BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 05/10/2010

The ROI Companies (Headquarters)

Phone: (410) 561-7800Fax: (410) 561-1648

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues8
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints9

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (9)
12/30/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Listing a collection on my credit report for a debt that is not mine.
You are reporting a collection attempt on my credit report for 53.00 dollars with an account number that is listed as XXXXXXXXXXX. I have no idea what this is for or why it is on my report. Can you please give me a call so that I can either pay this or find out what it is and have it removed form my report completely.

Desired Settlement
I want them to identify the debt they have placed on my credit report and provide me with proof that this is my debt and that is has or has not been paid and if this turns out to not be my debt I want it removed form my credit report completely and if it is my debt I was it updated that it has been paid.

Business Response
Dear Sir or Madam,

On December 24, 2013, we received notice of the complaint. Please note that we regret any inconvenience Mr. ****** may have experienced. Treating patients with care and respect is important to us.

We received an email from Mr. ****** on December 23, 2013. The message stated that he was not certain what the debt appearing on his credit report was concerning. He requested that our office contact him by phone, in order to verify that the debt was his. Mr. ****** was contacted on December 23, 2013. At that time, he paid the account in full. Our office has requested that TransUnion update Mr. ******'s credit report to indicate the account has been paid in full. Consumer reporting agencies may take thirty (30) or more days to process the requested update.

Please advise if our office may be of assistance with any further questions or concerns.

Thank you for your time and patience.

Sincerely,

****** ******
Patient Quality Manager

05/11/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Fraudlent account
In the process of buying a home I was inform that this company has an account listed on my credit report for the amount of $75 account #XXXXXXXXXX. This is not my account. my police report for identity theft s ****XXXXX. I have no knowledge of the hospital/clinic/ or doctor that this account is associated with. When I spoke to a rep from MBROI and she stated that the account is listed under the name of ****** ****** that is not my name!!!!

Desired Settlement
This company needs to remove this fraudulent account from my social security number

Business Response
Dear Sir or Madam:
Please be advised we are in receipt of the complaint forwarded by your office. We work exclusively on behalf of hospitals and require a HIPAA authorization release from Ms. ****** before providing any information to the Better Business Bureau in response to the complaint. We have attached a blank form to this response for Ms. ****** to complete and sign.
Once we receive the signed authorization from Ms. ******, we will work with your office to resolve her complaint.
Sincerely,
*** ********
Compliance Officer


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
this form says signature of patient i never been a patient. It also ask for patients date of birth I do not know the information of the person who utilize my social security number. I cant complete this form because I am not the patient. I can not complete this form because I am an identity theft victim. I cant complete a form with information I do not know.

Final Business Response
Dear Sir or Madam,
We have reviewed the complaint and the account number provided has not been reported to the credit reporting agencies. In an effort to further investigate Ms. ******'s claim, please find the attached Identity Theft Affidavit. Upon receipt of the fully completed affidavit, we will work to find resolution of this matter.
Sincerely,
*** ********
Compliance Officer

09/22/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
In reviewing my credit report I found a derogatory item listed as MBROI in the amount of $75.00 from 2008. I am unaware of any debt owed.
I have reviewed all my records and no not have (or ever had) an account with MBROI. I cannot locate contact information for this company and would like to get to the bottom of this alleged debt. I need assistance getting in touch wiht MBROI so I can validate or dispute this debt. It seems to me that an account reported in 2008 would have required some documentation.

Desired Settlement
I would like validation of the alleged debt (including any relevant supporting documentation); the derogatory credit notice removed from my credit profile; and I would like written confirmation and contact information from MBROI.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ******* ********
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX *****
Contact Email: *****@theroi.com
Dear Sir or Madam:

Please be advised we are in receipt of the complaint forwarded by your office. We work exclusively on behalf of hospitals and require a HIPAA authorization release from Ms. ****** before providing any information to the Better Business Bureau in response to the complaint. We have mailed an authorization to Ms. ****** on September 9, 2014.

Once we receive the signed authorization from Ms. ******, we will work with your office to resolve her complaint.

Sincerely,
*** ********
Compliance Officer


06/09/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Noticed a outstanding collection for 59.00 from MBROI on a recent credit report. Never received itemized bill or contact from medical facility or ROI
During a recent credit report, it was discovered that an outstanding bill was submitted to trans-union for the amount of 59.00. To this date I have never received a any invoice/statement or contact via phone regarding the balance. I have contacted my medical provider's billing departments and I have no outstanding balances. I then verified that they had the correct address on record.

The account name on the credit report is listed as MBROI with account #XXXXXXXX7321. After a quick google search, I discovered it is a medical billing collection agency. However, I am unable to locate any contact information on their website, and since I never received a billing statement, I have no means of contacting the company for further inquiry into the matter.

In addition to being unable resolve the "collection" my trans-union credit report has suffered a ~70 point deduction compared to that of the other two credit agencies. This leads me to believe that the "outstanding" balance that they claim has been unsatisfied for an extended period of time. Again, I want to emphasize that I have received not a single statement, email, phone call, from either the medical facilities or the collection agency for an outstanding bill.

Desired Settlement
If in fact, I have an outstanding balance. I would be more than happy to immediately pay the balance in full so as long as a statement is provided.

If the collection balance is a mistake, I would like to have the account closed out immediately

In both cases, I would like a notification sent to trans-union for the removal of the outstanding debt that I was never made aware of due to never receiving any statement/notification from ROI regarding the debt. I should not be accountable for someone's negligence or incompetence or some software glitch.

Business Response
Dear Madam or Sir,

We received notice of the complaint on May 23, 2014. Treating patients with care and respect is important to us. We work exclusively on behalf of hospitals and would require a HIPAA compliant authorization from Mr. ********** before releasing details to the Better Business Bureau. We have mailed an authorization to him on May 23, 2014.

Once we receive the properly executed HIPAA authorization required by law to make disclosures pertaining to healthcare services from Mr. **********, we will be happy to discuss the subject matter of Mr. **********'s complaint with the Better Business Bureau.

Thank you for your time and patience.

****** ******
Patient Quality Manager

This is a communication from a debt collector. This is an attempt to collect a debt, and any information obtained will be used for that purpose.

06/06/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
While paying a bill from ******* from Dec 2013 on my flex card, they were unable to provide me a conf # or proof of payment
My son was seen at ***** ******* on Dec 2013. He got the bill while away and within 3 months we were sent to collections. In order to keep his name clear of debt, I was trying to pay it before he got home from college in May with my flex card. He is on our account. I went online to pay and it states if paying with a flex card, to call their number directly. I did and spoke with a ******. She had to ask me his account number twice then states, "I'm unable to give you information". I replied to her, "I didn't ask for any information, I am just trying to pay the bill". She takes my card information and says, "thank you". I said, "Don't I get a confirmation number or something sent to e-mail at least that this debt is paid?" She said "no". She tried to explain that they have to wait for approval. So, I asked to speak to her supervisor. She switched me to an "****" who was very curt the minute he answered the phone. I explained my situation and he says to me, "ma'am I can't give you any information." I again said, "I'm not asking for health information, just confirmation that we've paid the bill". He says the same thing ****** does that they have to wait for approval. I asked then if he could at least send an e-mail that an attempt was made to pay the bill and that it's pending and he said no and that my son would have to call if there was an issue?! Seriously?? What good is a Flex Spending card if they can't take it and give us proof of at least a pending transaction????????

Desired Settlement
I feel that if this company is going to do collections for a hospital as large as ***** ******* then they need to correct something in this system. I can go online and pay other medical bills with my Flex card and not only get proof of payment but can print it off as well. While I understand the 'approval' process, you should at least give your customers a 'pending payment' notification thru email!

Business Response
Dear Madam or Sir,

We received notice of the complaint on May 19, 2014. Treating patients with care and respect is important to us. We work exclusively on behalf of hospitals and would require a HIPAA compliant authorization from ******* ******* before releasing details to the Better Business Bureau. We also need a HIPAA authorization from him to be able to release information to ***** *******. We have mailed the authorizations to him on May 19, 2014.

Once we receive the properly executed HIPAA authorizations required by law to make disclosures pertaining to healthcare services from ******* *******, we will be happy to discuss the subject matter of ***** *******'s complaint with the Better Business Bureau.

Thank you for your time and patience.

****** ******
Patient Quality Manager

This is a communication from a debt collector. This is an attempt to collect a debt, and any information obtained will be used for that purpose.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I'm not asking for personal information from this company on ****. All I asked for was some proof that the bill was attempted to be paid. If you are going to send folks a collection notice and an attempt is made to pay the bill, then you should be able to give them some proof of payment or pending payment. This young man was away at college and I, as his mother, was trying to pay the bill for him before the collection process went any further. I wouldn't have cared if you'd at least sent it to **** himself. I was using my Flex card and he is on my flex card. Why is it your company cannot give proof of payment or pending payment and other companies dealing with flex cards can?

Final Business Response
We received your email informing us that Ms. ******* did not accept our response. Her rebuttal states that she is not asking for personal information from MB/ROI about the guarantor/patient, just some proof of payment for her flex card.

Typically flex card companies require a detailed receipt listing services and payments. With this in mind, our practice is to send a detailed receipt when a paid in full letter is requested by the guarantor/patient for payments made by a flex card. We are unable to release PHI (personal health information) to a third party without a signed HIPAA release.

We have sent a detailed receipt to the guarantor/patient at the address listed in their account. If Ms. ******* needs the detailed receipt, the guarantor/patient would need to provide it to her. Without a signed HIPAA release on file giving MB/ROI permission to release the guarantor/patients PHI, we are unable to send it directly to her.

Please let me know if there is anything else that we can do in order to demonstrate our willingness to work with the consumer to close this issue to her satisfaction. If any further information is needed which would involve the guarantor/patients PHI, we will need the signed HIPAA authorization returned to us.

****** ******
Patient Quality Manager

This communication is from a debt collector. This is an attempt to collect a debt and any information obtained will be used for that purpose.


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
My son is now home from college and I was sharing with him this WHOLE issue. He just shook his head. I am a nurse so I TOTALLY understand the HIPPA and release or not being able to release the 'health' information. I never asked for health information. When I was on the phone with the supervisor of the lady who took care of me, I asked him why your company can not send out just a simple e-mail? The only thing the e-mail needs to say is 'an attempt was made today on your behalf to pay... _____ dollar amount for account number ______. The payment is pending FSA approval". That's it! That's ALL you need to do! If you are handling BIG accounts such as ***** ******** this would help those who are attempting to pay on behalf of a third party such as myself for my 20 year old son who is away at college. My son suggested we speak with the billing department while we are at his next appointment in two weeks. He would like to let them know our dissatisfaction with the company collecting for them and the trouble we were given to just have some sort of verification that a bill or a specific amount was paid. Thank you for taking the time to reply my dispute but I don't see this being resolved by your company

04/07/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was issued a collections notice for something I had paid for months ago.
I spoke with ***** ** at MB/ROI and she refused to remove the collection although I have a cancelled check which was paid months before the notice was issued, until I a) mailed it in or b) faxed it. Both of which require the customer to pay more money and more importantly time with something that is their error.

Desired Settlement
I'm not going to ask for the fax charge or stamp - but since ROI could not accept an email and this was their error I would like to suggest a change of their procedure and their behavior.

Business Response
Dear Madam or Sir,

We received notice of the complaint on March 20, 2014. Treating patients with care and respect is important to us. We work exclusively on behalf of hospitals and would require a HIPAA compliant authorization from Ms. ***** before releasing details to the Better Business Bureau. We have mailed an authorization to her on March 20, 2014.

Once we receive the properly executed HIPAA authorization required by law to make disclosures pertaining to healthcare services from Ms. *****, we will be happy to discuss the subject matter of Ms. *****'s complaint with the Better Business Bureau.

Thank you for your time and patience.

****** ******
Patient Quality Manager

This is a communication from a debt collector. This is an attempt to collect a debt, and any information obtained will be used for that purpose.

Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Billing Service, Medical Coding, Health Recording Service, Collection Agencies, Collection Systems

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.