This business is not BBB accredited.

Direct Stone & Landscaping

Additional Locations

Phone: (817) 925-2946 Fax: (817) 925-1207 6412 Sky Rd, Joshua, TX 76058


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Direct Stone & Landscaping include:

  • 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Failure to respond to 4 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Direct Stone & Landscaping include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Direct Stone & Landscaping
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 24, 2014 Business started: 07/01/2008 in TX Business started locally: 07/01/2008
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Steven Cassel, owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Steven Cassel, owner
Business Category

Landscape Contractors Lawn & Tree Care Stone - Natural Concrete Contractors Contractor - Remodel & Repair Patio & Deck Builders

Alternate Business Names
Direct Stone and Landscaping
Industry Tips
Lawn Care Tree Services

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1304 Prelude Dr.

    Ft Worth, TX 76134 (817) 925-2946

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    6412 Sky Rd

    Joshua, TX 76058

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/15/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Direct Stone & Landscaping and Stone Quarries Direct are two companies owned by brothers that partner together regarding their business transactions. I was referred to the companies back on 6/7/15 by a colleague. I emailed the representative a diagram and full description of the work I wanted done. They texted me back a quote and I was ready to go. I should have known better because it took more than THREE WEEKS for someone to officially come out to finalize the contract. I completed the installation agreement and paid the $2100 deposit. My check was IMMEDIATELY cashed on 7/3. I called week, after week, after week asking when the work would start and I was continuously pushed off because they were "swamped", but assured me the work would get done. On 8/6 after almost two months of contact and still no definitive date to start the project, I made a call, sent a text and formal email requesting cancellation of the services. They agreed (I have confirmed texts) and even informed me that they really didn't want the job because they weren't making "any money" off of it. Week after week I was promised my check would be mailed, personally delivered, etc. and as of 9/23 almost 4 months later I don't have my money back.

Desired Settlement: All I want is an immediate and full refund.

9/1/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Our contract asked for 40% up front, our contractor request 50%. We willingly paid this 5 months ago. Our contractor informed us a few months later that he ran into personal financial issues. He asked if we could help him out, so that he could finish the job. We gladly did this. After that day, months ago, he has only returned once for maybe a couple of hours (put a bar top on only). Every time we contact him, to see if he will be working, there is an additional reason of why he cant make it out. We have paid probably 95% of our job total, and our fire pit still needs correcting, we have not received our $1,000 grill, the outdoor kitchen is not complete, nor the bar. Maybe, 1/2 of the job is finished. We are going to have to pay another crew to complete the job, and go and purchase the grill ourselves. Long story short- job not completed 5 months for something he stated would take 3 days and close to the total paid and about 50% more to complete.

7/24/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Direct Stone laid a foundation for me in late October. It was an extension of an existing patio. The job started late, at about noon and they didn't finish until around 10 PM so the last of the work was done in the dark with lights. This was not a huge job for them but they were dividing my job and another one so it took longer. Now I have found a big hole in the slab on one side creating a cavity under the slab that needs repair soon. I have attempted to contact ****** ****** now on three occasions, 1 phone message and 1 text message, neither of which have been replied to. Today I again tried to call and the voice mail box is full so I can't even leave a message. I am frustrated! This is something that needs his attention as I fear this will only get worse and the top of the surface will surely crack if this hole is not filled in. I feel that the customer service of this company leaves alot to be desired and ****** should stand behind his work and this is definately faulty workmanship!!

Desired Settlement: A repair of the faulty slab and a filling in of the cavity so the slab is sound with no charges for the work

6/11/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On February 8 we started a contract to add a bedroom and expand a bathroom on our second floor. We were told it would take three to four weeks. It has now been 10 weeks. Mr ****** subcontracted the job out to **** *********. **** then hired a worker who he brought. The job went well for the first two weeks and then the men stopped coming or did partial days repeatedly for many weeks. Mr. ****** was notified of the problem repeatedly through phone calls and texts but was unable to get the men to come to finish the job. During this time, they cut in to the roof to put up French doors but did not finish the job or seal up the roof and despite repeated pleas to Mr. ****** that the rain was coming and that we needed the roof closed up, they didn't. As a result we have had multiple flooding incidences through the ceilings and light sockets to our master bedroom and downstairs hallway. Mr. ****** terminated ****'s employment around the 17th of April and since that time we have had one day of work on April 22nd where they out up tarps on our roof. Mr. ****** has made claims that the job will be done by Friday May the 1st plus three days of timing but is not responding to phone call or text and has not had any workers here since the tarping. Please help us to resolve this.

Desired Settlement: Complete the agreed upon work in a timely manner and also repair the damage to our home.

3/11/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have found ***** ******* of Direct Stone and Landscaping, to be Not Dependable to keep dates to work nor to complete work at price agreed on. This job has dragged on far too long, over 3 months, with my last payment of the $9,000 on 7/25/2014 (over 2 months ago.) On 6/18/2014, I entered into a written Installation Agreement with ***** ****** to: Install two pallets of Delmar Grass in the Front Yard, Remove all Dead Grass, Grade the front yard and Plant. Trim all Shrubs Front and Back Yard, clean Out All shrubs and Flower Beds, Cut Two Trees Down in the Front Yard, Stump Grind and Remove and Install 7 Yards of Compost for a total of $3,500 for which I gave ***** ****** on: 6/18/2014 a check for $1,000 I gave a check on 6//27/2014 a check for $1,500 I gave a check on 7/01/2014 a check for $1,000 I gave a check on 7/08/2014 a check for $2,000 I gave a check on 7/18/2014 a check for $2,000 I gave a check on 7/25/2014 a check for $1,500 Totaling $9,000 paid to ***** ****** of Direct Stone and Landscaping. The original contract work has not yet been completed in that the stump removal chips are still sitting in my front yard (to the disgust of all of my neighbors) and the front yard has not been graded. As time went on, I thought I could trust ***** ****** to keep his word and I added additional removal of several trees, adding a stone border around the house, and additional work in my back yard. ***** agreed to the prices of the additional work and when he asked what I thought was fair for the remaining work, I said $1,500 and I'll pay you now. His words were "AWESOME". Most of this work has not been completed, along with some of the work from the original contract. .)) I made the mistake of paying in advance for the work agreed upon, trusting that *****'s word would be good and I could trust him. I'm mad at myself for trusting and paying in advance, with the assumption that the work would be completed. I was glad to was help ***** through tough times he shared with me, by paying in advance. The outcome is my yard has been a mess for over 3 months despite numerous contacts, with numerous promises and apologies from *****, much of the work remains uncompleted. I have no intention of contacting him any more asking him to complete the job. At this point, I hope to prevent as many other people as possible to have such a transaction. As time went on I thought I could trust ***** ****** to keep his word and I added additional removal of several trees, adding a stone border around the house, and additional work in my back yard. The trust has evaporated. I had hoped to use Direct Stone for additional fence work and installation of Flag Stone on my patio and Installation of 5 sections of a redwood fence. Fortunately, I didn't contract to complete either of these jobs. Several of my neighbors have observed this entire episode and have decided not to use Direct Stone & Landscaping. Several of my neighbors have watched this entire episode and have cancelled future work they had intended to do with Direct Stone.jobs. Several of my neighbors have observed this entire episode and have decided not to use Direct Stone & Landscaping for any of their future work also.

Desired Settlement: I want the job finished quickly and would hope other future customers are not treated like this has happened.

BBB Response:

In regards to Mr. *** ******** complaint. -

 Direct Stone & Landscaping   provided Mr. *** ******** with all services listed below.

 Front yard - Two pallets of Delmar grass -new compost  in all flower beds- 200 feet of stone boarders-  30 foot Red Oak tree removal -Three Pine trees removed - One Live Oak tree removed-  Five stump grinds - A total restoration cleanup - trimmed all shrubs- Two days labor fixing irrigation - hauled off five trailer loads of brush-  three mens labor for five days; digging up stump & removal -  trimming Live Oak in backyard- Also removal of three small trees.
Mr. *** ******** paid for all services above in the amount of $9,00.00.   Thank you for your business.

As the agreed job was completed that is stated on contract.   Mr. *** ******** requested additional services.  I ****** ****** with Direct Stone & Landscape approached Mr. *** ******** at his front door , in person,  face to face.  I informed him that additional services would require additional funds.

Being a hard working christian man; I am a man for my word.   I treat my customers & my employees with respect & equality.  However with all due respect Sir. I can not work for free.

Mr. *** ******** wanted extras here & there.  Because he felt entitled to special treatment due to the amount of money spent.  The labor & time far exceeded  the payment.  We appreciate his business.  No comment about your gossiping.  Moving forward is our Direct Stone & Landscaping direction.

                                       Direct Stone & Landscaping,
                                               ****** ******




Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Direct Stone & Landscaping
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)