BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 11/07/2014

A. Hoffman Awning Company

Phone: (410) 685-5687

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints1

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
10/21/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Use of improper materials and faulty installation leading to awning falling down after 4 years. Failure of company to respond to complaint letter.
Account No. XXXXXXX; JobID: XXXXX; *** ******* & ***** (no last name provided when asked).

Letter sent on 8/30/2013 with payment in full.

Dear Sir:

Re: Payment in Full following the Faulty Install of Awning at *** ********* ***

Enclosed is the payment in full.

On 5/6/2011, we purchased this home at 405 Shellbark Ct. from ------. They had purchased and had installed a Craft-Bilt awning from your company on or about 6/6/2009.

On Friday 5/31/2013, this awning was extended and fell from the mounted ledger board. Fortunately, no one was injured; however, a couple of patio chairs are "toast." Two other awnings of our immediate neighbors were also extended at the time and were unaffected by any weather or wind issues.

Unfortunately, your product was not installed properly. Water had rotted the ledger board to the point where it could no longer hold the lag bolts for the mounting hardware. The water access was specifically due to the installation failure to cover and seal the ledger board which was NOT treated wood.

We contacted your company the same day the awning fell (5/31/2013) and got an appointment by ***** (last name not provided when asked) to estimate the cost of repair for 6/6/2013 at 3PM. The service technician failed to show up. I called ***** again and provided two additional days and times for a service call and ***** was to call me and confirm or discuss other options.

When ***** failed to call me by the following afternoon, I called again and set an appointment for Tuesday 6/11/2013 between 10AM - 3PM for a *** ******* to review the problem and estimate the repair. We received an estimate on 6/12/2013 and authorized the work.

This awning has now been completed with a number of issues along the way including the payment to a siding company to repair damaged siding, and a failure to clean and recoat the awning at your facility after the awning had been transported there (required two appointments to resolve.

Basically, I object to having to pay $870 at all given the poor workmanship by the A. Hoffman Co. that led to this repair in the first place.

I hope that you appreciate the circumstances of this "repair" and agree to reimburse some portion of cost.

Sincerely,

****** ** *****

Desired Settlement
I wish to have A. Hoffman return 1/3 of the payment provided to them, i.e. $290. This is the approximate profit for a "repair" job.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** *******, President
Mr. ****** was not the customer of A Hoffman Awning. The awning in question was sold to the previous homeowner, who had it under his dominion and control for a period of years. Retractable Awnings require adequate and diligent care including the proviso that they cannot remain in the "open" position during any appreciable rain. Mr. *****'s conclusions concerning our "faulty" workmanship and installation are therefore speculative at best as he has no knowledge of whether or not the awning was cared for and operated correctly as indicated above. In an effort to satisfy the customer, and to maintain our good standing with The Bureau, we will, however comply with the customer's request and send him the "refund" requested.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Awnings & Canopies, Aluminum Products, Lawn & Garden Equipment & Supplies, Furniture - Outdoor

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.