BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 02/19/1997

Carpet & Wood Floor Liquidators

Phone: (410) 401-9081Fax: (410) 789-1157View Additional Phone Numbers5199 Raynor Ave, LinthicumMD 21090-1434 Send email to Carpet & Wood Floor Liquidators

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 02/19/1997

BBB has determined that Carpet & Wood Floor Liquidators meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Carpet & Wood Floor Liquidators' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Carpet & Wood Floor Liquidators

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)
12/10/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
When tile was installed on my shower floor insufficient grout was used. The level of the grout is as much as 1/8' below the tile, leaving sharp edges.
The sharp edges hurt and possibly damaged my feet. My podiatrist had to remove a shard of tile from my toe and said I should wear rubber shoes. I've checked similar installations and the grout is at the top of the tile. Also, rounded tiles were used, eliminating the sharp edges.
Throughout the installation the tile crew was very unreliable as to showing up to work. A two-week job took four weeks plus. The crew boss seldom showed up to provide any quality control.
Purchase date was 6/22 for $7163. Paid by credit card in two installments. The work was essentially finished in early August but we've been playing tag ever since.
The sales rep has been very accomodating, but nothing gets done. We've exchanged at least six e-mails, four phone calls, and a recent visit.

Desired Settlement
Both the sales rep and the crew chief were next door soliciting new work and I caught up with them in the driveway requesting they come look at my floor. About a week later the crew chief was back and I had to coax him to take a look.
He said he would talk to the sales rep (who was on vacation) and suggest they add more grout. Other contractors have told me that may or may not work. I'm willing to give it a try. Otherwise it will need replacing.
I had a face to face with the sales rep last week and he texted the installer three times and got three no's trying to set a date.
I would like a date CERTAIN for when the work will be done and then a second date CERTAIN for when they miss the first one

Business Response

we were set to meet Mr *****'s neighbor on Wednesday November the 25th between 12.30 and 1pm so we could get in the re grout the shower floor. But there was no answer and the installer left. I received an email from Mr ***** on Sunday November 29th saying he was taking it to the next level and I responded to his email on the same day letting him know we were outside his neighbor's house as scheduled on Wednesday November 25th. The next email from Mr ***** he informed me his neighbor was looking for us on Tuesday the 24th. I have the the phone logs in my cell showing I called his neighbor on the 24th at 3.44pm to schedule for the next morning at 10am. Our installer had an emergency the following morning and I called Mr *****'s neighbor at 8.20 am on the 25th to let her know we will be there between 12.30 and 1pm. We then scheduled with Mr ***** to fix the issue on Friday December 4th. Attached is a copy of Mr *****'s email I received on 12/9
****;

I much appreciate the work that ******* did on Friday. Although he said it wasn't necessary to wait for long, I gave it about 30 hours to set. Hence the delay in getting back to you.

The additional grout he added has made the floor much more comfortable. After showering twice the haze from the excess grout has begun to disappear.

He said he would take another look at it when he returns to do work next door in a week or so.

As you suggested I showed him the marble ransom (he calls it something else) that split and told him that I had decided to install the one you ordered myself rather than experience any further delay. Realizing that installing it may have been my fault I said that if you reordered one I would pay for it. He then said he would be glad to install it when he is next door.

Thanks again for resolving this issue, assuming that the fix it works.


*****


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I can't comment on the mixup with the neighbor. It's a "he said, she said issue." She says she was home. Her door was open. And, there was no phone call on that day. I think the installer might have gone to the wrong house. All our units are very similar.

No matter. The work has been done and I'll await the installer's rerturn to check on it. There is some excess grout in the corners that could be removed but this is largely cosmetic.

Both the installer and the sales rep were very cooperative in offering to help me replace the transom that split after I installed it. (That's a compliment, not a complaint.)

As of this writing I would prefer to keep the complaint open for a little while in case anything else develops.

03/01/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The complaint is regarding laminate flooring that I had installed.
I entered into a contract with Carpet and Wood Floor Liquidators on 7/26/12. According to the contract, up to four (4) sheets of luan were included for floor preparation due to the level of the floor being uneven. The floor was installed in August 2012.

I first contacted the company on 2/8/2013 because the openings between the slats were the same and the weather was cooler. I was using the products that they recommended. They did come out around 6/3/2013 to take a look at the floor but told me to wait until cooler weather. Sometimes it goes back when warm weather is gone.

I contacted them again on 1/2/ 2014. They came out around the end of January. I received an email telling me about the subfloor problem but they wanted me to pay more money. The floor is supposed to be under lifetime warranty. I told them no and that I wanted the floor fixed with no cost to me. Had they leveled the floor out, I don't think they would have had this problem. They knew it was uneven before they put it in.

I heard from them on 3/18/2014 and someone came out in April 2014 and looked at the floor. They did not do anything because the installer said that replacing the slats would not fix the underlying problem. Of course, they later sent me an email and said they did not have the correct laminate and the problem is the sub floor of the house is so uneven.

After many emails to them (no one responding to me), the floor finally came in around September 2014. They had to restall one room completely and pieced the other room (kitchen) which did not look good at all (color is uneven). The pieces had come from a room that was not used so they looked newer.

I contacted them again on 4/23/2015. The floor was separating again. He responded on 9/29/2015 and told me to use glue (the separation was too big to glue and they did not come out to look at it).

I assumed that the floor would be put in correctly. They have been out several times but it seems like something new pops up. This the first time I've had laminate flooring but people who have seen the floor agree with me. I am really dissatisfied with this floor. I just wanted it put in right.

Desired Settlement
I would like the floor replaced but I am not sure I want it done by the same place. I want it to look the way it's supposed to look. This floor is the first thing you see when you walk into the house and right now I have a rug covered a big crack.

Business Response
In 2012 we install new laminate flooring (flaoting floor) style woodland park by ***** which carries a 20 year warranty that covers Finish, Fade and Stain (not Lifetime). Carpet and Wood Floor Liquidators offers a 2 year warranty on all workmanship ( not lifetime). We removed existing carpet and pad and installed some laun plywood and used some patch where the subfloor from the addition didn't meet the same height as the existing home. The original laminate is no longer available so we installed a new laminate in a bedroom so we could use that laminate to fix the gaping in the Kitchen. We believe the problem is movement between the subfloors from the additions and the existing house structure. We have been out several times to repair and replace laminate and the same gaps keep coming back.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This does fix my problem which I have had from the beginning. I believe the last email I received from you told me to use glue. Wouldn't this make the warranty invalid? Glue cannot fix the huge gap that is there. If I push the laminate either way, there is a gap on the end too. I'm sure no one would want this look for their house. I wish someone would have told me from the start that laminate would not be right with the conditions of the floors, which I made clear. I believe a subfloor needs to be put in and the laminate redone (except for the bedroom) since it not able to be fixed.

07/30/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Refused to return purchase made over phone before delivery of product was accepted.
Placed a second order of tile via phone on Friday 06-19-2015. Purchase paid by credit card. At no time was there any mention of no returns or any special order circumstance. Was told tile was in stock at another warehouse and would arrive in 1-2 days. Called very next business day Monday 06-22-14 and advised Francis the order was no longer needed and a smaller order was requested. Several hours later Francis said he would accommodate request first thing following business morning 06-23-15; and would call me then. On Tuesday 06-23-2015 Francis called back and said he would not accommodate, and now the order was "special order" as all their products and non-returnable, even though there was no mention of this at time of sale or no billing contract for this second order. Product is at the distributer warehouse and not even at merchants store. I have not excepted or received delivery of product and Francis refuses to refund. There was no written or verbal contract of no returns, exchanges, refunds, or re-stock fees.

Desired Settlement
I would like a full refund immediately; as there was no written contract nor verbal contract of no returns, store credit, restock fee etc.

Business Response
I have responses from different employees who had interaction with the customer.

Francis ******* (Sales Manager)
First order was placed on 6/1 customer picked up everything was fine. Mrs ****** called on 6/18 to add 3 boxes of wall tile and 6 bullnose they were ordered from ******* same day. Monday 6/22 the day ******* said they would arrive at there location in Linthicum Mrs. ****** wanted to cancel the order I told I will have to talk to ******* since its special order. Then Mr. ****** called in the office threatened to punch people. I called him last night and again this morning told him the tile was special order and we can't send it back he informed me he will cancel the charge card and hung up.

Customer Service Rep.1 (Carlie)
My co-worker, Sharnae, answered the phone for a residential customer who was upset because a representative was not answering his phone. She placed the gentleman on hold and I picked him up to see if there was any way I could assist him. I explained to him that the representative he was requesting to talk to was working from the road, and he would probably return his call within the next hour. I then proceeded to give the phone call to a different residential rep, who picked up the man and spoke with him. About 10 minutes later, the man called back and again, Sharnae answered the call. He then told her that he was only 5 minutes away, and he would come to our store and hurt someone "if that's what we really wanted." Sharnae placed the man on hold again, and this time another coworker, Luis, picked him up. I had Luis answer the call on speaker so that I could listen in to make sure there was nothing we could do for him. He then started using foul language, demanding that he speak with the rep he spoke to initially. Again, we explained that he was on the road and we could take his number and send him an e-mail, or he could wait for the rep to return his phone call. He finally accepted that the rep would be reaching out within the hour and hung up. I spoke with the rep after the incident, and he said that all was well and he had handled the situation.

Customer Service Rep 2 (Sharnae)
IN REGARDS TO THE INCIDENT ON MONDAY EVENING, I SPOKE WITH MR. ****** WHEN HE CALLED TO SPEAK WITH FRAN. I EXPLAINED TO HIM THAT FRAN WAS UNAVAILABLE AND HE THEN ASKED FOR A MANAGER. FRAN IS THE MANAGER AND I EXPLAINED THAT TO HIM. THEN I SENT HIM TO BRIAN TO SEE IF BRIAN COULD ASSIST HIM. BRIAN TRIED TO HELP, BUT MR. ****** CURSED AT BRIAN CAUSING BRIAN TO HANG UP BEFORE HE RETURNED THE INSULT. MR. ****** CALLED AGAIN IN A VERY ANGRY MOOD AND SAID IF HE DOESN'T GET IN TOUCH WITH FRAN HE WILL COME TO THE OFFICE HERE AND PUNCH FRAN. HE PROCEEDED TO CURSE AND SAY HE IS 5 MINUTES AWAY AND WILL COME HERE AND HURT SOMEONE IF HE DOESN'T GET WHAT HE WANTS. LUIS THEN SPOKE WITH HIM JUST TO REITERATE THAT FRAN WAS NOT THERE AND THAT WE COULD TRY TO GET A HOLD OF FRAN. MR. ****** SAYS THAT HE HAD BEEN CALLING FRAN AND LEAVING MESSAGES WITHOUT FRAN RETURNING THE CALL. HE THEN CURSED AT LUIS. WE FINALLY GOT A HOLD OF FRAN AND FRAN SPOKE WITH HIM. TURNS OUT THERE WAS MISCOMMUNICATION BETWEEN MR. ****** AND HIS WIFE, MRS. ******. MRS. ****** ORDERED SOMETHING FOR MR. ******, BUT IT WASN'T EXACTLY WHAT MR. ****** WANTED ORDERED. SO IT WAS TOO LATE TO CHANGE ANYTHING AND MR. ****** WAS UPSET ABOUT THAT.

SO THIS IS MY ACCOUNT OF MONDAY'S INCIDENT.

Customer Service Rep 3 ( Luis)
On Monday of this week Sharnea had received a call the customer was yelling at her through the phone she placed him on park after he had threatened to assault someone at the office , I picked him up hoping to assist him and he referred to me as an ***. I Took down him phone number and forwarded the number to Fran.

We have been billed from ******* for the material. Customer said he was stopping payment with his credit card company. I have not heard anything else. Sincerely, Lorraine ****




Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Business is refusing to cancel order. No where is it listed on invoice or was it ever communicated that the order could not be canceled or returned. Fran agreed to cancel order then refused. Business is being misleading about communication of customer and associates. Associates were unprofessional in handling complaint and hung up on customer. Associate attempted to place blame on customers contractor, and refused to forward call to a manager. Associate escalated situation then hung up on customer when situation was turned back towards business. Fran refused cancel and return after being told to do so does not have product at the store. Product is still at ******* supply warehouse. Fran was notified order will not be accepted, Fran is choosing hold out as long as possible in an effort undermine the customers rights due to no written or verbal agreement for canals of returns.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Carpet & Rug Dealers - New, Contractors - Flooring, Window Coverings, Property Management - Industrial & Commercial, Floors - Hardwood, Vinyl Flooring, Hardwood Floor Contractors, Tile - Ceramic - Contractors & Dealers, Carpet Installation

Additional Information

top

If a business refers you to another company or uses sub-contractors, BBB recommends that you research that company including reviewing their BBB business review.

BBB file opened: 02/15/1991Business started: 09/01/1990
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company utilizes subcontractors for carpet and flooring installation. BBB encourages consumers to verify a subcontractor's license with the MD Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: October 1990, DE

Business Management
Francis Bagnall (Sales Manager)
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Randy Pleasant (President)Customer Contact: Ms. Makaye Germershausen (Customer Relations)
Number of Employees

30

Business Category

Carpet & Rug Dealers - New, Contractors - Flooring, Window Coverings, Property Management - Industrial & Commercial, Floors - Hardwood, Vinyl Flooring, Hardwood Floor Contractors, Tile - Ceramic - Contractors & Dealers, Carpet Installation

Products & Services

This company offers residential and commercial carpet and flooring sales and installation.

Alternate Business Names
Carpet Liquidators, Carpet & Wood Floor

Additional Business Names and Locations are viewable by clicking Find a Location

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Carpet & Wood Floor Liquidators

5199 Raynor Ave

Linthicum, MD 21090-1434

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • R & S Enterprises, Inc.

    5199 Raynor Ave 

    Linthicum, MD 21090-1434(410) 789-1155
    (410) 401-9923
    (410) 401-9081
    Fax: (410) 789-1157

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Greater Maryland. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Carpet & Wood Floor Liquidators is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (410) 789-1155
  • (410) 401-9923
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on December 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Carpet & Rug Dealers - New

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.