BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 10/22/2012

Allied Remodeling of Central Maryland, Inc.

Phone: (410) 769-9700

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service8
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints10

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (10)
10/30/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Allied was hired on 8/1/15 to do a tear down of concrete front stairs and composite deck built in its place. 8/29 work complete and was subpar.
When allied was hired I requested no subcontractors be used.On 8/24 subcontractors showed up at my home and began work. When day one was completed I contacted Allieds **** ******* and told him I already saw many problems and I didn't want subcontractors doing the work. He got very arrogant and stated they were full time employees of Allied and not subcontractors. He asked me to detail the problems which I did:posts bolted to my house,concrete stairs not completely taken out,crooked posts and hand rails,uneven straight cuts,stirs 3Ft instead of 4 Ft, broken post caps and over all very poor unprofessional workmanship.I sent him photos of everything and he was very argumentative but stated he would have them fix it. Next day they returned and didn't fix anything just completed the poor job they had started. I called and emailed **** again and once again he became very LOUD and insulting! But stated he would send them out again and maybe this time I would be HAPPY!They came out again and I wasnt at home. I came home later went around the back of my home to get in the house and found one of the workers coming from the side of my detached garage. This is nowhere near the front of my home and there was no reason for him to be back there. I went around the side of my garage and found he had urinated all over my garage and had a bottle of alcohol sitting back there. I took photos and email **** and told him I didnt want his workers urinating on my home and drinking on the job!He then stated the next day he had fired them and would send out"HIS CREW"to make the necessary repairs to the deck. His crew came out and stated this was the worst deck job they had ever seen and said it was a total tear down!Then **** called them on the phone and I could hear him yelling at them to"SHUT UP & DON'T TELL THEM ANYMORE & CUT COSTS TO MINIMIZE LOSS"!At this point I no longer trusted them to do anything and requested they leave my property and I would not let them return to do anymore damage!My deck is ruined and not completed,still have concrete under my deck and debris all over my driveway. This was a total loss and now we even have to clean up after their crew destroyed my property!I dint pay them anything and I am so glad I did not.**** ******* needs so classes in customer service and anger management!I will never deal with this company again and I hope others will head my warning. They lie just to get you to hire them and then dismiss all your complaints about shoddy work and act like your just a difficult homeowner.**** also threatened to sue us in which I replied"go right ahead because you will lose"! I have never been spoke to by someone I had hired like I was talked to by **** *******! If he had been willing to listen to us the first day all of this would have never happened. They should have been fired on day 1 not day 6 after all the damage they did. If I had not caught the workers drinking and urinating on my garage, **** would have still been calling us fussy homeowners and ignoring our complaints. Now we have to hire another contractor to clean up all the mess Allied created!

Desired Settlement
I was threatened by **** ******* of Allied Remodeling that he was going to sue us for non payment. I will never pay one cent for the terrible unprofessional work that was done on my home.They put us through 1 1/2 weeks of total stress! My husband and I had to clean up our yard and driveway because of all the debris left behind by his substandard crew. I want to never be contacted again by this company!

Business Response

We built the porch project for Mr and Mrs ****** as per the county specifications and within the strict guidelines of the drawings and contract we had with them. The project passed all initial inspections (footing and framing)and was nearing completion after 4 days of construction.
There were several aesthetic issues that the ******* were not pleased with and we acknowledged those concerns and made an attempt to have them adjusted to their satisfaction. A second crew was set out to meet with the ******* to make additional adjustments when the we dismissed the first crew for behavior that is totally unacceptable and understandably upsetting. We offered at that time to completely rebuild the stair section of the porch that the customer was unhappy with. At no point was the phrase "minimize costs" used. Our intention was to do what ever was needed to ensure the customer was happy with the final result.
Mr ans Mrs ****** said they no longer wanted anyone associated with me to work on the project. My business partner called and spoke with Mr ****** and assured him again that we would be happy to make any adjustments needed to ensure the successful completion of the project. Mr ****** agreed that he would discuss this with Mrs ****** and let us know how we could proceed.
We then received an MHIC compliant from the ******* and were informed by *** ** at MHIC that the best course of action would be to just go our separate ways. The ******* were never charged for any work or materials that were installed on their home. The current porch still remains there and we have no intention of "suing them for nonpayment". As per instruction from the MHIC we were told to remove our name from the permit and "let it go".
We would really prefer to have the opportunity to complete the project by resolving these small, easy to correct aesthetic concerns that the ******* have. However, we have been asked not to return and advised to follow that request.
Please feel free to contact me for any additional information regarding this project.
As for the above complaint, and resolution: We are not pursing any suit or judgement against the Boothes and if it is their wish that we "never contact them again" we will proceed accordingly.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)


06/30/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Failure to adhere to verbal agreement to provide services under warranty
On /5/15 I sent an email requesting a window screen to be repaired and that same day I received a response from Allied stating they will take care of it right away. On 5/18 I sent an email asking for the status and received a response that a guy will call me. The guy called and asked if anyone was going to be home all day long and I replied no so he asked if I knew how to remove the screen and at that time I didn't. He then informed me that he will be in my general area soon to measure windows for another job and he will call me. He didn't call. So on 6/11 I figured out how to remove the screen and sent an email to Allied asking for someone else to help me. 6/16 I didn't get any response so I called in the morning and was told by the receptionist that someone will call me within 30 mins. No one called me back, but on 6/17 they called my work but I was off that day for daughter's promotion ceremony. 6/18 I called the guy back and he told me to leave the screen in the front of the house and he will fix it on 6/22 or 6/23. Needless to say its not fix.

Desired Settlement
I would like the screen to finally be fixed so I can actually open up the window again.

Business Response
The customer has a screen that needs to be repaired. my installer went there Wednesday morning 6/24 to repair the screen. The customer was supposed to leave the screen out for my installer. He drove all the way down there and she did not leave the screen out for him. He left her a message indicating this and we have not heard back from her yet.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
There is miscommunication between the scheduler and the person repairing the screen. On 6/18 the person repairing the screen informed me he will be out my way Monday the 22nd or Tuesday the 23rd to repair it. On the evening of the 23rd it was not fixed but I had to bring it back into the house due to the storm. The person repairing the screen informed me yesterday on the 25th that he will be out there early Monday morning (29th) to pick up the screen, repair it, and bring it back that evening.

Final Business Response
Tony is picking up the screen today (the customer is leaving it our for him) and he is going to repair it and leave it for the customer fully repaired

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

06/26/2015Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Roofing ridge vent failure. Allied refuses to perform warranty work.
Allied roofers used a nylon mesh ridge vent when they replaced our asphalt roof shingles. The ridge vent has collapsed which now prevents heat and moisture escaping from the attic. This will eventually destroy the roof plywood and shingles. Allied was notified of this in emails and phone calls about 18 months after the roof installation was completed.

ALLIED REFUSED TO CORRECT THIS SITUATION despite several emails and phone calls.

This is just one of many many roof problems originally caused because although the contract called for 30 weight roof felt, Allied installed 15 weight felt. When I made them aware of the problem, they had to send someone to **** ***** to buy the 30lb felt, while other workers started removing shingles and the 15lb felt. This put them several hours behind.
Then the roofers started rushing and taking shortcuts because they had to finish the job that same day.
They ended up finishing the job in the dark as it was in November.
There are 10 other "annoyance problems" and non-professional eithics I could mention not related to the failed roof vent if anyone is interested

Desired Settlement
Replace the ridge vent with a rigid metal vent which won't collapse.

Business Response
*** contacted me via email in November and sent pictures of his concern. After evaluating the picture I responded that the ridge vent is installed properly. We made a follow up call on January 21st and spoke to ***** who informed us that they are very happy with the roof. I have eeceoved no correspondence since then and therefore assumed that this customer was happy as they stated. This complaint was placed before we were contacted and made aware of this concern. We have never received a phone call or an email since concerning this. We have however reached out to the customer and offered to upgrade the ridge vent at no cost to the consumer in an effort to appease them. We feel this complaint is without meritt and premature and would like it removed from our file.

05/30/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
allied was hired to tear off my main roof because it had a 15 inch hole in it and put on a new roof-also they were to fix a leak in my front porch
when they were done the main roof was uneven and had soft spots in it,when you step on it ,it felt as if it would break also on the back porch roof I asked them to inspect it for any problems .Paul ******* one of the owners of Allied told me that he would throw that in for free since I gave them the contract to do my roof and for future work,they put down a layer of rubber over the back porch roof.when I got the bill he charged me for the rubber put down on the the back porch roof and claimed to have put down 300ft. of lumber on the main roof to repair a hole about 15 inches wide when in fact the wood used was less than 100ft. I was there when they unloaded it and the wood they used was not of the same type and quality of the wood on the roof causeing the roof surface to be uneven and to have soft spots in it .I told Mr ******* about this on several occations and that also the front porch roof is still leaking .he claimed that that there is nothing wrong with the roof and they will not fix the front porch roof until I pay them more money .the contract amount that we agreed on was $4425.00 he padded the bill to $5675.00.I felt that the roof was improperly done and unsafe so I had it inspected by certified roofer whice is who I should have had to do the work not a contractor he found even more problems with the work that they he found that water is ponding on all three roof surfaces meaning that it is not running off as it is suppose to do when it rains it is just sitting in one spot he also said parts of the roof were not safe to step on and there are other problems.I gave Mr ******* a copy of the inpection and he then said that the problem with my roof was structure and framing and that all the joists and wood decking would have to be replaced to fix the problem that is a bunch of ****, all I know is that I did not have any of these problems before ALLIED REMODELING put on a new roof all that I had was a leak in the front porch which is still leaking

Desired Settlement
I want Paul ******* and Allied Remodeling to fix everything that is in the inspection report

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: Paul *******/ Owner
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *******@alliedremodelingonline.com
Our original roof contract was for $4425. Upon removing the roof our crew had to replace 300 feet of planking which is outlined in my contract at $3/foot. At that time the customer asked us if we could put a layer of roofing over his back porch. I told him it would be $300 and he agreed. At no point did I tell him I would "throw it in for free." Upon completion of the job he told me that he only had the $4425 and would need time to pay the $1250. Several months later he claims we used improper planking, which is not true. He hired a roof inspector who saw that there are areas where slight water pooling is occurring which his normal on a house his age. I explained to Mr. ******* that the only way to truly get rid of that issue is to remove all of the wood on the roof and reframe the entire roof. This would cost thousands of dollars extra but if he wanted to do it I would be happy to do the work. Otherwise his roof is fine and the main roof is not leaking. He said that the front porch that we repaired still has a small leak. I told him that we would go back to fix it but I am not doing any repairs until he pays his balance. He expects me to expend more time and money when he refuses to pay me for the original job? He has a warranty on his job but we do not do service work on customers who's accounts are in arrears. I emailed him this on April 4th:
We will fix your front porch. We will fix your back porch once you pay us in full. You have not paid us for that yet. We will take care of all repairs to the main roof. We can do nothing about the pooling of the water. That has to do with the structure and framing of your roof. If you wish to change that you would need to pay us to reframe your entire roof; replacing all joists and wood decking. In regards to the planking already replaced, we used industry standard planking. There is nothing wrong with the planking used and that is the only planking sold out the building supply company. Your roof is also still under warranty. We do need to get paid in full for the work that we have completed. As of now there is still a balance on the roof.
There are no "soft spots" on your roof. Your main roof is not leaking and is in perfect shape. If your front porch is still leaking, we will fix it but not until you pay us in full. We replaced planking on your roof and added a layer of roofing to your back porch, none of which you have paid me for. Once you pay me in full we will address any repair that you may need under the warranty of your project. Until payment is made in full I cannot service your roof for warranty repairs.

The bottom line is once we are paid, we will repair the front porch but not until then. His main roof is fine and is not leaking. It should be noted that he had zero issues when we had 3 feet of snow this past winter.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I have told you what has happened in my first complaint I would also like to add that ALLIED REMOLDELING NEEDS TO PAY ME $225.00 THE PRICE OF THE ROOF INSPECTION

Final Business Response
We are currently in the process of scheduling a time to meet Mr. ******* at his home to go over the roof with him

04/18/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I call Allied Remodeling, located at 222 Bosley Ave, Towson, Md 21204 a week prior to my faxing them a copy of my contract on 3/16/16.
I received a call from **** from Allied on 3/16. I told him that I had just had a chimney liner installed and the guys indicated that there were weak spots on my roof. **** w/Allied told me that he would send someone out to inspect the situation.
I have no evidence that anyone came. I called again on 3/31/16 via my home phone to there office and left a message and then to ****'s cell#. He said that he thought some one has made the inspection; he would check and get back with me. Still no response. I call again on April 1stStill no response as to whether anyone came to inspect the roof or not.

Desired Settlement
If there are weak spots on the roof, find out why that exist and repair them based on the 25yr product and Life time labor warranty.
Then they installed the roofing in 2005, they repaired places on the porch roof that need to be replaces by using lumber that my husband had on our property (He was a home improvement contractor at that time). Allied reimbursed me for the unauthorized use of this lumber.

Business Response
We were out and inspected the roof and I left a message as to our findings. At the time we were there we noticed no sign of possible leaking and no sign of anything out of the ordinary with the shingles and flashing that we replaced. Furthermore, the customer advised me that insulation that they had installed after the roof was replaced is blocking the soffit vents which is not allowing for proper ventilation and may be causing deterioration of the plywood. At the time of the roof replacement, said plywood was in good condition and not in need of replacement. When we inspected the roof last week we didn't notice any area that gave way more than what is normal. However, we didn't replace any wood on the main house at the time of the roof replacement 11 years ago and therefore, aren't responsible for its condition unless a leak caused damage which is not the case here. There are no leaks in the roof. I advised the homeowner to have the insulation moved away from the eves to allow for proper ventilation. We are not responsible for the condition of the plywood, oftentimes poor ventilation or blockages in ventilation which is the case here can cause the plywood to deteriorate from the inside of the attic which is not our doing and is not covered under the shingle or labor warranty. We ask that this complaint be removed completely from the system as we inspected the roof as we said we would and tried to reach the customer with our findings thereafter. Furthermore, this complaint has nothing to do with the work that we performed 11 years ago. Note, we did not charge a service call fee for the roof inspection either as is normally the case in service calls not related to our work and not covered under our warranty.

01/15/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
There is a prolonged delay in getting a response and damage done to my property for lack of a response.
My roof was purchased on March 5th 2012. The salesperson was Dean D. who is also the president of the company Allied Remodeling. I was given in writing a 12 year warranty for my roof on the day of installation; 3/05/12.

I noticed leakeage on/ around the 16th of December 2015. I called Allied Remodeling on the 17th of December to report the roof leakage. My roof has continuously and excessively leaked for a two week. Of time causing water damage to my basement and dining room ceiling. There is currently still no resolution as the associates and employees of the company avoid and fail to respond to my multiple calls of seeking a resolution since the 17th of December 2015.

Desired Settlement
I am seeking a refund of a 1/3 price of the roofing work which is about $1667. Another option of a satisfactory resolution for me is repairs of the water damage in the dining room and the basement by a contractor of my choice.

Business Response
Ms. ****** contacted our office claiming she had flooding in her basement on 12/17. We replaced the roof on her property in 2012. Charlie, our service tech, returned her call and scheduled an inspection of the roof. Due to the amount of rain days we have had over the last two weeks, we were unable to get on the roof to inspect it until 12/28. Charlie found debris in her gutters that caused the them to overflow causing a leak in the basement. We removed the debri and feel that the problem has been rectified. I have subsequently spoken to Ms. ****** and asked her to contact me after the next heavy rain to confirm that the leak has stopped. Once we confirm the leak has stopped we offered to return to fix the drywall damage caused by the leak at no charge. We feel we have responded to this service call in a timely fashion given the amount of days that we were unable to get on the roof due to rain. We have also offered to fix the drywall damage inside of the home even though the roof itself didn't cause the leak and at no charge. We are currently awaiting Ms. ****** to alert us after the next heavy rain and we will proceed as explained above.

04/14/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The product and services were below expectation. The deck didn't pass inspection and the owner is unprofessional.
I am writing to complain about the product and service. From the very beginning the process was unprofessional. Once the frame of the deck was up we noticed the deck was constructed incorrectly and was missing a step. We contacted the owner whom was also our salesman and informed him of the error. He was very unprofessional and was giving us a hard way to go so I showed him the agreement and sketch of the deck we agreed on. Finally after repeatedly calling and addressing the issue he agreed to compensate with addition deck lighting. Once the deck was done he never had the deck inspected so we contacted an inspector and discovered the deck was unable to pass inspection.

Desired Settlement
We want the deck completely fixed to pass inspection and the lighting to be fixed under the steps of the deck to make it look presentable. We would also like to be compensated $2000.00 for the inconvenience and stress this project has caused. The owner is very unprofessional and disrespectful and should not have a license to provide products or services to the public.

Business Response

The drawing was initially misinterpreted by the homeowner. It was simply a difference in opinion on what she thought we were going to be building. The drawing showed a multi level deck with a step down from one higher area to a lower area. She thought that there would be an extra step down, so 2 steps instead of one. After explaining the confusion to her and her daughter we agreed that I would compensate them by adding over $1500 in lighting to the stairs. She was very happily satisfied with this solution and I have a signed amendment to the work order showing her agreement.
The remainder of the project was executed without any issue. In fact, this was a finance project and to release the funds from the bank the customer is required to sign a "completion certificate". This was signed and submitted to the the bank without any question, concern or argument. As far as we knew, the ********' received an absolutely beautiful deck (one we are extremely proud of, I'd be very happy to email you the stunning post completion pictures)
The final inspection was Tuesday. The inspector (as is often the case on large construction projects) asked for one minor change. A different style of fastener was requested.
I sent my crew out yesterday (the same day I found out that it had not passed), the work was completed as per the inpectors request. The final was recalled for this morning. We have every expectation that it will pass without any issue.
My direct cell phone # is XXX-XXX-XXXX. **** *******
Please call me with absolutely any question or concern regarding this project. As stated above, this was a truly amazing deck. I am very proud of the work my crew did out there. We have received many calls and compliments about it. Not only from customers, but from the manufacturers rep who was impressed with the use of his product.


01/12/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Repaired my roof and damaged my interior ceiling
in my living room.
Allied Remodeling was contracted to replace my roof and while doing so has caused interior damage to my living room ceiling. I notified them of the damages while they were repairing the roof and the supervisor observed the damage and stated that he would return to repair it. I have contacted Allied on numerous occasions and although they repeatedly said they would be out to make those repairs, they have not shown. It has been approximately two months and my ceiling remains damaged.

Desired Settlement
I would like a refund for the work that will be needed to repair the damaged interior ceiling. Because of the shady practices and distrust in this company, I no longer feel that they honor their agreement or repair my ceiling properly.

Business Response
We are repairing the ceiling tomorrow, Wednesday 12/30. The ceiling was damaged when we had to nail a tarp to the roof because at the time of initial install, the customer decided to do only half of the roof due to finances. If we didn't install the tarp, the ceiling would have been destroyed by leaks.

Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Construction & Remodeling Services, Windows, Windows - Installation & Service, Remodeling Services, Siding Contractors, Roofing Contractors, Deck Builder, Patio & Deck Builders, Home Improvements

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.