Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of City Garage?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

City Garage

Additional Locations

Phone: (972) 572-2489 Fax: (972) 572-2493 View Additional Phone Numbers 6017 S Cooper St, Arlington, TX 76001 http://www.citygaragedfw.com


View BBB Rating for City Garage's headquarters.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that City Garage meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


BBB Complaint Information

Find aggregate BBB complaint information for City Garage. BBB serving Dallas and Northeast Texas has the full report as that BBB handles all complaints for City Garage.


Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 01, 1994 Business started: 03/01/1993 in 0 Business started locally: 03/01/1993 Business incorporated: 07/08/1993 in DE
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Chuck Hoffman, Operations Vice President Mr. Scott Morrison, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Chuck Hoffman, Operations Vice President
Principal: Mr. Scott Morrison, President
Business Category

AUTO REPAIR & SERVICE TRANSMISSIONS-AUTOMOBILE ENGINES & TRANSMISSIONS AUTO INSPECTION STATIONS

Alternate Business Names
National Autotech Inc
Industry Tips
automotive engine repair

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 6/17/12 I had my transmission replaced by City Garage #17. I was charged over $2,200.00. On multiple occasions I took the vehicle back in because there was still issues. The main issue was that there was a hesitation when you put the vehicle in gear. It would take 2-4 seconds for it to engage. The manager at the time was ******* and **** was the Estimate writer. I dealt with both of them a lot. On multiple times they said something was loose and they fixed it. One time ******* stated that the gear shift was put back in the wrong slot, but it had been taken care of.On 10/9/12 I took it back again because of the hesitation and it wasn't going into gear. Again they said everything was fixed. I continued to have the hesitation.On 9/11/13 I took it in again because of a leak, missing bolt, radiator hoses pressurized, and still having the hesitation. I believe it was this time that there was a new manager and again he said everything good. Then on 5/12/14 or 5/13/14 I took it in again for a leak and hesitation. Again there was a new manager(******. He stated that I needed 2 oil cooler pressure valves for both transmission cooler lines, but they could not find the parts. He stated that "they are discontinued, and I have tried 6-8 places including dealerships and junk yards." He said "If you find them on ebay and buy them myself then I could bring them in and he would get them installed." I found that very hard to believe that the parts were no where to be found. I still have the paper he gave me with the part name and item number. I did some research and decided to take my vehicle to a transmission shop for a second opinion. After checking better business bureau, reviews, and word of mouth in the community I took it to Aamco in Keller, TX. I called and spoke with **** the manager and he stated that they would look at it and said that they could find whatever part that they would need. After looking at it they found out that the cooler lines had been installed incorrectly.

Desired Settlement: The incorrect installation caused transmission failure. Being as I had to have the transmission re-done due to it being installed incorrectly I would like a refund for 70-100%. John at Aamco has offered to talk to whoever necessary to explain the damage done by City Garage to my transmission. I had to spend another $2200 to repair the damage, so I feel like I should be refunded. I had the vehicle back in numerous times for transmission issues and they never fixed or corrected the issues.

Business Response:

06/02/2014

 

Response to BBB, case ID ********

 

We responded to Mr. ******* ***** with the following:

 

Mr *****,

 

Having thoroughly investigated this concern and spoke to the manager **** and current manager *****, my findings are these:

 

1. Original transmission install. 06/10/2012 1 year warranty

2. Replaced under warranty, 10/02/2012, Undeniable evidence of "off road" usage (mud rooster tails from wheel areas) witnessed by 3 employees, all ASE master techs, concur reverse was burnt out of transmission when vehicle was off road and stuck. Fluid burnt black, upon dis-assembly verification of this was documented with muddy water inside transmission. Warrantied transmission replacement as goodwill.

3. On 06/10/2013, Replaced transmission under goodwill for last time. Again strong evidence of off road usage and this action Voids warranty. Original warranty date expired

4. Issue and accusation from AAMCO stating our installation of cooler lines was incorrect is false, misleading and inaccurate. For them to falsely attack us is highly unprofessional. We employ ASE master technicians with many years of experience. We do not pay other shops to perform our warranty work under any circumstances. Your decision to seek them out is entirely up to you and no longer involves us.

Our warranty covers on street usage only and you’re continued off road usage voids our participation in assisting you. Your one year warranty has expired on 06/13/2013. We have gone the extra mile in assisting you in this issue and provided several free services but your transmission troubles all center around your taking this vehicle off road.  

There is no further action I can take on this matter. 

I wish you good luck a good day.

 

We have gone the extra mile and provided Mr. ***** with exceptional service. His continued off road usage is the cause of transmission burning up reverse and low gears in his transmission not the cooler line installation as incorrectly and unprofessionally stated by AAMCO. This type of damage only occurs when the vehicle is “stuck” and the driver is shifting from forward to reverse and back trying to get the vehicle unstuck. The combination of the vehicle not moving fast enough to draw air across the radiator and placing power on reverse and forward multiple times caused the 1st and reverse gears/clutches to burn.

 

Sincerely,

 

 

****** ****

********** ******************* *********

City Garage DFW

**** ******** **

************ ** *****

***********************

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my dispute.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I bought this vehicle brand new in 1999 and have never had it "off roading" and for them to make false accusations on something that they have no knowledge of proves that they are trying to hide a major mistake.  I have only had my vehicle in 4 wheel drive 1 time and that was during bad weather 3 years ago which was before the transmission was replaced.  Why will City Garage not produce the number of documents showing how many times I brought the vehicle back in during and after the 1 year warranty and issues were still not corrected?  They proceeded to prolong the process, so that the warranty would expire and they could use that as an excuse to not have to pay for any more repairs or accept responsibility.  Why would they say that a shop (Aamco) that deals in transmissions would be lying when they have already been paid and have no reason to lie?  They have offered to speak to anyone regarding this issue, but City Garage refuses to contact them.  Since Aamco has repaired the transmission, I have not had any of the hesitation issues or issues with putting it in gear that I had before, so it seems to me that they were correct in their diagnosis and that City Garage continues to try to ignore their error.  I never even received a phone call or email from ****** regarding my initial email complaint to him, so they are obviously trying to sweep this under the rug.  ****** specifically stated that he would review my email and get information from shop and that he would contact me the Tuesday after Memorial day.   I never heard from him and I placed a follow up call on Thursday May 29, 2014 and still didn't hear from him.  I don't understand if there is a neutral 3rd party that is willing to discuss the matter with anyone why someone is afraid and/or refuse to speak to them to get specifics.

Regards,

******* *****




Business Response: Mr ***** and I have agreed to a refund amount of $750.00 as a final settlement to this concern. This issue
is now closed and a check will be forwarded to Mr. ***** within 10 working days.

Thank you,

****** ****
City Garage DFW Customer Relations

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,


******* *****

4/2/2013 Problems with Product/Service