BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 03/27/1992

Advance Remodeling, Inc.

(410) 532-5400View Additional Phone Numbers711 W 40th St Ste 330, BaltimoreMD 21211-2109 Send email to Advance Remodeling, Inc.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 03/27/1992

BBB has determined that Advance Remodeling, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service6
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 7

Additional Complaint Information

Advance Remodeling, Inc. encourages consumers to contact Rick Heffner, Owner, at to review concerns prior to filing an official BBB complaint. Consumers should include their address in the email to expedite research of the file.

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Advance Remodeling, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (7)
09/29/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Rear outside wall is not completely finished being cemented, which is still causing the wall inside the home to be damaged due to water leakage
Rear outside wall is not completely finished being cemented, which is still causing the wall inside the home to be damaged due to water leakage. Mr. Schwartz from Advance Remodeling, Inc came out to the home at **** ******** Avenue on 7/9/14 to issue contract for work to done. Advance Remodeling was to Brick Point on the rear of the home, Remove and haul away plaster on rear wall & right in the corner, also install new moulding as needed. Contract was modified on 7/22/14 to Delete Brick Pointing and put stucco on rear of brick. No other changes were to take place. Work started on 8/13/14 with stucco being installed on rear outside wall over the brick. Stucco was not placed over the entire area to be covered and Mr. ******** was contacted after 8/13/14 about this matter. He stated that he would get back with me to have the work done. As of this date Mr. ******** has not returned any of my phone calls. I have contact him on numerous occasions and always get a secretary that answers the telephone and promising to give him the message. He has yet to get back in contact with me.

Desired Settlement
I want the work on the rear wall to be completely finished at no extra cost.

Business Response
We are very sorry it has taken us this long to do this extra work for Ms. ****, but we are scheduled to be at her house today, the same day that we have received her complaint! In fact, we were planning to be to her house last week, but we ran into issues that held us back. We will not charge her for this extra work.
We must note however, that the house next to hers is vacant and we can not be sure that there are not issues on that house that will cause her to still get some water inside. We will see what happens when we extend our work a foot over toward this vacant house.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Advance Remodeling has never responded to any of my calls. I did not know they were coming out to my house on Sept. 10 or 11, 2014. I would like for Advance to give me a call before they come out. I would like to be there when they come. I would like for Advance to cement pass the rain spout where the crack is. That part of the wall is my house. They did come out to my house on Sept. 13, 2014 and brick-point the wall. I also received a call for Advance on Tues. Sept. 16 at work letting me know they had done work on my house on the previous Saturday. I want the part of the wall that they brick-pointed to be cemented like the other foundation. Still at no cost to me. My contract says wall will be cemented and not brick-pointed.

Final Business Response
We did the brick pointing so that we could do the work quickly (we could do it without scaffold) and so that we could extend a little bit past the property line to try to stop her water leak. We will be back this coming Friday or Saturday 9/26-27 to set up scaffold and extend the stucco a couple of inches over to the property line. There will be no additional charge to Ms. ****. We will also be interested to see if the rain that is predicted for Thursday causes her wall inside to get wet or not. If it stays dry we can do the repairs to it.

01/12/2016Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

This company is asking that I sign a document indicating that their contracted sheet rocking job has been completed.

December 16, 2015

Better Business Bureau

To Whom It May Concern:

On March 20, 2015, I entered into a contract with Advance Remodelers to sheetrock a 20' x 13' addition to my home (walls and ceiling), for an amount of $8,500. However, due to a discovery of a potentially hazardous structural problem I had to discontinue the work until such time as the problem could be resolved. The work that they performed was approximately 35% to 40% completed prior to the discovery of the obvious structural problem.

My concern in this matter is several fold; this company knowingly was going to continue their sheet rocking over the structural damage were it not for an outsider who noticed the problem and advised me to halt the continuation of the work. The person that Advance Remodelers had doing the work indicated to me and the person who noticed the problem after I halted the work that the entire roof could collapse if the issue were not resolved. He also stated that he thought I knew about the problem which is why he continued to do the work. Having said that, why was he continuing to do the job knowing that it was hazardous to me and my family? I am not at all versed in construction techniques, and as such, had no idea of the potential hazard that was being covered up.

I subsequently obtained another licensed company ****** ****** ****** **** XXX-XXX-XXXX) to repair the structural problem. They had to remove sheet rock along the walls to ascertain if there were any other structural issues that needed attention. It was determined that support beams had to be installed where the sheet rock was removed to improve the structural integrity of the addition.

Now I have recently received a letter from Advance Remodeling requesting that I sign an addendum to the contract indicated that the was job was complete. I cannot in all good conscience sign this completion agreement. It was never completed!!

I paid $5,500 of the $8,500 dollars on work that was no more than 35% - 40% completed. There was no taping of the sheet rock (see attached); no application of joint compound and no texturing of the ceiling to match adjacent rooms. I am sure I have over paid this company. Is there any way that I can be compensation monetarily? The job was not even half way completed. I believe that I am due at least half of the money that I have put out.

This contractor and I never agreed that this job was completed as was stated in his document, and I refuse to sign anything of that nature as it is pure fabrication.


******** ** ******

Desired Settlement
I believe that I am owed a refund due to the fact that this job was not completed due to a structural defect that prevented a completion of the job.

Business Response
Ms ****** has had many projects done on her home prior to hiring us to do this work and appeared quite knowledgeable to us. This work was only part of the larger project of adding a room to the back of her house on which she had others do the foundation and framing before hiring us to do the sheetrock work. Since we were not involved in the earlier structural phases of the project, we viewed our role as that of a sub contractor and her as the general contractor. As the general contractor she is responsible to be sure the job is ready for us before we start work. When we had to stop work here, we lost time, and therefore money since our next job for this crew had been scheduled to allow time to finish Ms. ******'s job first. Since leaving her job partially finished we have been waiting since 7/22/15 for her to decide what she wants to do. During this time she even solicited some of our men to work for her on the side behind our back! This is not a naive woman.

We had a phone conversation with Ms. ****** on about 11/10/15 and it was mutually agreed that we would stop work and she would not have to pay us any more money. We could have insisted that she allow us to complete our work after she would have had us, or another contractor, repair the structural issues, but we agreed to step aside in an effort to be accommodative in spite of her behavior. At this point we mailed a contract to her to sign and return to confirm the agreement. Then in phone conversations during the first week of December, she said she had lost the contract and asked us to mail another copy to her, which we did on 12/9/15. Finally, on 12/15/15 she called to say she is not signing the agreement, but she did not say why and when we tried to call her several times to find out her reasons, she did not answer the phone or reply to our messages.

Considering our losses due to her mismanagement, we feel that while she has paid about 65% of the contract price and we have only performed about 55% of the work, it is a fair resolution. If she would prefer, we would be happy to come back and finish our job now that she says she has fixed the structural issues.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Contrary to those inaccurate comments made by Advance Remodelers, I am no general contractor. I hired Advance Remodelers to repair the roof to my addition due to severe leakage issues and the guarantee they offered. However, at the time of their completion of the roof, I thought I could now repair the ceiling and walls with new insulation and drywall. I asked for an estimate which they provided. So being the "naïve" customer, I gave them the job at a price of $8,500 which they were asking.
This is how the crux of this situation began. It is true that I have made some additions to my home. A family friend who was visiting and is knowledgeable about this type of work noticed that the insulation and drywall which was being hung was covering up structural deficiencies which the contractor was very much aware of. The contractor also stated that the structural deficiencies could potentially have dangerous consequences and within months the parts which were being "covered up" could all collapses. At this point I was very upset due to the fact that the contractor knew all of this and was continuing to "cover it up" with the insulation and the dry wall. It was at this point that I told the contractor to stop the job.
I immediately got back in touch with Advance Remodelers to explain to them why I asked the contractor to stop the job. I was told that they could complete the structural part for a price of $11,000.00. At that point I felt that I was being taken advantage of since I already paid them $8,500.00 for a roof job and was now being charged $8,500.00 to install new drywall and insulation on a job that is presently 30% to 40% completed.
If these prices were not bad enough, they were now asking for a price of about $11,000.00 to do the structural part. I informed Advance Remodelers back in May that it was no way that I could afford for them to continue the job at this price, and why should I after what was being done to me out of the $8,500.00 which I was charged for the drywall and insulation part of the job. March 19, 2015 I put down $2,500.00 as the down payment. In May I later paid Advance Remodelers $3,00.00 for a total of $5,500.00 of the $8,500.00 that was due upon completion. The money that I paid to Advance Remodelers on that job could have ended up with dangerous consequences.
It was in July, 2015 that I last spoke to any representative of Advance Remodelers concerning this job. Out of the blue in November and again in December 2015 after not hearing from them in over four months concerning the insulation and drywall job I was sent a letter designed as a contract stating that the contractor and I had mutually agreed to consider the contract dated March 10, 2015 complete with payment made of now to be considered to be payment in full which is ludicrous, there was never any conversation stating the aforementioned agreement. Imagine my surprise. It was never a time in which I did not answer and return calls from Advance Remodelers concerning the job which was being perform. I quite frankly was dumbfounded and shocked that they would want me to sign something that was not true. With the structural issues fixed, much of the work done by Advance Remodelers had to be removed to facilitate the structural repairs. I am sure that Advance Remodelers would charge more money to replace what was removed. The option they propositioned is not a viable solution.

Final Business Response
We are sorry that Ms. ****** does not agree with the points we made in our previous response, but we stand by that statement with one additional point. That is that we did indeed make many phone calls in an attempt to set up a meeting between our representative and Ms ****** and those calls were not returned. If Ms. ****** would like to meet with us, we are always open to that.

07/13/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Contract does not contain dates when home improvement will begin and when it will be substantially completed. Full amount billed before work scheduled
I signed a contract on 6/16/15 for Advanced remodeling to replace gutters on my house at **** ****** ******* I asked for a date for installation on the day I signed the contract, and ***** (claimed to be the owner of the business, which appears to be false) told me we could schedule a day in the next 2 weeks and that the work would be completed in no later than 2 weeks with no problems. I didn't hear from anyone at Advance Remodeling about making that appointment for the work to be done, and my ***** ***** account has already been charged for the full amount ($5100). Maryland law states: "A contractor cannot accept more than 1/3 of the contract price as a deposit"

I called and left a message before the business opened, early on 6/26/15. I stated these facts in the message, along with the fact that I desperately need these repairs done, as there are literally gutters hanging off of my house, and it is a safety hazard. No one has returned my call as of yet, and no date has been set for the contracted work to be completed.

Maryland law states: "A home improvement contract must contain the approximate dates when the performance of the home improvement will begin and when it will be substantially completed." There are no approximate dates to be found anywhere on my contract to indicate dates for beginning/completing the work to be done.

I called and left another voice mail yesterday, 6/29/15, and no one has gotten back to me.

My ***** ***** account has already been charged for the full amount of your estimate...I have never heard of this happening before work has been done, and Maryland law is supposed to prevent this practice.

Desired Settlement
If the contracted work cannot be completed in the next 2 business days, I want an immediate full refund of the amount already charged to my ***** ***** credit account.

Business Response
Our contract certainly does give starting and completion dates directly above where Mr. ******* signed in item #5 as the law requires. It gives us up to 45 days after approval to start. On 6/29 when this complaint was written, the contract was only 11 days old. We do our best to start and complete all jobs as quickly as possible while doing them in the sequence in which they were signed. We feel this is most fair to all our customers.

The account at ***** ***** has not been charged at this time, merely reserved. It will be charge when the work is completed.

We are working on this job today and I believe that Mr ******* is happy now.

Thank you for the opportunity to clarify these issues.

01/06/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

We hired Advance Remodeling to re-do our front porch in summer 2013. The work was completed poorly, and we have had further damage since. The work is
We hired Advance Remodeling to re-do our front porch in summer 2013. The work was completed poorly, and we have had further damage since. The work is under warranty, and we are trying to get the company to come re-do the work (again), properly this time. The subsequent damage to our finished basement as a result of water leaking from the porch into the ceiling of the basement happened on Thurs, June 19. It has subsequently been 2 weeks and we have had multiple phone calls setting up appointments for someone to come assess the problem, and then had them cancelled. Then the company says they can't do it for one reason or another. We've been put off for 2 weeks, and now there is more water coming in with each rain and more and more damage to the drywall ceiling in our finished basement. Had the problem been fixed 2 weeks ago, the basement repairs would have just been paint - now the drywall is going to have to be removed and new drywall hung in addition to the porch repairs being made.

Desired Settlement
We want a new porch, installed properly, with appropriate waterproofing between the porch surface and the interior of the basement ceiling.

Business Response
We have a meeting scheduled with Mr and Mrs ***** on Tuesday evening and we hope to resolve this issue then. The situation is more complicated than Mrs ***** indicates. The workmanship is fine, it is the design that is the problem. We will talk about all of this at the meeting.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
We are partially satisfied with the response. The company did come to the meeting they described, and offered us an alternative solution, which we are willing to try. However, if the alternative solution is not adequate to solve the problem, we will continue to request that the company honor their warranty until the problem is fully solved to our satisfaction.

We are not yet satisfied for the following reasons: The first appointment to fix part of the problem was for the weekend of July 9/10 - the workman never showed up, nor did anyone call to say that they would be unable to work. We called on Monday to let them know and then the workman came out. The second part of the repair happened on Friday. This involved essentially painting a special product onto the porch. I asked the workman to please tape off the area so that the line would be straight for esthetic purposes. He did so for 3 sides of the porch (not all 4) but then removed the tape while the product was still wet, and it bled, so the edge is not straight and does not look good. As the office was closed on Friday evening when the work was finished, we will be calling on Monday to have them come re-do the edge work as it looks very poor at the moment.

We have yet to see if this product solves the problem. Then the interior work needs to be done ...

We will have to wait until the project is completed to say whether or not we are satisfied with their suggested solution and the workmanship. For now, we are willing to try it, but are not at the moment fully satisfied with the resolution.

Final Business Response
We understand the consumer's desire for an instant result, but we are doing what we promised to do and It will take time to see if our solution does the job. Only time will tell. We will stick with it as long as it takes.

Business Response
We are very sorry that this is taking so long, but we believe that getting it correct is more important than doing it quickly. We will not give up on this until it is complete, and be assured that we attempt to move the process ahead every day. Unfortunately, we have been running into one obstacle after another

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
We want our porch and basement to be repaired correctly also. However, it should not take more than 6 months to do so. This is not a large project. We've been told that "they're working on it," and "trying to resolve it," countless times and have yet to see ANY results. We are not going to believe that any repairs are going to happen until they actually do happen. We have been MORE than patient and accomodating. We have had our lives inconvenienced for a very long time. This is INSANE.

06/20/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

To whom it may concerns:
On April 19, 2014, A representative from advance Remodeling wrote this contract that did not pass the inspection code.
To whom it may concerns:
On April 19, 2014, Mr. ***** ****** from Advance Remodeling, I stated to Mr. ***** what it was that I needed to be done in my house. On April 4, 2014, the plumbers came out to start the plumbing work. That's when I was told what they were going to do. It was the plumbers who stated to me what Risers were. However, Mr. ***** wrote that in the contract. but, he did not explain to me what Risers were during his visit at my home. Attach is a copy of the contract.
I called Mr. *****, and I stated to him the problem that existed. He stated to me, Ms. ******* go ahead and let the plumbers finished the work. I said ok.
After, the plumber finished the work. I ask them do I have better water pressure. Nothing was said at that moment. I then went and turn on the hot water to see for myself. I called the office to speak to his manager, and he stated to me that Mr. ***** told him that I knew what Risers were. I said to his manager Sir, I am not a plumber. How would I have known what Risers were? He got so excited with me and hung the telephone up on me.
After that, Mr. ***** called and asks if he could come out on Monday April, 7 2014. I said yes. During his visit, he listens to what I had to say to him. However, nothing was resolved. Nevertheless, he did suggest four options.
1. To pay additional $2000.00 and they would do all the plumbing work in my house.
2. Or I could pay for the work which they had already done. He quoted 4,500.00. I then stated to him that I had a proposal from another contractor who was going to do all the plumbing work for that amount.
3. Or to take off-the-wall work and keep the contract like it is.
4. Or I could add $1600.00 to 6,300.00, which would total $7,900.00. This would make my payment around $153.00 a month.
So Mr., ***** got up and started walking toward the door, and said to give me a call on Monday. I did call him on Monday, and I stated to him that I got another contractor to come out and give me estimation on what it would cost me to fix the problem that exit.
He stated that he would mail me a copy. During his visit, he did tell me that the Risers were the wrong size pipes that were installed in my house.
I left a message for Mr. ***** to call me.
Mr. ***** did call me back on April 11, 2014, He stated to me that pipes where the right size. I said ok. We will see when the Housing inspector comes out. Attach is a copy of the Housing Inspector finding. I did call Mr. *****, on April 17, and stated what the inspector's findings were.
I am not comfortable with this company of doing nothing else in home. I feel betray, in order to make a sale. Mr. ***** did not inform me what Risers were when he had written the contact. This has created a great deal of hardship.
Thank you for your time

******* *******

Desired Settlement
No settlement Requested I would like for these people to never come to my home or anyone else home.
I have a copy when the Baltimore Inspector came to my house on April 14, 2014. and Fail the inspection.

Business Response
We are concerned that Ms. ******* is so upset, but we know that we have treated her honestly and fairly. She does indeed know what risers are because she pointed them out to our Mr. ****** when they were both in her basement looking at the work that she wanted done.
The plumbing work we did has been inspected by the Baltimore City plumbing inspector and has passed. We have the signed inspection sticker to prove it. We have also measured and purchased 2 custom made replacement windows that are also part of her contract.
We are willing to do more plumbing for her if she would like to have us do it or we are willing to stop work at this point. But what ever plan she would prefer, we will need to be paid for the work we have already done and the materials we have purchased for her per her contract with us. She has indicated that she does not plan to pay us, so unless she changes her mind, we will have no alternative but to sue her to collect. Please note that so far she has not paid us even one penny.

05/13/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

I received a letter rejecting a contract which was written on 4/30/14 but my check for $ 1500.00 was not included. This letter was from the President

**** ********* according to the estimator **** ***** the price agreed on was not high enough for Advance to make money. My concern is that theyt kept my deposit of $ 1500.00 instead of returning it with the rejection letter. When I tried to speak to Mr ********* he conviently stepped out of trhe office

Desired Settlement
I want my money back so I can contact a more reliable company who will not play games with other peoples money

Business Response
Mr ****** per my conversation with you this morning May 7th we apologize for the error in not including your refund check with our letter. Our salesman has returned a check to you in person today. We will review our procedures and retrain our staff as needed to avoid this issue in the future.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Although I did receive a check as the company stated however, the check should have been included in the letter received which was written by the President of this company Mr **** *********, when I spoke to him about this he blamed the bookkeeper for the error. That letter took only 1 day to get from his business to my home. He was in a real hurry to send it, so I feel that it should have been in the original letter not the next day.

Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Construction & Remodeling Services, Contractors - Flooring, Tile - Ceramic - Manufacturers & Distributors, Windows, Vinyl Flooring, Doors - Installation, Doors, Awnings & Canopies, Porch Shades, Hardwood Floor Contractors, Heating & Air Conditioning, Windows - Installation & Service, Remodeling Services, Bathroom Remodeling, Basement - Remodeling, Siding Contractors, Roofing Contractors, Plumbing Plan Services, Deck Builder, Patio & Deck Builders, Home Improvements, Heating Contractors, Gutters & Downspouts, Floors - Laminate, Carpet Installation, Basement - Contractors, Contractors - General, Carports, Kitchen & Bath - Design & Remodeling, Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems

Additional Information

If a business refers you to another company or uses sub-contractors, BBB recommends that you research that company including reviewing their BBB business review.

BBB file opened: 04/01/1992Business started: 08/01/1991
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company utilizes subcontractors to perform any heating, air conditioning, plumbing and electric work. BBB encourages consumers to verify a contractors license with the MD Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation.

Type of Entity


Incorporated: September 1991, MD

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John Dickinson (President)Customer Contact: Mr. Ruhl L. Heffner Jr. (Vice President)
Number of Employees


Business Category

Construction & Remodeling Services, Contractors - Flooring, Tile - Ceramic - Manufacturers & Distributors, Windows, Vinyl Flooring, Doors - Installation, Doors, Awnings & Canopies, Porch Shades, Hardwood Floor Contractors, Heating & Air Conditioning, Windows - Installation & Service, Remodeling Services, Bathroom Remodeling, Basement - Remodeling, Siding Contractors, Roofing Contractors, Plumbing Plan Services, Deck Builder, Patio & Deck Builders, Home Improvements, Heating Contractors, Gutters & Downspouts, Floors - Laminate, Carpet Installation, Basement - Contractors, Contractors - General, Carports, Kitchen & Bath - Design & Remodeling, Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems

Products & Services

This company offers general home improvement contracting services including bathrooms, basements, carpeting, carports, air conditioning, awnings, decks, doors, electricity, flooring, gutters, heating, kitchens, patio enclosures, porches &, roofing.

Hours of Operation
Mon: 08:30 AM to 07:00 PMTue: 08:30 AM to 07:00 PMWed: 08:30 AM to 07:00 PMThu: 08:30 AM to 07:00 PMFri: 08:30 AM to 12:30 PMSat: 08:30 AM to 12:30 PMSun: Closed
Service Area

Central Maryland including Baltimore City Baltimore Country, Howard, Harford, & Anne Arundel Counties

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Advance Remodeling, Inc.

711 W 40th St Ste 330

Baltimore, MD 21211-2109

To | From


1 Locations

  • 711 W 40th St Ste 330 

    Baltimore, MD 21211-2109(410) 532-5400

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Greater Maryland. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Advance Remodeling, Inc. is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


Additional Phone Numbers

  • (410) 400-7000

Additional Email Addresses


BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on December 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.


Industry Tips for Construction & Remodeling Services


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.