BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 09/21/2004

Auction Brokers, LLC

Find a Location

Phone: (410) 426-2622Fax: (410) 426-8102View Additional Phone Numbers6721 Harford Rd 2nd Fl, BaltimoreMD 21234-7707 Send email to Auction Brokers, LLCView Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 09/21/2004

BBB has determined that Auction Brokers, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Auction Brokers, LLC's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Auction Brokers, LLC

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
05/12/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Mr. ******* agreed to compensate me when he listed a piece of false information about my home when it was listed for sale. I was never compensated.
I hired Mr. ******* and his company auction brokers to assist in the sale of my home. My house was to be put up for auction on October 26th, 2013, which it was and it did not sell. I had a contract with Mr. ******* saying that if the property did not sell, he had the right to list my home with his company for 30 banking days. I received an offer on my home in February 2014, and accepted it. Mr. ******* came to my home for me to sign the contract and after that is when the problems started. He in no way helped me through the escrow process of selling my home. He knew it was the first time I was selling a home, and according to his advertisements and the way that he described what his company did, he was to be representing me and my best interest throughout this process. I called him and auction brokers on numerous occasions for help and either never received a response or was put off for quite some time. Both the buyers agents and the title company working on the sale of the home were very frustrated with him because he in no way was an active part of the process. I had to completely represent myself. Then, during the appraisal process, when Mr. ******* was not present at all, it was discovered that he falsely listed my home as in fee, when it was in fact a ground rent property. The buyer wanted a home that possessed ownership of the property, and so in order to keep the contract I had to put out $1000 to convert the property from ground rent to in fee. Mr. *******'s office agreed in an email to cover the costs of this for me. Weeks went by and the settlement date was a day away. I had not heard from Mr. *******. He was aware that my father was injured due to an accident and that he had to be present at closing. My father had made special arrangements to travel over an hour in his condition to be at closing. Mr. ******* was also aware that I was 36 weeks pregnant. Needless to say, everyone except for Mr. ******* was working hard to make sure the house closed on time. On the day before settlement, a woman from Auction Brokers office told both me and the Title Company that they were not willing to cooperate with the title company as far as contributing the $1000 to change the property from ground rent to in fee like promised. Their reason for this was that Mr. ******* wanted to save money and use his own lawyer. Because of his decision to do this a day before closing, Auction Brokers said we would unfortunately not be able to close on time. They were aware of this situation for weeks and did not address it till the day before settlement and were willing to put me and my family in a compromising position just so Auction Brokers could save a few dollars. It should also be known that Charles ******* was getting 7% commission from me. The only thing he did was list my home and bring me a contract to sign and he was receiving 7% commission. Because of my situation and after talking with the Title Company, I decided to go ahead with settlement and put the $1000 out to complete the real estate transaction as scheduled. I emailed Mr. ******* and let him know how unsatisfied I was with his services and that I would like to know either way if he planned to compensate me. He never responded to me. At settlement, I was informed that Mr. *******'s office said that they did not represent me, that they were only my listing agents. In my opinion, that is false advertising. I was never informed that I was hiring someone with a 7% commission that would not represent me in any way. It should also be known that Mr. ******* said he would be present at my closing, and he was not there. I had no representation in the closing of my first home. I feel as though I was scammed in this process. Mr. ******* did not look out for my interests in any way, and cost me $1000 in the sale of my home. I would like to be compensated for the $1000 that I put out due to his discrepancy in my listing

Desired Settlement
I am seeking to be reimbursed $1000 that I had to put out to convert my home from ground rent to in fee at the settlement of my home. Auction Brokers listed my home improperly as not having ground rent when it did. Auction Brokers provided me with an email saying they would compensate me for this, and I did not receive any funds.

Business Response
Response to ******* *******'s complaint:

Auction Brokers had an agreement to offer her property for sale at public auction on October 26, 2013, at which time the bid did not reach high enough to be accepted.
Ms. ******* did not have money to pay for the advertising; I advanced $600.00 to advertise her property for public auction.
We asked at the time the property was booked for auction (listed), if there was a ground rent. Our form shows that the response was in fee; it also shows that the response to the amount of ground rent paid (if any) was blank; we therefore took her word for it and listed the property as "in fee".
The title company wanted $1,000 to redeem the ground rent which was $39.00 a year, the capitalization redemption is only $600.00.
It was obvious that the title company was charging too much for this service; my lawyer advised me that he could have it done for less.
Had the question been answered correctly at the start of our marketing the property, the issue and complaint would not have occurred.
Our business venue is that of an auction company where hand holding is not as necessary as with a conventional agency. During the settlement period, I underwent a minor medical procedure, and while I may have not been as attentive as Ms. ******* would have liked, my Office Administrator was in contact with her and the title company throughout the settlement process. Emails, and phone conversations were noted on 3/4/14, 3/6/14, 3/13/14 and 3/28/14. Settlement took place on 3/14/14; the check for our fee was sent on 3/18/14 and received by us on 3/20/14. It cleared our bank on 3/27/14. A check was written from my company on 3/28/14 for Ms. ******* in the amount of $600 for the ground rent redemption. We did not have Ms. *******'s new address, so our office emailed her requesting that information. We received Ms. *******'s mailing address via email on Monday when our office opened. The check for the ground rent redemption was mailed out that day. It appears that Ms. ******* filed her complaint against my company the same day that we requested her mailing address. There was no attempt to withhold the $600.00 that we agreed to pay.
Ms ******* should be reminded that I reduced my fee by $ 1,010.00 (the buyer's real estate agent received 2.5% or $2,525 out of our fee); we advanced advertising for the auction in the amount of $600.00, and I contributed $600.00 toward the ground rent redemption without prejudice.




Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Mr. ******* did in fact send me a check for $600, but did not reach out for my address to send the check until the day I posted my complaint to the BBB, which is a little coincidental considering it was over two weeks after I asked for a response as to whether or not he was going to reimburse me. I am happy that I received that check, but I am not satisfied because I paid $1000 for the ground rent redemption in total, which I have documentation for and I will provide to the BBB. In an email, which I will also provide, Mr. *******'s office sent me an email stating that they would pay for the cost of the ground rent redemption. They didn't say they would partially pay. They said they would cover the cost. I've never known it to be a good business practice to agree to cover the cost of something and then decide down the road that you don't feel like paying all of it. I really didn't feel like paying 7% of the sale of my home to Mr. *******, but because that is what I agreed to pay, I paid it. In response to the statement that Mr. ******* paid the advertising costs for the listing of my home, yes that is correct. But he states it in a way that makes it seem that he fronted the cost for me because I could not afford it, and that I should somehow be thankful for that. I have a signed contract between Auction Brokers and myself saying that I was not contributing anything to the cost of advertising. That was not because of any other reason than that was the agreement reached between me and them and it was set in stone. So I'm not sure why Mr. ******* even mentioned that, because he in no way was giving me anything free or up front for his services. After all, most real estate services don't request that and they also don't request such a high brokers fee and then hardly be present in the process of the sale of the home, which was what happened in this case. In response to Mr. ******* lowering his fee from 8% to 7%, that is also true, but listed in the contract it states that once the home goes on the market the brokers fee between owner and broker is negotiable, and that was exactly the case. In my opinion, it was only right that he lower it considering the services provided to me. Also, it is mentioned in Mr. *******'s response that his firm doesn't participate in "hand holding." I certainly was not asking for my hand to be held. But I was taking part in the sale of my first home and had hired someone who said he was a professional and would guide me in the process. If that was not what was to be provided to me, it should have been made clear and I would not have entered into a business agreement with him. Even the other participating parties made comments that he was very unclear about exactly what his business did. He told the other agents involved that he was not there to represent me, but he wouldn't clarify to them that he wasn't my agent. It is also stated in his response that the property was wrongly listed as in fee due to my error. That is false. As a homeowner and someone trying to sell my home, I would have never falsified information. Where would that have gotten me? To lie about the status of my home's ground rent status makes absolutely no sense. And people do make mistakes, but for Mr. ******* to accuse me of causing the error is so unprofessional. I would like to be compensated for the remaining $400 that I put out to cover the cost of ground redemption in the sale of my home.

Final Business Response
A $600.00 check was sent to Ms. ******* the same day we received her new mailing address, and it is understood that the check was mailed without prejudice. I addressed this issue in my last response. I did not agree to pay the excessive amount quoted to record the redemption of the ground rent, and indicated that my lawyer would do that. Ms. ******* did not consider that option. Ms. ******* did not disclose the fact that there was a ground rent; nor did she disclose the amount of the ground rent. Had Ms. ******* disclosed that there was a ground rent and the amount of that ground rent, we would not be having this issue now. To help Ms. *******, I reduced our agreed commission, covered the cost to purchase the ground rent, and we completed a conventional sale as a result of our agreement. I made more than reasonable contributions in order to complete the transaction. I have answered all of her allegations.

******* *******

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auctioneers, Real Estate, Estates - Appraisals, Sales & Auctions

Additional Information

top

If a business refers you to another company or uses sub-contractors, BBB recommends that you research that company including reviewing their BBB business review.

BBB file opened: 09/22/2004Business started: 01/01/2002
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Dept. of Labor, Licensing & Regulation (dllr)
500 N Calvert St Ste 401
Baltimore, MD 21202
(410) 230-6001
http://www.dllr.state.md.us/license/

BBB records show a license number of 35067 for this company, issued by Dept. of Labor, Licensing & Regulation (dllr). Their web address is http://www.dllr.state.md.us/license/. The expiration date of this license is 04/15/2018. This license is in the name of Charles Dixon Parrish.

Type: Real Estate License

Check License Status: https://www.dllr.state.md.us/cgi-bin/ElectronicLicensing/OP search/OP search.cgi?calling app=RE::RE_qselect

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

BBB records show a license number of 522835 for this company, issued by Dept. of Labor, Licensing & Regulation (dllr). Their web address is http://www.dllr.state.md.us/license/. The expiration date of this license is 12/03/2017. This license is in the name of Ian C Parrish.

Type: Real Estate License

Check License Status: https://www.dllr.state.md.us/cgi-bin/ElectronicLicensing/OP search/OP search.cgi?calling app=RE::RE_qselect

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Charles Parrish (CEO)Customer Contact: Mrs. Colleen Parrish (CFO)Ms. Ursula Bowen (Director of Marketing)
Number of Employees

4

Business Category

Auctioneers, Real Estate, Estates - Appraisals, Sales & Auctions

Products & Services

This company offers real estate auctions - land, investment, residential, commercial, waterfront, development.

Alternate Business Names
Charles Real Estate

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Auction Brokers, LLC

6721 Harford Rd 2nd Fl

Baltimore, MD 21234-7707

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 6721 Harford Rd 2nd Fl 

    Baltimore, MD 21234-7707(410) 426-2622
    (410) 426-6000
    (866) 474-7000
    Fax: (410) 426-8102
    Fax: (410) 426-8000

  • 6717 Harford Rd # 6721 

    Parkville, MD 21234-7707

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Greater Maryland. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Auction Brokers, LLC is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (410) 426-6000
  • (866) 474-7000

Additional Fax Numbers

  • (410) 426-8000
X

Additional Web Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on December 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Auctioneers

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.