Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of AAMCO Transmission/Camp Bowie?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

AAMCO Transmission/Camp Bowie

Phone: (817) 735-1591 6828 Camp Bowie Blvd, Fort Worth, TX 76116 http://www.aamcofortworth.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that AAMCO Transmission/Camp Bowie meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for AAMCO Transmission/Camp Bowie include:

  • 7 complaints filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for AAMCO Transmission/Camp Bowie include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on AAMCO Transmission/Camp Bowie
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 01, 1983 Business started: 01/01/1983 in TX Business started locally: 01/01/1983
Type of Entity

Partnership

Business Management
Mr. Jason Pryor, Partner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jason Pryor, Partner
Business Category

TRANSMISSIONS-AUTOMOBILE AUTO REPAIR & SERVICE

Alternate Business Names
Bourdon/Pryor LLC

Additional Locations

  • 6828 Camp Bowie Blvd

    Fort Worth, TX 76116

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

12/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I told that they had to break down the transmission to find the problem and then they called & said that it would be $5, 300 to rebuild that one "basically un-repairable", $3,500 for their manufactured one. My mom asked would they put another one from elsewhere in and he said yes for the $930 I would owe if they re-assembled it. I requested that they reassemble it and what would be the cost and I was told $633, $558 for labor and $75 for tow. My mom told me that another shop had said that it should be half that cost because it takes longer to put it back together than taking it down. I feel that they felt that since they had it torn down that I wouldn't let $633 go to waste and they would raise the bill. **** kept telling me about financing "I felt that he was being too helpful in that department in order to keep my vehicle in other words "I am a woman and don't know so they have me strapped over a barrel". My mom intervened and had my truck towed to another shop and that shop explained in detail what they were doing exactly & couldn't understand why AAMCO couldn't have done it that way. In 2 days after they repaired it for $2,528.88 I have my truck thanks to my mom.

Desired Settlement: I feel bad for my mom she feels responsible for referring me there so she ate the $633 cost @ AAMCO. I think that if John really wanted to help he would have charged her half of the $558 labor charge being that it more work reassembling the transmission.

Business Response:

Business Response to a Complaint

Complaint ID#:

Company Name:

AAMCO Transmissions

Company Contact:

Company Phone:

************

Company Email:

Person Who Sent the Complaint: ********* *****

Staff Member:

Response:

December 5, 2014 Mrs. ********* ***** CC: ******** ******* **** ******** ***** ***** **** ****** ** ***** ** ********* ******** Dear Mrs. *****: It’s unfortunate for both of us that things didn't work out. We only wanted to provide you with the best possible product and value. For this reason we proposed installing a re-manufactured transmission with a 3 year unlimited miles warranty. The warranty would have been nationwide. It would have covered parts and labor 100%, no questions asked; it would have covered rental car and towing as well. This is a good value (for your vehicle) at a price of $3500.00. At AAMCO, we have strict rebuild standards that we must adhere to in order to insure the highest quality. Our minimum standard is to bring the transmission back to factory specifications. The worn and damaged parts our rebuilder listed simply made it not cost effective to rebuild the transmission that came out of your vehicle. Today’s transmissions have approximately 800 pieces inside them, they are electronically controlled and hydraulic, and a lot can go wrong and often will. For these reasons, we do not short cut and reuse questionable parts or use cheap, inferior parts in order to only give a cheap price; it would be a disservice to you. Because we don’t lower our standards, AAMCO has been in business for over fifty years and has 690 locations across the country. The competitor you took your vehicle to (Eagle Transmission) has one of AAMCO’s tag lines painted on his building it reads: world’s largest transmission specialist ; they are not the largest transmission company by any stretch of the imagination, however; we are. They are misrepresenting the facts to you in this one example; go look for yourself if you don’t believe. They are also illegally using AAMCO’s trademark. We only wished that you would have told us where you were going so that we could have given you a list of other competitors. You alluded to the fact that you are a women and we somehow intentionally deceived you, well, that’s simply not the case. The facts are that half of our customers are women and a person’s gender has no influence on pricing or diagnosis; cost influence pricing and that’s it. You mentioned in your letter a reassembly price of $855.00 labor+75.00 for towing, a sum of $930.00. We will remind you that your mother (acting as your agent) signed a release in consideration of a reduced price of $558.00. We’ve already discounted the amount that was owed and we only charged our cost on the tow. The price you paid at the competitor is less the remove and inspect labor because one third of the work was done by us so naturally you were not charged again for that portion of the work. If you add the amount you paid the other shop; $2528.88 plus $633.00 you paid us, you have a sum of $3161.88; their pricing is within the window of where we were. If you had just told us where you were going and told us what they were charging and given us a chance to meet or beat their price, things would have turned out much better for you. But instead, you show up with a tow truck unannounced and demanded we stop working on other customers’ vehicles and put your parts in box and get your vehicle ready for towing. John had the crew drop the work they were doing and accommodate you all of which took approximately 30 minutes, there was no stalling. You chose to say you were towing it home because you didn’t have the money to fix it and that you were going to park it; the sales person can’t help you if you give them false information. Based on the story you were telling the salesman, he was trying to help by offering you financing and that’s the only reason he was being so helpful in that department, as you put it. We have nothing to gain by offering you financing in fact it cost us 6% of the sale to give that to our customers. In other words it would have cost the company $210.00 to give you 12 months, zero percent interest. The same is true when a customer uses a Visa, MasterCard, American express, etc. Except the fee is less around 1.5% to 4% of the sale. We hope you don’t take the tone of this letter to be rude or harsh; we are simply pointing out the facts as they occurred. You are a valued customer at AAMCO and we wish the best for you and hope that your recent purchase gives you many years of safe, trouble free service. Sincerely, Your friends at AAMCO 

11/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went to this shop to have my transmission diagnoised and repaired and when they tore it down they showed us what is wrong and gave an outrageous price for the repairs( $3200). We paid them for the diagnosis and work done of $359 and we decided to get a second opinion at a Ford dealership. We had our vehicle towed with our transmission in pieces the Ford dealership inspected and informed us that several parts were severely damaged and quite a few parts did not belong to an actual tranmission nor were the parts that were given to us belong to our transmission . We should have known that when John (the manager) tried to give us the wrong torch converter and we had to correct him on spot to get the right one. The owner ***** ***** is no better than the shop across the street (Rain water's Transmission). We actually spoke to one of ******* guys at the shop and he gave us his cell phone number and said this happens quite frequently. ***** was very defensive and rude and lacks severely in customer service and his shop is extremely untrustworthy. Mr. ***** was more concerned that I had his cell phone number than he was that his employees and possibly including him are trying to make people pay new prices from "stolen" parts from people who chose not to use his shop after a diagnosis and quote.

Desired Settlement: I would like to have the $359 I paid to Aamco returned since my transmission was further damaged and parts were obviously missing.

Business Response:

Business Response to a Complaint

Complaint ID#: ********

Company Name:

AAMCO Transmissions

Company Contact:

***** ***

Company Phone: ************

Company Email:

 

Person Who Sent the Complaint:

******** ******

Staff Member:

****** ****

Response:

A few things to note here: First: The ******* left out a significant portion of their online complaint to the Better Business Bureau. It’s important the bureau has this information to fully understand our response. Please see copy we’ve attached. Second: -I spoke with the husband, ******, yesterday (10/29). I offered EXACTLY what his wife asked for. I said I would immediately refund their money back so long as I was able to speak with the Ford dealership they took the vehicle to so we could verify the parts were missing. After asking several times for the name of the dealership, ****** refused each and every time to give me the name of the Ford Dealership. He would only say he would have *******, the service manager at the Ford dealership, call me. I have still not heard from *******. I called the 5 Ford dealerships in our area, SW Ford in Weatherford, Auto Nation Ford, Auto Nation South Fort Worth Ford, Texas Motor Ford and Five Star Ford. Not one of them has a service manager named *******. -**** did call the husband asking why they left a negative review and were making untrue accusations against us. We take the reputation of our shop quite seriously, as should any business. -The ‘outrageous price’ included all updates to the transmission, heavy duty parts (E250 van used for carpet cleaning) and a 3 year, nationwide, unlimited mileage warranty. -All parts were placed in the box as requested by the customer. No parts were kept on our end -Our rebuilder is the one that caught the wrong TORQUE Converter. (It is not a TORCH converter as the customer says in her complaint). We immediately located the correct one and corrected our mistake. -Our most junior employee has been with the company since 2012. They are held to a high and ethical standard by the owner. No employee gave the customer ******* name and phone number. Nor were they ever told this happens frequently because it simply does not happen with our shop. ******** and ****** should be ashamed of the libel, defamatory statements they have posted online about our employees and our company. Miss ****** and Mr. ****** are engaging in a hate filled, mean spirited, malicious online crusade against our company and its employees without cause. If these lies and falsehoods are not removed immediately, our company will sue in civil court for damages to our good reputation. We will also seek reasonable attorney’s fees, court cost and time spent working on this matter. We will defend our reputation vigorously. Complaint by ******** ****** posted on Google, Yelp and Superpages.com: I went to this shop to have my transmission diagnoised and repaired and when they tore it down they showed us what is wrong and gave an outrageous price for the repairs( $3200). We paid them for the diagnosis and work done of $359 and we decided to get a second opinion at a Ford dealership. We had our vehicle towed with our transmission in pieces the Ford dealership inspected and informed us that several parts were severely damaged and quite a few parts did not belong to an actual tranmission nor were the parts that were given to us belong to our transmission . We should have known that when **** (the manager) tried to give us the wrong torch converter and we had to correct him on spot to get the right one. The owner ***** ***** is no better than the shop across the street (Rain water's Transmission). We actually spoke to one of Jason's guys at the shop and he gave us his cell phone number and said this happens quite frequently. ***** was very defensive and rude and lacks severely in customer service and his shop is extremely untrustworthy. Mr. ***** was more concerned that I had his cell phone number than he was that his employees and possibly including him are trying to make people pay new prices from "stolen" parts from people who chose not to use his shop after a diagnosis and quote. I have also contacted the BBB and will follow up with a complaint made to ***** *********. Should anyone else have a similar issue and want Mr. ******* cell phone number and the corporate contact please let me know. I also understand that they called my husband and said that we just got mad and posted reviews. Please understand we gave this shop TWO opportunities to make the situation correct...all me wanted was the correct parts, not our money. But now I just wish they would do the right thing for once and give us the money back since they obviously aren't going to produce the parts. 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my dispute.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I have voluntarily removed all reviews online, however I feel that AAMCO has interfered with my constitutional rights of free speech. I have the right to add a review on any site I deem necessary to help protect fellow citizens. AAMCO is attempting to threaten legal action in a format of bullying people for their reputation. How could I possibly obtain the ***** ***** personal cell phone number if an employee had not given it me us. Additionally, we did not offer which dealership we took our E250 to prevent that shop from being further harassed by AAMCO. Also I requested that AAMCO not contact me personally and ***** repeatedly called and harassed me for further information. I was not offered a refund of my money that was spent at AAMCO nor offered an apology for the issues they intentionally caused.  The rebuilder was definitely not the person who noticed the wrong TORQUE (my apologies for auto correct in the reviews) converter in my van, it was actually myself. We did not have any hard feelings with AAMCO until after we left and discovered their untruthful business practices. 

Regards,

****** ******




Business Response:

This is to address Mr. ****** response:

 

-I am a very firm believer in ones Freedom of Speech. I spent 10 years in the US Army Infantry defending that right, including during time of war. Likewise, you do have the right to add a review to any site you deem necessary. This, however, does not allow the commitment of Libel - the written "publication" of a defamatory remark(s) that has the tendency to injure another's reputation or character.

-I called Mr. ****** on 2 occasions. The first call I left a message, the 2nd call is when I spoke with ******* These calls took place after Mr. ****** had called AAMCO Corporate Offices, to which we are expected to respond. These are the only 2 phone calls I made to Mr. ******.

-When Mr. ****** called ***** on his cell phone, Mr. ****** told ***** at that time that he got his phone # by searching his name on Google. Manta.com is one such site that has this information.

-I have attached the phone conversation for Mr. ****** to listen to since he claims I did not offer him a refund. As the call shows, I DID offer a refund with the simple requirement we had: Provide the name of the Ford Dealership simply so we can verify the parts were missing and a receipt showing the missing parts were paid for at the dealership that repaired the transmission. This offer still stands. Once this is done, a full refund for the labor paid will be made and I will provide a personal apology in writing, by phone or in person. When I spoke to ****** on 10/29, he had said he was not worried about the money at this point. If that is still the case, and we are able to verify the missing parts, we will make a donation to his choice of charity in his and his wife's name.

 

Best regards,

***** ***

11/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service
7/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service
6/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service
4/28/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
6/15/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Aamco picked my vehicle up on 03/12/2012. I gave authorization to Aamco to begin work on the vehicle on 03/13/2012. I talked to the owner **** on 03/20/2012 and he told me that the vehicle would be ready on 03/22/2012. I didn't recieve the vehicle until 03/24/2012 at between 3:00p and 3:30p. By 8:00p I was exiting the freeway and the car would not acclerate. I had to get another car to push my car into a grocery store's parking lot. Aamco picked the vehicle up again on 03/26/2012. Aamco begin working on the vehicle on 03/27/2012 to 03/28/2012. When I picked the car up on 03/28/2012 **** told me that an axle and a sensor had been replaced. Since then my vehicle continues to have transmission problems. I have reciepts for diagnostic test that show trouble with the transmission.

Desired Settlement: I want my car repaired and an investigation on labors and fees.

BBB Response:

I spoke with Mrs. ****** on June 19, by phone. We resolved that Mrs. ****** would bring her car in
for warranty repairs on Monday the 21 ;t.
We received Mrs. ******'s car on the 221'1(1 and we are fixing her car under warranty and estimate the
repairs being done by: Friday, June 1.