Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Ultimate Bariatrics

Phone: (817) 850-1100 Fax: (817) 870-2551 View Additional Phone Numbers 2501 Parkview Dr Ste 560, Fort Worth, TX 76102 http://fortworthlapband.com/ View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Ultimate Bariatrics meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Ultimate Bariatrics include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Ultimate Bariatrics
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 02, 2005 Business started: 07/23/2004 in TX Business started locally: 07/23/2004 Business incorporated 07/23/2004 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Medical Board
333 Guadalupe Tower 3 Suite 610, Austin TX 78701
http://www.tmb.state.tx.us
Phone Number: (512) 305-7030
Fax Number: (512) 463-9416
verifcic@tmb.state.tx.us
The number is H7229.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Matt Brady, General Manager Dr. Adam B. Smith, DO FACOS, Owner/Surgeon Dr. Craig Ferrara, DO FACOS, Surgeon Dr. Jay Roberts, DO, Surgeon
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Matt Brady, General Manager
Principal: Dr. Adam B. Smith, DO FACOS, Owner/Surgeon
Business Category

Physicians & Surgeons - Weight Reduction Weight Control Services Physicians & Surgeons - Medical-M.D.

Alternate Business Names
Dr. Adam Smith Dr. Craig Ferrara Dr. Jay Roberts Fort Worth Lap Band Laparoscopy, Bariatrics & Surgery, PA
Industry Tips
Weight Loss

Additional Locations

  • 2501 Parkview Dr Ste 560

    Fort Worth, TX 76102 (817) 850-1100 (844) 858-5673

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I Paid out of pocket for Lap Band in 2008. In 2012 came into office with symtpoms of reflux and a scope was done and Hiatial Hernia was found. Surgery to repair Hernia was done and all the fluid was removed from my band in the process. I called the office and spoke with the office manager about getting Lap Band filled back up and was told I would have to pay out of pocket for the fills to get my Lap Band working again. At 150.00 dollars for each fill it would be close to if not 1,000 dollars to have this done. I Can't believe that You took the fluid out to do the surgery and wont put the fluid back in. It wasnt an option for me to leave the fliud in, that was a part of the surgery. I would like to have my Lap band left the way you found it without having to pay 1,000.

Desired Settlement: To have my Lap Band put Back into working condition and have the fills done without charge.

Business Response: This office will give the patient 1 adjustment at no charge, once her balance is paid.  The patient’s surgery was of no fault of this office, and with any surgery whether it’s with our doctors or with someone else the band would need to be deflated and she has not been in our office since 2011 for any adjustments. 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:
 

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.  The response states that the surgery had nothing to do with them but I could not use my lap band due to reflux from a hiatal hernia that could have been caused by the Lap Band and the Lap Band physician stated I needed the surgery and performed it. Since the surgery requires the band to be deflated it should be brought back up to the levels it was before the surgery. I don't know why it is a problem in the response that I have not been in for a fill since 2011. My band was at a level that kept my weight down to 170lb and I was happy at that weight. I went in as soon as I started having problems. I do not have the money to pay for all of the fills it would take to get the proper restriction because I am a student and have a child with disabilities. I paid for the fills the first time and should not be charged again unless it was just to adjust the band for personal preference. I was not told before the surgery I would be responsible for paying for all of the fills it would take to replace what was taken out after the surgery.