BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Village of Chartleytowne

Phone: (410) 833-6666Fax: (410) 833-0160

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service4
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints5

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (5)
04/17/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Signed a lease on01/17 and gave holding fee 2.5 wks before moving they call me and tell me that tenant isn't moving
I applied for an apt on 12/29 and was approved ***** called me early January and said she would have an apt avail in MARCH I went and signed my lease for XX west ******** hill lane apt XX on 01/17 and also gave my 100.00 holding fee my rent was to be 755 almost 2 weeks ago ***** called me and said the tenant isn't moving so the solitution was a third floor apt with the rent reduced to when I first applied and on ******* road to 730 I was fine with that exactly pleased with how the problem was resolved she told me she was going to email me the lease so as of today I hadn't heard from her so I called the office to find that she doesn't work at that office anymore and didn't type up my lease so I explained everything to **** and he found my info and said he would type up my lease and send it to me hrs later he called me back I couldn't answer so he left me a message saying that the second apt they offered as the solution to the orignal problem the tenants aren't moving its exactly a legal issue so now yet again his solution is to offer me an apt with a den that I didn't ask for and to charge me 845 for rent I signed a lease #1 I gave them a holding fee #2 I have already purchased renters insurance thru my car ins company#3 and this is my first time moving on my own so I
have purchased all new furniture that I have to pay off as o f. 2/23 that's when my 90 days will be up with ***** **** to have my new furniture paid for completely#4 why would they have sign a lease and they didn't know what the tenant was going to do#5 now 2.5 wks before my move out date I have no where to go I have to most likely put brand new furniture in storage

Desired Settlement
The leasing office needs to give me the 1 bedroom apt at the rate that was offered to me after the first inconvience for 730 and they need to give up to 2 months free rent at this point I have no where to go and new furntiure that is going to have to sit an storage with GOD only knows roaches mice etc.

Business' Initial Response
It is highly unusual that we rent an apartment on notice and the current resident decides not to move. In my almost 20 years working in this industry, I have never had it happen twice. This is considered a "tenant holding over" and at that point we would have to begin court proceedings and have a judgment issued that the current tenant needs to vacate the apartment. This process takes approximately 2 months.

We did offer the prospective resident another 1BR apartment (we actually offered 2) at the rental rate of $730, but she did not like the locations of either apartment. We also offered her the opportunity to move to a different location, once another apartment became available at a location that was more desirable for her, she declined this as well. Because the prospective resident did not like the locations, we also offered a 1BR with a Den, to see if that would suit her needs. The rent on that apartment, because it is larger, is more expensive. She declined on all of these options and we told her we would keep her informed of any other 1BR apartments that become available.

We were in constant contact with the prospective resident as this issue progressed and feel we have done everything possible to accomodate her.

We are committed to giving the propective resident the rent of $730 if she decides to move in and this was discussed with her. We will not, however, offer any rent concession. At this time the prospect has remained on the waiting list. If she decides to have her name removed, the $100 holding fee will be refunded.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I don't accept that response because that isn't accurate info when they informed me that the second apt wasn't going to be made avail because those tenants decided not to move there solution was to offer me the 1 br w/ den at 845 for my inconvience they wanted to charge my 115 more in rent that doesn't benefit me that benefits them so no I didn't take that apt and yes they told that they did have another 1 br avail at 730 that was on a bottom level when I first applied for an apt I specifically told them I don't want a bottom level I spoke w/ the manager and she said they would let me know when one becomes avail so far I haven't been notified of anything I filed this complaint because I feel like they need to be held accountable for having me sign a lease (a legal agreement) and not 100% knowing that the tenants weren't moving and the solution was to offer me something that was going to benefit them and not me after all the inconvience that I've been put through the least they could do was keep me updated as to when I could expect something and again my rent needs to be at 730

12/23/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Charged for cost before it was incurred
I was charged a late fee and court filing fee after paying rent one day late. I was charged the filing fee on November 6, 2014 and the case was not filed until November 10, 2014. Therefore, I was charged and paid for a cost that the leasing company had not yet incurred. The rent was paid in full on November 6, 2014 leaving Ms. ******** ***** ample time to call the process server and direct them not to file the case and not to incur the cost. This was not done, I was forced to pay the late fee and the filing fee to keep my account current. When I sough reimbursement for the filing fee only I was informed by ******** ***** that the "Attorney" had not filed the case until the 10th, which was not her problem and she refused to reimburse me the filing fee. I attempted to contact ****** ****** whose name was on the certificate of service as having filed the complaint on November 6th, her name and number was also given to me by Ms. ***** as the "attorney" for The Village of Chartleytowne. I have not yet received a call back.

Desired Settlement
I am seeking a reimbursement of the $26.00 filing fee

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ******* ******/MGR
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *******@morgan-properties.com
Resident made a payment online and the monies did not post until the 6th. The court case has been dismissed and the court filing fee has been reversed and credited to the Residents ledger. There is a credit on the Residents ledger as of today, 12/10/2014 at 4:28pm in the amount of $26.00. Please contact me with any questions.

Thank you,

******* ******

08/15/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My family and i are getting evicted for false verbal her say that the property mananger has no proof of and haveing people harrass me and my family
4/8/14 problem occured april 16, 2014 problem was solved due to a protective order

Desired Settlement
N/A

Business Response
Dear Ms. *******
I am writing to you on behalf of our client Morgan Properties (“Morgan”) agent for Village of Chartleytowne relative to the above-referenced Complaint. Morgan denies that it has discriminated against Ms. ****** in her housing on the basis of race as set forth below.
On October 4, 2013, ****** ******, ***** ***** & ******** ****** (“The Tenant”) entered into a lease agreement with Morgan Properties for the premises located at *** ******* **** **** ************* ******** XXXXX. The lease term for the premises was October 4, 2013 through October 3, 2014.
Under the terms of the lease agreement the Tenant may not engage in noise disturbances in the premises or illegal activity. Section 32, Noise and Behavior and Rule 15, Laws and Insurance are the applicable provisions of the lease. As the Property Manager, ****** ****** has the duty to carry out her responsibilities to ensure compliance with the terms of the lease. In the instant matter, it has been documented that the Tenant has violated the afore-said provisions. The Baltimore County Police Department has responded to the premises on March 30, 2014 and April 8, 2014 due to an ongoing domestic dispute between the Tenant and the other non-residents known as ******* ***** and ****** ****** The Baltimore County Police Department has advised Morgan that on April 8, 2014, the Tenant was engaged in a disturbance that involved furniture and clothes being thrown out of the windows and doors of the premises. Thereafter, Morgan learned that Peace/Protective Orders were issued by ******* ***** against ******** ****** and by ******** ****** against ****** ***** stemming from the domestic disturbance that occurred on the grounds of Village of Chartleytowne on April 8, 2014. Notwithstanding the Cross-Petitions for Protection, on or about July 8, 2014 and July 9, 2014 ******* ***** was observed entering the Premises. Thereafter, it became clear to the Property Manager that the domestic disturbance would not cease rather it would continue. As a result, the Property Manager issued the Tenant a Thirty-Day Notice to Vacate the Premises in accordance with Maryland Real Property Article 8-402.1. The Tenant vacated the premises on August 11, 2014.
It is Morgan™s position that Morgan has not violated any law rather it has simply enforced the provisions of the lease agreement. Therefore, ****** ******™s Complaint with your office should be CLOSED as unfounded.
Please do not hesitate to contact my office if you require additional information.
Sincerely,
******* ******** Esq.
cc: Morgan Properties (via email)


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
We Got a letter stated to leave the premises August the 9 which I have poof of and can provide documentation not August 11. Morgan properties claim they seen ******* ***** on the premises not stated that the seen her at my residents. There are over 10,000 people who live in the neighborhood she could have been anywhere n stating to us that u guys know that no one at my family was not home is ridiculous that's why Legal action is being taking n u guys will be sued. Always furniture n cloths where not being throwed out Baltimore county police directed us to get ******* ***** and my brother ****** ******* child's stuff and have us put these things out due to the fact they were in the basement out back so ******* ***** could receive her things. I also dropped the keys off my self on august 9 at 4pm at the rental office as well as called to let ****** know that I did n she has been ignoring my calls for weeks I have not yet once Spoke with her I have documentation of emails that she has not yet responsed to.

05/30/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My wife's vehicle was towed less than a week we moved in.And now the spot is not handicap anymore.
Me and my family moved in the weekend of March 1st. In our complex there are handicap spots available, with a 7 foot pole and sign on the ground to represent that the spot is handicap. There are two spots that only have the paint on the ground to indicate the spot is handicap. _ Days after we moved in a snow storm occurred, covering the ground. My wife parked in 1 of the two handicap spots that only had street paint indicating it was a handicap spot. Since we just moved in we were unaware that two spots had no 7 foot pole to indicate they were handicap. We paid $250 to get our car back and complained to the rental office. They said they couldn't do anything about it, after I simply wanted a $250 rent credit. After that I sent an email to the property manager explaining my problem. She called me, the call was disconnected and she did not contact me again. Just a few weeks after the 6th of march, that same handicap spot from which our car was towed, the wheelchair symbol was painted black to show it was a regular spot.

Desired Settlement
I am simply asking for a 250 rent credit. I find it unfair that these handicap spots are not handicap anymore and by us just moving in the parking spots were probably illegally marked handicap anyway. Because if there was snow covering a handicap symbol on the ground, there should be another way of showing a spot is for a handicap vehicle. IE a 7 foot pole with a handicap sign above ground.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** *******
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ********@morgan-properties.com
Dear Resident,

We apologize that you feel you were towed in error. I have attached a photograph of your car in the clearly marked disabled parking spot without displaying proper identification that you could park in a disabled parking spot.

During the snow storm, towing was suspended by both the community and the towing company as we felt that some of our residents would not be able to clearly identify where the disabled parking was or even where the lines were to designate parking spots, as we also tow vehicles parked over the lines. Unfortunately, you parked in a disabled parking spot after we had effectively cleared all of the snow from our parking lot, as evidenced by our photograph.

Currently, we are in the process of restriping and repairing our parking lots. We have made the decision to offer our residents "preferred parking," which allows them to reserve a private parking spot. This Preferred Parking Program means that some of the disabled parking spots were relocated throughout the community.

Unfortunately, we will not be issuing a $250 credit for your towing fee, but I can offer you a Preferred Parking Spot for the next six months so you will not have to worry about parking in a disabled spot in error again. Please let me know where you would like your spot to be in the parking lot.

Sincerely,
****** *******
Interim Property Manager

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This is vehicle in the photograph is not my vehicle at all. This goes to show me how much care and time was really put into the issue at hand. That vehicle was even the wrong color. With the information provided by the BBB there is no reason my car should have been mixed up in this matter. ****** properties is very disorganized, unfair, and mostly unfair. I work hard to earn my money and don't plan on just giving it away.

Final Business Response
Dear Resident,

I apologize for attaching the wrong photographs, but your complaint did not provide me with an exact date on which the towing occurred. Also, when I checked your application and file, there is no record of what kind of car you drive. So,
I have attached the only other handicap violation towing incident that happened the first week of March.

Again, during the snow storm, towing was suspended by both the community and the towing company as we felt that some of our residents would not be able to clearly identify where the disabled parking was or even where the lines were to designate parking spots, as we also tow vehicles parked over the lines. Unfortunately, you parked in a disabled parking spot after we had effectively cleared all of the snow from our parking lot, as evidenced by the photographs.

Unfortunately, we will not be issuing a $250 credit for your towing fee. Please review the signed acknowledgement of the towing policy at The Village of Chartleytowne which you and your wife signed on 2/28/14. Please let me know if you have any additional questions.

Sincerely,
****** *******
Interim Property Manager

03/17/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My lease renewal that I received is extremely high & the office can't explain to me why an increase would be $108.00 at once for a 1 bedroom apt
When I originally applied to get a 1 br apt I was informed pricing was 730.00 I wanted to move in Jan 2013 nothing was avail so I was called by ***** ******* & informed that there was a 2nd floor apt avail in March 2013 for 730.00 I accepted I signed my lease gave 100.00 for a holding fee 2 wks before I was to move in I received a call the apt wasn't available so they offered to give me a 3rd floor apt & keep pricing the same for the inconvenience I accepted before I could go sign my new lease I received a call & was told that apt wasn't available & I had to wait for another apt to become available but because of their screw up my rent pricing would remain the same at 730.00 so I finally got a 2nd floor apt available in May 2013 I accepted paid my security deposit of 199.00 & my first month rent the day of move in May 15 2013 I have been paying my rent on time & ahead of time I have never been there have been a few problems with noise from the apt above me at night that the leasing office seemed not to know how to resolve the issue without me visiting the office I received a renewal notice in Jan. 2014 & if I were to renew my lease the another 12 mos. my base rent would increase 108.00 along with me paying them 50.00 for gas 7.00 for trash pick up & for water & sewage so base rent would be 838.00 so I would be paying close to 1k for this 1 br apt I went to the leasing office to speak with ****** the assistant mgr to see why the rent was increasing so significantly & all she could tell me is it's for number a reasons which doesn't explain anything I have spoken to other tenants & they haven't received increases this high I didn't sign up for any specials I was expecting an increase but nothing this high maybe 25-50 dollars I feel like because their screw up with the first 2 apts & having to keep my rent the same pricing that was offered in march I feel their trying to make up for the money lost & that is not fair to me as a consumer they made the mess up not me & I shouldn't have to suffer the consciences of them not knowing how to ensure that tenants are moving out before offering the apt to someone else increasing rent 108.00 at once is very steep especially for a 1 br for a single person along with everything else that I have to pay them

Desired Settlement
At this point I feel like the leasing office is not giving a reasonable response I would like for them to review the increase & make a change to something more reasonable I would like to continue living here because I enjoy the area it's very convenient & I have become comfortable with living here I I'm very good at paying my rent on time & a held of time & I feel like this high increase is too much at once maybe if I can be offered a 2 year lease that would have a lower increase I am a single woman working to pay my own bills & rent is not the only bill I have to have to pack up all my things & move again after just 1year is ridiculous I would like for this to be taking serious because no one leaving on there own could afford a 108.00 increase in rent if the leasing office can't do anything then I need to know who can I speak with above them possibly a regional or district mgr they need really see that this is a lot & I feel that I'm a decent tenant they don't have to pin notices up in the front of the building for me not paying my rent I really hope that we can come to a reasonable agreement I don't want to have to move somewhere else & have to struggle with becoming comfortable else where

Business Response
My name is ******* ****** and I am the Property Manager for The Village of Chartleytowne. I called both numbers we have in our system for our Resident and I have also emailed her. I am awaiting her response.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Apartments

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.