Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Five Star Ford - North Richland Hills

Additional Locations

Phone: (817) 498-8838 Fax: (817) 577-0126 6618 NE Loop 820, N Richlnd Hls, TX 76180

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Five Star Ford - North Richland Hills meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Five Star Ford - North Richland Hills include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Five Star Ford - North Richland Hills
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1992 Business started: 08/01/1991 Business started locally: 08/01/1991 Business incorporated 10/31/2002 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Motor Vehicles
4000 Jackson Ave, Austin TX 78731
Phone Number: (888) 368-4689
Fax Number: (512) 465-4129
The number is P33064.

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Terry Rich, General Manager Mr. Sam Pack, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Terry Rich, General Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Services Auto Repair - Suspension Auto Repair - Steering & Suspension Auto Repair - Shocks Auto Repair - Tune-Up Auto Repair - Power Steering Auto Repair - Maintenance Auto Repair & Service Auto Body Repair & Painting

Alternate Business Names
5 Star Ford 5 Star Ford Collision Repair & Body Shop Five Star Ford of Texas Management, L.L.C. Five Star Ford of Texas, Ltd. Sam Pack's Five Star Ford
Industry Tips
Automobile sales automotive engine repair

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Five Star Ford - North Richland Hills has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 5250 N Riverside Dr

    Fort Worth, TX 76137 (817) 849-3268

  • 6618 NE Loop 820

    N Richlnd Hls, TX 76180 (817) 498-8838


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: We took the used car in 1 week after we bought it because a mechanic told us the compressor was causing the whole car to rattle and shake. We took it in and Five Star subbed it out to another repair center who told us it was the alternator which they replaced. We were relieved to hear the noise gone but 6 weeks later the exact same noise reappeared and there was no cool air. We understand the repair issue with used cars but we told them it was the compressor and they did not address that, we had to pay another $500.00 after paying $8800.00 for this car. The car was in the back lot when we found it and had not even gone through inspection, I had trust in this company and felt the integrity was high enough that they would have inspected it before letting us leave with it. I now have no trust with this company and will never purchase there again.

Desired Settlement: $500.00

Business Response: spoke to **** ******* this morning. After a lengthy discussion I agreed to refund her the $486 she spent on the service visit on 8-13-2013. My reason for making the refund is for a customer satisfaction reason only. At this point Five Star Ford has spent over $1700 on a vehicle that was sold as is. We replaced the alternator that went bad five days after the sale(6-4-13) at no charge to her and felt that was the right thing to do. The A/C compressor locked up and quit working 12 weeks after the purchase (5-27-13) and we agreed to split the cost with the customer which they agreed to do. **** ******* felt the two repairs were one in the same based on a diagnosis she recieved from her mechanic. Our position is the noise she brouht it in for in June was repaired by the replacement of the alternator( which she indicates was fixed in her complaint) was not the same problem as the locked up compressor in August. With that said I do feel that the customer is being honest with us in that she believes the repairs are one in the same and in light of wanting to keep them as a customer **** ******* stated she would be willing to continue to do business with Five Star Ford in the future if we made the refund. I am glad to do that and look forward to doing business with her in the future.

7/16/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased the vehicle from Five Star Ford a 2007 Ford Mustang with 102,413 on 1/22/13 The salesman told me the vehicle had been under a full inspection, did not need repair and was in perfect working condition. Ford claimed to have given me an oil change before I picked up the car that was never done and also replace items on my vehicle that weren't replaced.On 2\26\13 I brought in the vehicle for the repairs that the salesman said he would do because the car was giving me problems. The issues were not fixed that day due to a miscommunication between the service department and the salesman. I came back a week later 3/5/13 for the repairs that was promised. I left my vehicle for 2 days again for the repairs to be done: the lock , air cover, shifter,dent on fender,check to make sure the oil was changed and issues with the vehicle not wanting to shift out of park since I received it. Driving has been very scary and I felt very unsafe. After two day I picked up the vehicle and the manager assured me all the issues were fixed. Five Star Ford also installed a stolen vehicle recovery system as well because they are financing my loan. Since the stolen recovery system was installed more problems were created! Leakage of a substance started, wires were falling on my feet while I was driving and the car would slow down on its own.On 6/3/13 I returned to Five Star Ford with the vehicle due to a leakage, slowing of the vehicle and the wires felt on my feet. My mother was with me and witness the manager telling me that there were no leak and the car is safe to drive. The wires on my feet were from the stolen vehicle recovery and they would fix it. I left my car there for a full day for the repairs that was promised. I went the next day and picked the car up. It seemed to be o.k even thought the wires were still exposed but not as much, the leakage was still there and the car kept getting slower. I did not know what to do, I was scared of driving the car because I work 30 miles one way from home, and felt unsafe. My mother let me drive her car for a little while. About 3 days later I drove the car to work with the leakage and strange loss of power, and when I tried to start the car after work it would NOT start at all. I tried and tried to get it started and was finally able to drive home with a co-worker following me all the way to make sure I did not get stuck. The car was making screeching noises … I felt unsafe driving the vehicle and immediately had it towed to the dealership. From the day since I purchased the car, it has been one deception after another. I was told that the car was in good working condition and they would make sure that all is well with it before I purchased it because it was just traded in the same day. I explained to Five Star Ford that I was having many issues with the car. They have neglected, deceived, lied, and mistreated me as a customer and have provided me with the worst customer service I have experienced in my life. I feel helpless and ignored and feel as a paying customer I should not be treated this way. They are now requesting me to pay for their mistake and negligence which I feel is not fair. I am working full time and going to college. I need my car! Five Star Ford has my car and now they want to charge me for the cleaning that was supposed to be done before they gave me the car. I have talked to manager after manager on several different occasions and have had no success with them taking me serious. When Spencer sold me the car the manager told me that the car was safe and in good working condition and I would not have a problem with it. That was misrepresentation of their product and misrepresentation of their sales tactic. I was deceived by Five Star Ford.

Desired Settlement: I want what I was told!!! I need my car to be safe and safe to drive. I need Five Star Ford to stop giving me the run around and stop trying to charge me for the work they were supposed to do before delivering the car to me. I need my car for school and work and Five Star Ford is keeping me from my school and work. I NEED MY CAR FIXED!

Business Response: I apoligize for the delayed response as I was out of town the week of June 17th and am just now getting to your email. This customer was actually in our dealership last week and my General sales manager assures me she has been taken care of. We have tried reaching out to her by phone since I found the complaint in my email box yesterday. So far we have left several messages all unanswered. I feel confident that the customer is satisfied with the repairs that have been made. If you need further information I will be glad to provide it.