BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 10/22/2012

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company provides a full service residential remodeling firm specializing in roofing, siding, windows, decks, kitchens, bathrooms, additions and additional services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 10/22/2012

BBB has determined that Allied Remodeling of Central Maryland, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Allied Remodeling of Central Maryland, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)BBB Closure Definitions
08/15/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: There are shingles that are " rippled" that i was told would be re-done. And I need the thickness of the decking.
On Jan 5,2013 i signed a contract to have my roof stripped and re-roofed. After numerous problems, i am still waiting to have my roof fixed and my question abiut the thickness of the decking. I told **** that i wouldnt pay until the work was complete. He has called many times and has threatened me. Finally i told him to do what he has to do. A week or so later, i received a letter from a lawyer and i kindly wrote back and stated that i was waiting to have my roof done. I also stated that i needed the thickness of the wood to make a proper estimate for the cost of wood used per ****. This is where things are at this point. I never got any calls from **** about the roof at any point until it was supposingly complete. I received some texts, but i dont use my phone for alot of texting, therefore i didnt even think of Deans texting me messages instead of phone calls. He sure called when he wanted the money though! I dont appreciate being put down about my house and i dont respect anyone who puts me down personally. I loose respect quickly as i have been brought up " proper", and have learned how to deal with the public in a positive way! Its a " learned" quality" and a " must", to be involved with any retail establishment. So, whatever **** wants to do is up to him. I just want my roof completed. I myself am thinking about filing my own suit at this point! I thank you for your time in reguards to this matter. I look forward to your reply!

Business' Initial Response
We successfully installed Ms. ******'s roof on January 18th 2013. During the installation a piece of roof sheathing that was so badly rotted gave way and one of my crew members feet went through the ceiling of the mobile home. Our drywall tech scheduled an appointment with Ms ****** and repaired the damage that was caused the following week. I then sent invoices for the work that was done on 1/25 - 2/09 - 3/13 - and 3-19 - I left messages in an attempt to collect the balance on 3/26 - 3/27 and 3/28 with no response. On March 29th I received a hand written letter alleging there were problems with the roof so I scheduled a meeting at the house with Ms. ******. At this time I showed her the starter shingles that were on the roof that she said we didnt install. I also took pictures while on the roof to show her the new vent collars that were installed that she claimed were not. I explained that the waves in her roof are caused by settling of the joists, and they not connected of the roof replacement or a structural concern. I also showed her pictures of the 14 sheets of plywood that were replaced and billed for. I pointed out myself that there were two shingles on the edge of the roof that had not "settled yet" and told her to give it some time and if they don't settle I will have them replaced. She then asked for a copy of the invoice that I received from my supplier proving what materials were ordered for her job. Although it is not customary for me to share this information with my customers, I did send her a copy of that along with another invoice. I then called again two weeks later demanding payment. This time she asked me what kind of plywood we used on her roof and what the thickness was. I explained to her that we used the same type and thickness that was there originally. she stated she wanted to know to decide how much to pay us. I told her the contract and the invoice both state the wood price that was agreed upon. At this point, it was mid May and we had still not been paid for the roof that was replaced in January. I have since sent this case to my attorney who sent her a letter stating that the work was completed to industry standards and demanded payment. She replied that she won't pay us until the two shingles that I pointed out as needing time to settle were replaced. My attorney replied with a letter stating that the roof is under warranty as are the shingles and that we will replace those shingles once we are paid for the work that was completed. She has failed to respond to him and he has since filed suit against Ms ****** for the contract amount plus attorney fees interest and court cost. I will need to be compensated for the work that my attorney has done on this case due to Ms ******'s failure to pay in addition to the invoice amount or else we will continue to pursue this matter in court. I will email you pictures and documents supporting my claims separately.(see attachment or go to case link for copies of documents and pictures)

Consumer's Final Response
from: *** ****** <********@yahoo.com>
to: *****@greatermd.bbb.org
date: Sun, Aug 4, 2013 at 8:56 PM
subject: Re: BBB Case# XXXXXXXX

Hi ******, I will be home on Wed. August 7 during the morning. How about at 10 am? Will be waiting for a reply. Thanks, ***

Business' Final Response
from: Allied Remodeling <****@alliedremodelingofcentralmd.com>
to: ****** **** <*****@greatermd.bbb.org>
date: Wed, Aug 7, 2013 at 12:38 PM
subject: Re: BBB Case# XXXXXXXX

******,

I met with Ms. ****** today and made the corrections that she requested. I documented them with the pictures attached and showed them all to her before I left. She seemed satisfied with what had been done.

****

(please see attached or caselink for referenced photos)

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

04/10/2013Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Construction & Remodeling Services, Windows, Windows - Installation & Service, Remodeling Services, Siding Contractors, Roofing Contractors, Deck Builder, Patio & Deck Builders, Home Improvements

Additional Information

top

If a business refers you to another company or uses sub-contractors, BBB recommends that you research that company including reviewing their BBB business review.

BBB file opened: 10/10/2012Business started: 03/01/2002
Licensing

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Dept. of Labor, Licensing & Regulation (dllr)
500 N Calvert St Ste 401
Baltimore, MD21202
(410) 230-6001
http://www.dllr.state.md.us/license/

BBB records show a license number of 65832 for this company, issued by Dept. of Labor, Licensing & Regulation (dllr). Their web address is http://www.dllr.state.md.us/license/. The expiration date of this license is 08/06/2015. This license is in the name of Edward Lee Chmar.

Type: Maryland Home Improvement Commission

Check License Status: http://www.dllr.state.md.us/license/mhic/?65832

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

BBB records show a license number of 50888 for this company, issued by Dept. of Labor, Licensing & Regulation (dllr). Their web address is http://www.dllr.state.md.us/license/. The expiration date of this license is 08/06/2015. This license is in the name of Allied Remodeling Corp of Central MD.

Type: Maryland Home Improvement Commission

Check License Status: http://www.dllr.state.md.us/license/mhic/?50888

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: June 2001, MD

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Dean D'Eugenio (Co-Owner)Mr. Nick Caperna (Partner)Mr. Edward Chmar (Co-Owner)Mr. Paul Moravec (Partner)
Number of Employees

18

Business Category

Construction & Remodeling Services, Windows, Windows - Installation & Service, Remodeling Services, Siding Contractors, Roofing Contractors, Deck Builder, Patio & Deck Builders, Home Improvements

Products & Services

This company offers home remodeling services, specializing in replacement roofing, windows, siding, decks and additional services.

Refund and Exchange Policy

Allied Remodeling of Central Maryland offers a 100% Satisfaction Guarantee and a Lifetime Labor Warranty on every project.

Alternate Business Names
Allied Remodeling Corporation, of Central Maryland, Inc.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Allied Remodeling of Central Maryland, Inc.

1212 E Joppa Rd

Towson, MD 21286-5811

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Greater Maryland, serving Western MD to the Eastern Shore. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Allied Remodeling of Central Maryland, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (301) 893-7605
X

Additional Web Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on December 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Construction & Remodeling Services

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.