Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

JCL Landscape Services LLC

Phone: (817) 716-3095 1540 Keller Pkwy Ste 176, Keller, TX 76248 http://www.jcllandscaping.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Retaining wall Installation 

 Pool removal and demolition


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that JCL Landscape Services LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for JCL Landscape Services LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

15 Customer Reviews on JCL Landscape Services LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 15
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 15

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 12, 2010 Business started: 04/25/2007 in TX Business started locally: 04/25/2007 Business incorporated 01/13/2010 in TX
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Brandon Elmore, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Brandon Elmore, Owner
Business Category

Contractors - Retaining Wall Drainage Contractors Mason Contractors Swimming Pools - Removal

Method(s) of Payment
Cash, check, credit card 

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

JCL Landscape Services LLC has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1540 Keller Pkwy Ste 176

    Keller, TX 76248

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/18/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Cracks in retaining wall appeared. Over time builder says to wait to see if cracks get worse. They have and continue to grow and he is now saying he will not repair wall. I am totally at wits end. He is rude and abrasive and not at all like the pleasant guy he was before he had the job. Also his rocks he used in the wall are not the good quality that he produced before the job started. It also appears that the company that listed his company on their web site as a reputable contractor is not listed with them anymore.

Desired Settlement: Proper Professional repair.

Business Response:

Unfortunately there is nothing and I do mean nothing in this complaint that is true...  I contacted Mrs. **** and went over to her property and looked at the job and agreed that I would come and fix what she wanted even though her cosmetic cracks are not covered in our displacement warranty if she removed the false statements she has posted.   She in turn told me, "I don't give a sh_t if it's true or not and that  it worked to get me over there and that I am going to fix whatever she wants", and turned around and walked inside.  

Just a little background I was the second contractor over here and finished someone else's job because she said they stole, lied, and ripped them off.

As I have stated I will do the repairs she wants if her post is removed or revised so that the statements are true. 

Consumer Response:


I'm sorry you have to deal with this ******* ******. I have dealt with him to no avail. 

Since ******* is going back prior to his job with us, I will too, just to clear the air.  July of 2014 I did have others working on my yard, but they are not the issue here, nor did they "steal, lie or rip off" us.. The retaining wall built by JCL Landscape is the issue.  

 When my husband and I talked to ******* about doing the job, we asked for references and sites to check his work. ******* age us three addresses with recently new jobs to view. I drove by I think it was three and viewed the jobs from the road, as ******* asked we not bother the resident. The jobs seemed to be good and okay, so we agreed to let ******* ****** of JCL Landscaping build the retaining wall for one side of the garage driveway. Well, ******* talked my husband and I into doing the whole wall around the back and the other side of the driveway. I do not recall the exact date, but our 1st check to him was dated 8/25/14, so I it was around then that we let him start. I recall that day he said that his guys would start the next day. I was fine with that, being that I had just a couple months before bought, had delivered new high grade railroad ties that I was going to direct the guys that next morning to leave on my property. I want to retain about eight of them for my side & front yard. We went back inside the house and a few hours later I had walking by the wall only to see that all the railroad ties had already been hauled off. I was distraught, but knowing the amount they were hauling I figured all was already dumped in the city dump. I just chalked it up and knew it was to late to do anything about it. I did mention it to ******* ****** the next day and all he replied was basically that you should have told me and saved me a bunch in dumping expenses. I told him I agree , but that they were not to start till the next day and that their error also cost us much more time and money by him dumping new railroad ties. So, I never made a issue about it and let it be. The wall was completed, but sloppy. Much cement from the installation was left on our yard that is facing our alley. 

The retaining wall rocks flaked on our driveway daily for months, that had to swept up. Before the job, ******* ****** brought to us a hefty large stone that he claimed would not flake or break or degrade and would last many decades. That was not what we saw upon completion. The amount that flaked is visible showing depressions of past rock placement around remaining cement. We were told not to worry about it. Since he told us that cracks are normal were and tear and not covered. Now he is calling the cracks "displacements". Please see remaining attached photos showing the cracks in the retaining wall. If you want more photos I will be happy to for**** them.

As to the "unfortunate" meeting with ******* ****** on 1/12, here are the notes. He refused to repair. He would not call us and we only got responses by by email. He finally called me 1/12, the day of the BBB Complaint, but I missed his call. Before I could return his call his call, he emailed me asking to visit the next day at 10:30am. I reply that would be fine. When he arrived, he wanted to see the cracks referencing the BBB Complaint. I told him on the way back to the retaining wall that it was unfortunate that I had to file a BBB Complaint to get him over here to see the cracks. (******* had been emailed the photos showing the cracks as well prior to yesterdays visit.) His response was that he demanded I retract my BBB statement and that he would sue me if I did not. I told him all I want is him to repair the cracks. He again refused and aggressively argued the facts. I told that we need to discuss this calmly and again asked for a copy of JCL Landscaping warranty. He refused. I asked for a copy of our signed contract. He stated he did not have one and continued to argue. He said he would discuss this after he took photos, I said fine and that I will be in the house when he want to stop talking over me and discuss this properly. He then said he want to discuss it now, I reluctantly agreed but he only went back into arguing, telling me to retract my BBB Statement and he was going to sue me. Until he apologizes for threatening me and is able to discuss this complaint in a civilized and  professional manner I do not want to deal with him. I know profanity has nothing to do with this complaint, but I am above using it.





Business Response:

JCL Landscape  Services pride ourselves in doing quality work and standing behind our products as we have for over a decade.   As you can see with our track record we have been in business over 10 years and have had 2 complaints which were  resolved quickly and to the clients approval.    I have never been rude to ANY client including Mrs. **** and offered to repair anything she wanted if she removed her false statements or revise them to be correct and she refused.   Which you can see in my original response which she said I refused to repair anything... which is not true.

Not sure where to go from here, I have contacted Mr. ****** with BBB to try and resolve the problem that way as working with Mrs. **** was fruitless.

thanks,

******* ******
JCL Landscape Services




Consumer Response:


To stay on track with this complaint, resolution will involve:

1. Copy of JCL Landscaping warranty of work.
2. Copy of our contract
3. A professional repair to our retaining wall that JCL landscaping constructed in 2014. 

I await a positive outcome. 

Thank you, 
***** ****


Business Response:

.   I have attached the following items for you:

·         Contract sent to her with the 5 year displacement warranty (I do not have her signed one)

·         Email threads of all contact between  us from accepting the job to last contact with her.   As I said she never contacted me in December as she stated…

·         Pictures are the pictures she sent in October when they first asked and they have not gotten any worse.

As you can see I have not been rude in my emails and have responded in a timely fashion when she has emailed about this.   I have talked to her on the phone 1 time for about 1 minute and was not short or rude to her in any way.

Let me know if you need anything else.

Thanks,

******* ******

 

Consumer Response:
No contract, emails nor photos were supplied by ******* ****** in this response. As stated in my last response, I want professional repairs to all the cracks in my retaining wall and the FIVE YEAR WARRANTY that was stated to us that covers and and all cracks and 

movement to the wall.

It's fine if he wants to let this complaint sit out there as unresolved for all this time, as more people will see that ******* ****** is unwilling to resolve his poor workmanship. I let everyone that passes by my house know about it. They see the cracks for themselves.

Regards,

***** ****


1/22/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired JCL on 11/1/14 to replace railroad tie retaining walls & reinstall an existing flagstone patio in concrete. Agreed upon price $22,928. Issue 1 Validity of add'l charges-JCL "found" a 7th retaining wall under ivy & replaced w/o prior approval. Additional cost $1480. I agreed to pay since the work was already done. While home I noticed that the string line for the new patio wall was 1' shallower than the original. I asked that it be moved out & "agreed to disagree" w/JCL over how far the original wall extended. I confirmed that I would pay for rock for the additional 18' longx1'deep that I had "added". I was charged $2080 for this, being advised that it added 124 sq ft. Upon further review, the size of the patio had been underestimated in the orig est. New charge = missed sq ft+the 18' longx1'deep length I "added". Issue 2-During construction, 12 limbs were cut from an ornamental weeping cedar. Mr Elmore stated that the person in charge had left town for the Christmas so the crew made a mistake. I asked for the tree to be replaced, and he agreed to do so. Issue 3-Sand and rock were left in my front and side yards-the staging area for materials. I asked several times for clean-up, & shoveled 5-5gallon buckets of sand myself. My lawn service of 10 yrs "quit" because they would no longer mow for fear of breaking a window with a rock. JCL stated that they would send someone over to clean-up the rock, & that the sand would "wash away". It was never cleaned it up; I finally paid a new lawn service to do so. Issue 4-A $150 Home Depot gift certificate was advertised on JCl website. I asked if I qualified for this, & BE said he'd send one. I've never received. Issue 6-I was given a 5 yr warranty. I have separation of over 1"between stairs/walls, & the top of the patio is separating over 1"from the wall. Another patio area is cracked & sinking. I was told in July15 that JCL would be out the following week to review. I've never heard back and no repairs have been made.

Desired Settlement: 1/$75 Reimbursement for rock/sand clean-up 2/Home Depot $150 Gift Card 3/Replacement of tree including installation, or $325 for me to purchase & have professionally planted 4/Under warranty repair of patio & stair separation & sinking areas. I have been fair, and very patient. I paid for the additional wall that was "found" & installed prior to my approval, & also paid for the underestimated patio size-neither of which I was obligated to do. I've been following up since Feb15 concerning the replacement of the tree/gift card/clean-up & since July15 for repairs. None have been addressed. I can provide documentation (emails/photos/former lawn service co statement) for the detailed issues, if needed. I've never filed a complaint before, and I'm sorry that I have to do so now. However, as I repay my loan for this work each month, it's a reminder that I have no resolution, and that potential customers of this company should know what to expect. I have been very disappointed. Thank you.

Business Response:

This warranty was missed by my team and I take full responsibility for it!  I have contacted Mrs. **** to schedule the repairs needed.  

As for the tree,  the tree was right up against one of the walls we had to replace and she knew the tree would be trimmed so we could do the work but the guys did trim the tree up higher than they were told.  I will replace the tree for her as requested.

10/6/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ******* with JCL installed a retaining wall in Nov-Dec 2012. The wall started to crack and I asked in 2014 for him to repair it while under warranty. His response the cracks were not big enough. The cracks have now gotten larger and spread. In July 2015 I asked ******* to come out to repair and he has mentioned several times that he would send his men to fix and 3 months later they still have not come out and now ******* will not return my calls, emails or text messages. I have records of all the text messages dealing with this issue from July of this year, and all email starting from 2014 trying to get these cracks fixed.

Desired Settlement: To have all the cracks in my retaining wall repaired.

Business Response:

This has been taken care of with the client.   He was told several times that we do warranty repairs on walls in the down season unless its an emergency.   I was on vacation when he tried contacting me by texting and I didn't receive the text until I got back.  

 

This issue has been resolved with the client last Tuesday.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

Yes, JCL Landscaping has finally came and repaired my wall.  While he says he was on vacation when I submitted my complaint it still took several months and attempts starting last year for him to repair the wall.  Only after I filed with you did he finally respond and was willing to adhere to his warranty.  However due to the inconvenience that I had to go through he was kind enough to extend my warranty for one more year, so I can monitor and make sure no future premature cracks occur.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

15 Customer Reviews on JCL Landscape Services LLC
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart