This business is not BBB accredited.

Cadillac of Arlington

Additional Locations

Phone: (800) 614-8864 Fax: (817) 436-5721 View Additional Phone Numbers 2001 N Collins St, Arlington, TX 76011 http://www.moritzcadillac.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Cadillac of Arlington include:

  • Failure to respond to 2 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Cadillac of Arlington include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Cadillac of Arlington
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 01, 1974 Business started: 10/04/1973 in TX Business started locally: 10/04/1973 Business incorporated 07/05/1990 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Motor Vehicles
4000 Jackson Ave, Austin TX 78761
https://www.txdmv.gov/
Phone Number: (888) 368-4689
Fax Number: (512) 302-2162
The number is P23766.

Type of Entity

Limited Partnership (LP)

Business Management
Mr. William (Bill) Hale, Service Manage Ms. Starr Kennedy, Secretary
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. William (Bill) Hale, Service Manage
Customer Contact: Mr. Tom Hauswirth, General Manager
Principal: Mr. John D. Moritz, President/Owner
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Alternate Business Names
GPI TX-ARGMIII, Inc.
Industry Tips
Automobile sales

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2001 N Collins St

    Arlington, TX 76011 (800) 614-8864 (800) 653-1355 (800) 614-8793 (877) 880-5178 (888) 458-3513

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    PO Box 490

    Arlington, TX 76004

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/10/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was mis-lead by finance Dept. **** Leyda and salesman ***** ****** I went in to trade-in a Lease BMW for a purchase BMW. **** advise me it would be a even trade but it wasn't when I went in a days later to sign the papers. **** would not and did not show me the paper work for the amount/value of the trade. Nor show me the documents of our agreement the night before (said he could not find them). I reported the problem to customer service at that Office and they assure me someone would call me back. I called several time to speak to store manager but never got a return phone call. (I call ****** whom was out of the office for 2 -3 weeks. E-mail **** several times and ask for an meeting with him. The meeting and e-mail concerns were ignored by ***** I complaint with BMW Finance and again to BMW Mini, with no reply (several times). When I called BMW finance I learn of the loan **** had place me in a single interest loan (which was not explain to me) you can't paid Principal payment nor pay in advance. **** Leyda mis-lead me in the amount of loan, the value of trade-in and the type of Loan given. This was UnFair lending, Deceptive, mis-leading and omission.

Desired Settlement: I would like to get a Fair Value of previous BMW, extra $8,000.00 removed from the loan and choose type of loan. A better Interest Rate according to my Credit score. A Fair loan that not mis-leading.

Business Response:

To WHom it May Concern,

FIrst, let me apologize for any issue that you might have had during your purchase process back in September 2013.  Moritz BMW was purchased on November 12th, 2013 from Mortiz, by Group 1 Automotive and now does business as BMW of Arlington.  Unfortunatlely, your issue would be with the previous owners, and I do not have access to their records or to their individual files regarding customer transaction prior to the acquisition.  I am forwarding the information and the complaint to the Moritz Auto Group, and you should anticipate a respones from them.. 

Under the circumstances, I am limited in responding or attempting to come up with any type of reconcilation or agreement since the transaction, and therefor the complaint was with the prior ownership.

Regards,

 

***** ********

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* and have determined that this does not resolve my dispute.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.


Waiting to here back from business/previous business, I assume he will forward the complaint. 

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

****** *****




Business Response:

As originally stated, your issue would be with the previous owner, Mortiz BMW.  I have forwarded the information on your displeasure with the transaction you had with them previously.  I am not sure other than doing that for you, what i can do. 

I am sorry that i cannot do more.

 

Regards

 

BMW of Arlington

 

 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my dispute.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

The person that completed my paperwork **** ***** is still a part of this company and wouldn't locate any information before the new owner came on.  He's well aware of the issues and refused to help.  
This was unfair Lending practice.   
This new dealer took on the previous dealership unresolved issues. (They or **** was aware) I compliant many times and no one would reply.  
[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

****** *****




Business Response: Thank you for taking time to speak with me on the phone concerning ***** ****** I located
her bill of sale and conh·act from her September 19, 2013 purchase, which I am attaching to this
letter. Both of these documents were signed by Ms. ***** at the time of her delivery and
clearly showed the figures for her new purchase and her trade including the h·ade difference in
question. We can only assume that Ms. ***** read these documents before she signed them
approving the terms and figures listed on the conh·act. Ms. ***** was under no obligation at
any time to agree to these figures. She was well within her right to refuse to sign any of this
paperwork and/ or take delivery of the new vehicle, however in doing so she agreed to the
figures and stipulations of her contract with BMW Financial.
I contacted BMW Financial concerning her loan to verify the information I had was correct. In
doing so, I confirmed that Ms. ***** has a simple interest loan with a 3.99% interest rate with
no prepayment penalties. I have highlighted certain areas on her contact that explain how she
can make payments before their due date without penalty, which will actually lower her finance
charges I have also highlighted the section where she can pay off her vehicle at any time
without penalty. I am not sure how she understood the terms of her loan to be a single interest
loan.
I trust the above information clarifies the type of loan she currently has and her signed
documents prove how Moritz clearly disclosed all information during her h·ansaction. If you
need any additional information, please feel free to contact me.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my dispute.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

1.  My "Delivery" date was Sept.17,2013

2.  Electronically signed papers on Sept 19,2013, per **** documents could not 
Be printed until signed. 
3    Coerce into signing.  Everything not disclosures
4. Missing "Work Out" sheet or form ( with Verbal Agreement before document were created)
5. Missing -credit report - promotion interest rate and 60 month loan we talked about 
Missing Trade in Appraisal 
6.  Per **** - car was already gone and could not get it back.  (Made obligated)
7. Promotion at time of Work Out. 2.99 interest rate & 60 months

Regards,

****** *****




9/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had purchased an extended warranty with a vehicle from this dealership. I contacted the dealership to find out how to cancel this warranty, I was told to come in and fill out a piece of paper and they would send it in and have the reimbursement sent to the bank with which the vehicle is financed since the price of the warranty was rolled into the financing. I completed this form in the dealership in June. I was in the dealership around the first part of July and was told I had filled out the wrong form so I signed another form and was told again that the money would be sent to the bank. I have called twice this week to check with my bank to see if the money had been received and both times I was told it had not. I have tried multiple times to contact someone at the dealership. 3 times I was transferred to someone whose voice mail was full, another time I was transferred to someone who couldn't help me because they didn't work in the right department. I have left a message with another person but have yet to receive a call back.

Desired Settlement: I would like the money from the cancellation sent to the bank just like they told me they would do.

8/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Everything started when I decide to shop for a used SUV. After much time shop around, I finally decide to choose between this dealership, Cadillac of Arlington, and another shop, which I would not mention the name here. When I was negotiating the price, after numerous back and forth conversation, the General Manager of Cadillac of Arlington made a statement, and I quote, "Do you really want to buy a car from some street shop (the other shop he was referring to) or some authorized dealership like us? Because we are going to take care of your car if anything happens to your car after you buy it." This is the line that caught my attention and eventually made me to go with them. But I was cautious at that time, I asked him specifically, "by taking care of the car, how long are we talking about?" He replied, "at least two months." I believed him, then we closed the deal. The nightmare started as soon as we drove the car back home the next day. I immediately found three major problems: 1. The navigation system was totally not responding and couldn't be started. (This is one of the many features listed on the ads of the car when I bought it, and one of the major thing I would need) 2. The dashboard showed Service Now signal every time the car started. (Obviously the car hasn't been serviced for a long time, but the salesman told me the car has been serviced before it was sold to me) 3. The dashboard showed the airbag was not functioning. (This is a major safety concern) I immediately called the salesman, and they brought the car back to fix the problem. (It was a non-Cadillac car, so they had to send it to another dealership to fix it). That process took about three weeks. That means I was out of my car for three weeks as soon as I bought it. In the meantime, there were numerous conversation, phone calls, messages exchanged between me and the dealership. A lot of time and efforts were spent. Well, if that wasn't the worst, here comes the worst. After three weeks of waiting, I finally got to pick up my car, but the very same day I took it home, I noticed the dashboard shows Signal Light has problem. It kept beeping as soon as you turn on the lights. Please understand my frustration at that moment because ever since I bought the car, about 300 miles were added to it, out of which 250 miles were used to fix its problems. I then tried to contact them but this time, the process becomes a pain. I first reached to the salesman, after several times of "not answering the phone", "not available" etc, I finally learned that he had to discuss that with his boss. I then directly reached to the General Manager, but was told should be speaking to the Used Car Manager, **** ********. I then tried to reach him, but for entire two weeks, he neither picked up my everyday phone call, nor replied my many text messages. I left him several voice messages which he replied none. I can take that I was being intentionally ignored. Meanwhile, I tried to solve this problem nicely with the General Manager, and pointed out that his "two-month promise" at the start. He then started to tweak his words saying "the promise was not to take care of everything, and the used car should be bought as it was." That was about the time I thought I ran into a dead-end trying to resolve this nicely with them. I started writing online reviews. Well, after being ignored entire two weeks, **** called me the very same day I wrote an excellent review. It seems they do care their public image. Then I thought they finally learned how to keep their words. I was asked to bring the car to a dealership myself to fix it, and show him the invoice which he would reimburse me. I agreed to that, and went ahead to fix it. Then I sent him my invoice, he ignored me again. After several attempts to contact him, he said it was cosmetic repair, not signal light, and won't reimburse me. My further argument was ignored.

Desired Settlement: Reimbursement for my repair cost and the extended cost of my time spent on fixing the car ever since I bought this car.

9/26/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am 65 years old and have a very sensitive back from having polio as a child and an arthritic neck. Told Salesman that any car I buy has to have a really comfortable ride. Salesman represented the car (BMW 550i, low profile run-flat tires & huge rims) as having a softer ride than the largest BMW manufactured (7-series). Test drive was on smooth road, and tires were under-inflated (indicator light on dash for one of the tires showed yellow). Within 1 hour of taking delivery, I called salesman to complain about the ride. Took car back next day and salesman test drove car & agreed that there were problems with the car. I asked about returning the car but was asked by salesman to postpone returning it until the next business day so that the return would not mess up his commission check. Next business day, I brought back the car (had reserved a rent car and made appointments to see 3 other cars at 3 other dealers), but they would not take car back. They wanted service tech to find out what was wrong with car. Next day I was told car had bad front tires and bent wheel. But if they fixed it, then they would not allow me to return the car. I told them not to fix it, that I wanted to return the car. Brought loaner car back next day but salesman would only discuss "trading" my car for another on his lot. I test drove multiple cars and found one that I thought might work. Took it to AAA-certified mechanic and found out it had rack & pinion/steering issues that would cost $1563 to fix. Salesman's response: mechanic doesn't know what he's talking about. Talked to sales manager. He assured me that Moritz takes care of their customers and we could work something out. When I was finally able to FORCE the salesman to tell me what their offer (to resolve the issue) was, he said my $6500 down payment was gone. BMW has that money. They offered to pay off my loan but I told them I'd have to think about that. I talked with a lawyer and was told I might have a possible multiple Deceptive Trade Practices Act violations. An independent mechanic found car needed bent brake rotors replaced, front brake pads replaced, new valve cover gaskets, vacuum pump fixed, alignment. All of this can be covered under the warranty but I don't think this will fix the ride. CarMax offered to pay me $23,000 for the car. Last contact with salesman trying to return the car, he told me he no longer had any control over the issue.

Desired Settlement: Allow me to return car for full retund of purchase price

Business Response: WE HAD HEARD FROM **** ******* THAT SHE WAS NOT HAPPY, NOR COMFORTABLE WITH THE PURCHASE OF HER BMW 550.  FEW DAYS LATER WE MET WITH HER AND OFFERED TO TRADE HER INTO ANOTHER VEHICLE OR FIX THE RIDE OF THE 550.  WE SET AN APPOINTMENT WITH HER AND LET HER TAKE TWO DIFFERENT VEHICLES HOME OVER NIGHT.  SHE CAME TO THE CONCLUSION THAT IF WE PUT DIFFERENT TIRES ON HER VEHICLE SHE WOULD LIKE TO KEEP THE VEHICLE SHE PURCHASED(550).  WE AGREED TO PUT TIRES ON HER VEHICLE.  WE HAVE BEEN TRYING TO MAKE AN APPOINTMENT WITH HER TO DO SO AND HAVE NOT HEARD BACK FROM HER.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

#1  There was a condition placed on  my acceptance if the new tires:  If they replaced the front tires, then I would no longer be allowed to return the car.

#2  The replacement car that I test drove and was interested in had mechanical issues:  I took said car to a AAA-certified mechanic who found that the car needed $1,563 worth of work on the rack and pinion steering.  Moritz response:  the mechanic is not qualified to evaluate this car; there is nothing wrong with this car.

Regards,

******* *******

 

 

9/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: this has been the worst experience that i ever had , i had 3 BMW'S and always took them to Moritz Bmw for service and repairs but after this repair Never again a month ago i took the car in for an oil change , when i picked up the car and drove it the oil light came on so i called the service advisor and asked her didn't you go do the oil change ? she said yes but i guess the forgot to reset the light just stop by and we will reset it !!! i am a very busy man to be following up on someone else work . i didn't take it in cause i didn't have the time to go and wait for them to reset the light , the car started to shake so i called Moritz and i scheduled an appointment i took it in on August 2nd to see why is the car shaking on the highway and i also told him to please reset the Oil light cause last time you guys forgot to do it when you guys changed the oil . service advisor called me and told me that the front brakes and rotors needs to be replaced and also a brake flush & tier balance i just recently had the tiers changed and they did that so i said no to tire balance but i authorized the rest of the repairs , they replaced front brakes and rotors & did a brake flush and i noticed that THEY DID NOT RESET THE OIL LIGHT AGAIN , so i had to wait until a service advisor finally did it . I paid $1159.00 thinking the car would drive better ! No its still the same the issue is the car still shakes when i am driving so i called the service advisor again and told him that its still doing the same thing and he advised me to do the balance to the tiers so i told him ok he scheduled me an appointment and i dropped it off , the car was ready today 08/15/2013 so i went in the morning got in the car turned it on while i was still in the service drive of Moritz BMW i noticed that the TPM light is on i was like oh my god , i went back inside and i asked the service advisor why is the light on when i brought it in the light was NOT on and i never seen that light on before so he said let me take it to the back and have them rest it , he came back and he said that it needs to stay so we can look in to it more because they couldn't reset it , so i went on with my day until i received a call from service advisor saying that the TPM SENSOR is malfunctioning i was like ok and he said its going to be $490.00 to replace it i was like ok you guys just did the balance to the tiers don't you think something was done wrong because the car been their several times and that light never came on untill you guys did the balancing . he said NO that its not their fault at this point iam done and i asked to pick up my car the same day but i had to wait untill next day cause mechanic left already and they have to put it back together . i will never ever take a car back to moritz after all i been through this month .

Desired Settlement: Moritz BMW did something wrong while balancing the tiers, that light never came on during the entire time that i have owned the car and before i dropped it off for the tire balancing IT WAS NOT ON until they did the tires balancing .

Business Response:

In reserching the history of this customers complaint, I can very much agree with this customers frustration. There were definately some poor communication's on our part. As far as the TPM light coming on after the rotate and balance, it is is coincidence. The sensor that monitors that system is inside the tire and mounted to the wheel. When performing a rotate and balance, the tire is never dis-mounted so the sensor is never exposed. As a courtesy for the inconvenience on the prior visits, I would like to offer the cussomer the repair at no charge to him. He can contact myself directly. My name is ****** ** ** *****, I am the service manager here at Moritz and my number is ************.

 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

The car has been repaired at Classic BMW , $436.73 was the amount. it took a while for the business to reply and that's a safety issue for me and my family to be driving the car with the TPM light on. 


Regards,

***** *******

 

 

8/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 1. This brand new Mini had been shipped from London, Oxford on April 2011. 2. It had hail damage on this brand new car and did a claim to fix hail damage on May 24, 2011. 3. I have purchased this so called "brand new" car on August 27, 2011 with the Full price as $28100.00 with a so called $1000 price down. I did not get to be informed with hail damage or the claim. I did not know how to negotiate the price and took whatever the price I have been offered happily, living a dream of purchasing a new car. 4. On June 13, I took my car to local Carmax to get a quote and found out this claim. 5. Started to communicate with Moritz Mini to figure out what this claim was about before I bought this new car. The communication went like a nightmare. First of all, they denied that there was an claim. When I scanned the auto check report, it took three days to hear back from auto check that there was exactly a claim and it happened in Arlington Texas. Arlington, Texas, does that place just sound familiar? 6. Finally they admitted that there was a claim before I bought a new car but they were nothing they could do. Their logic was yes there was a claim but the car has been fixed so it did not affect the market price and since it has got fixed, they could sell it as new. Plus, they did mention their little pity $1000 price down. 7. I just need to ask one question as a car customer if I spend the totally more than $30,000 to buy a new car, but they sell me a car with hail damage without providing me any information? Where is their working ethic?????

Desired Settlement: I need $8000 compensation for all the thing that I have been dealing with and an letter with sincerely apology.

Business Response:    ***** ********* spoke with ****** about her vehicle when she notified us about the autocheck background that had been performed on her car when she took it to Carmax.  She told us that according to this report there were repairs done to her car in Hawaii.  ***** ********* helped research this issue and found that there were no repairs done in Hawaii, but there was paintless dent repair done to her vehicle.  We did give her a $1000 discount from the MSRP when she purchased the car.  When we found out about this situation we did apologize to her for the oversight and offered to make up for any value difference that might have occured when selling her vehicle to Carmax.  She stated that Carmax said the value of the car was not changed due to the autocheck or the repairs done.  We did offer her $500.00 but she refused our offer.  We will gladly apologize formally in writing and will also help determine if she suffered any loss based on what she sold her car for and what the market value of her car would be without any repairs.  We would just ask for her help in giving us the proper information as it relates to the sale of her car.  If it is determined that there is a difference in value then we will make up that difference.

Consumer Response:

"When we found out about this situation we did apologize to her for the oversight and offered to make up for any value difference that might have occured when selling her vehicle to Carmax.  She stated that Carmax said the value of the car was not changed due to the autocheck or the repairs done. "

Let's focus on one thing that I have been complained about and I want to make it very clear that I have been complained that I have purchased a new car that had hail damage before and this Mini dealer did not disclose this very important information. How many Carmax has offered to me or whatever Carmax said had nothing to do with my complaint and the value of my car now. My complaint directly towards this dealership about selling a car with hail damage as new. ***** ********* has stated that my car was not a only new car had hail damage and had fixed. He stated that most of the dealership did that to fix a car and sell it as new. I will recommend everyone who bought car from this dealership between April to august in 2011 to run an auto-check. Plus ***** mentioned that if the car has not been titled, the value of a car should not be changed if the dealer fixed the car. That is a very interesting theory, which means we as innocent car consumer have to cross our finger to buy a new car cos your so-called new car might be fixed but still legally sell as new cos accident happens before the car has been titled. 

Since this email is open to public, any newspaper is interested in my story, Please feel free to contact me. 

 

Business Response:    We cannot produce the disclosure form normally signed by customers at the time of sale, disclosing any potential problem or repairs.  We both apologized for the oversight and offered to give the customer $500 for their inconvenience.  Had there been any financial loss or damages, we would have offered the amount of agreed damages.  However, as Carmax confirmed when they purchased the vehicle, the repairs did not affect the value of the car.  We attempted once to address the issue, we are willing to make a final goodwill offer of $1,000.00, which we feel is more than reasonable, since the value of the car was unaffected.  We hope this can bring closure to this issue.

12/25/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Took my car to BMW to have it service due to not cranking. They told me after market battery even though the battery in the car was brand new . Than thy said all it is needing was charging nothing was wrong but they do recommend other stuff. So I went ahead and had belts changed on the car due to no other problems sussposedly. They said alarm was draining from my battery so they disconnected it.. Also my battery wiring had recall which they fixed . I paid 442.00 nd paid for rent a car while I waited 7 days for them to find this out cause supposedly they had no loaners. This cost me 300.00 Four days later car will not start at all called BMW and had to have car towed in . They were shocked and did recheck which was still covered under the 135.00 paid for them to tell me what's wrong.they said without me getting a BMW battery they could not diagnose the problem so. Agreed there battery was 479.00 once they installed they realized the siren horn module was out in total this was 800.00 repair...so they claimed this was it five days later car still not cranking....my whole charging system fine not needing anything and they said car was fine .kept car two weeks. Third time they keep car two weeks, tell me it's blow motor fan n it will be another 900 but they will discount me to 750 again cause the incovience but could not guarantee this was the problem. Manager ******* had a smart mouth due to me telling him y'all have been fixing wrong thing. And this is incovient having to catch a ride when im bringing to dealership. They start getting defensive , I asked could another mechanic work on car thy said no he knows history of my car. It's obvious his is just telling me whatever sensor is out not finding problem. Problem is my car was never fixed... BMW makes this car and if anyone knows their car it should be the company that makes it. Took my car to another independent mechanic and found out it was the spark plugs corroded something this simple has cost me 1900 dollars n never fixed the problem. I do not like how I was treated nor will i never buy another BMW in my life! Nor take my car back to this dealership all they care about is taking your money and then its not fixed I'm sorry I'm sorry you are a mechanic and I work in a finicial institution it is not my job to pay u n diagnose my own car and be the mechanic! They have not even checked on me any other time they hurry and send email for survey I did not receive. Had my car a total of 21 days and told me at least they gave me a loaner. I have a car and wouldn't need a loaner if they had fixed mines the first , second, or third time. I've paid over 8000 to 9000 and the past four years and this is the disrespect I get cause they don't know the problem . I will go as high up with this until I get apology I have spent over 45,000 to own this car they should value their car while in warranty and outside of warranty if someone is paying.

Desired Settlement: For them to give me my money back for fixing stuff on my vehicle that I did not need!

Business Response:

In reference to Case# *******,

On 10-08-2012 *** **** did in fact have her 2005 BMW 525 in Moritz BMW service department for a no start, no crank symptom. During this visit it was noted that *** ***** car had an aftermarket battery in it that causes many different symptoms to occur due to the fact that the aftermarket battery could not be registered to the car properly by *** **** or whoever put the battery for her as you have to have to have the special equipment to do so. It was also noted that *** ****s car had another aftermarket piece of equipment installed in her car that was also running her new battery down that she had installed herself as noted on Repair Order ******. In fact, her aftermarket alarm was damaging the new aftermarket battery that had never been registered to her vehicle.  Please note on second visit on 10/20/2012 *** ****** that the car was brought back in for same symptom and *** **** finally agreed to replace the aftermarket battery with the original equipment battery and have it properly registered. After re checking for a battery drain after the original equipment battery was installed, we could properly proceed with more diagnosis. It was noted at this time the original equipment siren/horn module was staying activated running the battery down. *** **** agreed to repair the vehicle as recommended. Finally on 11/12/2012 *** **** once again brought her vehicle in for a no start no crank condition. At first it was noted that we could not see any reason for the battery to run down and then by chance, after the car was started and turned off one time, our technician noted the airconditioner/heater blower fan remained on. Weather this was a condition that just occured or was there from the first time Moritz BMW service attempted to complete this repair, it is an intermittent problem and not readily diagnosable. *** **** was informed of the cost and at this point, *** **** decided she needed a second opinion and she had her car towed out of Moritz for said second opinion. After *** ****s car was diagnosed by another business, that business noted in their opinion that her fuel pump was going bad and that she was cranking the car too long running the battery down. *** **** contacted me ******* ******* at that point and I worked out a special price for her simply because of all her aggrevation with this problem. I then recieved a message back a few days later to cancel the order on the fuel pump that her car was supposed to just be low on gas causing this entire symptom. Now at the time of this writing in response to her letter filed with the BBB, *** **** notes her car was only in need of spark plugs. I am not for sure but is sounds like *** ****s second opinion turned into a 3rd, 4th, and finally a 5th opinion. None of which we here could agree is *** ****s problem with her car. In closing, I would definitely be willing to send *** **** back her original diagnosis charge of 135.00. Our experience with her automobile and thousands like hers has taught us we must start with the most obvious failures first before putting a stamp of approval on any repair. This particular situation is complicated as well due to the excessive miles on her car which is over 251,000 miles and a seven year old car with aftermarket battery and aftermarket alarm, all of which will cause a complicated auto like *** ****s to fail in many manners. We at Moritz BMW would be more willing to accept more responsibility in this matter had her car not had someone else working on it installing aftermarket batteries, alarms, ect. We will however be more than happy to apologize for all of *** ****s aggrevation as we know better than anyone, this can be a nightmare under any circumstances. Please feel free to call me at anytime. ************.

Regards

Richard Fincher

Moritz BMW Assistant Service Manager