BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 12/04/1995

Classic Body & Fender, Inc.

Phone: (410) 335-6882Fax: (410) 335-899610821 Pulaski Hwy, White MarshMD 21162-1815 Send email to Classic Body & Fender, Inc.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 12/04/1995

BBB has determined that Classic Body & Fender, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Classic Body & Fender, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on Classic Body & Fender, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
03/05/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Fraud on things not completed and charged for things not done. refuses to complete, unless additional monies are given, for work already charged for.
Failure to complete by promised time.

Desired Settlement
I'm a seeking the work be fully completed as promised and charged for as all the work was clearly not done.

Business Response
On 6/12/13 ****** ****** contacted me about repairing his vehicle. Below are dates and details on his repair. As you requested I replaced his name the "The Customer" or "He" and myself and Classic Body and Fender as "I" or "We."

6/17/13 Customer dropped off vehicle, 1939 **** ****** for repairs. I estimated it would take 4-6 weeks to complete, but explained that with all repairs we may run into a delay. Due to the uniqueness of the car the customer gave me a list of suppliers that he was familiar working with for parts to his car. I ordered parts and began work. Parts had to be ground shipped due to size and did not have tracking numbers.

6/20/13 We found additional damage to the vehicle and called ******** ********* ******** who was hired by the customer's insurance company to handle his claim. I explained the damage found. They asked us to stop work until an appraiser could re-inspect the vehicle.

6/26/13 Appraiser re-inspected vehicle and we came to an agreed fair price to repair the vehicle for 15,611.28(13124.10 for the originally estimated repairs, 2487.18 in supplemental damages). We continued work.

6/28/13 The customer stopped in to check the status of his car. I showed him our progress and explained to him the additional damages found, that the insurance company re-inspected the vehicle, and agreed to pay for them. The customer was content. He ask us to do some additional work that he would pay for himself such as removing the driver's side mirror, filling the mirror hole and repainting the door. I agreed to get him a price for his request.

7/3/13 I received the final part, which came in incorrect. I called the seller and explained the differences between the part we received and the part sent and reordered a replacement.

7/9/13 The customer stopped in to check status of vehicle. I notified him of the incorrect part that came in and that other parts that were no longer available for his car. I showed him that we had no choice but to repair the parts that are no longer available, and may take slightly longer. These parts in any other circumstance would be replaced.

7/17/13 I received the second part and it again was incorrect. I called the seller and through sending pictures and descriptions we decided they did not have the correct part for the application. I then ordered the part from a different supplier. At this time the other repairs were nearing completion and the parts was needed to continue.

7/30/13 Received the correct part. Repair could now be continued. I called the customer to let him know we could complete his repair.

8/2/13 The customer came in to check on his vehicle and get a completion date. I let him know we were expecting it to be complete in 2.5-3 weeks. He was not happy with the time frame and asked if we could have it ready Friday 8/9. I explained that it was not possible and that we still had about 25 hours of body work to do and the 54 hours of paint work. He asked for a definite date of completion which I respectfully made it clear I could not give him due to temperature and humidity levels affecting drying times and how materials react and as we got closer I would be able to give him a more accurate date. The customer then demanded that his car be ready to pick his car up on 8/16. I explained to him that his 1938 **** could "be done, or be done right," and he persisted on picking his car up on that date.

8/15/13 I called the customer to let him know his car was ready to be picked up. He said he would be in on Friday, 8/16 to pick it up.

8/16/13 The customer picked up his vehicle. I told him that we were not charging him for his requested repairs in order to try to keep him content on the delayed repairs that could have not been prevented. He was unhappy but satisfied with the repairs at the inspection (he also had a friend with him helping him inspect). He called later that day to ask if we could remove the passenger side mirror, fill the hole, and paint the door at no charge, and in exchange he would not file any complaints through ********* BBB, ect. I declined his offer.

About three weeks later he called with a few concerns on his car. I asked him to bring it back in for us to check and remedy and problems that may be from his repair. He asked to bring it in near the end of October and I agreed. I asked if he had received any payments for his car repair as we still had an outstanding bill. He stated he did not. After the call I had contacted the insurance company and asked about the check for the supplemental damages. They said they had accidentally sent the check to the customer and that the check had cleared. I asked them for and received a copy of the canceled check.

On the week of 10/28/13 the customer brought his vehicle back with an itemized list, about 5-7 minor items that he wanted to have addressed. I confronted him about the check he had cashed. At first he denied then when I showed him the canceled check he stated, "I am not paying you people any more money for my car." I let him know we could not address his concerns if he was not willing to pay the remaining amount for his car. He understood and left.

The customer was kept informed on the status of his car throughout his repair. He demanded he was picking up his car on 8/16 when I told him we could not complete the repairs by that date. We did not charge him the additional amount for the work he requested and he refused to pay the full amount sent to him by his insurance carrier that was allotted for his repair. The customer's issues were minor paint imperfections and his cowl area and roof which needed to be painted. These repairs would cost far less than $1000 to complete and with his outstanding bill of 2487.18 we could not complete his vehicle with his statement, "I am no paying you people any more money."

Please send me information how I can send copies of canceled checks, estimate from the insurance company showing the agreed cost of repair, and a sign invoice by the customer agreeing to pay for the total cost of repair of $15,611.28.

Classic Body & Fender has been in business for over 30 years and repairs about 350 cars a year. We have not had a complaint in well over the 3 years listed on the BBB website. We take pride of our work and stand behind it. It is a shame that a customer can make a complaint because we only ask that he brings in the money we are owed.

Consumer Response
Refuses to fully completed repair on vehicle, that he was paid for is not willing to discuss completion, until additional monies are paid.
6/17 repairs incompleted on vehicle, was paid for repairs that he refuses to finish without additional payment. ******, *****

Consumer Response
Ms. ******
Please be advised that we have received your response in regards to case XXXXXXXX with reference to Classic Auto Body, the uncompleted work being referenced was already paid for and not completed, the additional check received is a supplement for additional repairs in which we do not wish to have Classic Auto Body, complete. At this point we want the incomplete repairs that were paid for completed, and will take the vehicle elsewhere for the supplement repairs. Attached is a copy of the estimate written by the independent appraiser, along with a copy of the bill written by Classic Auto Body, it has been noted as to the completed repairs and incompleted repairs, there is about $5,700.00 in incomplete repairs in which Classic was paid and did not complete. Please contact me at your earliest convenience to advise of the next step to be taken. I have been to shop to ask to have the repairs completed, and the shop refuses to take the vehicle without receiving the supplement check, we are not asking the shop to complete anything additional outside of the original repairs, that have not be done to date. Thankyou for your time and attention in this matter.
Thank you
******* ** ******

Business Response
Ms ******

I have included attachments showing the appraisal of damage, signed work order, and invoice for a part the customer stated was not replaced.
The attached estimate was prepared by ******** ********* ******** an independent automobile appraisal company, chosen by the customer's insurance carrier. This list of repairs was negotiated with Classic Body And Fender to find a fair repair cost of the customers vehicle. The appraiser documents the damage though pictures and invoices and forwards his appraisal to the insurance company. The insurance company then reviews the pictures and the list of damage to check to verify the damage is present, related to the loss, and is an acceptable evaluation before issuing payment. The first two paragraphs on page 4 of the appraisal will confirm this process.
For the customer to state that some repairs were not necessary or not damaged would be incorrect. Many of the items that were noted were R&I operations, meaning remove and reinstall. This operation is done on parts that are not necessarily damaged, but need to be removed sometime during the repair or painting process to gain better access to the damaged parts. Those parts are than reinstalled and aligned. The customer also stated the grill was not damaged, however, was verified damaged by the appraisal company and was considered most likely damaged beyond a successful repair. They recommended it be replaced, but the customer (who was helping me locate parts at the time due to the uniqueness of his vehicle) and I were unable to find a replacement part. For this reason, with the customers knowledge, we applied the money given for replacement toward repairing the grill.
The customer authorized Classic Body And Fender to complete all repairs to his vehicle. The customer also stopped in several times during the repair where someone would escort him to his vehicle to show the progress of repairs, the additional damages found, and answer any questions he had at the time. During these meetings the customer would occasionally request us to do additional work in place of the items on the appraisal. For example he wanted the stripes on the entire vehicle removed instead of replacing only some of the stripes on the panels that would be repaired. We explained and he understood that these items would be "a wash", meaning there would be no additional cost or refund to him. All repairs have been completed on the vehicle other than some minor finishing work that had to be hurried when the customer demanded his vehicle back. This finishing work will cost far less than the $2487.18 that the customer received in payment for supplemental damages.
While Classic Body And Fender has the legal right to apply a mechanic's lien on the vehicle we feel it would not help much to resolve the situation. The customer was kept well informed throughout the repair in the progress and damages found. At no point did he have a problem with any of the damages that were found. We had full intention in completing the repairs to the customer's satisfaction at his convenience; however, when attempting to schedule him we asked if he had received the check for supplemental damages. He replied with, "I'm not paying you people any more money." This is the reason we had asked for this check before we complete the work. In order to settle this matter, I would agree to allow the customer to keep the supplemental damage check in order for him to complete any finishing work and the cleaning of any clear coat that may be on his wheels.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Body Repair & Painting, Auto Repair - Windshield, Glass Shops, Wheel Alignment, Frame & Axle Service - Auto, Towing - Automotive, Auto - Fleet Service, Auto Restoration, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Detailing, Auto Air Conditioning, Tire Dealers, Steering Systems & Equipment

Additional Information


If a business refers you to another company or uses sub-contractors, BBB recommends that you research that company including reviewing their BBB business review.

BBB file opened: 10/21/1986Business started: 01/01/1981
Type of Entity


Incorporated: September 1981, MD

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. David Stumpf (President)
Number of Employees


Business Category

Auto Body Repair & Painting, Auto Repair - Windshield, Glass Shops, Wheel Alignment, Frame & Axle Service - Auto, Towing - Automotive, Auto - Fleet Service, Auto Restoration, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Detailing, Auto Air Conditioning, Tire Dealers, Steering Systems & Equipment

Products & Services

This company offers auto repair and collision repair services.

Hours of Operation
Mon: 08:30 AM to 05:00 PMTue: 08:30 AM to 05:00 PMWed: 08:30 AM to 05:00 PMThu: 08:30 AM to 05:00 PMFri: 08:30 AM to 05:00 PM

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Classic Body & Fender, Inc.

10821 Pulaski Hwy

White Marsh, MD 21162-1815

To | From


1 Locations

  • 10821 Pulaski Hwy 

    White Marsh, MD 21162-1815(410) 335-6882
    Fax: (410) 335-8996

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Greater Maryland. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Classic Body & Fender, Inc. is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on December 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.


Industry Tips for Auto Body Repair & Painting


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.