BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 05/21/2010

Budget Bath, Inc.

Phone: (410) 663-4183Fax: (410) 807-60579639 Alda Dr, BaltimoreMD 21234-1847 Send email to Budget Bath, Inc.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 05/21/2010

BBB has determined that Budget Bath, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Budget Bath, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Budget Bath, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
01/13/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Shower Drain Not To Code
I hired this contractor to renovate my bathroom. I now find out he did not install the shower drain to DC code. There is no trap in the drain. The contract I signed with him indicates everything will be done to building codes, and this was not. Now I must have the shower floor ripped up and redone. He needs to pay for this.

Desired Settlement
I want him to pay for the cost of ripping up the shower floor (tile, pan and all) have the drain reinstalled correctly, and then retiled and all repaired to my satisfaction.

Business Response
This client hired us to perform a complete bathroom renovation in a very old residential condo
multi-story building. The homeowner and I discussed getting permits which we were willing to do for an added cost of 495$ per trade. We agreed not to apply for permits. As the project developed, he also added an additional project in the main bedroom. The project turned out exceptional and is a beautiful space.
The project became very complex very quickly as we removed some drywall and exposed the original plumbing. We discovered that the concrete floor was about 6 inches thick and the ceiling of the unit below was only 2 feet away so cutting the concrete floor was not a safe option. To do so would involve an engineer and weeks of delays plus added costs in the thousands. In old buildings, everyone is forced to be creative and sometimes code requirements just do not apply. Building Codes are developed for new construction. We use our judgement and do what is best for the situation when making installations in extremely old buildings. The complaint is not about the entire job but rather it is a request for us to pay someone else to install a pvc drain trap. We did however install a pvc trap in the same location as the original tub.
The customer states that we did not, but we did and it is there. I have offered to come and look at the problem. I have offered some solutions to fixing the problem. Most of this building does not meet 2014 building codes yet Everything we did in the renovation does meet code as close as we can get it without jeopardizing the concrete floor slab or the safety of other tenants. Why sewer gas is occasionally seeping into the bathroom is a mystery yet I am willing to assist or help correct the problem. The client has not responded to my offer. I would never abandon my client and our reputation is impeccable. I have apologized for the inconvenience this has caused and I have offered several explanations as to why this might be happening even with a trap in place. The client explained that he had made this complaint in error so we have been waiting for an update.


Industry Comparison| Chart

Bathroom Remodeling, Kitchen Remodeling, Painting Contractors, Custom Tile Painting, Kitchen & Bath - Design & Remodeling, Cabinets, Bathroom Remodeling - Walk-In Tubs, Bathroom Accessories

Additional Information

top

If a business refers you to another company or uses sub-contractors, BBB recommends that you research that company including reviewing their BBB business review.

BBB file opened: 01/30/2009Business started: 06/04/1989
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Dept. of Labor, Licensing & Regulation (dllr)
500 N Calvert St Ste 401
Baltimore, MD 21202
(410) 230-6001
http://www.dllr.state.md.us/license/

BBB records show a license number of 82479 for this company, issued by Dept. of Labor, Licensing & Regulation (dllr). Their web address is http://www.dllr.state.md.us/license/. The expiration date of this license is 04/04/2016. The license is in the name of David House.

Type: Maryland Home Improvement Commission

Check License Status: http://www.dllr.state.md.us/license/mhic/?

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: April 2005, MD

Business Management
Ms. Kristy Shoemaker (Office Manager)
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. David House (Owner)
Number of Employees

10

Business Category

Bathroom Remodeling, Kitchen Remodeling, Painting Contractors, Custom Tile Painting, Kitchen & Bath - Design & Remodeling, Cabinets, Bathroom Remodeling - Walk-In Tubs, Bathroom Accessories

Products & Services

This company offers bathroom & kitchen remodeling services.

Service Area

Serving Greater Baltimore and DC region.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Budget Bath, Inc.

9639 Alda Dr

Baltimore, MD 21234-1847

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 9639 Alda Dr 

    Baltimore, MD 21234-1847(410) 663-4183
    Fax: (410) 807-6057

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Greater Maryland. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Budget Bath, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on December 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Bathroom Remodeling

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.