 as a result of the minimum payment requirement not being satisfied and an interest charge of $5.06 as a result of your standard balance not being paid in full by your August 9, 2015 due date. This statement also shows your balance of $494.01 with a minimum payment requirement of $60.00 due by September 9, 2015.

Your September 12, 2015, statement shows a late fee of $35.00 and an interest charge of $6.70. This statement also shows your balance of $535.71 with a minimum payment requirement of $105.00 due by October 9, 2015.

On September 13, 2015, PayPal Credit called you to discuss your Account. You advised you were aware of your balance and had sent in a check. You then requested to be left alone and ended the call. Per your request, PayPal Credit placed a cease and desist on your Account. You will no longer receive calls from PayPal Credit; however, PayPal Credit will send a statement, as required by law, for each billing cycle your Account has a balance and you remain responsible for the balance on your Account. Please note, although PayPal Credit has record of your letter dated September 1, 2015, we have no record of receiving your check. Per your request, your Account was closed on September 14, 2015.

Your October 12, 2015, statement shows a late fee of $35.00 and an interest charge of $7.16. This statement also shows your balance of $577.87 with a minimum payment requirement of $151.00 due by November 9, 2015.

Your November 12, 2015 statement shows your payment of $437.50 on October 23, 2015, and an interest charge of $3.10. This statement also shows your balance of $143.47 with a minimum payment requirement of $35.00 due by December 9, 2015.

On November 20, 2015, you called PayPal Credit requesting all fees be waived. The representative advised she was only able to waive one late fee and transferred your call to a supervisor, per your request. The supervisor stated your payment of $437.50 had been received, but the total for your purchases was $473.95, a difference of $36.45. You agreed to make a payment for $36.45 for the items bought and requested the supervisor waive all of the accrued late fees and interest. The supervisor offered to waive late fees in the amount of $95.00; however, a payment of $22.02, the accrued interest, needed to be made. You refused and ended the call. Please note, on December 17, 2015, your bank reported check number **** in the amount of $437.50 as a forgery and reversed the funds. On February 11, 2016, as a courtesy, a copy of the check was mailed to you under separate cover to the address on file for your Account. Please contact your bank for additional information.

On December 2, 2015, you emailed PayPal Credit stating you would like to take advantage of the offer presented to you during your call on November 20, 2015. PayPal Credit replied and advised that $95.00 in late fees had been waived from your balance. The email also advised you had a remaining balance of $48.47.

Your January 12, 2016, statement shows your adjusted payment of $437.50 and a late fee of $35.00. This statement also shows your balance of $520.97 with a minimum payment requirement of $35.00 due by February 9, 2016.

On January 20, 2016, you called PayPal Credit stating you received another statement, but you believed that the last representative was going to waive all the fees. Your call was transferred to a supervisor who advised your payment of $437.50 was returned and suggested you contact your bank for more information. The supervisor further advised the fees and interest were valid.

Upon receipt of your complaint, your Account was review for fraud and on February 8, 2016, your fraud claim was denied. Correspondence was sent via mail to the billing address on file for your Account advising your fraud claim was denied because no suspicious activity was detected upon investigation.

As stated above, on December 2, 2015, PayPal Credit previously waived $95.00 in late fees. PayPal Credit is unable to waive any further fees or interest from your balance. The Terms and Conditions state, "we charge a minimum of $2.00 of interest in any Billing Cycle in which you owe interest on Standard Purchases and/or Cash Advances." In addition, the Terms and Conditions state, "we will charge you a Late Fee for each Billing Cycle the Minimum Payment Due is not paid in full by its Payment Due Date." All of the fees assessed to your Account were charged in accordance with the Terms and Conditions.

Please note a cease and desist was placed on your Account, per your request, on September 13, 2015 . As stated above, you will no longer receive calls from PayPal Credit; however, PayPal Credit will send a statement, as required by law, for each billing cycle your Account has a balance and you remain responsible for the balance on your Account.

As of February 15, 2016, your Account is closed with a balance of $574.47 and a minimum payment requirement of $82.00 is due by March 9, 2016.

We appreciate the time you have taken to share your concerns with us. I hope this information is sufficiently responsive to your complaint.

Thank you,

Nicole C******
PayPal Credit Executive Escalations
PayPal, Inc.
Phone: 866.528.3733


Consumer Response
Signed up for Paypal Credit without knowledge or consent; cannot get resolution
Some time ago, I received a bill from "Paypal Credit". I had never heard of Paypal credit before. When I called in, I was informed that a paypal credit account had been set up for my paypal account and that my purchases had been routed through there.

I asked to pay for the purchases and then close the account. The representative refused and said I now had to pay all of the interest and late fees that had accumulated while I was unaware that Paypal had decided on its own accord to give me a paypal credit account.

I am happy to pay for my purchases. Those are all legitimate. I'm not going to pay a penny of interest or fees. I have a 730 credit rating and have never done this before but the totally egregious nature of this issue plus the way I've been blown off over and over puts me in this position.

For the love of God it's been proven IN COURT that Paypal Credit was doing this (and Paypal will note in my file that my complaints began well before this issue came to court):

**********************************************************************************************

So for the love of God please stop trying to scam me out of $300 or whatever it is. Let me pay for the actual purchases, close my account, and leave me alone forever.

Thank you.
--
As described above. I will pay for the purchases (though I really think I should get a credit at this point given what I've been put through) and all of the finance and interest charges removed and my account closed forever.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This is pretty funny. Rather than obscure the issue with paragraphs of form letter / irrelevant text, I will note the following:


2/ Paypal is alleging that I signed a whole bunch of documents to apply for a Paypal Credit Account. I have asked Paypal to supply them. Paypal's response not only fails to supply ANY such documents but also asks me to supply evidence that I did not sign them (!)

How is one supposed to prove a negative? Could the representative who is writing me please supply proof that she did not sign a document promising to name her firstborn after me? Come on guys...

2/ Companies don't enter into consent decrees to pay $25 MILLION when they didnt do anything wrong. Paypal was signing people up for Paypal Credit without their consent. They have paid $25 MILLION in compensation. You also did this to me. I'm asking for about $400 to remove fees.

----

For the love of God if you are alleging that I signed contracts with you, supply proof. This conversation has become something out of another world, and I will have fun circulating it when it's over.

Or you can stop wasting both of our time and end this.



Final Business Response
Your consumer complaint filed with the Better Business Bureau of Greater Maryland was referred to PayPal Credit's Executive Escalations Team for response. We welcome the opportunity to respond to your complaint and to attempt to resolve this matter to your satisfaction.

It is PayPal Credit's understanding that your complaint is regarding your PayPal Credit account. Your complaint states PayPal alleges that you signed documents to apply for a PayPal Credit account. You state that you have asked for PayPal to supply you with documents that show you applied for a PayPal Credit account; however, you state PayPal has failed to supply you with such documentation. You again referenced the Consent Order with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau ("CFPB") regarding the PayPal Credit product, stating that PayPal opened a PayPal Credit account in your name without your consent. You are requesting for PayPal Credit to provide you with proof that you opened your Account, in addition to monetary compensation totaling $400.00 for accrued fees.

PayPal Credit's records reflect that your PayPal Credit Account ("Account") was opened on July 6, 2015, with an online purchase of $25.00 through PayPal merchant ***********. When a consumer is presented with an opportunity to apply for a PayPal Credit account, there are several affirmative actions a consumer must take.

First, in order for an application to process with PayPal Credit and an account to be opened, the consumer must provide their name, date of birth, billing address, phone number, and last four digits of their social security number. Second, the consumer must affirmatively agree to E-Sign Consent and to be presented with the Terms and Conditions and other important disclosures electronically, which requires that you click "Agree and Continue."

You then have to affirmatively accept the electronically presented Terms and Conditions by clicking "Agree and Apply." The first line of the Terms and Conditions provided to you during the application process states, "PayPal Credit is an open-end credit plan offered by Comenity Capital Bank (the "Lender")...and you authorize the lender to review your credit report." This immediately informs a consumer that they are applying for a line of credit. Please note, at any point during the application process a consumer has the option to cancel the application. A PayPal account holder is never required to open a PayPal Credit account.

PayPal Credit is primarily an internet based payment method wherein the credit application occurs online and is generally utilized for internet based transactions. As part of the application process, you received and consented to the PayPal Credit E-Sign Consent, which states, in part, "By checking the "I agree to have the Terms and Conditions presented electronically", which you hereby adopt as your electronic signature...Your electronic signature on agreements and documents has the same effect as if you signed them in ink." As a result, PayPal Credit does not have copies of physical applications or signatures.

Please be advised that PayPal voluntarily entered into a Consent Order with the CFPB regarding the PayPal Credit product. PayPal Credit worked with the CFPB to determine who was eligible for a refund. Per the agreement with the CFPB, not all accounts were eligible for a refund. PayPal Credit reviewed your Account and determined that it was not impacted by the issues addressed in the Consent Order and therefore, you did not receive a refund.

You stated that your PayPal Credit account was opened by PayPal without your consent. On July 22, 2016, your Account was reviewed and the fraud claim was denied. With the information currently in PayPal Credit's possession, there is no indication of fraud in connection with your Account. As previously stated, in order for PayPal Credit to further investigate this matter, we asked that you provide additional documentation. To date, we have not received any additional supporting documentation for your claim. Your fraud claim remains declined at this juncture.

As previously stated, per the agreement with the CFPB, not all accounts were eligible to receive a refund. Your PayPal Credit account was not impacted by the issues addressed in the Consent Order. As a result, you did not receive a refund. In addition, all of the fees assessed to your Account were charged in accordance with the PayPal Credit Terms and Conditions. PayPal Credit is unable to accommodate your request to provide you with a credit of $400.00.

As of August 4, 2016, your Account is closed with a balance of $733.91 and a minimum payment requirement of $303.00 due by August 9, 2016.

We appreciate the time you have taken to share your concerns with us. I hope this information is sufficiently responsive to your complaint.

Thank you,

Krysten G*****
PayPal Credit Executive Escalations
PayPal, Inc.
866-528-3733

08/05/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Paypal processed my Paypal credit for goods purchased, but never received from a fraudulent merchant.
Paypal processed my Paypal credit for goods purchased, but never received from a fraudulent merchant. The merchant provided Paypal with a fraudulent address, yet Paypal still verified him as a seller. I paid $600 for a new *********************** sand filter system, 150lb of alternative glass media, 2 new pressure gauges and all required plumbing. I have received nothing, yet Paypal and Paypal credit refuses to reverse the transaction and protect the buyer from this fraudulent seller. The address the seller provided to Paypal, which they provided to me was that of a ******* Store. The store manager verified the merchant was not employed, nor associated with ******* once so ever. Paypal and Paypal credit has provided no help at all in resolving the issue and neither can provide any proof of delivery.

Desired Settlement
I want the transaction reversed and my $600 refunded to my Paypal credit account for the goods I never received.

Business Response
Your consumer complaint filed with the Better Business Bureau of Greater Maryland was referred to PayPal Credit's Executive Escalations Team for response. We welcome the opportunity to respond to your complaint and to attempt to resolve this matter to your satisfaction.

Your complaint states you purchased items which you never received from a fraudulent seller. You are requesting a refund for your purchase.

PayPal Credit's records reflect that your PayPal Credit Account ("Account") was opened on November 12, 2009, with an online purchase of $1,100.00 through **** with PayPal Credit selected as the payment method. In order for an application to process with PayPal Credit and an account to be opened, the consumer must provide their name, date of birth, billing address, phone number, last four digits of their social security number, and agree to E-Sign Consent and the electronically presented Terms and Conditions at the time of application.

Your statement dated June 17, 2016, shows five purchases totaling $1,346.52: $564.96 with ********** on May 30, 2016, $41.99 with *********** on May 31, 2016, $54.00 with ********************** on May 31, 2016, $85.57 with ********** on June 1, 2016, and $600.00 with *********** on June 16, 2016. This statement shows your balance of $2,909.22 with a minimum payment requirement of $25.00 due by July 14, 2016.

On June 19, 2016, you filed a dispute via PayPal's Resolution Center for your $600.00 purchase with *********** from June 16, 2016, claiming that you never received anything from the merchant.

On June 21, 2016, you called PayPal Credit to dispute your $600.00 purchase with ***********. You stated you never received anything from the merchant and the representative assisted you by initiating a dispute. On June 22, 2016, your dispute was declined as the purchase had already been disputed via PayPal's Resolution Center.

On June 29, 2016, a credit in the amount of $400.00 from *********** posted to your Account. If you are pursuing further reimbursement for your purchase, please contact PayPal directly at 888-221-1161 or work with the merchant to obtain a resolution. As of July 7, 2016, your Account is open with a balance of $1,739.48.

We appreciate the time you have taken to share your concerns with us. I hope this information is sufficiently responsive to your complaint.

Thank you,

Spencer K******
PayPal Credit Executive Escalations
PayPal, Inc.
866-528-3733

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
No, I do not accept their response, I have disputed the entire amount as no merchandise was provided, nor were any services rendered.

I originally contacted Paypal and they have done nothing to provide any assistance regarding this matter. The partial refund I received from the fraudulent merchant is not acceptable, nor was it facilitated by Paypal.

The fraudulent merchant originally provided Paypal with an address of another company (*******) in which he is not even employed, yet Paypal verified him as as a valid merchant and allowed him to basically steal from me. The man provided no merchandise or any services, nor is he licensed to install or repair any part of a in ground pool pump system in the state of Florida, which is required by the state if done for compensation.

I have photo and video evidence of the entire 2+ week process it took to repair the the damage to our filter pump system he caused, remove all of the sand and dirt from the bottom of the pool and clean it to make it usable again.

The damage he caused to our filter system prompted the filter pump to expel high pressure water all over our heat pump system for the pool, which blew the control panel cover completely off and saturated the electronics, rendering the heat pump inoperable. The water blew out of the filter pump system for hours until we found out, which flooded the side of our house with approximately 1500-2000 gallons of water that we had to replace in the pool.

I want my remaining $200.00 refunded immediately, it is still in dispute and not one person has made any attempt to keep me informed of my dispute at Paypal Credit (Bill Me Later). The credit company I used to pay the fraudulent merchant is Paypal Credit (Bill Me Later), no merchandise was provided, no services were rendered and I can provide proof of such, as I previous stated.

Final Business Response
Your consumer complaint filed with the Better Business Bureau of Greater Maryland was referred to PayPal Credit's Executive Escalations Team for response. We welcome the opportunity to respond to your complaint and to attempt to resolve this matter to your satisfaction.

On June 27, 2016, PayPal Credit received your previous complaint filed with the Better Business Bureau which stated you purchased items you never received, and you requested a refund. On July 7, 2016, PayPal Credit responded advising you a $400.00 partial refund was issued and, if you were seeking further reimbursement, to contact PayPal directly regarding your dispute or work with the merchant to obtain a resolution.

Your current complaint states you have received no merchandise or services from your seller and you are requesting a refund for the remaining $200.00 of your purchase.

Upon receipt of your current complaint, PayPal Credit reviewed your purchase and your dispute. PayPal Credit determined that on July 20, 2016, a credit in the amount of $200.00 was issued to your PayPal account as reimbursement in full for your $600.00 purchase with *********** on June 16, 2016. As you have been fully reimbursed for your purchase, PayPal Credit is unable to process your dispute. If you have any questions regarding your refund, please contact PayPal directly at 888-221-1161.

As the credit posted to your PayPal account balance rather than your PayPal Credit Account, you may log in to PayPal and use those funds to repay your PayPal Credit Account. As of July 21, 2016, your Account reflects a balance of $969.74.

We appreciate the time you have taken to share your concerns with us. I hope this information is sufficiently responsive to your complaint.

Thank you,

Spencer K******
PayPal Credit Executive Escalations
PayPal, Inc.
866-528-3733

08/01/2016Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Paypal Credit did not apply their credit feature of 6 month no pay no interest on orders of $99+ to my order from *********** (Merchant)
I made a purchase for $167.98 on *********** (The merchant) and logged in to my Paypal account through *******, the Paypal site opened in another window and I verified my information and chose PayPal Credit. As I chose that payment option, the notification of 6 month no pay no interest appeared, which confirms that the order qualified for the feature (as it has many times in the past on various partners with Paypal, as well as several of my recent orders from ******* within the last year). The no interest feature was not applied to my credit order, even though it was deducted from my Paypal credit account. I reached out to Paypal Credit customer support and I was informed that the reason I did not get log in to Paypal to complete the purchase. Several agents with Paypal repeated the same thing which is absurd, seeing that you have to log in with your credentials to use the service. This is not ****, **********, or ****. If you choose the Paypal form of payment, a new window opens up for you to enter your credentials. If you choose the Paypal credit, you then have to enter very personal information like last 4 of social security number. I spoke with the Merchant and they confirmed that the order went through Bill Me Later because it has a specific transaction ID that starts with BML (in this case ************). If it went through regular Paypal, it would start with PP. They went through my previous orders and the ones that went through Paypal Credit in the past had BML and the ones that had a regular Paypal has PP. The Merchant also confirmed that they do participate in paypal credit program of 6 months no pay no interest and that they can't see how the issue is on their end and not Paypal. I have taken screenshots of the order process on ******* when utilizing Paypal and confirmed with the Merchant that the correct process was followed. I relayed this to Paypal credit and told them that I can forward the screenshots, but they said they don't have access to email and that I could fax it to them. They also did not have a resource to go to the Merchants webpage and test. I have contacted the consumer financial protection bureau and I am will look to escalate to every party that watches out for the consumer in matters like this.

Desired Settlement
I want the feature discussed in my complaint added to my account and for Paypal to troubleshoot this matter so that it does not happen again to another consumer.

Business Response
Your consumer complaint filed with the Better Business Bureau of Greater Maryland was referred to PayPal Credit's Executive Escalations Team for response. We welcome the opportunity to respond to your complaint and to attempt to resolve this matter to your satisfaction.

It is PayPal Credit's understanding that your complaint is regarding promotional financing. You state PayPal Credit offers no interest and no payments for 6 months promotional financing for purchases over $99.00; however, it was not applied to your *********** purchase from May 17, 2016. You called and were advised your purchase was made directly with PayPal Credit, without the use of your PayPal account and therefore, the promotion did not apply. You are requesting promotional financing be applied to your purchase.

PayPal Credit's records reflect that your PayPal Credit Account ("Account") was opened on August 24, 2012, with an online purchase of $228.09 through eBay merchant *************. In order for an application to process with PayPal Credit and an account to be opened, the consumer must provide their name, date of birth, billing address, phone number, last four digits of their social security number, and agree to E-Sign Consent and the electronically presented Terms and Conditions at the time of application.

Although some merchants offer promotional financing for using PayPal Credit, in order to qualify for promotional financing, an order must meet the promotion's requirements (i.e. purchase made within the time frame of the offer, a minimum purchase amount, purchase made using your PayPal account, and/or qualifying merchandise). However, the availability of promotional financing offers varies by merchant and not all purchases made using PayPal Credit will qualify. If your purchase qualifies, you will be given the option to select promotional financing during the checkout process.

Your June 3, 2016, statement shows your purchase of $167.98 from ***********, which posted to your Account on May 19, 2016, under the Standard Purchases terms of your Account. This purchase requires a minimum payment each month in order to avoid fees. Please note, this purchase was made directly with PayPal Credit as the payment method and not through your PayPal account. This statement also shows your balance of $167.98, with a minimum payment requirement of $25.00 due by June 28, 2016.

On June 6, 2016, you called PayPal Credit stating your purchase of $167.98 from *********** should have qualified for no interest and no payments for 6 months promotional financing. Your purchase was reviewed; however, no adjustment was made to your Account because this purchase was not completed through your PayPal account and as a result, the purchase did not qualify for "No Payments + No Interest if paid in full in 6 months" promotional financing.

At the time of your purchase, only purchases of $99.00 or more made through your PayPal account with PayPal Credit selected as the funding source received "No Payments + No Interest if paid in full in 6 months" promotional financing. Purchases made directly with PayPal Credit as the funding source did not qualify for promotional financing.

Further, purchases made through your PayPal account with PayPal Credit selected as the funding source will show in both your PayPal Activity and on your PayPal Credit Account. Purchases made directly through PayPal Credit, without the use of your PayPal account, will only be visible on your PayPal Credit Account and will not show in your PayPal Activity.

Upon receipt of your complaint, PayPal Credit reviewed your purchase of $167.98 from *********** for promotional eligibility; however, PayPal Credit is unable to apply "No Payments + No Interest if paid in full in 6 months" promotional financing to your purchase. As stated above, because your purchase was made directly with PayPal Credit, without the use of your PayPal account, your purchase does not qualify for "No Payments + No Interest if paid in full in 6 months" promotional financing.

As stated above, your purchase of $167.98 from *********** was correctly applied under the Standard Purchases terms of your Account. Therefore, PayPal Credit is unable to apply promotional financing to your purchase. As of July 6, 2016, your Account is open with a balance of $328.23.

We appreciate the time you have taken to share your concerns with us. I hope this information is sufficiently responsive to your complaint.

Thank you,

Kristin P*****
PayPal Credit Executive Escalations
PayPal, Inc.
866-528-3733

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
There is no way to use PayPal credit on eastbay without going through a PayPal login. Just like every other website that utilizes PayPal credit with this financing option, you have to first login to PayPal, choose PayPal credit, and a breakdown of the purchase (before taxes are added if applicable) and once you accept, it takes you back to the merchant's website to complete the purchase. There is no other way to choose PayPal credit on eastbay. This has also been verified by the merchant.

Final Business Response
Your consumer complaint filed with the Better Business Bureau of Greater Maryland was referred to PayPal Credit's Executive Escalations Team for response. We welcome the opportunity to respond to your complaint and to attempt to resolve this matter to your satisfaction.

It is PayPal Credit's understanding that your complaint is regarding promotional financing. You state you were unable to make your purchase without the use of your PayPal account. You are requesting promotional financing be applied to your purchase.

Although some merchants offer promotional financing for using PayPal Credit, in order to qualify for promotional financing, an order must meet the promotion's requirements (i.e. purchase made within the time frame of the offer, a minimum purchase amount, purchase made using your PayPal account, and/or qualifying merchandise). However, the availability of promotional financing offers varies by merchant and not all purchases made using PayPal Credit will qualify. If your purchase qualifies, you will be given the option to select promotional financing during the checkout process.

At the time of your purchase, only purchases of $99.00 or more made through your PayPal account with PayPal Credit selected as the funding source received "No Payments + No Interest if paid in full in 6 months" promotional financing. Purchases made directly with PayPal Credit as the funding source did not qualify for promotional financing.

Please be aware that you can review all transactions completed through your PayPal account by logging into your PayPal account online and selecting the "Activity" tab at the top of the page. Purchases made through PayPal with PayPal Credit used as the funding source will show in your PayPal Activity and on your PayPal Credit Account. Purchases made directly through PayPal Credit, without the use of your PayPal account, will only be visible on your PayPal Credit Account and consequently will not show in your PayPal Activity. You can view your PayPal Credit Account activity online by logging into your PayPal account, selecting the PayPal Credit section on the left side of the page, and viewing the "Transactions since your last statement" and "View statements" sections.

As previously stated in our response dated July 6, 2016, PayPal Credit reviewed your purchase of $167.98 from *********** for promotional eligibility; however, PayPal Credit is unable to apply "No Payments + No Interest if paid in full in 6 months" promotional financing to your purchase. As stated above, because your purchase was made directly with PayPal Credit, without the use of your PayPal account, your purchase does not qualify for "No Payments + No Interest if paid in full in 6 months" promotional financing. As of July 18, 2016, your Account is open with a balance of $328.23.

We appreciate the time you have taken to share your concerns with us. I hope this information is sufficiently responsive to your complaint.

Thank you,

Kristin P*****
PayPal Credit Executive Escalations
PayPal, Inc.
866-528-3733

Page 1 of 129

Industry Comparison| Chart

Credit Services, Credit Card Processing Service, Bill Paying Service, Credit Cards & Plans

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.