Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Classic Chevrolet meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Classic Chevrolet include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Classic Chevrolet
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 01, 1988 Business started: 01/01/1960 in TX Business started locally: 01/01/1960 Business incorporated 10/02/2003 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Motor Vehicles
4000 Jackson Ave, Austin TX 78731
http://www.txdmv.gov
Phone Number: (888) 368-4689
Fax Number: (512) 465-4129
The number is P16220.

Type of Entity

Private Limited Company by Shares (LTD)

Business Management
Mr. Thomas (Tom) R. Durant, President/Owner Mr. Mike Zorn, Service Director
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Thomas (Tom) R. Durant, President/Owner
Customer Contact: Mr. Mike Zorn, Service Director
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Services

Alternate Business Names
Classic Chevrolet, Ltd. Classic Hummer
Industry Tips
Automobile sales automotive engine repair

Additional Locations

  • 1101 W State Highway 114

    Grapevine, TX 76051 (817) 421-1200 (817) 410-6100 (817) 421-7253 (817) 421-1200

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/10/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/12/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
2/19/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The purpose of this complaint is that I was overcharged for the actual work done and cost of the replacement parts to fix car as it was quoted. It did not take 3.5 hours to remove 3 screws and 2 nuts on the doors. I did it myself at home and it took 20 minutes. How on earth do they charge me $120 hour for labor and then say it took 3.5 hours to fix it? Why was I charged $229.43 for the part when you can buy them new, delivered for $160.60 (43%rip off) All consumers should be aware that the work they do will be a flat rip-off!!

Desired Settlement: Help other consumers be aware of this repair shop rip-off trap that is screwing customers!

BBB Response:

As of this morning I have tried on two separate occasions to contact Mr.  ******.  First date was 2/11/2015 at 8:34 am and then this morning

2/18/2015 at 9:14 am  in both cases left a message to return my calls as of 10:50 am have not heard from Mr. ******.        

Sincerely, **** ****

1/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased a new vehicle from Classic on 9/19/2013 and have contacted the dealer several times concerning the registration and tags. It has now been 76 days and the DMV still has no record of the vin being processed and Classic will not proved proof that they have processed the application.

Desired Settlement: I need the car registered or provide and MCO so that I can process and drive the car legally and I would like an explanation on why it has taken so long.

BBB Response: **** ******** **** ****** ** *** *** ********** ** *****


Dear **** ******** :

This message is in regard to your dispute submitted on 12/4/2013 5:24:15 PM against Classic **********  Your complaint was assigned ID ********

The business has sent the BBB a response regarding this dispute, and we are sending it to you.  The contents of this message are below or attached.  You have 10 calendar days to submit your response back to the BBB.  If you submit your response after 10 calendar days, the link provided will not work and you will need to contact the BBB Team member listed at the bottom of this letter.

The text of your dispute may be publicly posted on the BBB website (BBB reserves the right to not post in accordance with BBB policy). Please do not include any personally identifiable information in describing the nature of your complaint. By submitting your complaint, you are representing that it is a truthful account of your experience with the business. BBB may redact your complaint to protect privacy rights and to remove inappropriate language.

Regards,

****** ****

******* ************* ****** ****** ***** ********

MESSAGE FROM BUSINESS:

Dear ****** ****, This letter is in response to the above referenced colplaint by Mr. ****

 

********. We show that his vehicle was registered in Gerogia on 12/05/2013. The title

 

number was **************** on Vin number ******************* We are sorry

 

this response took so long but have been transitioning to a new e-mail system and have

 

had some e-mails not make the transition. Thank You, **** **** ******* ********* *******

 

**********

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,


**** ********

4/24/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought my Cobalt with an extended warranty from Classic Chevy in late 2008. Two years later, I notice a roaring sound and a vibration in the pedals. When I got my tires replaced at Firestone, I was informed that my right hub bearing needed replacing. As this issue in covered under the extended warranty, I took it into the new car service department at Classic Chevy. Once there, they treated me with very little respect but they replaced the bearing. A little over a year later, I began to hear the sound and feel the vibrations again. So, I took it back into the new car service department, where I was, again, treated rather poorly and was told that the noise and the vibration occurred because the "rear tires" were "cupped causing excess road noise." They rotated my tires for me and assured me that there was no problem. A little over a month later, I was still experiencing the problem and took it back in. This time the service department begrudgingly replaced two hub bearings. The noise and vibrations immediately ceased. I am now having the same problem again and, instead of trusting my instincts and the fact that I drive the car every day, the service department is trying to convince me that the tires are simply "cupping" again. They attempted to sell me new tires because that would apparently fix the problem.y

Desired Settlement: I would like for them to at least look at my hub bearings to ascertain whether one of them is bad or not. If it is, I would like for them to fix it because I am still covered under the extended warranty.

Business Response: **** **** Service Director has driven the cobalt and is unable to determined the noise due to the condition of all 4 tires. The offer was made to Mr,******* that if he replaced the tires and the noise still exised we would replace any bearing that was noisy. Mr ******* replyed that they will budget for this and get back to Me. I also mentioned that we could meet or beat any price tires that they were looking to purchase.  Sincerly **** ****