This Business is not BBB accredited

Cadillac of Arlington

Additional Locations

Phone: (800) 614-8864 Fax: (817) 436-5721 View Additional Phone Numbers 2001 N Collins St, Arlington, TX 76011 http://www.moritzcadillac.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Cadillac of Arlington include:

  • Failure to respond to 2 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Cadillac of Arlington include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Cadillac of Arlington
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 01, 1974 Business started: 10/04/1973 in TX Business started locally: 10/04/1973 Business incorporated: 07/05/1990 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Motor Vehicles
4000 Jackson Ave, Austin TX 78761
https://www.txdmv.gov/
Phone Number: (888) 368-4689
Fax Number: (512) 302-2162
The number is P23766.

Type of Entity

Limited Partnership (LP)

Business Management
Mr. William (Bill) Hale, Service Manage Ms. Starr Kennedy, Secretary
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. William (Bill) Hale, Service Manage
Customer Contact: Mr. Tom Hauswirth, General Manager
Business Category

AUTO DEALERS-NEW CARS AUTO DEALERS-USED CARS

Alternate Business Names
GPI TX-ARGMIII, Inc.
Industry Tips
Automobile sales

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2001 N Collins St

    Arlington, TX 76011 (800) 614-8864 (800) 653-1355 (800) 614-8793 (877) 880-5178 (888) 458-3513

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    PO Box 490

    Arlington, TX 76004

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/10/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
9/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had purchased an extended warranty with a vehicle from this dealership. I contacted the dealership to find out how to cancel this warranty, I was told to come in and fill out a piece of paper and they would send it in and have the reimbursement sent to the bank with which the vehicle is financed since the price of the warranty was rolled into the financing. I completed this form in the dealership in June. I was in the dealership around the first part of July and was told I had filled out the wrong form so I signed another form and was told again that the money would be sent to the bank. I have called twice this week to check with my bank to see if the money had been received and both times I was told it had not. I have tried multiple times to contact someone at the dealership. 3 times I was transferred to someone whose voice mail was full, another time I was transferred to someone who couldn't help me because they didn't work in the right department. I have left a message with another person but have yet to receive a call back.

Desired Settlement: I would like the money from the cancellation sent to the bank just like they told me they would do.

8/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Everything started when I decide to shop for a used SUV. After much time shop around, I finally decide to choose between this dealership, Cadillac of Arlington, and another shop, which I would not mention the name here. When I was negotiating the price, after numerous back and forth conversation, the General Manager of Cadillac of Arlington made a statement, and I quote, "Do you really want to buy a car from some street shop (the other shop he was referring to) or some authorized dealership like us? Because we are going to take care of your car if anything happens to your car after you buy it." This is the line that caught my attention and eventually made me to go with them. But I was cautious at that time, I asked him specifically, "by taking care of the car, how long are we talking about?" He replied, "at least two months." I believed him, then we closed the deal. The nightmare started as soon as we drove the car back home the next day. I immediately found three major problems: 1. The navigation system was totally not responding and couldn't be started. (This is one of the many features listed on the ads of the car when I bought it, and one of the major thing I would need) 2. The dashboard showed Service Now signal every time the car started. (Obviously the car hasn't been serviced for a long time, but the salesman told me the car has been serviced before it was sold to me) 3. The dashboard showed the airbag was not functioning. (This is a major safety concern) I immediately called the salesman, and they brought the car back to fix the problem. (It was a non-Cadillac car, so they had to send it to another dealership to fix it). That process took about three weeks. That means I was out of my car for three weeks as soon as I bought it. In the meantime, there were numerous conversation, phone calls, messages exchanged between me and the dealership. A lot of time and efforts were spent. Well, if that wasn't the worst, here comes the worst. After three weeks of waiting, I finally got to pick up my car, but the very same day I took it home, I noticed the dashboard shows Signal Light has problem. It kept beeping as soon as you turn on the lights. Please understand my frustration at that moment because ever since I bought the car, about 300 miles were added to it, out of which 250 miles were used to fix its problems. I then tried to contact them but this time, the process becomes a pain. I first reached to the salesman, after several times of "not answering the phone", "not available" etc, I finally learned that he had to discuss that with his boss. I then directly reached to the General Manager, but was told should be speaking to the Used Car Manager, **** ********. I then tried to reach him, but for entire two weeks, he neither picked up my everyday phone call, nor replied my many text messages. I left him several voice messages which he replied none. I can take that I was being intentionally ignored. Meanwhile, I tried to solve this problem nicely with the General Manager, and pointed out that his "two-month promise" at the start. He then started to tweak his words saying "the promise was not to take care of everything, and the used car should be bought as it was." That was about the time I thought I ran into a dead-end trying to resolve this nicely with them. I started writing online reviews. Well, after being ignored entire two weeks, **** called me the very same day I wrote an excellent review. It seems they do care their public image. Then I thought they finally learned how to keep their words. I was asked to bring the car to a dealership myself to fix it, and show him the invoice which he would reimburse me. I agreed to that, and went ahead to fix it. Then I sent him my invoice, he ignored me again. After several attempts to contact him, he said it was cosmetic repair, not signal light, and won't reimburse me. My further argument was ignored.

Desired Settlement: Reimbursement for my repair cost and the extended cost of my time spent on fixing the car ever since I bought this car.

9/26/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
9/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service
8/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 1. This brand new Mini had been shipped from London, Oxford on April 2011. 2. It had hail damage on this brand new car and did a claim to fix hail damage on May 24, 2011. 3. I have purchased this so called "brand new" car on August 27, 2011 with the Full price as $28100.00 with a so called $1000 price down. I did not get to be informed with hail damage or the claim. I did not know how to negotiate the price and took whatever the price I have been offered happily, living a dream of purchasing a new car. 4. On June 13, I took my car to local Carmax to get a quote and found out this claim. 5. Started to communicate with Moritz Mini to figure out what this claim was about before I bought this new car. The communication went like a nightmare. First of all, they denied that there was an claim. When I scanned the auto check report, it took three days to hear back from auto check that there was exactly a claim and it happened in Arlington Texas. Arlington, Texas, does that place just sound familiar? 6. Finally they admitted that there was a claim before I bought a new car but they were nothing they could do. Their logic was yes there was a claim but the car has been fixed so it did not affect the market price and since it has got fixed, they could sell it as new. Plus, they did mention their little pity $1000 price down. 7. I just need to ask one question as a car customer if I spend the totally more than $30,000 to buy a new car, but they sell me a car with hail damage without providing me any information? Where is their working ethic?????

Desired Settlement: I need $8000 compensation for all the thing that I have been dealing with and an letter with sincerely apology.

Business Response:    ***** ********* spoke with ****** about her vehicle when she notified us about the autocheck background that had been performed on her car when she took it to Carmax.  She told us that according to this report there were repairs done to her car in Hawaii.  ***** ********* helped research this issue and found that there were no repairs done in Hawaii, but there was paintless dent repair done to her vehicle.  We did give her a $1000 discount from the MSRP when she purchased the car.  When we found out about this situation we did apologize to her for the oversight and offered to make up for any value difference that might have occured when selling her vehicle to Carmax.  She stated that Carmax said the value of the car was not changed due to the autocheck or the repairs done.  We did offer her $500.00 but she refused our offer.  We will gladly apologize formally in writing and will also help determine if she suffered any loss based on what she sold her car for and what the market value of her car would be without any repairs.  We would just ask for her help in giving us the proper information as it relates to the sale of her car.  If it is determined that there is a difference in value then we will make up that difference.

Consumer Response:

"When we found out about this situation we did apologize to her for the oversight and offered to make up for any value difference that might have occured when selling her vehicle to Carmax.  She stated that Carmax said the value of the car was not changed due to the autocheck or the repairs done. "

Let's focus on one thing that I have been complained about and I want to make it very clear that I have been complained that I have purchased a new car that had hail damage before and this Mini dealer did not disclose this very important information. How many Carmax has offered to me or whatever Carmax said had nothing to do with my complaint and the value of my car now. My complaint directly towards this dealership about selling a car with hail damage as new. ***** ********* has stated that my car was not a only new car had hail damage and had fixed. He stated that most of the dealership did that to fix a car and sell it as new. I will recommend everyone who bought car from this dealership between April to august in 2011 to run an auto-check. Plus ***** mentioned that if the car has not been titled, the value of a car should not be changed if the dealer fixed the car. That is a very interesting theory, which means we as innocent car consumer have to cross our finger to buy a new car cos your so-called new car might be fixed but still legally sell as new cos accident happens before the car has been titled. 

Since this email is open to public, any newspaper is interested in my story, Please feel free to contact me. 

 

Business Response:    We cannot produce the disclosure form normally signed by customers at the time of sale, disclosing any potential problem or repairs.  We both apologized for the oversight and offered to give the customer $500 for their inconvenience.  Had there been any financial loss or damages, we would have offered the amount of agreed damages.  However, as Carmax confirmed when they purchased the vehicle, the repairs did not affect the value of the car.  We attempted once to address the issue, we are willing to make a final goodwill offer of $1,000.00, which we feel is more than reasonable, since the value of the car was unaffected.  We hope this can bring closure to this issue.

12/25/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Took my car to BMW to have it service due to not cranking. They told me after market battery even though the battery in the car was brand new . Than thy said all it is needing was charging nothing was wrong but they do recommend other stuff. So I went ahead and had belts changed on the car due to no other problems sussposedly. They said alarm was draining from my battery so they disconnected it.. Also my battery wiring had recall which they fixed . I paid 442.00 nd paid for rent a car while I waited 7 days for them to find this out cause supposedly they had no loaners. This cost me 300.00 Four days later car will not start at all called BMW and had to have car towed in . They were shocked and did recheck which was still covered under the 135.00 paid for them to tell me what's wrong.they said without me getting a BMW battery they could not diagnose the problem so. Agreed there battery was 479.00 once they installed they realized the siren horn module was out in total this was 800.00 repair...so they claimed this was it five days later car still not cranking....my whole charging system fine not needing anything and they said car was fine .kept car two weeks. Third time they keep car two weeks, tell me it's blow motor fan n it will be another 900 but they will discount me to 750 again cause the incovience but could not guarantee this was the problem. Manager ******* had a smart mouth due to me telling him y'all have been fixing wrong thing. And this is incovient having to catch a ride when im bringing to dealership. They start getting defensive , I asked could another mechanic work on car thy said no he knows history of my car. It's obvious his is just telling me whatever sensor is out not finding problem. Problem is my car was never fixed... BMW makes this car and if anyone knows their car it should be the company that makes it. Took my car to another independent mechanic and found out it was the spark plugs corroded something this simple has cost me 1900 dollars n never fixed the problem. I do not like how I was treated nor will i never buy another BMW in my life! Nor take my car back to this dealership all they care about is taking your money and then its not fixed I'm sorry I'm sorry you are a mechanic and I work in a finicial institution it is not my job to pay u n diagnose my own car and be the mechanic! They have not even checked on me any other time they hurry and send email for survey I did not receive. Had my car a total of 21 days and told me at least they gave me a loaner. I have a car and wouldn't need a loaner if they had fixed mines the first , second, or third time. I've paid over 8000 to 9000 and the past four years and this is the disrespect I get cause they don't know the problem . I will go as high up with this until I get apology I have spent over 45,000 to own this car they should value their car while in warranty and outside of warranty if someone is paying.

Desired Settlement: For them to give me my money back for fixing stuff on my vehicle that I did not need!

Business Response:

In reference to Case# *******,

On 10-08-2012 *** **** did in fact have her 2005 BMW 525 in Moritz BMW service department for a no start, no crank symptom. During this visit it was noted that *** ***** car had an aftermarket battery in it that causes many different symptoms to occur due to the fact that the aftermarket battery could not be registered to the car properly by *** **** or whoever put the battery for her as you have to have to have the special equipment to do so. It was also noted that *** ****s car had another aftermarket piece of equipment installed in her car that was also running her new battery down that she had installed herself as noted on Repair Order ******. In fact, her aftermarket alarm was damaging the new aftermarket battery that had never been registered to her vehicle.  Please note on second visit on 10/20/2012 *** ****** that the car was brought back in for same symptom and *** **** finally agreed to replace the aftermarket battery with the original equipment battery and have it properly registered. After re checking for a battery drain after the original equipment battery was installed, we could properly proceed with more diagnosis. It was noted at this time the original equipment siren/horn module was staying activated running the battery down. *** **** agreed to repair the vehicle as recommended. Finally on 11/12/2012 *** **** once again brought her vehicle in for a no start no crank condition. At first it was noted that we could not see any reason for the battery to run down and then by chance, after the car was started and turned off one time, our technician noted the airconditioner/heater blower fan remained on. Weather this was a condition that just occured or was there from the first time Moritz BMW service attempted to complete this repair, it is an intermittent problem and not readily diagnosable. *** **** was informed of the cost and at this point, *** **** decided she needed a second opinion and she had her car towed out of Moritz for said second opinion. After *** ****s car was diagnosed by another business, that business noted in their opinion that her fuel pump was going bad and that she was cranking the car too long running the battery down. *** **** contacted me ******* ******* at that point and I worked out a special price for her simply because of all her aggrevation with this problem. I then recieved a message back a few days later to cancel the order on the fuel pump that her car was supposed to just be low on gas causing this entire symptom. Now at the time of this writing in response to her letter filed with the BBB, *** **** notes her car was only in need of spark plugs. I am not for sure but is sounds like *** ****s second opinion turned into a 3rd, 4th, and finally a 5th opinion. None of which we here could agree is *** ****s problem with her car. In closing, I would definitely be willing to send *** **** back her original diagnosis charge of 135.00. Our experience with her automobile and thousands like hers has taught us we must start with the most obvious failures first before putting a stamp of approval on any repair. This particular situation is complicated as well due to the excessive miles on her car which is over 251,000 miles and a seven year old car with aftermarket battery and aftermarket alarm, all of which will cause a complicated auto like *** ****s to fail in many manners. We at Moritz BMW would be more willing to accept more responsibility in this matter had her car not had someone else working on it installing aftermarket batteries, alarms, ect. We will however be more than happy to apologize for all of *** ****s aggrevation as we know better than anyone, this can be a nightmare under any circumstances. Please feel free to call me at anytime. ************.

Regards

Richard Fincher

Moritz BMW Assistant Service Manager

 

5/4/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took my vehicle to the body shop for repairs due to an accident I was involved in. My vehicle wouldn't start and I spoke with a consultant named **** *****. I asked him to check the battery and the alternator to which he agreed. I asked him to call me to advise what problem they found. A day or so later I called **** to get an update and was asked to bring a new battery to the body shop so that the alternator could be tested. I took him the new battery and again asked him to follow up with me. A couple days later I called **** who said the alternator was checked and determined the problem was the battery so they could go ahead and start on tne body work. About 5 days later I called **** to get an update on the body work and was told my vehicle was ready. I left work to pick up my vehicle and turn in the rental. After leaving the body shop barely 2 lights down the street my vehicle goes dead in the middle of traffic. I started it and began driving and it went dead again. All of this happened in lunch traffic. My vehicle went dead a couple more times and I finally was able to pull into a parking lot. I called the body shop to speak with ****. He was very rude and asked me what I wanted him to do. I asked him if the alternator was tested as he said it was and he said no because my vehicle seemed fine when they hooked up the new battery. I asked him why had he told me it was tested and now I'm in traffic with my vehicle going dead, a dangerous situation. The did an alignment so I asked if they test drove my vehicle and if the same thing happened to them. **** claimed they did do a test drive and had no problems. He brought up that my vehicle needs tires so I asked him what that has to do with my vehicle going dead when I asked him to check it and he lied that he had. I spoke with a man named ***** who said he is a manager. He really didn't have much to say except come back and they would test the battery and alternator. When I got there both **** and ***** came out, checked the battery and alternator and said it's a bad alternator. My thing is why was I told it was checked, wasted time leaving work for a few hours then had to leave my vehicle again for the alternator to get replaced. I was charged $341.15 for the part and 1 hour of labor and told they were doing me a favor by pulling a mechanic off another job to do the repairs. Also, **** said he was doing me a favor for not charging to hook up the new battery I brought up there. I NEVER asked for anything free. I ended up having to pay for an additional day on the rental out of pocket and lost a few hrs at work due to this whole situation. I felt like all I got were excuses as to why I was told the alternator was tested but in fact it wasn't. This whole situation makes me question the integrity of the work they did. I tried to reach someone else in management at the dealership but was spoken to rudely by *****, the secretary. She advised me they had other customer calls to handle and I was transferred to a generic voicemail where I left my name, number and brief detail of my complaint but have not gotten a return call. I had a problem with ****'s service back in 2010 when my vehicle needed some repairs but thought I would give them the benefit of the doubt and try them again. HUGE mistake!

Desired Settlement: I would like to speak with someone over both **** and *****. I feel like I've been cheated and want to discuss what can be done for wasting my time, the additional day for the rental and for the repairs of the alternator.

Business Response:

In reference to *** ******** complaint on her 2003 Cadillac Escalade, I personally spoke with her today (4/26/12) at 10:00am. We discussed her concerns involving Customer Service/Communication issues and have mutally agreed to a resolution in which both parties are satisfied. Moritz is going to reimburse *** ****** one day of rental expense ($45.12) and spilt the labor cost for installing her alternator ($75.00), thus reducing her out-of-pocket expense by $120.12 making her alternator repairs a total cost of $221.03. Since her credit card was originally ran as an authorization only on the day of her delivery, today it was processed for payment in the amount of $221.03. *** ****** will be mailed a receipt also. Again from my earlier conversation with *** ******, it would appear that this matter is resolved and both parties are satisfied with the results.