BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Martin's, Inc.

Find a Location

Phone: (410) 265-1300Fax: (410) 265-1328View Additional Phone Numbers6821 Dogwood Rd, BaltimoreMD 21244-2608 Send email to Martin's, Inc.http://www.martinscaterers.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Martin's, Inc. is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Martin's, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service2
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Martin's, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)BBB Closure Definitions
11/18/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Company refuses to apply deposit as they stated to another affair. Failure to stand by their word.
In 2008 my fiancée and I agreed together that we would hold our wedding reception at Martin's East located at 9000 Pulaski Highway, Baltimore, MD 21220, so I went into Martin's and signed a contract for our reception to be held on September 09, 2009. Unfortunately the same year my fiancée was also involved in a very bad motor vehicle accident that we thought he would recover from in time for the reception. Much to our surprise his recovery took much longer then any of us anticipated. So in June 2009 when my fiancée was not progressing as planned we decided to cancel our reception as Martin's as my fiancée was physically unable to attend and enjoy the reception. We received a letter back from Martin's acknowledging our cancellation and the letter also stated "Although we are not required to so do, as a gesture of good faith, Martin's may apply a portion of your deposit amount towards ANY future affair you may book at ANY Martin's locations". In the mean time my fiancée and I were married as original planned but in a private ceremony due to the situation. We know the Martin's deposit was being held if we choose to use it.
In September 2013, I was invited to participate on the plan committee for my high school reunion in which Martin's was an option for booking. I thought to myself what a perfect event to use my deposit on. So I contacted Martin's on October 17, 2013 via email and asked if I could apply my original deposit for the final balance of this new event. I also agreed to sign the new contract along with another member of the planning committee which I believe the committee chair is signed on October 25, 2013. I received an email back from Martin's stating I could apply the deposit because the event has to be "a like or similar event".

Needless to say I am very upset about this as I am already married and will not be holding another marriage ceremony or the reception which we didn't have due to my husband condition. However, I am upset at the fact that Martin's stated in a letter that "Martin's may apply a portion of your deposit amount towards ANY future affair you may book at ANY Martin's locations". Again Martin's stated "ANY future affair" and as you can see on the attached letter there are no stipulations to was that future affair can or cannot be. Then Martin's told me on the phone that I couldn't use the deposit because the reunion is not considered a private affair. Although I stated "I will be happy to sign the contract along with ******* ******** to transfer the funds". I'm not sure how many other people would want to attend an affair for a high school reunion. If you ask me that is a pretty private affair.

I would like Martin's to honor their letter that they mailed me and apply our original deposit to the final balance of the new affair.

Desired Settlement
I would like Martin's to apply the deposit from our September 9, 2009 affair to the new affair on October 11, 2014. Again, I will be happy to sign the new contract along with our chair to make the transfer.

Business Response
Regardless of the reason for cancellation the customer signed the contract terms which clearly states:

Patron agrees that Caterer shall have the absolute right to retain all monies, including the deposit, up to 70% of the contract price, and Patron further agrees to pay any portion of the contract price up to 70% of the contract price which may not have been paid.

The cancellation letter Martins sent customer (customer attached) clearly reads:
Although we are not required to do so, as a gesture of good faith, Martin's "MAY" apply a portion of your deposit amount towards any future affair YOU may book at any Martin's locations. The exact amount, IF ANY, will be determined after booking your future event, and can only be applied toward the final bill of your affair.

* According to the contract that the customer signed on 6/2/08 Martin's had the absolute right to collect 70% of the contract which totaled $8,709.60. Martin's did not pursue collecting this amount. The customer's deposit was $2,613
* The customer booked the event AFTER the accident and is now claiming the cancellation was due to the accident. The accident occurred on 4/12/08; customers signed the contract on 6/2/08 for an event date of 9/9/09
* The customer booked the event in June 2008 and had the date reserved for 15 months, she cancelled the event 10 weeks prior to the date of the event leaving Martins no time to re-sell that date and time. See the cancellation customer attached dated 6/26/09. The event was scheduled for 9/9/09. The customer was aware of the no refund policy as she clearly states in her letter "I was hoping that you would make an exception and consider refunding what you could of our deposit. In the event this is not possible, we both understand"
* It is clear on the cancellation letter that this deposit is the property of Martins and we make a determination if any of the deposit can be applied to a future event
* The event the customer wants to apply this deposit to is not HER event, it is a public reunion that was booked on 3/20/13 (event date 8/10/13) for ******* **** Alumni booked by ******* ********* That event was cancelled and rebooked with the event date of 10/11/14, again in the name of ******* ********* Deposit has already been secured by ******* ********* Note: this event is not HER event that she is using HER money to fund. There will be tickets sold and she will be reimbursed for any money she puts out. This is what constitutes this as being a public event, not a private event sponsored and paid for by an individual.
* Customer requested supported documentation from Martin's which was emailed to her on 10/22/13. At that time she responded in her email to **** *****, "Can you please forward the documentations to this email as you stated you would do for review? After I review the information then I can speak with Mr. *******".........the customer never called Mr. ******* to discuss after she received the documents

The contract and documents speak for themselves. The deposit is the property of Martins and is forfeited at the time of cancellation by customer.


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The bottom line is that the ******* *****-**** (client) received a letter from ******* *********** General Manager of Martin's East on June 29, 2009 which clearly stated "Martin's may apply a portion of your deposit amount towards any future affair you may book at any Martin's locations". This letter was issued after the client provided all documentation regarding the accident to Martin's. So if there was an issue with the date of the accident in regards to the date of the contract being signed then Martin's should not have issued a letter with the statement of "Martin's may apply a portion of your deposit amount towards any future affair you may book at any ******'s locations".

This is the event that the client choose and per the letter from Martin's "any future affair" to apply the deposit. When the client contacted Martin's regarding this issue the new contract for October 11, 2014 was not signed and the deposit was not yet secured. The client also offered and agreed to sign that contract along with ******* ******** before that contract was signed on October 25, 2013 by Mr. ********* The client is still willing to sign the new contact along with Ms. ******** which will connected her personal name to the event. However, Ms. ******** signed the contract and made a deposit to secure the event date while the client tried to work out this issue with Martin's. Ms. ******** is not aware of the communication between the client and Martin's as the deposit in question is a donation to the October 11, 2014 event from the client.

With all due respect a high school reunion is not a public function as those who did not attend the high school or the graduating class would have no interest in attending this event. While tickets are being sold for this event the funds collected are to pay for each person's attendance, not for profit. Any additional money collected would be used towards upgrades with Martin's and a cash donation being made to a classmate whose son is battling childhood leukemia to help with medical expenses. Therefore, the client would not be making a profit or being reimbursed in anyway.

The Martin's company prides their selves on being a "family-owned business" and they "never forgotten the reason we're in business, which is to make each and every event truly special". However Martin's has and is taking advantage of an unfortunate situation. They come up with stipulations after the fact regardless of the correspondence that came directly from Martin's dated June 29, 2009. Regardless of the false facts that Martin's is now trying to employ the sheer fact that "any future affair" means any future affair. If there are or where stipulations to that statement then they should have been clearly listed as well.

Final Business Response
As stated in the first response, the customer booked the event in June 2008 and had the date reserved for 15 months. Usually when a client cancels an event that close to the event date (10 weeks), the deposit is completely forfeited, however Martin's made an exception and the letter from ******* ********** clearly states "Martin's may apply a portion of your deposit amount towards any future affair you may book at any Martin's locations", (key word being "MAY"). The client does not have the option of "choosing" if and where the deposit may or may not be applied or the amount. The client is well aware of the contract terms per her cancellation letter which includes her statement "I was hoping that you would make an exception and consider refunding what you could of our deposit. In the event this is not possible, we both understand". The event she wants to apply this to is a class reunion and is NOT an event that SHE booked nor was she involved in the signing of the contract in any way. Martin's decision remains the same.

03/15/2013Advertising / Sales Issues
07/30/2012Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Caterers, Banquet Facilities

Additional Information

top

If a business refers you to another company or uses sub-contractors, BBB recommends that you research that company including reviewing their BBB business review.

BBB file opened: 04/16/1993Business started: 06/21/1964
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

BBB records show a license number of Active for this company. Health Department.

Type: Health Department

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: June 1965, MD

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Wayne Resnick (President)Mr. Joseph Mburu (Senior Vice President, Finance)Mr. Martin R. Resnick (Owner/Chairman)
Number of Employees

60

Business Category

Caterers, Banquet Facilities

Products & Services

This company offers banquet facilities and catering services.

Alternate Business Names
Valley Mansion by Martin's

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Martin's, Inc.

6821 Dogwood Rd

Baltimore, MD 21244-2608

To | From

Find a LocationX
Or, display all locations
Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Greater Maryland. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Martin's, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (410) 944-9433
  • (410) 646-0177
  • (410) 635-6134
  • (410) 576-9298
  • (410) 288-2221
  • (301) 845-0911
  • (800) 418-3463

Additional Fax Numbers

  • (410) 944-2732
  • (410) 646-5946
  • (410) 576-0489
  • (410) 288-2905
  • (301) 845-7315
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on December 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Caterers

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.