BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Howard Bank

Find a Location

Phone: (410) 750-0020Fax: (410) 750-8588View Additional Phone Numbers6011 University Blvd Ste 370, Ellicott CityMD 21043-6106 Send email to Howard Bankhttp://www.howardbank.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Howard Bank is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Howard Bank's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues3
Delivery Issues1
Problems with Product / Service3
Billing / Collection Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on Howard Bank

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (7)
09/22/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Howard bank and I closed on a mortgage on 8/14/2015. They were to payoff several credit card loans by wire transfer on the day of closing(8/14). My processor *************** told me specifically that it would be a wire transfer to occur at closing. The payoff statements for the loans were good thru the 8/14. Checks were fedex to me on 8/17/2014. Then I have to mail them to the creditors causing a week turnaround. One of the payments was late due to this, and I incurred more interest charges because the money was not wired like initially told to me by my processor.
Order_Number: **********

Desired Settlement
It would be a nice gesture to reimburse me at least some of the interest that was caused by mailing the checks to me instead of wire transfer on the day of closing considering the payoff statements were only good for 8/14.

Business Response
September 16, 2015

BBB of Greater Maryland
******************
Dispute Resolution & Trade Practices
502 S. Sharp Street, Suite 1200
Baltimore, MD 21201

Case#: ********

Dear Ms. ******

This responds to your letter, dated August 24, 2015, forwarding the above-referenced complaint by our Customer to your office.

In the complaint, our Customer indicated that the Bank miscommunicated how the funds for payoff of several credit cards would be delivered. More specifically, it was our Customer's understanding the payoff funds would be wired directly to his credit card companies. Credit card payoff checks were instead sent by Fedex to our Customer for his forwarding, which caused a one week turnaround and additional credit card interest charges and one late payment.

First, we sincerely apologize for any miscommunication in the delivery of our Customer's credit card payoff funds. As a follow-up to our Customer's complaint to your office, I reached out to our Customer this week by phone. I am pleased to report that our Customer indicated that he was very appreciative of the call and that no further assistance was needed by the Bank.

Please feel free to contact me directly at ************ if you have any further questions.

Sincerely,

*********************, SVP
Howard Bank


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
The point of contact from the business in question satisfied my questions. I thank the BBB for their intervention.

02/20/2015Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Streamline Refi - Not so streamline with Howard Bank. Delays and Shady.
To Whom It May Concern,

I'm writing to file a formal complaint again Howard Bank / http://www.howardbank.com/index.html

I've been a home owner for 8 months - FHA First Time Buyer. Based on some internet research, I went to Howard Bank to perform a refi on my home. Attached is my FHA numbers / home address. ( See HowardBank-HUD-Statement.pdf )

They assigned ***** ***** to my refi. ***** made a lot of statements over the course of several months that turned out to be false.

Fee's and MIP credits were applied to my loan which were not discussed prior. I was told I would get MIP refunded to me. See several emails for proof.

I've attached a timeline of emails / dialoge which chronical the major events that occurred during my 2 month refi process.

Several emails indicated a would be receiving a FHA refund on MIP - which ended up being false. Last minute - MIP was rolled into my closing as a credit. Contrary to what I was agreed.

Next, I received several "congratulation" emails that my loan would close.. delay after delay it was not closed as promised. Howard Bank's repeated delays caused my US Bank payment to go into "late" status. Fee's and collection phone calls / letters ensued.

Was promised multi times that escrow would be sent 7 days after closing. It's now 20+ days since closing and I have no escrow monies. ***** should not make promises he can't deliver on or has no knowledge of.

See attached emails concerning all these issues and more. I can also seed loan closing doc's if you would like to see them.

I'm afraid that others will fall victims into these deceptive practices, false statements and last minute sleight of hand fee's.

Can HUD look into Howard Banks practices? Review my loan / fee's and ensure I received a fair deal?


Thanks,

****** *********
******@coloradosupport.com
XXX-XXX-XXXX

Desired Settlement
MIP Refund as promised. Fee's reduced.

Employees need better training.

Business Response
January 23, 2015

BBB of Greater Maryland
Ms. ******* ******
Dispute Resolution & Trade Practices
*** ** ***** ******* ***** ****
********** ** XXXXX
Case#: XXXXXXXX

Dear Ms. *******

Thank you for the opportunity to respond to the Better Business Bureau in regard to this complaint filed with your office.

In his letter, our Customer expressed the following concerns:

(1) Fees and Mortgage Insurance Premium credits were not discussed prior to closing.

(2) Our Customer did not receive a refund on his Mortgage Insurance Premium after loan closing.

(3) There were delays in the closing process causing a previous lender delinquent payment.

(4) An escrow refund from the previous lender was not received within 7 days.

First, we wish to express our appreciation for our Customer in choosing Howard Bank and apologize for any concerns he may have had with his loan process. Our Summary findings in researching the complaint are as follows:

(1) Fees and Credits, outlined in initial and final disclosures, were properly provided prior to closing.

Loan fees were disclosed on October 23, 2014, with subsequent re-disclosures dated and sent on November 24, 2014 and November 26, 2014. The cause of the redisclosures were due to material changes to the loan, including a rate lock.
The upfront Mortgage Insurance Premium, which was in all sets of disclosures, charged on the final HUD was $4,743.38.

Total fees at loan closing were lower than originally estimated with initial disclosures, as a result of material changes to the loan noted above, and a total of $3,843.11 in Lender Credits (lines 206 & 802 on the final HUD) were applied. The Lender Credit on line 206 of the final HUD also more than covered the difference between the upfront Mortgage Insurance Premium fees and the Mortgage Insurance Premium refund.

(2) The Mortgage Insurance Premium refund was applied at loan closing, rather than after loan closing.

A Mortgage Insurance Premium refund of $3,031.90 was disclosed and accepted by our Customer on line 205 of the final HUD at loan closing. We understand there may have been confusion about the timing of the delivery of the Mortgage Insurance Premium refund earlier in the loan process, but the net result was the Mortgage Insurance Premium refund was received sooner than originally estimated.

(3) Changes in loan closing dates are a normal part of the loan process, and as such, our Customer was informed to continue to make his payments to his previous lender.
Our records indicate our Customer was informed to continue to make his payments to his previous lender while his loan request was in process. This is additionally noted in our Customer's provided copy of an email dated 10/27/14 from the Loan Officer when discussing the original estimated loan closing date. As indicated above, there were properly disclosed material loan changes which is normal part of the loan process and resulted in the loan not closing until December 17, 2014. These changes included a rate lock noted above. As such, our Customer continued to be responsible for making payment to his previous lender until completion of his loan process with Howard Bank. At loan funding, a payment was promptly sent to our Customer's previous lender on December 22, 2014 to payoff the loan held with the previous lender.

(4) An escrow refund has been received from the previous mortgage lender, per our Customer.
In researching our Customer's complaint, we were pleased to hear that our Customer has received his escrow refund from his previous lender. Please note our Loan Officer provided the estimate of "about 7 days" in his 11/25/14 email as a courtesy to our Customer based upon his experience, however, we apologize for any concern our Customer had in waiting for receipt of his escrow refund from his previous Lender.

Thank you again for the opportunity to respond to our Customer's concerns and please feel free to contact me directly if you have any additional questions.

Sincerely,
*********** ********** SVP
Howard Bank
XXX-XXX-XXXX
**********@howardbank.com

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)

Dear Ms. *******

Facts are still being misrepresented. New developments have occurred since my original complaint and FHA conducted their own investigation into Howard Banks email statements and loan docs. While they did not find any wrong doing in the loan numbers. They found multiple "conflicting and confusing" statements made by Howard Bank Employee. FHA also acknowledge the "misrepresentation of facts" in this process. See attached FHA response for proof.

Unfortunately, FHA/HUD has no authority to impose any action upon Howard Bank. But they were kind enough put me in contact with those agencies which monitor Howard Banks processes and practices. Mr. ********* and Mrs. ****** response will determine if further action is necessary.

1. The MIP, Mortgage Insurance Premium was stated by Howard Bank employee to be distributed as a refund in the form of a check. This was stated several times. Howard Bank employee provided a timeframe as to when to expect said refund. Within 14 days of closing. Proof of that statement by Howard Bank employee has already been submitted.
2. MIP was never discussed to be "rolled" into the loan as a credit. This was done without prior knowledge of customer. Again, part of the communication failures and misrepresentations of facts repeatedly made by Howard Bank staff.
3. Total of fees might have been lower, due to the fact that my MIP was added to my loan as a credit. Had my MIP been refunded, as represented by Howard Bank, then the cost of closing would have been $3031.90 higher. On Dec. 8 - Howard Bank employee advised me not to make my Dec. US Bank payment. Proof is attached.
4. Escrow was received but not in the timeframe provided by Howard Bank, nor in the amount that was mentioned to me at closing.

Ultimately the lack of integrity within this bank falls upon **** *** ******. The CEO should strive to instill a sense of accountability, integrity and responsibility in her employees. Her staff cannot be allowed to misrepresent facts on loans. Her employees must be held responsible for claims made against her bank. Customer should not have to suffer because of Howard Banks gross miss representation of facts.
A deep forensic audit of the loan processes and customer communications should be performed to ensure **** ***'s bank is following all the procedures mandated by the government agencies they represent and profit from.

It is also shameful when **** ***'s vice president admits to wrong doing yet provides no road map for corrective action and customer remediation.

Thank You,

****** *********



Final Business Response
February 6, 2015

BBB of Greater Maryland
Ms. ******* ******
Dispute Resolution & Trade Practices
*** ** ***** ******* ***** ****
********** ** XXXXX

Case#: XXXXXXXX

Dear Ms. *******

This responds to your letter, dated January 28, 2015, forwarding the above-referenced rebuttal by our Customer to our original response.

The principal component of Our Customer's complaint is in reference to email conversations between our Customer and the Loan Officer that originated his FHA mortgage loan. It is clear from his complaint that our Customer feels that our Loan Officer could have done a better job in communicating with him. We appreciate the feedback as Howard Bank is committed to providing an outstanding experience to all of our Customers, and we will use this feedback as a takeaway.

In his recent letter, our Customer also references a review of his loan by the Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD). HUD validated that (a) a borrower must be current on the loan being refinanced, (b) mortgage insurance premium charges on line 902 of the HUD are required, and (c) the costs reflected on our Customer's HUD "appear reasonable and customary." Our Customer was fully responsible for meeting the terms and conditions of his loan with his previous lender, until completion of his loan process with Howard Bank.

After conducting a review, our Executive Team has determined that our Customer's loan was properly disclosed in accordance with both regulatory requirements and our internal policies. Our Loan Officer has additionally indicated that he reviewed the final terms and conditions of our Customer's loan with our Customer by phone prior to loan settlement. Our Customer was very diligent in reviewing his loan prior to loan closing, and in accordance with his request, his closing was delayed so that he could review copies of final loan documents. In short, we believe our Customer fully understood the final terms and conditions of his loan.

Please feel free to contact me directly at XXX-XXX-XXXX if you have any further questions.

Sincerely,

*********** ********** SVP
Howard Bank


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Dear Mrs. *******
I would just like to take this opportunity to reference some key points before summarizing what appears to be a stalemate.

First, I contacted Howard Bank in order to obtain cash from my home and lower my interest rate.
Howard Banks loan officer presented ways that his bank could help me achieve my goals.

1. Skip payments
2. Escrow refund
3. Mortgage Insurance/FHA Refund
4. Lower interest rate - which in turn lowers my monthly payments

Applications were filled out. Loan approvals were sent via email. Supporting document were submitted.

Next, the closing process began. Many closing dates were given and those dates came and went. Delay after delay this went on for 8 weeks.

And contrary to Mr. ************ remarks about his being a "normal" part of the loan process.
I've spoken with loan officers at other financial institutions seeking clarity on this entire situation - I would encourage BBB to do the same. End result of those discussions was this behavior is not normal and exposes the lack defined processes within Howard Bank's loan department. One 20yr loan vet I spoke with used the phrase "Predatory mortgage lending" - I will define that for you later.

When closing time did actually arrive the process was much more costly than originally disclosed. And closing costs changed several times during closing with no good explanation given.

Again, contrary to Mr. ************ claim, nobody called me to disclose anything. The vast majority of all communication was all done via email. I have submitted and can resubmit proof to that effect.

At the end of this loan process, I was led to believe I would be receiving funds in excess of $5k in the form of Escrow ($1981) and MIP refunds ($3031.90)

Net result was getting $1631 - escrow only

I ended up paying $961 for home owners insurance and $2000 closing costs on day of closing- Dec.17th.

Net paid out: $2961

Not the outcome I was led to believe throughout this entire nightmarish process.

Finally, communication. The obvious failure of communication by those hired to represent Howard Bank. Making promises to customers in financial distress and failing to make good on those promises.

Buying or refinancing a home is one of the most important and complex decisions a person will ever make. Banks should ensure their employees are properly trained and give accurate information regarding the loan process. They should not deceive or mislead customers. This is where mortgage fraud or predatory mortgage lending lines get crossed.

Predatory mortgage lending occurs when an industry party or institution, such as a real estate broker, mortgage broker, appraiser, lender or bank, willfully misleads or deceives a consumer into entering into a misguided loan for the sake of making additional profit. Predatory mortgage lending is not only illegal, it can cause severe financial hardship or ruin for a borrower-often resulting in foreclosure, bankruptcy and irreparable damage to a customer's credit rating.

And then there is Promissory Estoppel. A term used in such situations where a person makes a false statement to another and the listener relies on what was told to him/her in good faith and to his/her disadvantage.

In the end I hope the email trail and all BBB communication will be examined by a non-biased party and a fair resolution will take place.

Thank you for your time and efforts.

****** *********

04/15/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was lied to and got the runaround by Howard Bank and the loan advisors about a home equity loan.
I received a call from a Brooke J**** at Howard Bank in early January about a request I submitted online on a home equity loan. So I went through and got pre approved for the loan. Provided all the info she requested only to be giving the run around for the next month & a half. It was only after I had been calling and sending numerous emails that went unanswered. That I got the idea I would speak with her supervisor or manager to find out the status of the loan. I finally got ahold to a David O**** who stated he was her supervisor and she was no longer with the bank to find out she didn't do anything she said she did. Like, submitted my loan docs to processing and underwriting. When I spoke with David he said there was no sign of anything in my file other than my appraisal!!! I was devastated because I had already invested 2 months into this and was hoping to get an answer only to find out I had to do the whole process over again!!!! This is & was my entire livelihood at stake which she & Howard Bank toyed with which is unfair & I feel taking advantage of. I just want to ensure that this doesn't happen to anybody else. So that, nobody has to experience what I did due to their negligence.

Desired Settlement
Punitive damages for my time and efforts that were wasted!

Business Response
March 31, 2016

BBB of Greater Maryland
Ms. ****** *******
Dispute Resolution & Trade Practices
502 S. Sharp Street, Suite 1200
Baltimore, MD 21201

Complaint ID#: ********

Dear Ms. *******:

Thank you for the opportunity to respond to the Better Business Bureau in regard to our Customer's recent complaint filed with your office.

In her letter, our Customer expressed frustration with her loan application experience. More specifically, our Customer indicated that the application process took much longer than what was reasonable and that our Loan Officer should have done a better job in communicating with her. As remediation, our Customer indicated she would like a refund for the cost of her appraisal when we spoke with her on March 22nd.

First, we sincerely apologize for our Customer's experience. Although our Customer's original Loan Officer is no longer with the Bank, the transfer of the processing of her application to another Loan Officer should have proceeded more smoothly. As such, we have discussed our Customer's experience with our Team to prevent reoccurrence and have refunded the $505 appraisal fee with a recently mailed check. Per our discussion with our Customer on March 22nd, the refund of the appraisal fee would complete the resolution of our Customer's complaint.

Thank you again for the opportunity to respond and please feel free to contact me directly if you have any additional questions.

Sincerely,

Timothy *. P*****, CRCM
Chief Compliance Officer
Howard Bank
410-***-****


11/02/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
False advertising/lending, lies, deceit. Scam people who don't have immaculate credit and making them think they can help, and will get them a loan.
I started working on this "cash out" mortgage on my home with ********* from Howard Bank in the first week of June, 2015. From the very beginning of this endeavor I have felt I was being lied to and scammed. I told Mr **** from the beginning that my credit was not very good, and he assured me that they would be able to help and get me the loan. I had a lot of hesitation going into this, and very little trust, but he kept assuring me that it was going to be "NO PROBLEM" getting me the loan. Right away they wanted all my info and taxes and paystubs and things of that nature, I sent all of these things to him, again with much hesitation. He kept insisting that they (Howard Bank and their lenders) were on the up and up, so I sent the things he requested. ********* and Howard Bank has WASTED 3-4 months of my time, countless dollars in fixing/upgrading things that "had to be done for them to get me the loan." Not to mention time, and effort, in fixing things, talking on the phone, emailing, sending people out to sign paperwork, and an appraiser coming to my house twice. First he told me it was going to be 480$, which I reluctantly paid out of desperation, then they sent me ANOTHER payment link that was going to be ANOTHER 70$, which I then asked him "is this a scam" or what? He replied "oh no, this is completely legit" so I trusted in him again, and sent the money, again, now the total is 550$. An appraiser came out and appraised the house at roughly 25-30,000$ less than he had hoped for, which I told him FROM THE BEGINNING, that there WAS NO WAY MY HOUSE WAS GOING TO BE WORTH what he was putting in for! Again, he just schmoozed me along and said "oh yeah, sure it will be." He then emailed me and told me that the house was nowhere near what we had put it down as, (which I knew it wouldn't be) and he didn't think that he could get me the loan. I was immediately frustrated, cause I knew it wasn't worth his initial figure. He then said "well, let me see what I can do? We may have to just get u less money?" Which I was fine with, so he gives me a list of things that needed to be repaired/fixed before the appraiser could come back and verify that they had been corrected, and to move the process along to finishing the loan. I spent the next 6 or 7 days spending money and time fixing/correcting these things. I emailed him and told him that I was finished and they could be verified so we could move on, then he sends me ANOTHER link for the appraisal payment network. Now he said I had to pay ANOTHER 150$ to have this appraisal lady COME BACK AGAIN! We are up to a total of 700$$ now! I didn't have the time or money to be doing this anymore! He then stated that everything was good and my file had been sent to "underwriting and processing" on August 18, 2015. On September 10, 2015, he sent me an email that said "underwriting and processing has denied your loan, I'm sorry, I have been working with lenders and underwriters trying to get this approved for over a month now, and I'm frustrated too" it hadn't even been in their hands to approve or disapprove for more than a month, from the emails I had received. I have spent 3 months or better sending things and spending monies that I DIDNT HAVE to try to get this thing going, and I don't even REALLY KNOW that it was worked on?? I feel that I have been scammed BY *********, and HOWARD BANK FOR ALL the appraisal fees and THEIR CUT?? I don't even KNOW if this is a real bank or if ********* is a real person? If they are, I would like this to be known so nobody else gets scammed for 750$$ LIKE I DID!! Thanks.

Desired Settlement
Refund

Business Response
October 19, 2015

BBB of Greater Maryland
Ms. ******** *****
Dispute Resolution & Trade Practices
502 S. Sharp Street, Suite 1200
Baltimore, MD XXXXX

Complaint ID#: XXXXXXXX

Dear Ms. ******

Thank you for the opportunity to respond to the Better Business Bureau in regard to our Customer's recent complaint filed with your office.

In his letter, our Customer expressed frustration with his loan application experience. More specifically, our Customer indicated that the application process took much longer than what he felt was reasonable and that our Loan Officer should have done a better job in communicating with him. Our Customer additionally indicated he would like a refund for the cost of his appraisal.

In consideration of our Customer's concerns, we have spoken with our Loan Officer and have reviewed the loan file. We have additionally reached out to our Customer on several occasions over the past week to further discuss his concerns, but have not been able to reach him by phone or email.

Our Customer clearly feels his experience did not meet the high standard of care Howard Bank employees provide to all of our Customers, and as such we offer our sincere apologies. We welcome our Customer to contact us to discuss his experience and his request for a refund of the cost of his appraisal.

Thank you again for the opportunity to respond and please feel free to contact me directly if you have any additional questions.

Sincerely,


*****************, VP
Howard Bank
XXX-XXX-XXXX


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Ms *****:

Response: complaint id# ********

Their "sincere apologies" don't really mean anything, after the experience I have had with Howard Bank/*********.
I do not wish to communicate with Howard Bank or any of their employees, I stated that on the complaint. All you have to do is read my complaint as it happened in order. There were NEVER any high standards of customer service once they received my money, it was all about putting me through the ringer to get all of the problems fixed in order to "get the loan", then nothing but stalling, excuses, and at the end, DENIAL. After I had spent SO MUCH time, effort, and money to get this thing finished. Therefore, I do not wish to spend one more OUNCE of my time or my being to hear their multitude of excuses for why they took my money (SEVERAL TIMES) and did not follow through with the loan process as ********* stated they would do. The only thing that can happen to make this thing right, would be to refund my money (750$). They should probably make it an even 1000$ for all the time, heartache, and money they have ended up costing me. So, in closing, if Howard Bank is REALLY concerned about my "customer experience" (if that's what you'd like to call it) they can send me a refund check to my address, I'm sure they have it on file.


Sincerely,
************

Final Business Response
October 28, 2015

BBB of Greater Maryland
Ms. ******** *****
Dispute Resolution & Trade Practices
502 S. Sharp Street, Suite 1200
Baltimore, MD 21201

Complaint ID#: ********

Dear Ms. *****:

This letter responds to our Customer's rebuttal to the Bank's response on October 19th.

In his letter, our Customer indicated he does not accept the Bank's apology and that he will not respond to the Bank's attempts to contact him to discuss his experience. Our Customer feels that the Bank should send him $750 to reimburse him for the cost of his appraisal and his time based upon the comments in his complaint.

Our Customer applied for a loan, was denied, and has indicated his frustration with his experience. As such, we would have liked to have had the opportunity to speak with our Customer in regard to his comments. Unfortunately, our Customer is unwilling to speak with our Management Team and we are therefore unable to currently consider a request for a reimbursement of the appraisal fee. Per our Customer's comments, the Bank will make no additional attempts to contact him.

**************** SVP may be reached at (***) ******** should our Customer wish to speak with us to discuss his experience and his request for the reimbursement of his appraisal fee. We only ask a few minutes of our Customer's time to discuss his concerns, which we believe to be a reasonable request relative to the request for a reimbursement of $750.

Sincerely,


*****************, VP
Howard Bank
************


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I absolutely DO NOT accept their "so called" apology because I told ********* from the beginning of this FIASCO/SCAM that I had some derogatory marks on my credit, and he assured me many, NUMEROUS times that they "WOULD NOT BE A PROBLEM" getting me approved for this loan. Howard Bank STRUNG me along from the first week of June all the way until the second week of September in this devious plan to get money from me, waste my time and efforts and I feel, planned to deny my loan from the BEGINNING! Mr ****** is trying to say they couldn't get me approved for the loan, which I believe is a LIE. They had ALL of my personal and credit information from the very beginning, so they couldn't tell that they were going to deny my loan from the start?? No, instead they decided to string me along assuring me that it would be no problem, essentially for over 3 months! Meanwhile, asking for fees one after another, changing fees, raising fees, having me do all the work and spending time, effort, and money fixing the conditions of the appraisal, which he told me many times as "long as I got these things fixed, we would be good to go" to get this loan approved! I believe Mr ****** is sticking up for his company even when he KNOWS what they have done is WRONG! I wonder just how many people they have and or are doing this to, that do not know how to fight back and just accept these unacceptable business practices? Mr ****** also states that I applied for a loan and was denied, and that is why I am frustrated! That could not be ANY FURTHER from the truth, if Howard Bank and Mr **** would have been honest and upfront and not wasted over 3 months of my life and not to mention many other time and efforts, I would have no problem with being denied for the loan. No, they were dishonest from the beginning assuring me that I would be approved, then strung me along. Then, while I was down in Dallas giving bone marrow and stem cells to my sister to help her fight cancer, all the sudden I get an email from Mr **** saying "sorry your loan has been denied". They could have been honest from the beginning and made that determination way before charging me 750$, not to mention another 200$ or so on fixing stipulations of the appraisal, not to mention having lost 3-5 workdays and pay dealing with these things, the appraiser! These are the reasons I am frustrated, not being denied for the loan. All the sneaky and underhanded ways they have done things!


Thanks,
************

08/04/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Incompitence. And zero accountability. Worst experience of my life, especially as a 1st time homebuyer. Would never use them again.
Since the beginning, using Howard bank has just been one frustration after another. My mortgage officer, ***********, has obviously no idea what he is doing. My settlement has been pushed back TWICE for more than 2 weeks (after a SIXTY DAY CLOSING). And for what? Because they are STILL "trying to get documentation" of a debt that was paid (and the documentation has been sent in at LEAST 4 times). I am so completely done with this company, I want to make sure that everyone knows it, so no one will have to endure the hell that I have for the last 3-4 months. Also, they have 3 mortgage underwriters for more than THIRTY loan officers. Trying to get anything done with them is a complete joke. There are some days that I will even call to make sure that there is nothing that I can do to expedite the process (because I am ALWAYS extremely speedy at getting documents to them) and he will chose to not respond to my emails, calls, and texts. There is no accountability in their jobs. When I confronted the loan officer about why they are still trying to gather documents (that have already been sent in months ago) his answer was "I don't have an answer to that." I'm sorry, but I have to be accountable at my job for why things are not done in a timely manner, they should too. I have also expressed that my lease is up on my house after NEXT WEEK, to which he just said "sorry." No. I'm sorry. I'm sorry I ever went with this company. If I could have done it over again, I would have worked with PNC, who seem very on-top of things, and actually knew what they are doing. I also left a huge complaint with the supervisor of the mortgage officers today, let's see where that goes. I am to the point that if things don't get resolved in the next day or 2, I will find a way to drop Howard Bank altogether and switch to another more competent company.

Desired Settlement
I want them to finish my settlment by THIS FRIDAY.

Business Response
July 22, 2015

BBB of Greater Maryland
Ms. **************
Dispute Resolution & Trade Practices
502 S. Sharp Street, Suite 1200
Baltimore, MD 21201

Complaint ID#: ********

Dear Ms. *****:

Thank you for the opportunity to respond to the Better Business Bureau in regard to our Customer's complaint filed with your office.

In her letter, our Customer expressed the following concerns:

(1) Our Customer feels she has experienced delays in the Underwriting and Settlement of her Loan.

(2) Potential gaps in communication with her Loan Officer may have contributed to these delays.

(3) Our Customer would like resolution to settle on her loan as soon as possible.

Although the need for additional documentation is often necessary for the Underwriting process, it is clear our Customer feels we could have done a better job in our communication with her. As such, our Customer's experience had not met the high standard of care Howard Bank and my Team applies to all our Customers. I have conveyed my sincere apologies to our Customer in person and have taken the following steps to proactively address our Customer's concerns as follows:

(1) I have met with our Customer to discuss her concerns and to review steps in getting her loan to settlement as soon as possible. I have given my direct contact information to our Customer should she have any questions or concerns prior to the scheduling of her loan's settlement.

(2) I have requested that my Team prioritize a settlement date for our Customer's loan. We will regularly communicate with our Customer in regard to any additional documentation that may be needed (if any) and to update her on the status of the scheduling of her loan's settlement.

(3) I have authorized the Bank to pay the Maryland Home Credit fee of $1,850, per our Customer's request, in consideration of her concerns outlined in her complaint.

Thank you again for the opportunity to respond and please feel free to contact me directly if you have any additional questions.

Sincerely,


************, SVP
Howard Bank
************
********@howardbank.com


02/13/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Same Sales person has been calling me everyday for 2 weeks straight. Sometimes multiple times despite my elevated frustration and constant complaints
I've been receiving calls from (XXX) XXX-XXXX at EVERYDAY since Tuesday afternoon, Jan 13, 2015. I've told the person on the other end of the phone ****** was his name) to take me off his list and that I'm not interested. He kept calling me repeatedly after that every single day, many days he would call me multiple times.
I called back one of the times and spoke to another person (a lady) and inquired where I was calling. She responded back saying I called Howard Bank and they handle loans. I asked for their address and she they are located at:
**** ******** ******* in the state of Maryland. She told me the city but once I heard it was in Maryland, I stopped writing down the information.
I asked how that can be because I've been getting solicitation calls from this number (XXX-XXX-XXXX) and the lady responded that Howard Bank has purchased local numbers nationwide which is why it was local to me.
In any case, this ***** person at Howard Bank at this phone number (XXX-XXX-XXXX) calling me EVERY SINGLE DAY since Jan 13. Many days he calls me multiple times and now he doesn't respond! He'll snicker or make sounds then hang up. Then when I call him back it goes to a voice mail with a machine greeting prompting me to leave a message for extension 0022.

If this phone number (XXX-XXX-XXXX) is associated to Howard Bank in the state of Maryland, one of their employees HAS BEEN HARASSING ME WITH CONSTANT PHONE CALLS EVERY DAY AND I WANT IT TO STOP!!! THIS IS HARASSMENT AND THESE CONSTANT BARANGE OF PHONE CALLS IS ELEVATING MY BLOOD PRESSURE AND IMPACTING MY HEALTH THROUGH HIS CONSTANT CALLS AND FRUSTRATION!!!

Desired Settlement
I WANT THE CALLS STOPPED AND THIS MAN REPRIMANDED FOR HIS DISPICABLE BEHAVIOR!!!!!
I am even consider contacting a lawyer if BBB in Maryland cannot help me

Business Response
January 30, 2015

BBB of Greater Maryland
Ms. ******* ******
Dispute Resolution & Trade Practices
*** ** ***** ******* ***** ****
********** ** XXXXX

Complaint ID#: XXXXXXXX

Dear Ms. *******

Thank you for the opportunity to respond to the Better Business Bureau in regard to this complaint filed with your office.

In his letter, the Consumer expressed the following concerns:

(1) He has received daily calls from Howard Bank from an *** area code for two weeks.

(2) The Bank employee calling him sometimes doesn't respond after the customer picks up the phone, but rather, makes sounds and then hangs up.

(3) He wants these calls to stop.

First, we sympathize with the Consumer's concerns and understand how this situation could be very frustrating. Our Summary findings in researching the complaint are as follows:

(1) We do not believe the repeated calls over time are coming from Howard Bank. Where we may use an automated system, our process systemically limits the length of time where a number may be called and then the number is deleted from our system. The time frame of calls noted by the Consumer exceeds the length of time our automated system would be setup to dial a specific number. Our staff are additionally unable to directly dial a specific number using an automated dialer system, and therefore, must use direct dialing to reach a specific phone number. The voicemail extension "0022,"mentioned in the complaint, also is not a phone extension within Howard Bank.

(2) Any direct dialing by our staff using the Bank's phone network would reflect a Maryland area code, where Howard Bank is located. As such, we believe that the extended and repeated calls the Consumer is receiving from a local number to his area is not coming from Howard Bank.

(3) We have additionally verified that the Consumer's Name and Address listed on the complaint is not currently captured within our system.

Thank you again for the opportunity to respond to the Consumer's concerns and please feel free to contact me directly if you have any additional questions.

Sincerely,

*********** ********** SVP
Howard Bank
XXX-XXX-XXXX
**********@howardbank.com

05/19/2014Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Banks

Additional Information

top

If a business refers you to another company or uses sub-contractors, BBB recommends that you research that company including reviewing their BBB business review.

BBB file opened: 04/11/2008Business started: 09/01/2004
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Dept. of Labor, Licensing & Regulation: Division of Financial Regulation
500 N Calvert St Ste 402
Baltimore, MD 21202-3659
(410) 230-6100
http://www.dllr.state.md.us/finance/

BBB records show a license number of Active for this company, issued by Dept. of Labor, Licensing & Regulation: Division of Financial Regulation. Their web address is http://www.dllr.state.md.us/finance/. State-Chartered Bank.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: March 2004, MD

Business Management
Principal: Mr. Charles Schwabe (Exec. VP, Chief Administrative Officer, CIO)
Contact Information
Mr. Paul G. Brown (Executive Vice President & Chief Lending Officer)Ms. Yvonne Carter (Assistant V.P.)Mr. George Coffman (Executive Vice President & Chief Financial Officer)Mr. Timothy S. Rozalski (Vice President Marketing Manager)Ms. Mary Ann Scully (CEO)Ms. Christa Spalding (V.P.)
Number of Employees

44

Business Category

Banks

Products & Services

This company offers consumer and business checking, savings, online banking, credit cards, loans, and financial/business services.

Alternate Business Names
Howard Bancorp

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Howard Bank has received 5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 Customer Review and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Howard Bank

6011 University Blvd Ste 370

Ellicott City, MD 21043-6106

To | From

Find a LocationX
Or, display all locations
Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Greater Maryland. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Howard Bank is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 523-4175
  • (410) 272-6500
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on December 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Banks

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.