Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Rainwater's Transmission and Automotive Repair?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Rainwater's Transmission and Automotive Repair

Phone: (817) 735-1112 Fax: (817) 735-1197 6832 Camp Bowie West Blvd, Fort Worth, TX 76116 http://www.rainwaterstransmission.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Rainwater's Transmission and Automotive Repair meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Rainwater's Transmission and Automotive Repair include:

  • 6 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Rainwater's Transmission and Automotive Repair include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Rainwater's Transmission and Automotive Repair
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: February 14, 2012 Business started: 04/28/2011 in TX Business started locally: 04/28/2011
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Luther (Luke) F. Rainwater, Owner
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Luther (Luke) F. Rainwater, Owner
Business Category

AUTO REPAIR & SERVICE TRANSMISSIONS-AUTOMOBILE

Alternate Business Names
Rainwater's A #1 Transmission Rainwater's Transmission Repair Rainwaters A #1 Transmission

Additional Locations

  • 6832 Camp Bowie West Blvd

    Fort Worth, TX 76116 (817) 735-1112

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

12/17/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Rainwater's Transmission performed repairs on my vehicle (2003 Tahoe) in June of 2014 at a cost of $1708.65. The repairs came with a written "2 year unlimited mile warranty." This vehicle was driven to Columbus, Ohio approximately 4 weeks ago and while in Columbus the transmission failed completely. I have now had to pay a Columbus, Ohio transmission shop $1714.64 to re-repair the transmission of the vehicle. In addition, I incurred airfare and additional hotel costs because of the vehicle failure. I spoke with ******y of Rainwater's Transmission at the time the vehicle broke down in Columbus and his initial comments were that they would not do anything to honor their warranty. I also had the Columbus shop fax the repair estimate to Rainwater's prior to the repairs being done and no one from Rainwater's would even discuss this matter or the estimate. I have also faxed a demand letter to Rainwater's and received no response of any kind. I have also recently learned from the mechanic who referred me to Rainwater's Transmission that he has since learned that others have had a similar problem in that Rainwater's would not honor their warranty.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund of the amount paid Rainwater's Transmission for the work done on my Tahoe by them- $1708.65. If this amount is paid I will be willing to forgo reimbursement for the additional amounts we paid because of their failed work.

Business Response: We don"t have a nationwide warranty here ,so we couldn"nt  do much ,for MR ****** while his vehicle was in Ohio !Wehave  afull 12month warranty ,or 12000miles warranty here at this shop only in Fort WorthTX. Trannies ,even new ones can fail because of a leak or faulty electronics ,that aren't even in or on the trans ! COOLER LINES up in the radiator cool the trans in front of the engine ,they can leak and cause trans damage ,and the lines from it going back to the trans can leak,electonics  on the engine ,like the TPS can cause trans failure or MAF SENSOR ,TOO! S oa number of things could have caused this issue,and it's not always our fault ! Wehonor our warranties all the time,and still do ,but his vehicle needed to be here for us to fix it ,and find out what the cause of failure was .                                      SINCERLY,LUTHER RAINWATER

12/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We contracted with Rainwaters Transmission Repair to overhaul the transmission in our 2008 Lincoln MKX. Approximately two days after work began we received a call from them stating a new radiator would be required in order for Rainwaters to honor their warranty on the repairs. We agreed to the $600 in additional parts/labor. We drove the car home. I discovered the radiator had not been changed, let alone even touched, i.e., still dusty with no hand prints in the dust. I called Rainwaters and immediately returned the vehicle. At this point the newly rebuilt tranmission is contaminated with metal shaving from the plugged radiator\trans cooler. Rainwaters flushed the tranmission and replaced the radiator, agreeing to extend our warranty to two years. We had also complained to the owner about the greasy shop smell in the car which he attempted to fix. A month later, still stinks. Now the root of the complaint, after only 300 miles a roaring noise was noticed by my wife. I removed the front wheel hub caps to discover both left and right, front wheel axle nuts loose, " free spinning with fingers". The left front wheel bearing\hub assembly is bad. I contacted Rainwaters with this matter and was told by the owner they had not touched the front wheel bearings or effected them in any way. I then spoke with the mechanic that did the repairs. he stated that they torqued the axle nuts back to the torque they were removed at, suggesting they came in loose so that's how they put them back. "Should be torqued to OEM specifications". It is my belief that the loose axle nuts have contributed to the failure of one, possibly both left and right wheel bearing hub assemblies. This condition has also effected the vehicles ABS, "anti lock braking system" causing the the pickup stator to strike the wheel speed sensor which induced an ABS fault code. I have a video of the failed wheel bearing. Total cost of transmission and radiator, $4400.00

Desired Settlement: Pay for the repair of the wheel bearings/hubs and labor at the shop of my choosing.

Business Response: Rainwater will be happy to address this issue, but can't fix it over the phone. Customer will have to bring vehicle to us in order to verify complaint or expedite repairs. 

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 10270887, and have determined that this does not resolve my dispute.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear unacceptable. I would like rainwaters to reembuse me for the repairs at another shop.



12/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
10/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I paid this business to repair my transmission at the cost of $600. 2010 Chrysler Town and Country Van, date of work August 15, 2014.The day I picked it up I did not get home and the transmission went out. I immediately turned around and went back to the transmission shop. The person at the transmission place stated that the transmission was in more serious shape than they thought and it need to be completely overhauled. The cost of that would cost several thousands of dollars. I left.Several days latter, I took the vehicle to a Chrysler dealer and they checked the transmission and said that nothing was done.I felt as if I had been cheated. This business should be shut down because that is fraud and a scam of an operation. They were so proud of there Better Business Rating and the plaque on the wall. It was all for show.I know I will never get my money back, but at least you can shut them down or at least take their good rating away.Thank You

Desired Settlement: As stated above, I doubt I will be able to recover my money, but at least you can do something. I have written proof from the dealer that the transmission had not been worked on.

Business Response: Customer was advised at the time that solenoid would probably not correct problem. Customer insisted he couldn't afford complete repair and opted for solenoids. I've received no documentation from dealer aledging "no repairs performed."   

7/18/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Sept 9th 2012 2000 Chev 1500 Truck was taken to RAINWATERS A#! Transmission & Auto Service to get Transmission Repaired. Charges 900.00 for rebuild no parts 175.95 pump 44.55 ? it was was scratched out on bill ? 11.50 oil dis Total was $ 1132.00 with a 2 YEAR WARRANTY !!!!!!!!!! The same week, i picked up the Truck it had a ticking noise when driven. i then called and advised shop it has a ticking noise it never had this noise before! Rain Waters shop said bring it in we will drive it check it. i dropped it off and it was checked they here noting. every person that drove with me as a passenger would ask what is that noise ? i said well i think its the transmission but the shop RAINWATERS say they hear nothing. June 2nd Sunday the transmission just stopped working! IT has only been 8 MONTHS ! and i still have WARRANTY ! June 4th Tuesday the Chev was taken back to RAINWATERS i was told the truck will get looked at Wednesday am. RAINWATERS calls saying, I BURNED the transmission. I was short 2 quarts of transmission fluid! and I was responsible for checking it! I ASKED how is it possible 2 quarts transmissions do not BURN Fluid like an Engine! ??? RAINWATERS said why dId u not bring it in if u had a leak? i said leaks I use this truck for work back and forth, i would notice on the payment if it had a leak where I park. How would i know its leaking. I take my truck to get oil changes every 3 months and they check my fluids and they never mentioned it was short fluid. RAINWATERS then said we will have to lift it in the air and check where its leaking from and get me a price on this. Will call u back later today. June 5th Wednesday i called RAINWATERS, I have not heard anything form you yesterday? we will let u know tomorrow Thursday June 6th Thursday I get a call RAINWATERS well the transmission cooling lines fittings went out and caused the leak and they found GASKET SEALANT IN THE TRANSMISSION WHO ELSE WORKED ON THIS BECAUSE THEY DONT USE SEALANTS ?? and they would not value there Warranty! I told him this should still be covered under Warranty! RAINWATERS SAID THEY WILL COVER THE LABOR COST BUT I HAD TO PAY FOR PARTS, $$$ WARRANTY!!! ???? they will call me back after they open transmission and find out what all is burned. (((((((((( know how will they know there is gasket sealant in the transmission when they have not opened transmission and these parts on the fitting should have been replace when u buy a transmission KIT ))))))))))))))))))))) June 7th Friday My Wife goes in to the shop and asked why is truck still not getting worked on its still parked in the same place we left it Tuesday its been 4 DAYS i called RAINWATERS and asked when they will get started on getting repairs they said June 10th Monday they have been busy! June 11th Tuesday Still no work on how much i will have to pay $ ??? RAINWATERS said it will be cheap let him work on it. June 12th wen went by June 13th pm i then called rain water the parts just came in about 10 min ago and we are fixing to finish it up. its been 10 DAYS ! TRUCK IN THE SHOP ! When it took him 2 -3 days to fix it the first time I PICKED UP MY TRUCK June 14th Friday. I WAS CHARGED REBUILD KIT $381.26 FOR PARTS GASKET SEALS 2.4 BAND DEP PAN FILTER TORQUE CONVERTER PAID RAINWATERS $ 381.00 WOW THE TICKING NOISE IS GONE NOW AFTER IT BROKE DOWN! I HAVE NOT DROVE IT ENOUGH TO SEE IF IT IS FIXED RIGHT! RECIPT SAYS WARRANTY APPLIES UNTILL APRIL 9, 2014 !!! Do u think i want my truck back in the shop with RAINWATERS!? NO NO NO NO NO I THINK HE NEEDS TO RETURN MY MONEY BACK AND VALUE IS WARRANTY! AS THIS TRK WAS IN THE SHOP AT RAINWATERS # 1 TRANSMISSION & AUTO SERVICE I did a research, i called 7 transmission shops and told them my situation. all 7 places SAID RAIN WATERS SHOULD BE RESPONSIBLE 1ST THIS TRK WAS TAKEN BACK TO HIM FOR TICKING NOISE AND HE DID NOT FIX IT THEN ! 2ND the TRANSMISSION COOLING LINES TO RADIATOR FITTINGS SOULD HAVE BEEN REPLACED THE O RINGS COME WITH THE KIT OR THE LINES WHERE NOT FLUSED PROPERLY! 3RD THE SHORTAGE OF OIL COULD BE RAIN WATER DIDNT RUN THE TRANSMISSION WELL ENOUGH TO GET THE AIR POCKET OUT! AND NEEDED TO ADD MORE FLUID. 4TH WHY WOULD I HAVE TO CHECK TRANSMISSION FLUID? IT DONT EVAPORATE IN THE TRANSMISSION! ITS NOT ENGINE OIL IT DONT BURN ! 5TH HOW WOULD HE KNOW THERE IS GAKET SEALANT IN THE TRANSMISSION WHEN HE HAD NOT OPENED IT YET! I HAVE HAD THIS TRUCK FROM 2000 TILL IT WAS IN HIS HANDS 2013 AND NEVER HAD TO ADD TRANSMISSION FLUID TO IT IN THE 12 YEARS !! ALL I WANT IS FOR HIM TO VALUE IS WARRANTY!!! PAY ME BACK FOR THE PARTS!!

Desired Settlement: FIX TRUCK UNDER THERE WARRANTY PAY ME BACK FOR PARTS I PAID FOR 381.00

Business Response:

In response to Mr. *******' concern of unfair treatment regarding the honoring of his warranty, I submit the following for your review:

 

Mr. ******* was given a 2 year or 24,000 mile warranty.  Mr. ******* brought his 2000 Chevrolet pick-up in stating the transmission was not shift ing.  When we did the diagnostics of the vehicle it as determined the transmission was more than 2 quarts low.  All transmission repair warranties are considered null and void if the vehicle is not properly maintained.  The transmission fluid was leaking at the cooler line connections.  These were very slow leaks.  It would have taken a long period of time for two plus quarts to have leaked out.  The simple solution to the problem would have been to check the transmission fluid level periodically.  Reduction of the level of fluid would have indicated the presence of a leak and therefore, could have been a very minor repair.  I n this case the fluid was neglected , causing the fluid level to continue to drop resulting in the transmission components to burn. 

 

With all automobile warranties failure to properly maintain you vehicle, as in checking all fluid levels, results in the warranty being deemed null and void.  However, I understood Mr. *******' feelings.  So rather than voiding his warranty, I repaired his vehicle charging him only our cost for the parts.  I also charged him no labor whatsoever.  We even continue to honor his warranty for the full duration of the two year.

 

While I understand how he feels, it is, and has always been, the responsibility of the vehicle owner to see that all fluid levels are maintained.

 

 

Consumer Response:

 


When I paid RainWaters for repairs, after having My truck for 2 weeks, 

I asked if he can show me the place where the transmission Cooling  lines where leaking ?

He stated That his tech was busy! 

I had to be back at work, so I went my way. 

After I left my work I decided to check the lines my self,

I did not see any transmission fluid stained or drippings!

Yes after leaving his place u think I would bring any vehicle

Back even if he gave me warranty! HEll TO THE NO!

I will not recommend any one to RainWaters Transmission!

If we was as busy as he said he was I am sure he would not 

Be short on his profits! 

He would have just been recommended that he values his work and warranties 

His profits would have maybe double or triple!

RainWaters just needs to do right, for him and his business.



 

 

12/12/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a used 1997 Chevy from **** the owner. I paid 2800 for the truck. He told me the truck had a rebuilt MOTOR and TRANS. The water pump was installed (and confirmed by **** to have been installed by rainwater's) with some gasket seal glue (not rated for temperatures required for water pump seals.) and the water pump leaked boat loads of water. So much so, the truck over heater after I drove it 55 miles and the motor is trash. At least $3500.00 to replace the motor. The block is cracked and the piston connecting rods are sheared. That just starts the laundry list of crap wrong with this truck. At minimum Rainwater transmission performed irresponsible work by not using a real gasket on the water pump, costing nothing with the purchase of a new water pump and as little as $2.99 with the purchase of a used water pump . This irresponsibility has cost me thousands in repairs to the motor and lost business because as it is a work truck!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! An all **** (the owner) has done is avoid dealing with me. His dishonesty and overall lack of concern about my situation seems to be par for the course regarding customer service and quality of work concerning rainwater's transmission. In addition I paid 200 dollars for a door on the truck that does not open or close right and looks terrible. I did agreed to a used door but not to a used door that looks as bad and functions as bad as the one I got. This place is a rip off. At minimum this mechanic should loose his licenses. I have an environmental class A HVAC license with the state of texas and if I performed the same type of work and lied to my customers in the way rainwater's transmission did, I would have my license jerked by the state. This company will continue to lie and cheat people until some regulatory agency holds them accountable.

Desired Settlement: I understand that used vehicles purchased between two people are as is purchases. But If you are a mechanic shop and you are selling a vehicle that you claim you have "rebuilt" then honor the warranty on your work........if its worth it. If its not worth anything pay the people that you fuck!!!!! I want **** to fix my truck for free or pay for the new motor!!!!! Since rainwater's transmission "rebuilt" it and they advertise 2 year warranty on there repairs (you-tube advertising) then fix it!!!!!

BBB Response:



MESSAGE FROM BUSINESS: The consumer and I have been in communication and we are working on a resolution. 

Consumer Response:

 My view is rainwater transmission has done nothing and that is unacceptable!!!! **** the company owner sold me a truck and lied about the work the truck had done on it in an attempt to get above market value for the vehicle. I drove the 97 chevy for 50 miles then the motor threw a rod threw the block due to improper installation or lack of installation of multiple gaskets. This type of shotty work and poor customer service is why this business deserves to fail and hopefully with be forced to close its doors. If I had more time to dedicate to tearing this business to the ground I would as it has cost my business thousands of dollars in repair costs, lost business, lost time, and redused the oprion of several customers because I was unable to perform repairs as I had no truck!!!!! I own a business and I offer warranties on every single thing I touch. My work speaks for itself. If I have to stand behind my words and my work why shouldn't rain water transmission? The fact that there were multiple gaskets that were not installed at all or impropperly installed is irefutable and has been independently confirmed by multiple mechanics and seen by multiple witnesses who could not belive there eye's. **** is a snake in the grass who will tell you what you want to hear to get you to leave him alone. But what he does not realize is that negative advertisement is more effective that positive advertisement. I am fully committed to negatively advertising for rainwater transmittion until I receive the 750 dollars promised to me by ****. I sure hope I get something from this guy because I have a repair bill for a new 97 chevy truck motor that may reduse the amount of presents I can afford to by for my daughter this Christmas. I could sure use some of that money that he stole from my family back for Christmas. I have no clue why **** is dragging his feet on paying me 750 dollars when I paid him 3160 total for the truck and some minor repairs that were not repaired right either. Hopefully he can find the money soon because I am going to continue to spread this story to anyone who will listen, for rainwatter transmission sake it would be nice if the story included some reciprocity in the end for me. 750 dollars cant touch the amount of money i have lost in this transaction but at least its something, I hope I get it soon. 

Business Response: I told the consumer that I will refund him some money and I will honor my word. He should have it next week.

Consumer Response:


[Nope I don't accept his response!!!!!!!.... he did not send any money as of yet. All he has sent me is his word through a series of text messages that he will pay 750 dollars. I am not sure what is taking so long to send me the money he has agreed he owes me. I paid him 2800 dollars cash in October take the 750 out of that and send it to me!!!]