BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 12/23/2008

Auto Stop Limited, Inc.

View Additional Phone Numbers520 E 25th St, BaltimoreMD 21218-5403 Send email to Auto Stop Limited, Inc.



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company provides general automotive repair & service.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 12/23/2008

BBB has determined that Auto Stop Limited, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Auto Stop Limited, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on Auto Stop Limited, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
02/02/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Unable to acquire a receipt for repair.We live in North Carolina and had to handle repair long distance.
Our 2000Isuzu Rodeo was borrowed from our son while he was out of town. He had a problem with the transmission and couldn't drive it. We called to tell him e were coming to get the vehicle and learned of this problem. We gave him permission to take it for repairs. We had to send him $600.00 before they would start repairs. We understood this. After repairs were "finished" he called and we went to get it. Please understand we are both disabled and I had just been through surgery in November. On arriving in Baltimore we located our vehicle. My husband cranked it and it wouldn't go into gear. When we called Auto Stop and complained we were told it worked fine when it was picked up.since we were staying at my son's home we called the auto repair shop in Alexandria,Va. and the called for it to be towed 60 miles to their shop. They fixed it by replacing the alternator and said that could have been the original problem. We have tried repeatedly to get a receipt for the repairs since they didn't give the young man picking it up one. We had already paid the bill over the phone. We want to sell this vehicle and need a descriptive receipt to show for repairs done. This has been going on for over 6 weeks and really need some help since we live in North Carolina and can't just drive there to pick one up. We have talked to **** and *** Thank you for any help. ****** ******

Desired Settlement
Refund or receipt. I think they owe us a lot but there's not any use complaining about that.

Business Response
Hello
Sorry for any problems but the e-mail we had on December 17, 2014 is what we used. Please understand we are only to send customers information to whom brings the car in as to privacy.
Today we did send the receipt to a North Carolina e-mail.

Hope this helps and have a great day.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Thankful we finally got a receipt,did not appreciate the excuses. We called repeatedly and explained that we live in NC and they accepted payment from us but never said they couldn't send a receipt. I chose this company through BBB and that's why you got the complaint. Thanks to BBB for your help.

04/08/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I have been trying to have an engine instatlled in a 1990 Honda Accord since Aug 2012. The car keeps breaking down after it is picked up.
I have been trying to get an engine installed since Aug 2012. The car never works more than a week then it breaks down again. In Oct 2012 i had care towed back to Auto Stop. They put another engine in and i picked the car up on XX-XX-XX and it broke down again on 03-15-13. I have paid close to $3000 with Auto Stop because they are constantly saying I need other parts. So today XX-XX-XX I called them to get the car fixed and Rick says they dont have any space to fix my car, but they had space to take my money.

Desired Settlement
I would like Auto Stop to take the engine out of my car because I have put less than 50 miles since 03-08-13. Then refund my money back. I am tired of them saying they dont have room to work on my car but they have my money. The owner Rick says they did there job by puuting the engine in. Here's a list of everything I have had done. The engine $1400, fuel pump and filter $750,spark plugs/wires $250. storage fee $450, rear brakes $150. I paid a $250 deposit for catalytic converter but they order the wrong one and refunded the money back but took the $150 out for the brakes. So I am waiting on $100 refund.

Business' Initial Response
Hello

In reference to the complaint XXXXXXXX XXXX Honda Accord mileage 228,064 (customer just bought) please see all dated documents from August 2, 2012 that states the history of this car and what the customer bought in for. Car was picked up and driven out on March 22, 2012.(see attachment or go to case link to view documents)

REDACT34 201334REDACT August 2. 2012 customer bought in for engine replacement. Also he wanted front pump seal and rear main seal done also. Please see customer signature for approval on replacement of a used engine and any other parts and labor are additional. Customer agreed.
REDACT34 201334REDACT August 10, 2012 customer was advised of visual problems and presented an invoice for the engine replacement. Auto Stop Limited document and advised the customer and he agreed of other issues as follows: When the car was towed in it had 4 flat tires, the battery was dead, NO TAGS, on the car. Customer said the car had been sitting for a while. We advised that we don't know how the car would run until after repairs were made. The gas in the tank my not be any good. Please see invoice XXXXX with customer signature and approval.
REDACT34 201334REDACT August 10, 2012 we informed the customer again of all problems we saw and advised of the car had been sitting awhile and customer agreed to proceed with other repairs to the axles, spark plugs and the front pump seal. Please see XXXXX with customers signature.
REDACT34 201334REDACT September 26, 2012 customer approved a fuel pump replacement (this fault can be a cause from mileage on car and gas). Please see invoice XXXXX. Also we advised the transmission could leak from JB Weld on transmission from previous owner.
REDACT34 201334REDACT October 8.2012 customer wanted to check for gas leak, transmission leak and brakes. On September 26, 2012 we advised the customer of the transmission problem (see invoice XXXXX).
REDACT34 201334REDACT October 16. 2012 customer declined repairs related brakes and was advised again that this car was sitting a long while. We recommended complete brake system and customer declined. See invoice XXXXX.
REDACT34 201334REDACT November 9, 2012 invoice XXXXX customer wanted fan belt replacement and we did so with the customer approval.
REDACT34 201334REDACT March 1, 2013 mileage 228,372 invoice XXXXX there was a problem with the used engine and Auto Stop Limited replaced at no charge.
REDACT34 201334REDACT March 22, 2013 Auto Stop Limited replace the faulty fuel pump in the customer's car at no charge and advised again of the fuel problems from sitting.

Auto Stop Limited has advised the customer on every situation with the car and the customer opted to repair the car with the understanding of other issues could come up as stated at the beginning of August 2012. As of March 22, 2012 customer has picked up car.

Thanks for your attention in this matter.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Repair & Service, Auto Lube & Oil - Mobile, Auto Services - Oil & Lube, Auto Services, Wheel Alignment, Frame & Axle Service - Auto, Transmissions - Automobile, Radiators - Automotive, Engines - Rebuild & Exchange, Engines - Fuel Injection Service & Parts, Brake Service, Auto Repair - Tune-Up, Auto Electric Service, Auto Diagnostic Service, Auto Air Conditioning, Auto Air Conditioning Equipment

Additional Information

top

If a business refers you to another company or uses sub-contractors, BBB recommends that you research that company including reviewing their BBB business review.

BBB file opened: 11/17/1986Business started: 01/01/1973
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: August 2009, MD

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. RJ Jordan (Owner)Mr. Larry Stein (Owner)
Number of Employees

3

Business Category

Auto Repair & Service, Auto Lube & Oil - Mobile, Auto Services - Oil & Lube, Auto Services, Wheel Alignment, Frame & Axle Service - Auto, Transmissions - Automobile, Radiators - Automotive, Engines - Rebuild & Exchange, Engines - Fuel Injection Service & Parts, Brake Service, Auto Repair - Tune-Up, Auto Electric Service, Auto Diagnostic Service, Auto Air Conditioning, Auto Air Conditioning Equipment

Products & Services

This company offers preventive maintenance and auto repairs, including engine, transmission and other mechanical work as well as towing service.

Hours of Operation
Mon: 07:00 AM to 05:00 PMTue: 07:00 AM to 05:00 PMWed: 07:00 AM to 05:00 PMThu: 07:00 AM to 05:00 PMFri: 07:00 AM to 05:00 PM
Service Area

Serving Baltimore City, Harford County, Howard County and the Baltimore Counties.


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Auto Stop Limited, Inc. has received 3.68 out of 5 stars based on 1 Customer Review and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Photos & Videos

Photographs

Select a thumbnail below to view the full-size image.

3 Photos

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Auto Stop Limited, Inc.

520 E 25th St

Baltimore, MD 21218-5403

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 520 E 25th St 

    Baltimore, MD 21218-5403(410) 467-7600

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Greater Maryland. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Auto Stop Limited, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (410) 467-7600
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on December 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Repair & Service

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.