BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 03/10/2010

Next Day Floors

Find a Location

Phone: (410) 298-5800Fax: (410) 298-5049View Additional Phone Numbers7100 Rutherford Rd, BaltimoreMD 21244-2701 Send email to Next Day FloorsView Additional Web Addresses



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

We have been in business since 1960. We offer major manufacturers including Karastan, Mohawk, Shaw, Coronet, Wood Floors of Distinction, Armstrong, Mannington, Dura Ceramic, Mohawk wood and Laminate.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 03/10/2010

BBB has determined that Next Day Floors meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Next Day Floors include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 14 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

14 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues3
Billing / Collection Issues1
Guarantee / Warranty Issues2
Problems with Product / Service8
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 14

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

4 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Next Day Floors

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 3
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 4 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (14)
05/06/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We were denied a cash refund on 1 box of Armstrong Alterna 12x12 tile when they switched our order to an 18x18 size causing us to have excess tile
We purchased 3 boxes of 12x12 Armstrong Alterna tile plus grout and adhesive totaling $515 based on the salesmen's (Lee) recommendation. A day later, we were contacted by the Manager (Joe) and told that it only came in 18x18 (their mistake) but were not told to cut the quantity to two boxes.

When we completed the job, we returned (4/24) the unopened 3rd box ($122) and the unopened grout ($85) and were told that they "would do their best" to provide at least a partial refund. I did not hear back on Monday 4/25 and visited the store on Tuesday (4/26 AM) and was told that they were still talking with Armstrong.

I just received a call with an offer of a $100 store credit which I refused.

Since I feel it was the miss judgement of the store salesperson that caused us to overbuy both the tile and the grout, I feel a least a partial cash refund is warranted.

Desired Settlement
A cash refund of at least 50% of the value ($207 + 6% tax) of the returned goods ($109).

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ******* ********
Contact Phone: ************
Contact Email: ***************************
The tile is actually 16 x 16, not 18 x 18. The difference between a box of 12 x 12 tile and a box of 16 x 16 tiles is 2.67 square feet which is why the same number of boxes were ordered. I am not sure how the original square footage was arrives at since we did not measure it. Special order tile is not refundable but as a customer accommodation, I will refund half the cost of the one box of tile. $149.15 x 6% = $158.10 x .50 = $79.05. The only one gallon of grout ordered and apparently the customer decided not to use it after it was purchased but the manufacturer will not take it back, so I can not offer any refund. It was the customer's choice not to use it after purchase. The $79.05 will be a cash refund.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I talked to ******* ******** on April 29th and she stated that she would post a credit of $79.05 on my credit card and that it would show up in 2-3 days.

As of *** 5th the credit has still not shown up on my credit card. I feel this case should remain open until the credit is processed on my credit card.

Final Business Response
I did put the credit through on Friday, April 29th as promised and a receipt went out to the customer in the mail on *** 2, 2016. I am attaching a copy of the credit.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
The credit hit my credit card on May 5th. Thanks for your assistance.

04/07/2016Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Replacement of Living room carpet was promised but hasn't happened. I am told they will p=replace now if I pay.
When the carpet was installed, it was not installed properly. I was told they would replace it. Do to some major health issues of my husband, I was unable to arrange to have it done for a while. They now say they no longer carry that carpet. For them to replace it now, I will have to pay for living room AND dining room and it is a lesser grade of carpet then I originally bought. This is not acceptable. I should not have to pay again.

Desired Settlement
Since another installer had verified to me that the carpet was not installed correctly, and Next Day Floors want to charge me to replace it, I want the original payment from my insurance company and my co-pay returned to me.

Business Response
This carpet was installed on July 13, 2015 in the customers living room and dining room. Ms. ******** was not happy with the seam placement, there is no problem with the installation. I can forward a form the customer signed saying that the seam placement is at the discretion of the person measuring, unless specified in writing at the time of purchase which it was not. Despite this we agreed that we would replace the living room. This needed to be done as soon as possible to have the same dye lot and before the dining room carpet had much foot traffic on it. Ms. ******** never got back to us and we assumed she did not want it done. The customer contacted the sales person, in March of this year, to buy carpet for the upstairs of the house and while measuring noticed there was a large stain in the living room carpet. The customer chose not to buy the upstairs from us but now wanted the living room replaced. This was no longer possible since the carpet was no longer being made and even if it was there is no way it would match the dining room after 8 months had gone by. She simply waited too long. Obviously, we can not refund the full amount since she has been using all the carpet for 8 months. We will, however as a customer accommodation, refund our cost to replace the living room which would be $315.14. Because of the time frames involved previously, this offer only stands until April 15, 2016.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
First of all, no one has been living in the house since June when my husband was injured and was confined to a wheelchair so there isn't any wear from foot traffic. There is a small spot where the cat spit up a little. We haven't bothered to clean it because we thought it would be replaced. I have been in contact with Paula B the sales person from time to time through all this. My husband has been hospitalized at least twice since this happened and she was aware of that. I spoke to Paula's supervisor the day of installation when the installer himself said he didn't like the way it had to be put in but that it was the way it was cut. The carpet was in three or four pieces as if it were scraps. I have had another person in the business tell me that the grain of the carpet was going in different directions and that's why the seams were so visible. That was the main issue from the start. The manager didn't really take my complaint seriously from the beginning. At the very least, I think they should replace all the carpet in both rooms with the same quality carpet that is in there now.

Final Business Response
I am sorry the customer's husband has been unwell but we install carpet on one days notice. An offer to replace carpet needs to be done in a timely matter. Carpet is a fashion industry and manufacturers discontinue carpet all the time. The complaint was seam placement and I sent a form signed by the customer saying it is at our discretion. In a room wider than 12 foot the area that exceeds 12 foot is always in pieces to keep the grain going the same way. The salesperson was at the house inspected the seam and said it up to industry standards. If the grain was indeed turned, it would look like two different colors. Seams are not guaranteed to be invisible as it states on the form the customer signed, in the same highlighted sentence. Our offer of a refund of $315.14 still stands until April 15, 2016.

Final Consumer Response
Arlene ****** <*************************>
Attachments11:34 AM (0 minutes ago)

to manderson
Good morning, Maureen -

We appreciate your patience as we have worked through our BBB Dispute Resolution process with Mrs. ********'s concerns.

Please see her email below, and acceptance of your offer of the $315.14.

Do not hesitate to reach out with any additional questions or concerns that you may have.

Best regards,
Arlene ******, Manager - Accredited Business Services
Better Business Bureau Serving Greater Maryland
*********************************************
********************************************************(r)

Become BBB Accredited: Click to Apply

BBB-tag_7469-78w

BBB of Greater Maryland Twitter BBB of Greater Maryland Facebook BBB of Greater Maryland YouTube

*** Please be advised that if your email relates to a complaint, the content of this communication may be added to the complaint record. Any information added to the complaint record is subject to publication (excluding attachments) per our complaint publishing policy. ***



---------- Forwarded message ----------
From: KATHRYN GRUMBACH <*********************>
Date: Wed, Apr 6, 2016 at 11:26 AM
Subject: ref case # ********
To: *************************



Dear Ms. ******,

I have decided to take Next Day Floors offer of $315.14 only because I'm tired of fighting. There is too much happening in my life right now. If I were staying in the house it might be different. Please do one thing for me though. Let the owner see the picture so he can see for himself what a terrible job his people did on it. I have attached it to this email for you. Thank you for your assistance in relaying this information to Next Day Floors.

Sincerely,
Kathryn R. ********
Attachments area
Preview attachment seam in **********
Image
seam in **********

09/22/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Deceptive sales practice and being told when asked that the face weight of the carpet was 44 oz as desired when maker of carpet states 26oz.
I want to express my displeasure with your salesman, Neil ****** and store manager, Steve **** at your Dundalk, Maryland location. I initially was impressed with Neil when I stopped at the store on Thursday, August 13, 2015. He did not come off as a typical salesperson and came of sincere and trustworthy. Before meeting with him at the store I had expressed over the phone that I was looking for mid grade carpet. He had shown me a carpet display sample, ****** ******* Collection (Style: **** Shooting Star). I specifically asked him what the face weight was and he indicated 440z. I was delighted because that was exactly what I was looking for to install into the house of my deceased parents in order for us to prepare to sale. I had expressed to him that this was important and the other companies and contractors I had spoken to were only showing me builders grade carpet (Face Weight 26 oz- $3,710.07 and Face Weight 31 oz-$6,122.00) which appeared to look cheap. The salesman seemed to be honest and came off like he was putting my interest first by listening instead of coming off as a pushy salesman. He even went the extra step to give us the better pad for less throughout the entire house. I even had my brother and nephew who were visiting Maryland meet with him the next day so I could obtain their opinion of the carpet, pick the color and of the salesman so I can make a final decision based on their thoughts recommendations. I eventually decided to sign the contract Monday, August 17th with your company because Neil appeared to be providing us the best service and meeting our needs. The day I signed the contract I had expressed to him that it was for those reason why I chose Next Day Floors instead of **** ***** who had offered to lower the price by 10% afterwards to retain the business even thought Next Day Floors was about $500.00 more. I had asked Neal to put the face weight on the contract and he actually wrote 44 oz. Since we were selling the house I decided to call ****** on Thursday, August 20th to obtain the specs of the carpet we had bought so I can have for the realtor. Too my surprise I was told the face weight of the carpet I was buying from Next Day Floors was 26 oz and not the 44 oz that I was told by Neil. I immediately asked them to confirm the style number I provided and she again told me it was 26 oz. The lady who I was speaking to at ****** connected me to the technical department who confirmed the same. I sent Neil and email of my disappointment and was told by Neil that "we liked the feel of the carpet". Additionally, he was attempting to tell me why we went with this carpet was, "to sell the house and get the best feel and quality for a certain price range." On several occasions I would express my desire to communicate by emails because I was in meetings but instead he would blow up my phone and kept saying "the rug is ready to be installed with a good crew'. I told him that the carpet order is on hold until I was provided assurance from ****** that the carpet I had purchased was truly 44oz face weight. Not once in our email communication did he acknowledge this or provide anything to me. He had expressed that nobody has been disappointed when it was installed. He indicated to me that he told me the "total weight" was approximately 44 oz. I expressed that I have every rigNot once in our email communication did he acknowledge this or provide anything to me. He had expressed that nobody has been disappointed when it was installed. He indicated to me that he told me the "total weight" was approximately 44 oz. I expressed that not once did he ever say "approximately" because I would have questioned that. Additionally, not once did the word "total weight" was discussed but rather I had expressed on several occasions my desire for "face weight" of 44 oz. I told him don't insult my intelligence because I do know the difference between the two.

Desired Settlement
Refund by check. I am not going to provide them additional credit card information for them to provide a refund when they could attempt to charge my bank account for the remaining amount of the purchase. Besides the card used for the deposit was cancelled for that reason on same day I cancelled the order. I don't trust them at all any longer because of their deceptive practices.

Business Response

Mr. ******** send an e-mail to us yesterday. As soon as we were alerted to the problem, the District Manager drove to the store to take disciplinary actions with the salesperson. I immediately started the process for the refund check to be sent to Mr. ******** and left and e-mail apologizing for the actions of the salesperson and asked him to call me when it was convenient for him. We spoke yesterday afternoon and he accepted my apology. I told him the check would go out in the mail this morning. He later sent me an e-mail thanking me for reaching out to him.

Consumer Response
I did received a quick response from the President of the company the same day I filed the complaint. She issued a full refund by way of check as requested. She apologized for the salesman lying to me about the face weight.

05/12/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Next Day Floors carpet installation was inferior and they refused to correct the problem without further charges.
On 2/9/15 after correcting a $400.00 over charge error my husband and I signed a contract for $2721.oo with ****** ********* (***)of Next Day Floors to have carpet installed using our original Matrix padding which had a lifetime warranty and previously purchased from Bill's Carpet Warehouse which has been renamed Next Day Floors. My husband and I were to move all the furniture and remove the old carpet which we did. Upon removal of the old carpet we noticed the Matrix Lifetime pad was very worn. I called *** to relay our concern and told him we would need padding on all major living areas. He said this was good information and he would relay this to the installers. (He never offered to come to the house and asses the condition on the padding.) The installers arrived on 4/1/15 with no knowledge of the call placed to *** and very little padding. They used the little they had on part of the landings, part of the hallway to the living room and a small piece in the walk area of the living room. After a few weeks of wear my husband and I noticed that where the pad was not replaced the carpet was flattening and the seam between the hallway and living room was pulling due to the difference in pad levels. We called Next Day Floors explained and scheduled for the installer on May 1. The installer arrived and thought the problem was just a re-do of the seam. He could not replace anything without charging. I called *** and was told that the Matrix pad warranty was void as the company was out of business. (This was never mentioned when we brought the warranty paperwork when we signed the contract.) If we now wanted more padding installed we would have to pay another $300.00. Since my husband and I felt Next Day Floors should fix the problem without more money we said no. *** told us to contact the installer and maybe we could work something out with him. This put me in an awkward position of now negotiating over repairs and cost. I called the installer and he said he would re-do the hallway for $75.00. So, we scheduled for the installer to repair the hallway on 5/5/15 since this was where the seam was and paid him $75.00. My husband and I bought padding at ***** for $55.00 , are moving all the furniture, again, and pulling up the living room carpet to put down the padding and carpet ourselves. At this point we have no faith in Next Day Floors and found them to be very unprofessional. Needless to say this has caused unnecessary tension and we are very disappointed.

Desired Settlement
Since Next Day Floors wanted $300.00 to fix their poor carpet installation and my husband and I fixed their problem on our own we are asking for a refund of $300.00 We put our faith in their expertise of carpet sales and installation. Really, they should re-install new carpet and padding but we don't want to move everything again!

Business Response

Mrs. ****** is correct, this was handled very badly by my staff. I have already contracted Mrs. ****** to apologize. I offered to replace all the pad at no charge but she had already done that. I am sending her the $300.00 she asked for and also the $75.00 she paid to the installer and the $55.00 she spent at Lowes. Mrs. ****** also felt the yardage she was charged was incorrect so I also refunded 4 yards of carpet for $170.20. The total check to Mrs. ****** is $600.20. I also told her I would send out an installer to replace an area she is not happy with because of the seam. What should have happen from the beginning is that even though the pad manufacturer was out of business, we would replace the pad at no charge to the customer at our expense. I believe the customer was satisfied with this accomoodation.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Ms. ******** of Next Day Floors contacted us immediately apologized, listened, and resolved all our issues. She refunded more than we initially requested and the seam we are unhappy about will be repaired. If the sales people at Next Day Floors take lessons from Ms. ******** they won't experience problems like this in future as she is professional, kind, and took the time to listen to our needs. My husband and I had picked out beautiful carpet for our bedroom while we were selecting our recently installed living room carpet. Next Day Floors may get the $600.00 back in the near future as we will give Next Day Floors another try. (As a side note, we had been customers of Next Day Floors when it was named Bill's Carpet Warehouse on several occasions over the past 20 years and had received excellent service and feel we will get the same excellent service in the future from Next Day Floors.)

04/17/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I signed a contract to have 900 sq ft of carpeting placed on 5 April 2015. They sent someone to measure to area on May 9th after the waiting period.
The person they sent out stated that the area measured was 1117 square feet. It is not, I had another professional company measure the area and they came up with 950 sq ft. They tried to get more money out of me and threaten to with hold 20% of the down payment to restock the carpet. I paid $2000.00 because I honestly want the carpet for the price given. I was never told about the 3 days I had before it was binding or I would have had the person come out to measure the next day before giving Next Day Floors a check. They cashed it and I am in limbo because they went up almost 1500 dollars more than the original contract. My husband is an engineer and we have measured the area three times. It is not 1117 square feet. I believe this is a way of trying to squeeze more money out of honest customers.

Desired Settlement
I only want what the money I gave them back, there has been no work done. He said the restocking fee was because they pulled the carpet, well how did they know how much to pull. I told him the very next day I could not afford that price which was Friday the 11th of April. He talked with his boss on Saturday and called me on Sunday the 12th of April that he would lower it by $400.00 without even seeing if the measurements are true. Thanks for any help you can provide.

Business Response
Our Manager has spoken to Ms. ******** and resolved the issues. Ms. ******** is completing her installation and purchase with us.

Thank you for the opportunity to resolve this case.

Page 1 of 2
04/23/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Sales rep not disclosing warranty exception at time of sale.
Carpet installed 6/2014. In 3/2015 one of our small dogs had an accident on the carpet. We own a specific pet carpet cleaning machine. After using this process 2x an extremely strong odor was being released. We called our home contractor to see what could be done. I have a lung disease and wear oxygen. I could stay in our bedroom. I was not able to breathe the stench. My husband called Next Day Floors. He spoke the G.M., ***** ******* who told him call ******* NDF would do nothing because of the manf. warranty. ****** said no due to the warranty. Our complaint is that the salesperson, ***** saw that we have 2 small dogs. We were never told that the warranty did not cover "odor." We have owned a pet for 38 years. Never had a problem with any other carpet like this. It could have been cheap or expensive carpet. This the one and only time a carpet emitted any odor that can not be removed. Our contractor cut the piece of carpet with the odor and took it to another carpet dealer who told him it was a good brand of
****** and never had seen this be

Desired Settlement
The settlement we are requesting is $300.00, the cost of the replacement carpet and installation. There is really no prorating. The carpet has been installed less than one year ago!

Business Response
Mr. Fields did speak with both Mr. & Mrs. ********** and explained that there is no carpet or flooring of any type that carries a warranty for pet odors.

While we sympathize with The **********'s issue, we cannot be held responsible for their pet's behavior.



Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I am not satisfied with the business response because, we. believe that their staff should know the producr (s). Having seen our pets during the initial visit, we should have been told the particular carpet we were being shown was not "pet friendly." We should have been shown alternative choices. The warranty info is not mailed until after the install. At that point all the carpet would have to been taken out. In 37 years of owning a dog, never has this occurred. Again, I am requesting a partial refund of $300.00, the cost that I just paid to have the carpet we were sold replaced. We were deceived by their sales person. Very shady business dealings.

Final Business Response
The consumer seems to be ignoring the basic fact. There is no carpet, or any other flooring product, that warranties against the odor caused by pet urine or feces. They only warranty removal of the stain. Also, for future reference, all manufacturer warranties are voided by the use of self cleaning products or machines. All carpets have to be professionally cleaned to maintain the warranties. The sales person, Ms. *****, is a long time employee with 30 plus years of experience in the business. She is not deceitful in any way. We have been in business since 1960 and have an A rating with the BBB, we are in no way , "shady" Pets do have messy accidents and this is unfortunate. If the consumer spilled paint or bleach on the carpet, I do not feel that they would hold us responsible, this really is the same type of situation, an accident that ruined the carpet. They could try to file a claim with their homeowner's insurance. We can not be responsible for the smell left behind by pet accidents.

04/01/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Issue with hardwood floor damage repair/replacement.
In October of 2012 we ordered hardwood to be placed in our residence on the main floor. When we chose the wood we asked the salesmen if this wood was acceptable for people with dogs. We were assured that the wood was perfectly fine for a household with dogs and that it would only scratch and dent like any other floor. So, we placed our order and the floor was installed. That spring we noticed that small pieces of wood in the grain was coming up in our living room. We weren't sure what was going on and wanted to see if it would spread so we waited until June or July and we contacted said company about the with issue with our floor. The salesman came out and looked at the floor and said he'd never seen this before. We asked him straight out of he thought our dogs could be causing this and he told us no. The manager of the store then came to our house and took some pictures and stated he'd never seen this before and would get the manufacturer involved. We were then told that the wood manufacturer would be contacted and would get back to us. A few weeks later a gentlemen that we assumed worked for the manufacturer called me up to come look at the floor and showed up at our house to look at the damage. Upon inspection he too stated he'd never seen this before. We again asked about our dogs and he said no. He stated that because of the humidity he couldn't work on the floor at the time and he would be getting back to us in October. He also stated he would talk to the manufacturer about what he saw. October came and went and we didn't hear back. Holiday season can and went so we then contacted Bill's Carpet fair. They were surprised that the floor was not fixed. I'm not sure how they would not be involved in ensuring the floor was fixed? By this time the damaged area had spread considerably and was not limited to 1 area. The installer came back out and we found out that he did not work for the manufacturer but instead worked for the supplier. We were surprised at this since we were told the manufacturer would be contacted since no one had ever seen this sort of damage before. The installer said that he didn't have enough wood for this and was concerned about the area spreading. He stated that he didn't believe our dogs could cause this damage. He called the supplier and I called Bill's. He told us the entire floor should be replaced. The manager of Bill's (***) came back out and inspected the floor and found more locations that were damaged in other areas of the house. We talked a while and he said he would talk to the supplier. A few days later we are told that the damage us from our pets claws. That the manufacturer has stated this. Even though they never came out and looked at the floor nor inspected our dog's claws to see if it was possible. And they followed up with they would only replace where the damage is in the living area, not the other locations that we both looked at. I stopped by Bill's to talk to *** and he tune completely changed. He stated that his salesman isn't a wood expert and there fore couldn't have said that the floor wouldn't be damaged from the dog's claws. I responded with why would we be told it would be fine? He really couldn't answer. We were also told the manufacturer stopped making that particular floor. I asked when the floor would be done and was told March. I stated that I couldn't take anymore time off of work without being compensated and was assured it could be done on my day off. We were told that the flooring would be dropped off either in February or early March. On March 14, 2014 my wife called the installer and he told her he would drop off the wood Sat 15, or Mon 17. that the weather delayed his work and pushed us down in priority. We received no call Friday or Monday. i called and left a message with the installer Monday and as of 3:04 PM Tuesday March 18 have not received a return call. I called Bill's and left a message for *** at 2:16.

Desired Settlement
We have not been provided with written or physical proof that our pets caused this damage. I believe we were misled about the quality of the product and provided a sub-par product. I would like the entire floor replaced or paid the value we paid for the floor. We were told that this floor would be adequate for our pets. The floor has a 50 yr warranty and looks much older than only 2 yrs.

Business Response
The customer states that salesperson said the wood floor "would only scratch and dent like any other floor." Any floor covering, including carpet, will be damaged if pets scratch and claw at the floor. The sales person and the manager did both look at the floor and did not know what caused it. They reported the problem to the distributor from whom we purchased the floor. The distributor for hard surface products like wood, laminate and vinyl are responsible for the warranty inspections, not the manufacturer. The owner of the distributor was the one who inspected the product and he is an expert on hard surface flooring. He told the customer it was caused by the dogs and pointed out that the baseboards were also scratched by the dogs. But as a customer accommodation he agreed to replace that specific area at his own (the Distributor's) expense. He made the arrangements with the customer, not Bill's Carpet Fair, that is why the store was not aware that it was not done. Also, the distributor has a whole warehouse full of that product or he would not be able to replace that area two years later. We have installed tens of thousands of feet of that product in the past and had not one problem. Bill's Carpet Fair is not longer carrying that product because there was an availability issue a year ago and we had switched to another distributor, it had nothing to do with the product. We had all experienced delays this winter due to the weather . *** got Mr. *******'s message yesterday and called the distributor and was told the installer was on the way to the house with the wood. *** told Mr. ******* to call him back if it did not arrive. As of 11:00 3/20/14, he has not heard back so we are assuming it arrived. The distributor and we feel strongly that the product was damaged by the dogs and there is not warranty on any floor for that. If Mr. ******* feels differently he can have an Independent Inspector come out to inspect the floor. But there is a cost for that and I am sure the findings would be the same.

02/10/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchased two matching area rugs on Wednesday, Jan 8, 2014. I specifically asked if I could return them if the color was not a good match.
I was told that I could.
The rugs turned out to not be a good match. I rolled and taped them back up, and returned them on the following Wednesday, Jan 15, 2014. An employee came out and helped me carry them back into the store from curbside. He told me that another gentleman would help me with the return.
I gave him my receipt. He told me it was too late to return them, that the store had a 3 day return policy. (That would have been Sat, Jan 18.) He asked me if I remembered him telling me that. I did not. I told him that Wednesdays are my days off, and that I had been sick during the weekend, which was true. He motioned for me to chose something else, shrugging his shoulders.
I had specifically purchased these two area rugs because they were matching, and I needed two! I could not believe the poor customer service and discourteous manner in which I was treated, and became quite upset. I am not a liar, and sometimes exceptions in good faith should be made.
I actually told him to, "Keep the money." and left the store. I didn't even pick up the receipt on my way out, so I cannot even verify the "three day return policy".
Bill's has two carpets to resell at my expense. I waited for a phone call or a refund to be placed on my bank card, which would have been the correct action to have been taken on the part of the store. However, this did not happen. I assume by now, one week later, that it will not happen.
What a rotten way to do business. I see on the internet that there are a few "Bill's". I assume the business is profitable. Is this way of doing business something to be proud of?
I am a nurse who works hard . I am proud of what I do and hold my head up. How can you? I appreciatively await a reply.

Desired Settlement
Refund of $190.78.

Business Response
Our actual policy stated on the receipt is no returns or exchanges. The customer was not sure of the color so the Assistant Manager made an exception at did give her 3 days to return them due to her schedule at work. Even though she returned them 7 says later ( a time frame in which the rugs could have been used ) he agreed to let her re-select. Ms. *********** could not find 2 to match and a store credit is normally the policy in this case. But as she stated in her complaint she stormed out of the store before a call could be made to the Area Manager to approve a refund. The assistant manager will be contacting Ms. *********** to get her credit card information to issue a credit.

05/29/2015Problems with Product / Service
11/12/2013Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Carpet & Rug Dealers - New, Contractors - Flooring, Floors - Hardwood, Tile - Ceramic - Contractors & Dealers, Floors - Laminate

Additional Information

top

If a business refers you to another company or uses sub-contractors, BBB recommends that you research that company including reviewing their BBB business review.

BBB file opened: 02/01/1986Business started: 01/01/1960
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Dept. of Labor, Licensing & Regulation (dllr)
500 N Calvert St Ste 401
Baltimore, MD 21202
(410) 230-6001
http://www.dllr.state.md.us/license/

BBB records show a license number of 126074 for this company, issued by Dept. of Labor, Licensing & Regulation (dllr). Their web address is http://www.dllr.state.md.us/license/. The expiration date of this license is 05/14/2018. This license is in the name of Carpet Fair, Inc.

Type: Maryland Home Improvement Commission

Check License Status: http://www.dllr.state.md.us/cgi-bin/electroniclicensing/OP search/OP search.cgi?calling app=HIC::HIC_qselect126074

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: October 1960, MD

Business Management
Principal: Ms. Maureen Anderson (President)Customer Contact: Mr. Paul Allen (Sales Manager)
Number of Employees

41

Business Category

Carpet & Rug Dealers - New, Contractors - Flooring, Floors - Hardwood, Tile - Ceramic - Contractors & Dealers, Floors - Laminate

Products & Services

This company provides residential and commercial sales and installation of carpet, hardwood floors, laminate, area rugs, vinyl, and ceramic tile.

Hours of Operation
Mon: 10:00 AM to 07:00 PMTue: 10:00 AM to 07:00 PMWed: 10:00 AM to 07:00 PMThu: 10:00 AM to 07:00 PMFri: 10:00 AM to 07:00 PMSat: 10:00 AM to 05:30 PMSun: 12:00 PM to 05:00 PM
Alternate Business Names
Carpet Fair, Inc.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Next Day Floors has received 4.7 out of 5 stars based on 4 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Next Day Floors

7100 Rutherford Rd

Baltimore, MD 21244-2701

To | From

Find a LocationX
Or, display all locations
Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Greater Maryland. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Next Day Floors is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (410) 298-7223
  • (800) 916-6112
  • (410) 944-0010
  • (410) 266-2559

Additional Fax Numbers

  • (410) 298-4849
  • (443) 729-2041
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on December 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Carpet & Rug Dealers - New

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.