Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Classic Chevrolet meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Classic Chevrolet include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Classic Chevrolet
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 01, 1988 Business started: 01/01/1960 in TX Business started locally: 01/01/1960 Business incorporated 10/02/2003 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Motor Vehicles
4000 Jackson Ave, Austin TX 78731
http://www.txdmv.gov
Phone Number: (888) 368-4689
Fax Number: (512) 465-4129
The number is P16220.

Type of Entity

Private Limited Company by Shares (LTD)

Business Management
Mr. Thomas (Tom) R. Durant, President/Owner Mr. Mike Zorn, Service Director
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Thomas (Tom) R. Durant, President/Owner
Customer Contact: Mr. Mike Zorn, Service Director
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Services

Alternate Business Names
Classic Chevrolet, Ltd Classic Hummer
Industry Tips
Automobile sales automotive engine repair

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Classic Chevrolet has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1101 W State Highway 114

    Grapevine, TX 76051 (817) 421-1200 (817) 410-6100 (817) 421-7253 (817) 421-1200

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/20/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have called to be removed from the physical mailing list at least six times and i am still getting junk. I know one person doesn't make a big difference, but i do try to do what i can for the environment.

Desired Settlement: Removal from mailing list

Business Response:

I have finally spoke to Mrs’ ***** and found out what mailer we were sending. I did assure that we will stop this item from being mailed anymore. She was quite happy with the phone conversation.    Sincerely. Mike Z***,   Service Director.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,


****** *****

5/27/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went to Classic Chevrolet April 1, 2016 to inquire about trading into a new truck. I did not like the deal they offered so I left without a purchase. Recently I found out that the person at the dealership ran my credit 9 times, I only authorized them to run it once. Since these are hard hits on my credit report, it did effect my score for 2 years

Desired Settlement: I would like for Classic Chevrolet to contact Equifax and Experian and have them remove the unauthorized inquires, I only authorized Classic Chevrolet one inquiry, not nine

BBB Response:

We are in receipt of Mr. ***** ******’s complaint concerning Credit Bureau Inquiries, case ********.  After researching the concern we found Mr. ******’s credit was pulled in the normal course of doing business and we attempted to secure him acceptable financing.  My records indicate we did not complete a purchase or lease under this name and as is customary multiple credit inquiries where authorized with the credit application.  Credit Bureaus can be contacted by Consumers to dispute any inquiries and or request to remove them.  We cannot modify a consumer’s credit file nor can we request changes to consumers credit file due to privacy laws set up under Federal Credit Guidelines.  We apologize for any inconvenience or misunderstandings however we are unable to modify credit reports.

 

Consumer Response:
***** ******

I did not authorize multiple credit inquiries, nothing on any application stated that they would run my credit 9 times otherwise I would have not signed it. I am upset because these are hard hits on my credit report which ultimately lowered my credit score. There's no reason to run my credit that many times, their answer that they can't do anything about it means nothing to me, the damage has been done. They obviously don't care about anything except to rip people off.          


4/11/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased Chevrolet Silverado 1500 2013 from the Dealership on 12/21/2015. Salesman *** ****** with tacit approval of previously owned vehicles manager ***** ***** lied to me about the damaged parts of the vehicle, concealing material facts and making gross misrepresentations. I never received CarFax report on the vehicle, although I repeatedly asked Mr. ****** to provide me with one. First, *** ****** told me that there were no damages to the parts of the vehicle other than minor scratches. He would reiterate it was a "work truck". Apparently, in Mr. ******'s and Mr.*****'s opinions, condition of work truck implies misrepresentation of the material facts about the damages to the vehicle. Mr. ***** **** ***e resisted taking close up pictures of the truck. Finally I discovered on the pictures that the front bumper face bar was dented due to an accident. I had to replace it at my own expense. *** ****** and ***** ***** never told me the vehicle was in an accident. When the vehicle was in transit to me I received the shipping company report compiled upon the pickup at the dealership that the passenger side mirror was broken. To my repeated questions whether the vehicle had any damages, *** ****** would tell me "no". When the truck arrived I discovered that the jack and the wheel wrench were missing, and this is not only a safety issue but also an unscrupulous business practice. This may entail more serious consequences then just filing complaint with BBB. As well, the passenger side mirror was broken, as it was stated in the shipping company report. These facts were concealed from me by *** ****** with tacit approval of ***** *****. I was told that before the consignment ***** ***** and *** ****** inspected the vehicle, so these problems could not have been overlooked. I had no chance to inspect the vehicle at the dealership for I bought it over Internet and due to my disability was unable to travel to the dealership location. *** ****** and ***** ***** took advanta

Desired Settlement: Compensation for the broken mirror, bill of sale adjustment to the amount of the new mirror costs, as the fact was purposely concealed from me. Compensation to purchase originally supplied jack and wheel wrench for this vehicle.

BBB Response:

Mr. ****** bought the truck to ship to Grand Caicos Island as a work truck. It was bought as-is, and we cut $800 off of the price and he was going to take care of the front bumper and a trim piece that was missing. I was wrong about him being here, he had it shipped to florida himself and was never here. After it arrived he called and said that the drivers side mirror was cracked and we agreed to order him one, which we did and shipped it to him when it arrived. He then called and said we needed to replace the whole mirror assembly because it was broken. We said no, we were not going to replace anything else. He then called and said the whole spare tire and jack assembly was missing and we told him it was there when shipped and he needed to call his shipper. He has complained ever since and we are through paying for things we cannot confirm are missing. If there is anything else I can do please feel free to call me.

 

 

 

Consumer Response:

 The whole response and arguments by Mr. ***** ***** are profoundly  imbued with lies and distortion of facts.

I will point out to each of the lies.

First: For the purposes of this complaint it does not  really matter whether the client bought the truck to be shipped or not, it is in his sole discretion what to do with the vehicle after the purchase: To ship it to "Grand Caicos Island"(does not exist), "Medium Caicos Island" , "Small Caicos Island"  or not to ship at all and just drive it. 

Second, I did not buy the vehicle as “a work truck"- these are afterthoughts or wishful thinking of Mr. *****. I bought the TRUCK as a CHEVROLET SILVERADO 2013. Could Mr. ***** present an agreement between me and the Dealership wherein it says that “a work truck" was sold to me?

Third, the fact that Mr. ***** "cut off the price" should not and  does not imply, that the goods(i.e.the truck) would have to be with undeclared defects( passenger side mirror) or without parts it has to have by definition and safety requirements, namely a jack and a wheel wrench!
Fourth, I have no idea what "a trim piece that was missing “he talks about.

Fifth, I never stated I was personally at the dealership. If I were , it would make it much harder for Mr.***** sell me the truck with the above mentioned defects and without a jack and  wheel wrench.

Sixth, I never mentioned it to ***** ***** or *** ****** that "the driver side mirror was cracked", rather I told that the passenger side mirror was broken and cracked.

Seventh, *** ****** did promise to send the casing of the mirror, but I always insisted on replacement of the mirror assembly because it was broken in several sites. The egregious lie of Mr. ***** is that I never received even the casing of the mirror, it was never shipped to my address known to Mr. *****. I waited patiently for one month after the casing of the mirror was promised to me and only then submitted my complaint to BBB and most recently to Texas Attorney's General office. The mirror assembly breakage was concealed from me from the very beginning , notwithstanding my requests to disclose all and every broken parts or problems with the truck. I also have a proof that the mirror was broken when the truck remained at the Dealership at Mr. *****'s possession- the bill of lading condition report by a driver of a shipping company who collected the truck; it is noted in the report(please, see the attachment) that the passenger side mirror was broken.  At that point in ***e, at the dealership, the mirror had already been broken.

Eighth, based on the concealment of material facts which Mr. ***** and Mr. ****** practice, it is not hard to infer, that no one checked for availability of the jack and the wheel wrench. When the truck arrived to me, these parts were missing.

I was asking for compensation, but Mr. ***** left all my numerous emails and phone calls unanswered and unreturned.

Till today, ***** ***** demonstrated no desire and willingness to redress and compensate for such unscrupulous practice.





6/10/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/12/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
2/19/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The purpose of this complaint is that I was overcharged for the actual work done and cost of the replacement parts to fix car as it was quoted. It did not take 3.5 hours to remove 3 screws and 2 nuts on the doors. I did it myself at home and it took 20 minutes. How on earth do they charge me $120 hour for labor and then say it took 3.5 hours to fix it? Why was I charged $229.43 for the part when you can buy them new, delivered for $160.60 (43%rip off) All consumers should be aware that the work they do will be a flat rip-off!!

Desired Settlement: Help other consumers be aware of this repair shop rip-off trap that is screwing customers!

BBB Response:

As of this morning I have tried on two separate occasions to contact Mr.  ******.  First date was 2/11/2015 at 8:34 am and then this morning

2/18/2015 at 9:14 am  in both cases left a message to return my calls as of 10:50 am have not heard from Mr. ******.        

Sincerely, **** ****

1/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased a new vehicle from Classic on 9/19/2013 and have contacted the dealer several times concerning the registration and tags. It has now been 76 days and the DMV still has no record of the vin being processed and Classic will not proved proof that they have processed the application.

Desired Settlement: I need the car registered or provide and MCO so that I can process and drive the car legally and I would like an explanation on why it has taken so long.

BBB Response: **** ******** **** ****** ** *** *** ********** ** *****


Dear **** ******** :

This message is in regard to your dispute submitted on 12/4/2013 5:24:15 PM against Classic **********  Your complaint was assigned ID ********

The business has sent the BBB a response regarding this dispute, and we are sending it to you.  The contents of this message are below or attached.  You have 10 calendar days to submit your response back to the BBB.  If you submit your response after 10 calendar days, the link provided will not work and you will need to contact the BBB Team member listed at the bottom of this letter.

The text of your dispute may be publicly posted on the BBB website (BBB reserves the right to not post in accordance with BBB policy). Please do not include any personally identifiable information in describing the nature of your complaint. By submitting your complaint, you are representing that it is a truthful account of your experience with the business. BBB may redact your complaint to protect privacy rights and to remove inappropriate language.

Regards,

****** ****

******* ************* ****** ****** ***** ********

MESSAGE FROM BUSINESS:

Dear ****** ****, This letter is in response to the above referenced colplaint by Mr. ****

 

********. We show that his vehicle was registered in Gerogia on 12/05/2013. The title

 

number was **************** on Vin number ******************* We are sorry

 

this response took so long but have been transitioning to a new e-mail system and have

 

had some e-mails not make the transition. Thank You, **** **** ******* ********* *******

 

**********

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,


**** ********


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Classic Chevrolet
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart