Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Hartsell Pool Renovations

Phone: (817) 485-7525 Fax: (817) 656-6049 2515 Weaver St Ste G, Haltom City, TX 76117 http://www.hartsellpool.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Hartsell Pool Renovations meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Hartsell Pool Renovations include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 3
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Hartsell Pool Renovations
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 01, 1990 Business started: 01/01/1984 in TX Business started locally: 01/01/1984 Business incorporated 04/07/1993 in TX
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Tom F. Hartsell Jr., Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Tom F. Hartsell Jr., Owner
Business Category

Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design Swimming Pool Equipment & Supplies Swimming Pool Service & Repair

Alternate Business Names
Hartsell Pool & Spa Inc Hartsell Pool & Spa Repair
Industry Tips
**** Swimming Pools Swimming Pools

Additional Locations

  • 2515 Weaver St Ste G

    Haltom City, TX 76117 (817) 485-7525

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/8/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had Hartsell Pool Renovations replaster my pool, provide new flagstone coping and reinstall new mastic/deckhouse all around edges of pool deck and flagstone coping. They completed the work om Tuesday, November 18, 2014. A few months ago, I noticed the flagstone coping was loose and contacted the owner of company, *** ********. He sent someone out to apply more mortar underneath flagstone. The worker should have also repaired the mastic/deckhouse all at that time that attaches to the flagstone coping. But, instead, he took shortcuts and just filled in the damaged mastic with clear silicone which is NOT to be used instead of mastic. Now, two months later, that same area, the same damaged mastic has cracks in it. The mastic should still look brand new like the rest of the mastic that didn't have work done on flagstone coping. I'm sent *** ******** an email on 4-5-2015 requesting that he have his employee repair/replace the mastic/deckoseal. He never responded. I called his office and left a message on 4-9-2015. He never called me back or sent anyone out to repair it. I sent another email on 4-16-2015 and still, no response from him My contract states I have a 2 year warranty on the flagstone coping and mastic expansion. Very disappointed that he has ignored my request.

Desired Settlement: Stand by his contract and repair the mastic correctly instead of taking shortcuts on the repair to save him money. Any reputable pool company will tell you that you should NEVER use clear silicon as mastic replacement. I have pictures of the damaged area. All pictures clearly show the poor workmanship of the repair

Business Response: We will take care of the problem

Consumer Response:

The message on the 5th stated that you would be taking care of the problem. However, I have not heard from anyone at your business since then.





Business Response: We have been to the home and the complaint is resolved. 

11/18/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In 2010 I hired Hartsell Pools to complete a renovation on my swimming pool to correct issues with cracking in the pool structure and coping stones. Renovation was completed in May 2010 and Hartsell Pools was paid in full a total of $5650, and structrual cracks in the same two areas prior to the renovation started to reappear in Sept 2010. I collected pictures and notified Tom Hartsell. We agreed to watch and monitor these cracks until the following Spring of 2011 to see if they had stopped growing. In June 2011, the cracks had continued to grow and Hartsell pools attempted to cosmetically patch the cracks by simply filling in the cracks with caulk/putty, and they trimmed back the coping stones where they had shifted back approximately 1"; no structural repair attempt was made on the pool to correct these issues. Mr. Hartsell suggested that the cracks could be caused by my rear property retaining wall which was made from railroad ties and had some wear. So Mr. ******** hired a seperate contractor to install a new solid Sandstone retaining wall for a cost of $6660, paid by Mr. ********. The pool cracks still continued to grow and additional pictures were taken and sent to Mr. Hartsell in Sept. 2011. No action was taken by Mr. Hartsell. Cracks continued to grow and additional pictures were sent to Mr. Hartsell on 08-27-2012 and requested a warranty repair of the pool. Mr. Hartsell evaluated the condition at Mr. ********'s house and pool and then stated that the cracks were likely due to soil settling. The new Standstone retaining wall was re-inspected by the contractor and showed no evidence of structural breech or movement. The cracks continued to grow throughout 2012 to 2014, and multiple pictures and emails were sent to Mr. Hartsell to request action to perform a warranty repair of the pool. No response or action was taken by Mr. Hartsell. The soil around the pool where the cracks are still present has been professionally tested and Mr. ******** has hired a Professional Engineer to evaluate the situation. The Engineer reported that the issues with the pool structure are not caused by soil content, settling, or erosion, and that the pool renovation job performed by Hartsell Pools in 2010 was completely inadequate to fix the issues.

Desired Settlement: The pool renovation done by Hartsell pools was a complete failure to fix the original issues that were contracted for in 2010, and no valid warranty repair was ever completed. The current condition of the pool is worse than it was prior to the 2010 pool renovation and repair attempt. The pool will need to be renovated again to properly correct these issues. Mr. ******** is requesting a full refund in the amount paid of $5650. Mr. ******** has all documented pictures, timeline of events, email correspondance, and can provide that information upon request.

Business Response: The work Hartsell Pools performed on Mr.********'s pool was done properly and would not fail under normal conditions.Failure of the retainer wall compromised the integrity of the work contracted under Hartsell Pools,therefore was not covered under warranty.Also we did not receive said engineer report.

Consumer Response:

The response received from the business owner (Mr. Hartsell) is completely inadequate and does not accurately reflect the warranty terms and conditions that was promised when Hartsell Pools was hired to perform the pool renovation in 2010.  The rear retaining wall (North side of ******** property, closest to the side of the pool that was attempted to be fixed by Hartsell Pools) WAS visually examined by both Mr. Hartsell and Mr. ******** prior to the 2010 pool renovation, as Mr. ******** pointed out this area to Hartsell Pools to get their opinion if this could be either be a) the cause of why the pool was cracking prior to 2010, and b) if Hartsell Pools was concerned about the structural state of the retaining wall.  I do have documented pictures of the rear retaining wall in 2010 prior to the pool renovation.  There was no verbal or written statements made by Hartsell Pools that their warranty would be voided if an issue arose with the existing retaining wall.  Nor was there any contingencies placed on the Hartsell Pool renovation contract that the retaining wall must first be replaced prior to performing the pool renovation.  If Hartsell Pools was concerned about the retaining wall structural integrity in 2010, then they should have either "no-bid" the renovation job or provided documentation that the warranty could be voided if issues arose with the retaining wall (either perceived or in reality).

If you note in my original complaint, I noticed cracks in the pool after the renovation done by Hartsell Pools in the exact same two places/areas only 4 months after the renovation was completed and notified Mr. Hartsell.  This short time span from pool renovation to noticing large cracks re-appearing in the EXACT same 2 areas absolutely supports Mr. ********'s assertion that the pool was not properly renovated and the structural supports used by Hartsell Pools were completely inadequate to resolve the issues that they were contracted for.  In 2011 when Mr. Hartsell stated his opinion that the retaining wall could be a contributing factor to the pool cracking, Mr. ******** had the entire rear retaining wall replaced at his expense in efforts to help the situation.  It is also important to note that the rear retaining wall never "failed", nor showed evidence of shifting or degrading during this time.  However faced with a possibility of having the wall eventually collapse and/or fail, Mr. ******** chose to proactively have the wall replaced with an extremely robust solid Sandstone and concrete wall in 2011, and the cracks in the pool structure still continued to worsen and grow larger until present day.

Then in 2012 Mr. Hartsell stated that the cracks could be due to soil movement, which was a new and uniquely different suspected cause on his part and was unfounded by subsequent investigation.  Hartsell Pools has changed their story several times in efforts to avoid having to perform a proper repair of the pool renovation job that was a complete failure in 2010.  I have many files that support the timeline of events, as described in the original compliant and this updated response, and can email them directly to a contact at the Better Business Bureau (file size restrictions prevented attaching them directly to this response, as there are many pictures contained within these documents that require over 100 MB of storage space).  I am requesting a full refund of the purchase price of $5650 and am hoping that the Better Business Bureau will take an unbiased review of this issue and assist in resolution.  I can be contacted at the number and email listed below.

Regards,
***** ******** *****  ************ ******  *************************



Consumer Response:

I found an official P.E. report from 2009 prior to the renovation done by Hartsell Pools.  I had this report done due to the solid rock water fountain that was previously installed around the pool and was suspected of causing the initial cracking issues.  This report, while not written specifically for my bbb complaint against Hartsell Pools, describes the soil content and type in the area of the pool where I have the two cracks (the same two cracks that were there before the Hartsell Pool renovation in 2010, and then appeared 3-4 months after the Hartsell Pool renovation) and should be applicable to my current bbb compliant and case.

I’m sending this report for your review and to please add to my case file (binder) because it is evidence that if the pool structure is not adequately supported, which is the case with how Hartsell Pools completed my pool renovation; the areas on the pool are subject to cracking…which is exactly what I have now at my pool and have had ever since the Hartsell Pool renovation.  The soil content in my backyard around the pool and supporting documentation in this P.E. report proves that cracking will be an issue if the structure (whether it be structure from the previous pool fountain or structure around the pool walls) is not supported properly.  The photographs that I included in the binder during the pool renovation where a small 1’ x 1’ concrete reinforcement was added to the North side of the pool wall was NOT adequate support to prevent cracking in my pool, and that is exactly what happened.

Please review and let me know if this P.E. report is adequate for the purposes of the current bbb complaint against Hartsell Pools.  If not, I can get another P.E. report that is written to be more tailored to the specific compliant and issue that I currently have with my pool walls and the cracking issues.


Consumer Response:


Better Business Bureau:

I would like to accept the offer made by the BBB of Arbitration.  I will plan on attending the session at the Fort Worth office when it is scheduled.  Many thanks for your continued assistance with my issue.

Complaint ID:  10139060

Regards,

/s/ Derek ********

11/4/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: *** ******** sold me a pool liner in 2011, since the sale, I've been unable to get in touch with him or his company, either via phone messages, email or us mail.

Desired Settlement: Complete refund of my money due to lack of honoring product warranty and complete lack of communication, seems like the business may as well no longer exist if it still does.

BBB Response: MESSAGE FROM BUSINESS:

We performed the work even though it was not under the warranty at no charge. The complaint has been resolved.