BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 08/10/2010

Jim Coleman Jaguar-Land Rover of Columbia, LLC

Phone: (443) 535-1000Fax: (443) 535-1024View Additional Phone Numbers12500 New Car Dr, ClarksvilleMD 21029-2201 Send email to Jim Coleman Jaguar-Land Rover of Columbia, LLCView Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 08/10/2010

BBB has determined that Jim Coleman Jaguar-Land Rover of Columbia, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on Jim Coleman Jaguar-Land Rover of Columbia, LLC

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4)
07/12/2016Guarantee / Warranty Issues
04/13/2016Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

I traded a vehicle in at JC ******** in Bethesda. They never grounded the vehicle and ******** ****************** put me under collection incorrectly.
I traded a vehicle I leased from Jim Coleman ******** back in 09/15/15 to them for a different car. I specifically told them I was in the process of buying a house and they need to be precise in filing paperwork. The team neglected my comments and never grounded the car I turned back in. I was never notified of any of this. In 01/16/16 I went to purchase another car and was told my credit score was a 680. When I pulled my report I saw that ******** ****************** (***) had put me in collection for a car I did not have. I immediately reached out to the dealership and told them of the issue. They redirected me to *** saying it was not their fault. I had a very hard time reaching *** because they were self admittedly understaffed. They told me it was clearly Jim Coleman ********'s fault since the paperwork for grounding was not sent to them until November. I called the dealership back and explained the issue. I asked for my credit to be fixed immediately. I exchanged several phone call with Ryan, the New Car manager, and that lead to about mid-February. I finally had Ryan get on a conference with me and *** so he could hear from them it was his fault. He finally admitted to it. I asked from my letter again from *** or Jim Coleman and finally got it, but at that time my home loan was being sold and my credit got pulled again so I had to re-submit all the financial documents requested for a home loan since my credit was affected. I explained to the New car manager of my frustration and time invested and asked for compensation since it was clearly their fault. I asked for one month free on my payment and he said he would see what he could do. I called a few times in February and he said he was working on it. He never got me a response so I asked for the GM Robert in early March. He told me to be PATIENT because Ryan had a personal issue and would be back at the end of March. How about figure out the facts and make a decision! I called three times from the end of March into the first week of April and did not get a call back, so I reached out to ******** Customer Service. They called me and left a message. I called back and left them a message. I called the dealership today and finally got both Ryan and Robert 2 and 1/2 months later and was told we could give you a $300 service credit. I was appalled to have spent the amount of time I did on this and have my credit damaged due to their neglect and not even offered an apology or a better compensation. I was not able to purchase a car in January because of their neglect on my credit report and I had to re-submit financial documents for my home loan.

Desired Settlement
Simply, one free payment for damage done due to improper operational procedures and neglect.

Business Response
Mr. ****** brought the above mentioned issue about his credit status to my attention in late January. I apologized for what had transpired. After checking his previous lease account we discovered that the lease turn-in process had not been completed at the dealership. We completed immediately the same day and reflected a lease turn-in date of 09/14/2015 (the actual day client returned the lease). We informed Mr. ****** that the lease turn-in was completed with the correct turn-in date and *** should see the same within 24 hours. We also provided client with Dealership info so that *** could contact us directly if needed in order to verify lease turn in status and verification. It was told to Mr. ****** that *** would have to correct any adjustments to his credit report but we were available to discuss together if needed. Shortly after client, *** and dealership had a conference call together to discuss what had happened. During the call *** confirmed that client did turn in previous lease as mentioned back in Sept based on Dealer's grounding report. Client was still responsible for payments due on the lease during the period and *** indicated they made numerous attempts to contact Mr. ****** without any success about the status on his account. In the end we acknowledged there was a delay in the "grounding" of the lease but *** indicated that any adversity reflecting on the credit report would be corrected upon discovery of the information mentioned above. The lease turn-in and credit report has been resolved. Mr. ****** confirmed all statements mentioned above. Client then asked Dealer for some compensation for the time personally spent on the matter. We left a message for Mr. ****** on the week of 4/4/16 offering a $300 credit in our service department in good faith. We never heard a response from this voice message.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The compensation offered does not equal the damages done. As a result of Jim Coleman's poor operational practices I was not able to buy a car in January and had to work with my home loan officer to resubmit financial documents because of a sudden change in my credit report. Jim Coleman's response above indicates how poorly the situation was handled. I found out about the error in January and a resolution was offered on April 4th. There was no attempt to resolve the situations without countless phones calls and follow up on my end. *** never contacted me about the error and *** self-admittedly was understaffed as they had 20 minute holds times, so how they were calling me with their own issues I don't know. My request is simple, I invested at a minimum 25 hours into resolving this error made by Jim Coleman's negligence and/or poor operational practices and I should be compensated for my time invested and damages. My hourly rate is $63/hr and if you times that by my time invested I am over $1500, but I am asking for one free payment ($711) to serve as compensation for their mistake. To make a customer wait 2.5 months to get a problem resolved is impracticle and poor business. Then to give them a resolution different to what was discussed is poor taste and business arrogance.

02/19/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

On the first day of the purchase, we noticed a coolant warning light displayed. We took the vehicle to the dealer a few times but the dealer could only add water to clear the warning light each time. Eventually, we dropped off the vehicle at which time they have replaced the coolant sensor. However, that did not clear the coolant warning light. We took the vehicle back to dealer again. At this time, they replaced the water tank. This repair work did not fix the coolant warning light either. These procedures took a few months to convince the deal that we need to have the vehicle in the shop for an in-depth diagnostic. Further diagnostic revealed that the water coolant was leaking somewhere although they could not determine where it is leaking to. The dealer further troubleshot the problem to the engine where they believe the coolant was leaking from. They decided to remove the engine head off which lead them to discover that the engine head was not evenly machined and leaking water coolant to engine compartments. They decided that they needed to cut the engine head off to resurface the engine head. They think this is where the coolant is leaking. They removed the engine head off and sent it to a machine shop to resurface the engine head. In the meantime, I have spent about 6 month of time and effort with no positive result but frustration. I have asked the dealer and the manufacturer to replace the vehicle. However, they would not do it.
Product_Or_Service: Range Rover Sport

Desired Settlement
Replacement with a new vehicle.

Business Response
We are working directly with Mr. **** to resolve these issues. We have supplied Land Rover with all the relevant paperwork they require to make a decision, as this is a Manufacturer issue. When involved in this type concern, we act as our clients advocate and will be working alongside Mr *** to attain a satisfactory resolution.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The Lemon law and the commercial law require the vendor replace the vehicle to satisfy the new vehicle problem. However, the vendor has not done so as of today. The vendor replaced the water sensor, water tank, and replaced the engine head by cutting the engine head in the machine shop. The vehicle is no longer a new car we purchased. The Lemon Law and the Commercial Law both require the vendor to replace the new vehicle.

Final Business Response
To Whom it may concern,
To follow up on my previous response. We as a Franchised Dealer for Land Rover act as advocates on behalf of Dr. ***. We have been contacted by the Manufacturer to supply them with all the Repair order documentation with regard to the vehicle. We have sent them all the documents they have asked for and as such, at this time, we are awaiting their response. This is a Manufacturer issue and not a Dealer issue. Once we hear back from the Manufacturer we will know which direction they wish for us to go in. Until them we, as is Dr. ***, are in a "holding" position.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The case has not been resolved. Dr. ***

12/05/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Jaguar Land Rover of West Columbia dealership in Clarksville MD delivered a car with missing specs and incorrect specs but took our money in full.
On July 16, 2013, my husband and I went to Jaguar Land Rover of West Columbia dealership in Clarksville Maryland to purchase a 2014 Land Rover Sport HSE. We met with the sales man I had spoken with on the phone prior to our arriva, Mr. **** ***** The visit with the sales rep **** was for ordering the new car; in doing so, it required customizing the vehicle we wanted including but not limited to a specific interior and exterior colors and a requirement of a rear seat entertainment system. The pre-order required a signed printout of the requested order which include the total price but excluding sales tax and other fees and submission of a deposit of $2,000.00 check. The check and the pre-order contract were signed. The anticipated date of arrival was October 2013.
On or about September 30, 2013, we were contacted that the vehicle had arrived. On or about October 17, 2013 we paid in full for a Grey 2014 Land Rover Sport HSE and took possession of the car. Weeks later, we realized the car we have did not contain all the specifications according to our customization. I contacted the dealership several times. Around February 2014, I was able to speak with **** **** regarding the exterior and interior colors been off and the entertainment system was not included in the car that was delivered to us.
The money paid was according to the customized specs we initiated on July 16, 2013. After several back and forth with ***** I spoke with the sales manager ***** ***** who apologized for the mix-up in the vehicles and promised to reorder for an even exchange. He scheduled an appointment for the reorder, which we went to meet him at the dealership. The reordered vehicle was to become available around April 2014. In April 2014, no one had contacted us. I called ***** ***** and he informed me that the vehicle would not arrive before July 2014 and that; Will Tate was to have called us with this information.
On June 30, 2014, I spoke with ***** ***** who informed me that the reordered vehicle had docked and would be in stock by July 2, 2014. On July 3, 2014 with no further information on the status of the reordered vehicle, I contacted the dealership again and spoke with ***** the General Manager who confirmed the reordered vehicle was now at the Dealership and advised that **** **** will call us to schedule an appointment. On Friday, July 4, 2014, I received a call from **** **** requiring us to come in for the vehicle. It being the Fourth of July holidays, we agreed to be at the dealership on Monday, July 7, 2014 to exchange the vehicles.
On Monday, July 7, 2014, my husband and I met with ***** ***** and **** **** at the Dealership. We were informed that because the vehicle in our possession had 10, 000 miles on it, it would be treated as a trade-in and not an even exchange. Therefore, the dealership demanded $10, 000 more for the reorder. In addition, the Presidents Club package (Maintenance) which we paid for on October 12, 2013 would not be transferred with the reordered vehicle. We rejected these terms because they gave us an incorrect vehicle, we paid in dealership in full for a car missing specifications especially the entertainment system, we did not bargained for this and we trusted them that they will do the right thing.
Since the visit on Monday, July 7, 2014, no one contacted us from the dealership, we left a message for the general manager *****, and he never called back. On or around a week later from the visit on Monday, July 7, 2014, according to ******* the vin # for the car they reordered for us was sold to another customer. We contacted our lawyer to work with them to resolve the issue amicably, to refund the money we paid in excess. The dealership has not responded to our request or resolved the issue. This is going on over a year now.
My experience with this dealership was very horrible, poor customer service and the fact that we paid for a car and they did not deliver all the specs and took our money

Desired Settlement
We are requesting a refund for the missing and incorrect specs we paid them.

Business Response
This issue is presently with our attorneys ,but I would meet with customer to resolve .

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Since the comment on November 25, 2014 by Jaguar Land Rover of West Columbia (***** *****), we have not heard from anyone at their business, regarding a meeting or a resolution regarding this matter.

This customers concerns are in the hands of our Attorney. As such I am unable to comment.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Parts & Supplies - New, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Additional Information

If a business refers you to another company or uses sub-contractors, BBB recommends that you research that company including reviewing their BBB business review.

BBB file opened: 12/19/2006Business started: 01/01/2006
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Motor Vehicle Administration
6601 Ritchie Hwy NE
Glen Burnie, MD 21062-1000
(800) 950-1682

BBB records show a license number of X800004001676 for this company, issued by Motor Vehicle Administration. Their web address is The expiration date of this license is 06/30/2018. This license is in the name of Jim Coleman Automotive of West Columbia LLC.

Type: Vehicle Dealer

Check License Status: Call MVA Dealer License Dept 410-787-2950

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

Type of Entity


Incorporated: June 2002, MD

Business Management
Principal: Mr. Kevin Cohan (General Manager)
Contact Information
Mr. Jim Coleman (President)Mr. Steve Kenly Mr. Chris Smith (General Manager)
Number of Employees


Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Parts & Supplies - New, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Products & Services

This company offers new car sales, used car sales and automobile service, parts and repair.

Alternate Business Names
Jim Coleman Jaguar/Landrover, Jaguar Land Rover of West Columbia, Jim Coleman Automotive of West Columbia LLC

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Jim Coleman Jaguar-Land Rover of Columbia, LLC has received 3.7 out of 5 stars based on 1 Customer Review and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Jim Coleman Jaguar-Land Rover of Columbia, LLC

12500 New Car Dr

Clarksville, MD 21029-2201

To | From


1 Locations

  • 12500 New Car Dr 

    Clarksville, MD 21029-2201(877) 656-5900
    (301) 469-7100
    (240) 333-2890
    (301) 469-8274
    (800) 637-7176
    (888) 240-5918
    (443) 535-1000
    (877) 857-4925
    Fax: (443) 535-1024

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Greater Maryland. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Jim Coleman Jaguar-Land Rover of Columbia, LLC is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


Additional Phone Numbers

  • (877) 656-5900
  • (301) 469-7100
  • (240) 333-2890
  • (301) 469-8274
  • (800) 637-7176
  • (888) 240-5918
  • (877) 857-4925

Additional Email Addresses


BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on December 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.


Industry Tips for Auto Dealers - New Cars


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.